Denton, TX 
North Lake Park Share
Uploaded By: sgb118 Hole #2 (Taken 3/2009)
3 / 402ft.   3 / 402ft.   3 / 330ft.   3 / 330ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 34
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Tale of 2 Nines

1    1/19/2011   7/19/2011
Review By: harr0140
Played: 840  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 6.4 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1) Metal signs with distance, Hole # and a general layout of the hole. They do the job but aren't all that attractive.

2) Since I was there I guess concrete was put in which is great for this course . . . it was tough teeing off on some of the worse out tees but concrete is always appreciated!!! Not only are they concrete but apparently dual concrete which is even better!

3) Garbage cans available in multiple spots to keep this course clean!

4) Turf is in pretty good condition in most areas on this course. There are a few compacted areas or damaged turf areas but all in all this seems to be a well maintained grounds.

5) The back 9 gets its own positive . . . it is much more fun, slightly more technical, shorter, and simply more fun than the front 9 which is mostly open, minimal obstacles, still fun but not as mcuh as the back 9.

6) Beginner friendly (aside from being long there are only a couple places where losing a disc might happen). It might be frustrating to start out on the really long holes on the front 9 but at least they will quickly learn how the disc flys before they get to the water hole or the elevated holes, or the technical shots.

7) My wife threw her third shot on #3 into the garbage can which was one of the highlights of my round! I laughed and fortunately . . . so did she!

8) Park has batting cages, a driving range, and a rec center also . . . I am sure there were bathrooms on that building somewhere, but I am not 100% sure.

9) Elevation is used to improve a mostly open boring front 9. One hole has you throwing to a basket on the side of the ridge. Then the next you shoot down te ridge of what looks to be a flood prevention dike. Then you play a hole in a narrow area with the berm on your left side and trees on your right creating a sort of tunnel that you need to try and navigate without hitting the hill early or going to the righ tinto the woods. Then you throw back across a dropoff to another basket slightly on a sloped area. Back across again and then you throw down from the top of the berm to a basket tucked just slightly around a pond . . . great hole . . . incoroporating water and elevation on one hole otherwise it would be a really boring hole if the basket was elsewhere.

10) Front 9 challenges you a couple different ways and the back 9 gets a little more diverse in trouble and shot shaping.

11) The length of the holes varies well and the overall length of the course presents a moderate challenge on its own.
Cons: 1) Directionals would be helpful in a couple locations as the course is pretty spread out and you might go the wrong way.

2) Mix of baskets is a negative in my opinion . . . perhaps it is all they have and they dont have money for that upgrade . . . having concrete tees isntalled is more important than baskets anyways so perhaps it will change down the road.

3) The front 9 is pretty boring . . . they did use the elevation and the water as best they could but it just does not compare to the front 9.

4) The front 9 is pretty simple and you have multiple shots possible on most holes.

5) This is not a picturesque course in fact it really isn't pretty at all . . . but at least they have some good disc golf holes. It just seems to be placed in an area where no other activities would be.

6) Long walk in a couple places between holes . . . breaks up the flow ofthe course but there was no way to put holes in between because of other activities or natural transitions in the layout of the course.
Other Thoughts: When I was there there were no concrete tees, the construction along the road was pretty fresh and that affected a couple of the holes and especially your footing as it had not been final graded or seeded yet . . . so I am giving this place the benefit of the doubt that these things have been solved since I was there as I read in someone else's review. The tees along bring this course up half a disc in my opinion because that was one of the biggest detractors when I was there.

Before the concrete I would have given this course a 2.5 or maybe even a 2.0 . . .so I bumped it up to a 3 after the dual concrete went in . . . rumors of signs and new baskets would also help so I rated it slightly higher for the current updates taking place.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Long & Open

2-4    5/22/2011   5/23/2011
Review By: Notorious21
Played: 50  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 4.7 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros:
- Some creative hole layouts
- Good use of elevation
- Forgiving
Cons:
- Long grass
- High winds
- No tee pads (as of now)
- Not many finesse shots required
- Hole 14 is in a giant puddle (we skipped it)
- Long walk to 12
Other Thoughts: The rumored upgrade would help this course a lot. It's challenging, but not in an annoying way.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Diverse & Challenging

5+    4/27/2011   4/28/2011
Review By: pilsurquell
Played: 23  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 10.7 Years
This review was updated on 5/6/2011
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: --Super friendly locals (college town)
--There is a great variety of shots & terrain though the length of the course, some super-long, some short, some open, some technical, some elevated. A little bit of everything.
--Easily converts to a 9-hole course if you play from 1 & work your way around the back of the course.
--The course can also start w hole 12 if you park off Windsor Dr. by the tennis courts, which mixes up the feel a bit(close technical holes first, that way you're well and warmed up for the long bombs of the front 9)
Cons: dirt tees, signage is meh, long walk between 11 & 12, front 9 is kinda intimidating for folks who throw under 350 feet. mixed baskets, some are in better shape than others. hot as hades in the summer, bring lots of water.
Other Thoughts: All in all, this is a very underrated park that is getting a much needed facelift this summer, with new teepads, signs & several new pro tees. (i'm pretty sure there was talk of new baskets, as well) If you don't know the way around, then you may find yourself befuddled around the 10th-11th hole...walk past the tennis courts & past the batting cages along the street to get to 12. Looking forward to fall here, going to be sooooo nice once the upgrades are done.
***This is NOT my home course, by the way, but i still make the drive to play here at least once a week. If you learn the course & have the shots, it's worth it. Great run.***

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Decent Course

5+    8/15/2010   8/30/2010
Review By: johnwangg
Played: 132  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.9 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
1. Fairly open layout.

2. Some good elevation holes and use of the pond and trees around.

3. holes along the hills and pond are windy and elevated, makes you think twice about bombing it.

4. Plenty of parking (even though its dirt parking).
Cons:
1. Last time I played there was some construction so made it difficult to figure out where some of the wholes are.

2. This is one long course. You have to walk quite a bit to get between holes. Not a lot of "ZIG-ZAGGING." Sometimes there is too much of a gap on some holes.
Other Thoughts: Bring water, its a good walk. There is a water fountain at the tennis/golf range that is adjacent to the course. Do not abuse that fountain (its ice cold), if I go there and cannot use it, i will be very angry!!. I give this a better rating than the carrolton courses just because its a very different way to play a course. You will know when you go out there.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 good challenge

5+    7/24/2010   7/29/2010
Review By: TomSawyer
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well, lots of challenge here. Trees and water and hills make it happen. Some of the baskets are over hills and around corners. This is a nice long course to play, in the summer take some water. Lots of diversity here with some of the drives. Keep your eyes open, I have found at least one disc here every time we play!
Cons: Take at least one "throw away " disc with you for good measure. Can be a little muddy just after a hard rain, like most disc golf courses here in central Texas.
Other Thoughts: nice to have such a great course so close to home.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun. Bring sunscreen

5+    7/2/2010   7/10/2010
Review By: grizzledizzle55
Played: 14  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 11.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/17/2010
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -A good variety
-Lots of Grip and Rip holes
-Creek near the end makes a few holes technical
-Locals are nice
-If you play the signs, under par is no problem.
-Only one hole where you can lose a disc
-Makes you feel good about yourself
Cons: -Not a lot of shade on the front nine, and a little boring until you get to the trees.
-Long walk without shade....
Other Thoughts: Fun course. Hot. Last couple holes are fun. Play it as all par 3's. Bring some stable discs because the wind blows hard, and those headwinds will really turn over discs. Number 9 is a disc eater, but if you are close to the shore you can get your disc easy. The mud feels good... I am a local here at this course, and I am told they are going to redesign this course in the near future. The city wants to move the holes by the dam. We will see what happens. First hole is by the small parking lot off of bonnie bre.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Top 10 in Texas

2-4    6/24/2010   6/24/2010
Review By: crashzero
Played: 40  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.1 Years
This review was updated on 2/14/2015
0 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: - Multiple Concrete Tee-pads
- Some variation in terrain
- Lots of room to bomb some drives
- Shot placement is needed to score well

This course is tons of fun, its mostly wide open yet has good variety of shots.

The constant wind really challenges your game on the open holes, as easy as they may look they are not always straight forward.

Several open holes are complimented by the hills around the lake which you must shape your shots to stay in the fairway while managing to throw with distance. Good use of the elevation for the most part.

The last part of the course finishes with some nice tee and basket placements with trees in play that work your mid range game.
Cons: - Hole 1

I am not fond of hole 1, I think its the weakest on the course requiring little skill and more of just a spike out to nowhere and hope it lands on the right side of the shrub so you can putt. I think this hole could easily be redesigned with all the empty space by the parking lot and still link up to hole 2.
Other Thoughts: North Lake is a good contrast to Lake Lewisville with open bombs thats fun to play when conditions are ideal.

0 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Good Variety

5+    1/23/2010   3/26/2010
Review By: Cheese
Played: 19  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: The first holes are long wide open shots for those with a big arm. The later holes become more technical.
Cons: The lack of concrete tee boxes and the heavy use of the course can lead to some pretty muddy encounters as well as vague tee areas.
Other Thoughts: The elevation changes in the course make it difficult at times to push joggers or strollers.

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Bare Bones Golfing

1    10/26/2009   12/7/2009
Review By: jasondguy
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 5.8 Years
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: It has 18 baskets, few water shots.
Cons: Too open, No Concrete tees, Signs are awful, pond is nasty if you have to recover a disc.
Other Thoughts: Boring to say the least, wasn't excited about any holes until Hole 15 I think.

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Not Fat Friendly

1    11/18/2009   11/18/2009
Review By: chalos13
Played: 35  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 8 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Front nine is very open, lots of good open shots. This is a great place to practice your drives. The greens are the only wooded places for most of the course, so you're accuracy for mids and putts is critical. Holes 4-7 are up or down hills, so huge chance here to maximize distance. I really had a great time here, lots of trash cans, not crowded.
Cons: 4, 5, 6 and 7 are up and down hills. I'm not "in shape" so these wore me out really early. Made this course exhausting. Hole 14 has a huge puddle almost exactly at the critical turn for that hole, also about my average distance on a drive, so I landed right in the swamp. The back nine feels crowded after the huge open front nine. Lots of long walks between holes, don't go on a hot day, no shade. Some of these baskets, the top of the basket actually curves in? I've never seen this before, and it totally boned me on some shots. I was really excited about the proshop between 11 and 12, but it's more a ball golf shop, they had like 12 discs that all seemed used, I was sad.
Other Thoughts: This course was fun, I probably got my max distance drive today (shot downhill on 7) but the only challenge here is really the distance. I had a good time, this is the first course that really allowed me to cut loose and blow my arm out for all out distance, without making me pay for it. It's a great course to play for practice, but not a great challenge.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.