Denton, TX 
North Lake Park Share
Uploaded By: sgb118 Hole #8 (Taken 3/2009)
3 / 279ft.   3 / 330ft.   3 / 330ft.   3 / 279ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Diverse & Challenging

5+    4/27/2011   4/28/2011
Review By: pilsurquell
Played: 23  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 10.1 Years
This review was updated on 5/6/2011
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: --Super friendly locals (college town)
--There is a great variety of shots & terrain though the length of the course, some super-long, some short, some open, some technical, some elevated. A little bit of everything.
--Easily converts to a 9-hole course if you play from 1 & work your way around the back of the course.
--The course can also start w hole 12 if you park off Windsor Dr. by the tennis courts, which mixes up the feel a bit(close technical holes first, that way you're well and warmed up for the long bombs of the front 9)
Cons: dirt tees, signage is meh, long walk between 11 & 12, front 9 is kinda intimidating for folks who throw under 350 feet. mixed baskets, some are in better shape than others. hot as hades in the summer, bring lots of water.
Other Thoughts: All in all, this is a very underrated park that is getting a much needed facelift this summer, with new teepads, signs & several new pro tees. (i'm pretty sure there was talk of new baskets, as well) If you don't know the way around, then you may find yourself befuddled around the 10th-11th hole...walk past the tennis courts & past the batting cages along the street to get to 12. Looking forward to fall here, going to be sooooo nice once the upgrades are done.
***This is NOT my home course, by the way, but i still make the drive to play here at least once a week. If you learn the course & have the shots, it's worth it. Great run.***

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Decent Course

5+    8/15/2010   8/30/2010
Review By: johnwangg
Played: 130  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.2 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
1. Fairly open layout.

2. Some good elevation holes and use of the pond and trees around.

3. holes along the hills and pond are windy and elevated, makes you think twice about bombing it.

4. Plenty of parking (even though its dirt parking).
Cons:
1. Last time I played there was some construction so made it difficult to figure out where some of the wholes are.

2. This is one long course. You have to walk quite a bit to get between holes. Not a lot of "ZIG-ZAGGING." Sometimes there is too much of a gap on some holes.
Other Thoughts: Bring water, its a good walk. There is a water fountain at the tennis/golf range that is adjacent to the course. Do not abuse that fountain (its ice cold), if I go there and cannot use it, i will be very angry!!. I give this a better rating than the carrolton courses just because its a very different way to play a course. You will know when you go out there.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 good challenge

5+    7/24/2010   7/29/2010
Review By: TomSawyer
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well, lots of challenge here. Trees and water and hills make it happen. Some of the baskets are over hills and around corners. This is a nice long course to play, in the summer take some water. Lots of diversity here with some of the drives. Keep your eyes open, I have found at least one disc here every time we play!
Cons: Take at least one "throw away " disc with you for good measure. Can be a little muddy just after a hard rain, like most disc golf courses here in central Texas.
Other Thoughts: nice to have such a great course so close to home.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun. Bring sunscreen

5+    7/2/2010   7/10/2010
Review By: grizzledizzle55
Played: 14  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 10.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/17/2010
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -A good variety
-Lots of Grip and Rip holes
-Creek near the end makes a few holes technical
-Locals are nice
-If you play the signs, under par is no problem.
-Only one hole where you can lose a disc
-Makes you feel good about yourself
Cons: -Not a lot of shade on the front nine, and a little boring until you get to the trees.
-Long walk without shade....
Other Thoughts: Fun course. Hot. Last couple holes are fun. Play it as all par 3's. Bring some stable discs because the wind blows hard, and those headwinds will really turn over discs. Number 9 is a disc eater, but if you are close to the shore you can get your disc easy. The mud feels good... I am a local here at this course, and I am told they are going to redesign this course in the near future. The city wants to move the holes by the dam. We will see what happens. First hole is by the small parking lot off of bonnie bre.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Top 10 in Texas

2-4    6/24/2010   6/24/2010
Review By: crashzero
Played: 40  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.4 Years
This review was updated on 12/4/2012
0 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: - Multiple Concrete Tee-pads
- Some variation in terrain
- Lots of room to bomb some drives
- Shot placement is needed to score well

This course is tons of fun. Its not often that you come across a course so vast and yet has good variety of shots.

The constant wind really challenges your game on the open holes, as easy as they may look they are not always straight forward.

Several open holes are complimented by the hills around the lake which you must shape your shots to stay in the fairway while managing to throw with good distance on most of them. Good use of the elevation for the most part.

The last part of the course finishes with some nice tee and basket placements with trees in play that work your mid range game.
Cons: - Hole 1

I am not fond of hole 1, I think its the weakest on the course requiring little skill and more of just a spike out to nowhere and hope it lands on the right side of the shrub so you can putt. I think this hole could easily be redesigned with all the empty space by the parking lot and still link up to hole 2.
Other Thoughts: North Lake is a good contrast to Lake Lewisville, I like to start off with a morning warm up round at Lake Lewisville then on to North Lake to throw some distance drives. I play here every time I am in Denton and this course really shows you what your game is made of.

0 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Good Variety

5+    1/23/2010   3/26/2010
Review By: Cheese
Played: 19  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: The first holes are long wide open shots for those with a big arm. The later holes become more technical.
Cons: The lack of concrete tee boxes and the heavy use of the course can lead to some pretty muddy encounters as well as vague tee areas.
Other Thoughts: The elevation changes in the course make it difficult at times to push joggers or strollers.

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Bare Bones Golfing

1    10/26/2009   12/7/2009
Review By: jasondguy
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 5.2 Years
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: It has 18 baskets, few water shots.
Cons: Too open, No Concrete tees, Signs are awful, pond is nasty if you have to recover a disc.
Other Thoughts: Boring to say the least, wasn't excited about any holes until Hole 15 I think.

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Not Fat Friendly

1    11/18/2009   11/18/2009
Review By: chalos13
Played: 33  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 7.3 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Front nine is very open, lots of good open shots. This is a great place to practice your drives. The greens are the only wooded places for most of the course, so you're accuracy for mids and putts is critical. Holes 4-7 are up or down hills, so huge chance here to maximize distance. I really had a great time here, lots of trash cans, not crowded.
Cons: 4, 5, 6 and 7 are up and down hills. I'm not "in shape" so these wore me out really early. Made this course exhausting. Hole 14 has a huge puddle almost exactly at the critical turn for that hole, also about my average distance on a drive, so I landed right in the swamp. The back nine feels crowded after the huge open front nine. Lots of long walks between holes, don't go on a hot day, no shade. Some of these baskets, the top of the basket actually curves in? I've never seen this before, and it totally boned me on some shots. I was really excited about the proshop between 11 and 12, but it's more a ball golf shop, they had like 12 discs that all seemed used, I was sad.
Other Thoughts: This course was fun, I probably got my max distance drive today (shot downhill on 7) but the only challenge here is really the distance. I had a good time, this is the first course that really allowed me to cut loose and blow my arm out for all out distance, without making me pay for it. It's a great course to play for practice, but not a great challenge.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

solid but nothing special

5+    7/11/2013   10/19/2009
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 207  Reviewed: 151  Exp: 7.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/14/2013
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Makes good use of the elevation and water
-Lots of longer holes where you can pull out the big guns.
-Some more technical holes on the back 9.
-Sequence of holes has a nice flow, except the gap between 11&12.
-Course is mostly easy to follow, 11-12 gap is the only real trouble spot.
-Wind is a major test on the open holes

*Update*
-New dual concrete tees on each hole. There are now 4 different layouts you can play: Long, short, classic, and new.
-Many of the new tees offer significantly different looks at the hole.
Cons: -Lack of shade, especially on the front 11
-The baskets are okay but some have single chains, leaning slightly, and/or just kind of janky.
-Much of the front 11 is unmemorable distance holes with little to no obstacles. Thank goodness for the pond and bunker.
Other Thoughts: This is a good option if you live in Denton. You can get in a fun round in town without having to drive to Lewisville. That said, I live in Denton and I'm certainly willing to drive to Lewisville pretty frequently just to play a better course.

This is basically a long and mostly uneventful course. Most of the front 9 circles a small lake (or big pond?) which comes into play on 4(creek),6,9. Not much in terms of obstacles, just a few lines of trees here and there so just bring your distance. A large bunker circles half of the lake so a few holes get an elevated teepad (5,7,9) or basket (4,8). Most of these holes are straight fairways and don't favor RH or LH.

Once you get through 11, there is a long walk around some tennis courts and a ball golf driving range to get to the tee for 12. Can be a nice little break and there is a water fountain and beverage machine on the way, next to a little shop between the tennis course with drinks and snacks.
The back holes are a little more varied: more trees, obstacles and technical holes, shorter distances. Here a small creek comes into play on 15-18. Great contrast from the front side.

The other major factor here is that there is nearly always a good amount of wind coming through the course. Great practice for getting used to the wind but it can get old. Bring your overstable plastic, somehow there is almost always a headwind not matter which direction you are facing.

The course is a veritable swamp after a heavy rain. The front 9 is doable but you've got to skip much of the back unless you want to be at least ankle deep in mud and water.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Decent Long Range Course

5+    8/30/2009   9/8/2009
Review By: HoboMaster
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 11.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good variety of shots. Long, open shots for the first group, then some closer, precision shots in the last group.
Lots of fun if you like really airing out a disc, plus the lake and the creek in the last area gives some challenging risk/reward shots.
Not usually very crowded, and eve when it is, the people are mostly friendly.
Cons: Few to no trees from hole #2 to about hole #13, gets really hot.
Long walks between most of the holes.
Only mowed on the fairways, the grass outside of that can get REALLY long.
VERY windy, even for Denton, but it doesn't affect you as much as it could, since they're mostly long, straight shots that are pretty forgiving.
Other Thoughts: This course really let me get my drives down.
It's a long ways from hole #11 to #12, but the trip takes you past a place to get drinks as well as a golf pro shop with some decent discs for sale.
Overall a pretty fun course.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.