Denton, TX 
North Lake Park Share
Uploaded By: sgb118 Hole #17 (Taken 3/2009)
3 / 225ft.   3 / 380ft.   3 / 380ft.   3 / 225ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Sentimental for a good reason

5+    12/1/2010   10/11/2012
Review By: NTexas2010
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Variety of long arm holes and finesse holes.
- Utilizes the levee and pond on a number of holes in a clever and challenging manner.
- The crowd favorite Hole 7, where you bomb one from the top of a 25 ft levee over the "valley" onto a 10 ft levee.
Cons: - After front 9, it gets a little confusing where to go. Just go around the front of the driving range and batting cages along the road to pickup where you left off.
- Bring at least 1-2 spare throwaway discs. The pond in the middle would be the obvious culprit but actually the creek on the back 9 is a disc-thief.
Other Thoughts: This is where I started playing Disc golf in college while at North Texas, so of course it has a sentimental/nostalgia element for me. It almost seems like they designed the front 9 and back 9 with two different schools of thought, and I appreciate both (Front 9 grip and rip in the open terrain wind, back 9 technical prowess in and amongst the trees).

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Much improved

5+    7/21/2012   7/21/2012
Review By: i_throw_bricks
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -New concrete tee pads make for more consistent play across varying conditions of wetness.
-Addition of long tees on a number of the previously easier holes makes it more challenging than it used to be.
-The final 6 holes are great. They are wooded, shaded, and more finess than the first 12.
-The front 9 is great for beginners.
-The pin on hole 4 is on top of a hill, adding a little extra challenge.
-The tee for hole 5 plays from the top of a hill and is a great opportunity to bomb one for beginners.
-Hole 6 is pretty straight forward but is a nice long tunnel shot.
-Much better maintained than in past years.
Cons: -The front 12 are very open. While this can be fun for beginners, they are a little too easy for more advanced players. More importantly, they get bloody hot during the summer.
-Still gets muddy at spots during rainy season.
-Can get very windy.
-During the summer, the creek that comes into play on the last 4 holes gets very stagnant and flat out gross. Personally, I would rather pay a few bucks to buy my disc back from Second Hand Sports than take my shoes in there.
-Did I mention it gets hot in the summer?
Other Thoughts: This is my home course, so I have played it for years out of necessity. It's now a pleasure to play. While not as challenging as Lake Lewisville, I find it equally enjoyable. It's one of the best courses within 30 miles of Denton. If you're looking for something advanced with tons of technical shots, this isn't the course, though.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Worth the trip to Denton

2-4    9/3/2011   10/12/2011
Review By: lajoie24
Played: 30  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 3.1 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The newish multiple concrete tees on each hole make this course a delight to play. This bad boy had elevated tees, dog legs, ace runs and even an island basket. Good for newbs like me and experienced players
Cons: The big flaw I found with the course was the distance between 11 & 12. Have a cab ready, because you'll need it.
Other Thoughts: Directions to 12 - After finishing 11, turn left towards the driving range. I'd recommend walking around the range, but the choice is yours. Once you're past the range, you'll see the batting cages. The tee is opposite side of the cages.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Decent Course

5+    8/15/2010   8/30/2010
Review By: johnwangg
Played: 122  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
1. Fairly open layout.

2. Some good elevation holes and use of the pond and trees around.

3. holes along the hills and pond are windy and elevated, makes you think twice about bombing it.

4. Plenty of parking (even though its dirt parking).
Cons:
1. Last time I played there was some construction so made it difficult to figure out where some of the wholes are.

2. This is one long course. You have to walk quite a bit to get between holes. Not a lot of "ZIG-ZAGGING." Sometimes there is too much of a gap on some holes.
Other Thoughts: Bring water, its a good walk. There is a water fountain at the tennis/golf range that is adjacent to the course. Do not abuse that fountain (its ice cold), if I go there and cannot use it, i will be very angry!!. I give this a better rating than the carrolton courses just because its a very different way to play a course. You will know when you go out there.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Not Fat Friendly

1    11/18/2009   11/18/2009
Review By: chalos13
Played: 33  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 7.2 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Front nine is very open, lots of good open shots. This is a great place to practice your drives. The greens are the only wooded places for most of the course, so you're accuracy for mids and putts is critical. Holes 4-7 are up or down hills, so huge chance here to maximize distance. I really had a great time here, lots of trash cans, not crowded.
Cons: 4, 5, 6 and 7 are up and down hills. I'm not "in shape" so these wore me out really early. Made this course exhausting. Hole 14 has a huge puddle almost exactly at the critical turn for that hole, also about my average distance on a drive, so I landed right in the swamp. The back nine feels crowded after the huge open front nine. Lots of long walks between holes, don't go on a hot day, no shade. Some of these baskets, the top of the basket actually curves in? I've never seen this before, and it totally boned me on some shots. I was really excited about the proshop between 11 and 12, but it's more a ball golf shop, they had like 12 discs that all seemed used, I was sad.
Other Thoughts: This course was fun, I probably got my max distance drive today (shot downhill on 7) but the only challenge here is really the distance. I had a good time, this is the first course that really allowed me to cut loose and blow my arm out for all out distance, without making me pay for it. It's a great course to play for practice, but not a great challenge.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 long and hot

5+    7/17/2009   7/31/2009
Review By: cubby09
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course has some nice length and wide open tee shots. There are also some elevated tee boxes/pins which make things interesting. the back 7 holes or so ride next to a creek and is lightly wooded so it's a little more technical here.
Cons: Little chances to catch a drink in the summer time which can be blisteringly hot due to the open style of the course.
Other Thoughts: After hole ten you got a bit of a walk around the tennis courts to the next hole.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 One of my favorites

5+    1/17/2009   1/17/2009
Review By: sgb118
Played: 24  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 9 Years
This review was updated on 3/16/2009
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a long course, so it is great for practicing your drive. The city has really improved the upkeep of the course. Great elevation holes for practice going up and down hills. The pond is nice to walk around, and you get your exercise for the day. The back nine are a good change from the open front nine. Parking is never a problem. Water hazards are not bad for losing discs (be careful on 9).
Cons: A few of the baskets have been damaged, and a few signs need to be redone. Some tees have become ruts (although the city is supposed to be pouring concrete). Some trees have been removed, which has altered some holes. Of course I must mention the walk between 11 and 12, but it isn't that big of a deal, it's healthy...
Other Thoughts: I am a little biased toward this course, it is the course i started on. Great fun, but plan for some wind. There is always wind at North Lakes Park, no matter what the weather is doing: we joke about it being the windiest place in town. Not a lot to worry about, just go out and enjoy.

There is currently a petition online for the improvement of this course. With your help and e-Signiture, this course can be greatly improved.
I put a link up in the "Links" tab. Thanks.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Very fun course!

2-4    12/20/2008   1/6/2009
Review By: obryn
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful scenery by a lake that doesn't interfere much with play.
Wide open holes for driver practice.
A community athletics center with vending machines, water fountains, and clean restrooms is located near the 11th hole.
There is also a golf pro-shop by the community center that sells used discs for discounted prices!
The course has a few tees positioned atop hills that are very fun to shoot from.
Usually has a good amount of groups playing that are friendly and courteous. But is rarely overpopulated.
alcohol is allowed.
Well maintained with short green grass. Hardly any mud except by the creeks.
Cons: needs more trashcans/benches.
Very long walk between the middle of the course due to the athletics facility and ball golf driving range.
The final holes are over creeks and a ditch with some pretty swampy water so be careful.
The first part of the course is so open that it is usually very windy. This wind makes advancing through the long holes treacherous at times.
Tees are dirt and desperately need to be replaced with concrete.
Other Thoughts: This course gets more flak than it deserves. I have a lot of fun every time I come out here. If you have 1 1/2 to 2 hours to spare, it is well worth the time. Just don't come on a windy day if you can help it.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.