Disc Golf Store
Denton, TX 
North Lake Park Share
Uploaded By: sgb118 Hole #18 (Taken 3/2009)
3 / 360ft.   3 / 360ft.   3 / 323ft.   3 / 323ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee



Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Diverse & Challenging

5+    4/27/2011   4/28/2011
Review By: pilsurquell
Played: 23  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 10.1 Years
This review was updated on 5/6/2011
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: --Super friendly locals (college town)
--There is a great variety of shots & terrain though the length of the course, some super-long, some short, some open, some technical, some elevated. A little bit of everything.
--Easily converts to a 9-hole course if you play from 1 & work your way around the back of the course.
--The course can also start w hole 12 if you park off Windsor Dr. by the tennis courts, which mixes up the feel a bit(close technical holes first, that way you're well and warmed up for the long bombs of the front 9)
Cons: dirt tees, signage is meh, long walk between 11 & 12, front 9 is kinda intimidating for folks who throw under 350 feet. mixed baskets, some are in better shape than others. hot as hades in the summer, bring lots of water.
Other Thoughts: All in all, this is a very underrated park that is getting a much needed facelift this summer, with new teepads, signs & several new pro tees. (i'm pretty sure there was talk of new baskets, as well) If you don't know the way around, then you may find yourself befuddled around the 10th-11th hole...walk past the tennis courts & past the batting cages along the street to get to 12. Looking forward to fall here, going to be sooooo nice once the upgrades are done.
***This is NOT my home course, by the way, but i still make the drive to play here at least once a week. If you learn the course & have the shots, it's worth it. Great run.***

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 good challenge

5+    7/24/2010   7/29/2010
Review By: TomSawyer
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well, lots of challenge here. Trees and water and hills make it happen. Some of the baskets are over hills and around corners. This is a nice long course to play, in the summer take some water. Lots of diversity here with some of the drives. Keep your eyes open, I have found at least one disc here every time we play!
Cons: Take at least one "throw away " disc with you for good measure. Can be a little muddy just after a hard rain, like most disc golf courses here in central Texas.
Other Thoughts: nice to have such a great course so close to home.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Top 10 in Texas

2-4    6/24/2010   6/24/2010
Review By: crashzero
Played: 40  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.4 Years
This review was updated on 12/4/2012
0 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: - Multiple Concrete Tee-pads
- Some variation in terrain
- Lots of room to bomb some drives
- Shot placement is needed to score well

This course is tons of fun. Its not often that you come across a course so vast and yet has good variety of shots.

The constant wind really challenges your game on the open holes, as easy as they may look they are not always straight forward.

Several open holes are complimented by the hills around the lake which you must shape your shots to stay in the fairway while managing to throw with good distance on most of them. Good use of the elevation for the most part.

The last part of the course finishes with some nice tee and basket placements with trees in play that work your mid range game.
Cons: - Hole 1

I am not fond of hole 1, I think its the weakest on the course requiring little skill and more of just a spike out to nowhere and hope it lands on the right side of the shrub so you can putt. I think this hole could easily be redesigned with all the empty space by the parking lot and still link up to hole 2.
Other Thoughts: North Lake is a good contrast to Lake Lewisville, I like to start off with a morning warm up round at Lake Lewisville then on to North Lake to throw some distance drives. I play here every time I am in Denton and this course really shows you what your game is made of.

0 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Good Variety

5+    1/23/2010   3/26/2010
Review By: Cheese
Played: 19  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: The first holes are long wide open shots for those with a big arm. The later holes become more technical.
Cons: The lack of concrete tee boxes and the heavy use of the course can lead to some pretty muddy encounters as well as vague tee areas.
Other Thoughts: The elevation changes in the course make it difficult at times to push joggers or strollers.

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.