Denton, TX
North Lake Park Share
Uploaded By: sgb118 Hole #18 (Taken 3/2009)
3 / 360ft.   3 / 360ft.   3 / 323ft.   3 / 323ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Norh Lake Park

1    3/15/2014   3/15/2014
Review By: MrCoff3y
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 0.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very beginner friendly. The course is open with very few obstacles, especially on the front nine.
Multiple concrete tees for each hole
Locals are friendly
Cons: Getting from the back none to the front nine s a bit of walk.
No signs at several of the tees
No course map
Other Thoughts: If it wasn't for the local disc golfer that I played with I would have had no idea where to go. It was a very fun course though, many birdie even for a new guy like me.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

The great wide open in Denton

5+    2/22/2014   2/22/2014
Review By: thejake78
Played: 18  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 10.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Concrete tee pads, with multiple tees per hole
- Course makes use of elevation changes presented by levies around the "lake" (#7 in particular makes use of this, throwing from the top of one across a large field to another)
- Plenty of opportunities to air out some throws
Cons: - Course is is fairly open with very few obstacles, particularly over most of the front eleven holes. Being fairly open, there is little cover from wind, or the Texas sun in summer time
- While navigation/flow is generally not too bad (a better map would be helpful), the walk from #11 to #12 is substantial, about a quarter mile. From #11, walk past the basket, veering laft past the tennis courts to the sidewalk at the street. Follow this past the driving range and batting cages to get to #12.
- Signage ranges from faded to nonexistent as of my writing this
- Difficult to recover discs from murky(nasty) water, both the lake near 6 and especially 9(highest risk for RHBH), and the creek near the last few holes. The lake is marked off-limits by the way
- A few places tend to get pretty muddy at times
- The grasses off the fairways can be very high in the spring and summer between mows
Other Thoughts: Ready for a hike? This is a pretty lengthy course...flat, mostly, except for the handful of trips up and down the levies on holes #4 through #9, plus the long walk from #11 to #12. There are many holes here that are little more than straight shots across a field where the greatest obstacle is the wind. It is not the most exciting course as far as layout or technical variety, but the chance to really air out your drivers, I think, nudges my rating up on this course, and I believe making it worth checking out if in the area.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


5+    2/1/2014   2/21/2014
Review By: guarenteedace
Played: 37  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.5 Years
This review was updated on 2/25/2014
Pros: this is a decent course. there are 2 sets of tee pads and when played from the longs you can really bomb it out there. there are several elevation changes which make use of the levees and these are the best holes. the park is for the most part clean. the locals are very nice and dont mind showing you around. the rough is essentially non existent so you shouldnt lose any discs unless they havent mowded. water comes into play on a few holes, but isnt really that big of an issue unless youre dumb and throw your meathooks on number 9. the creek is usually shallow and discs should be easy enough to find. the course flows pretty well and uses the available land well.
Cons: really wide open. the front 12 holes are all out in open fields with little to no obsticals in the way. i prefer a mix of open and wooded holes and thats not the case here. there is a looooong walk from hole 12 to 13. the first few times i played i had no clue where to go, signage would help greatly. playing during the summer is brutal since there isnt much shade, bring lots of water. denton can get quite windy and with the lack of trees its can be tricky. the back 6 holes are decent but seem like filler.
Other Thoughts: decent at best but denton is a great place to visit. its a college town and most bars around have a great selection of craft beer. oak street draft house and lucky lous are both great place to wind down after your round.

Sentimental for a good reason

5+    12/1/2010   10/11/2012
Review By: NTexas2010
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Variety of long arm holes and finesse holes.
- Utilizes the levee and pond on a number of holes in a clever and challenging manner.
- The crowd favorite Hole 7, where you bomb one from the top of a 25 ft levee over the "valley" onto a 10 ft levee.
Cons: - After front 9, it gets a little confusing where to go. Just go around the front of the driving range and batting cages along the road to pickup where you left off.
- Bring at least 1-2 spare throwaway discs. The pond in the middle would be the obvious culprit but actually the creek on the back 9 is a disc-thief.
Other Thoughts: This is where I started playing Disc golf in college while at North Texas, so of course it has a sentimental/nostalgia element for me. It almost seems like they designed the front 9 and back 9 with two different schools of thought, and I appreciate both (Front 9 grip and rip in the open terrain wind, back 9 technical prowess in and amongst the trees).

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Much improved

5+    7/21/2012   7/21/2012
Review By: i_throw_bricks
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -New concrete tee pads make for more consistent play across varying conditions of wetness.
-Addition of long tees on a number of the previously easier holes makes it more challenging than it used to be.
-The final 6 holes are great. They are wooded, shaded, and more finess than the first 12.
-The front 9 is great for beginners.
-The pin on hole 4 is on top of a hill, adding a little extra challenge.
-The tee for hole 5 plays from the top of a hill and is a great opportunity to bomb one for beginners.
-Hole 6 is pretty straight forward but is a nice long tunnel shot.
-Much better maintained than in past years.
Cons: -The front 12 are very open. While this can be fun for beginners, they are a little too easy for more advanced players. More importantly, they get bloody hot during the summer.
-Still gets muddy at spots during rainy season.
-Can get very windy.
-During the summer, the creek that comes into play on the last 4 holes gets very stagnant and flat out gross. Personally, I would rather pay a few bucks to buy my disc back from Second Hand Sports than take my shoes in there.
-Did I mention it gets hot in the summer?
Other Thoughts: This is my home course, so I have played it for years out of necessity. It's now a pleasure to play. While not as challenging as Lake Lewisville, I find it equally enjoyable. It's one of the best courses within 30 miles of Denton. If you're looking for something advanced with tons of technical shots, this isn't the course, though.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Worth the trip to Denton

2-4    9/3/2011   10/12/2011
Review By: lajoie24
Played: 30  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 2.8 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The newish multiple concrete tees on each hole make this course a delight to play. This bad boy had elevated tees, dog legs, ace runs and even an island basket. Good for newbs like me and experienced players
Cons: The big flaw I found with the course was the distance between 11 & 12. Have a cab ready, because you'll need it.
Other Thoughts: Directions to 12 - After finishing 11, turn left towards the driving range. I'd recommend walking around the range, but the choice is yours. Once you're past the range, you'll see the batting cages. The tee is opposite side of the cages.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Northlake Park Rundown!!!

1    8/1/2011   8/11/2011
Review By: TxDiscGolfBoy
Played: 34  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 7.9 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Teepads (long and short)
-Teesigns
-Great flow
-Shot variety (long, short, great elevation chages, trees, water)
-Well kept course and groomed decently. Not much unwanted brush and brambles.
-Long course for you big-armed-drive lovers.
Cons: -On the front side of the course there isn't much shade, so it can get extremely hot out. Bring sunscreen.
-I hear it can get pretty muddy when it's been raining.
-Wind is the major factor out here when it's blowing.

....bout it
Other Thoughts: Great course that I'm pretty sure just got a recent upgrade. I do believe you can thank Mr. Stev-o Storrie for getting all that set up.

Great course worth the travel if you aren't too far away. If you're the northern sector of the metroplex, this course would be worth a stop. Make a trip out of it and play lewisville and the surrounding northern courses.

Great job on this one. Enjoyed it thoroughly.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Tale of 2 Nines

1    1/19/2011   7/19/2011
Review By: harr0140
Played: 682  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1) Metal signs with distance, Hole # and a general layout of the hole. They do the job but aren't all that attractive.

2) Since I was there I guess concrete was put in which is great for this course . . . it was tough teeing off on some of the worse out tees but concrete is always appreciated!!! Not only are they concrete but apparently dual concrete which is even better!

3) Garbage cans available in multiple spots to keep this course clean!

4) Turf is in pretty good condition in most areas on this course. There are a few compacted areas or damaged turf areas but all in all this seems to be a well maintained grounds.

5) The back 9 gets its own positive . . . it is much more fun, slightly more technical, shorter, and simply more fun than the front 9 which is mostly open, minimal obstacles, still fun but not as mcuh as the back 9.

6) Beginner friendly (aside from being long there are only a couple places where losing a disc might happen). It might be frustrating to start out on the really long holes on the front 9 but at least they will quickly learn how the disc flys before they get to the water hole or the elevated holes, or the technical shots.

7) My wife threw her third shot on #3 into the garbage can which was one of the highlights of my round! I laughed and fortunately . . . so did she!

8) Park has batting cages, a driving range, and a rec center also . . . I am sure there were bathrooms on that building somewhere, but I am not 100% sure.

9) Elevation is used to improve a mostly open boring front 9. One hole has you throwing to a basket on the side of the ridge. Then the next you shoot down te ridge of what looks to be a flood prevention dike. Then you play a hole in a narrow area with the berm on your left side and trees on your right creating a sort of tunnel that you need to try and navigate without hitting the hill early or going to the righ tinto the woods. Then you throw back across a dropoff to another basket slightly on a sloped area. Back across again and then you throw down from the top of the berm to a basket tucked just slightly around a pond . . . great hole . . . incoroporating water and elevation on one hole otherwise it would be a really boring hole if the basket was elsewhere.

10) Front 9 challenges you a couple different ways and the back 9 gets a little more diverse in trouble and shot shaping.

11) The length of the holes varies well and the overall length of the course presents a moderate challenge on its own.
Cons: 1) Directionals would be helpful in a couple locations as the course is pretty spread out and you might go the wrong way.

2) Mix of baskets is a negative in my opinion . . . perhaps it is all they have and they dont have money for that upgrade . . . having concrete tees isntalled is more important than baskets anyways so perhaps it will change down the road.

3) The front 9 is pretty boring . . . they did use the elevation and the water as best they could but it just does not compare to the front 9.

4) The front 9 is pretty simple and you have multiple shots possible on most holes.

5) This is not a picturesque course in fact it really isn't pretty at all . . . but at least they have some good disc golf holes. It just seems to be placed in an area where no other activities would be.

6) Long walk in a couple places between holes . . . breaks up the flow ofthe course but there was no way to put holes in between because of other activities or natural transitions in the layout of the course.
Other Thoughts: When I was there there were no concrete tees, the construction along the road was pretty fresh and that affected a couple of the holes and especially your footing as it had not been final graded or seeded yet . . . so I am giving this place the benefit of the doubt that these things have been solved since I was there as I read in someone else's review. The tees along bring this course up half a disc in my opinion because that was one of the biggest detractors when I was there.

Before the concrete I would have given this course a 2.5 or maybe even a 2.0 . . .so I bumped it up to a 3 after the dual concrete went in . . . rumors of signs and new baskets would also help so I rated it slightly higher for the current updates taking place.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Long & Open

2-4    5/22/2011   5/23/2011
Review By: Notorious21
Played: 38  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 3.6 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros:
- Some creative hole layouts
- Good use of elevation
- Forgiving
Cons:
- Long grass
- High winds
- No tee pads (as of now)
- Not many finesse shots required
- Hole 14 is in a giant puddle (we skipped it)
- Long walk to 12
Other Thoughts: The rumored upgrade would help this course a lot. It's challenging, but not in an annoying way.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Diverse & Challenging

5+    4/27/2011   4/28/2011
Review By: pilsurquell
Played: 23  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 9.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/6/2011
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: --Super friendly locals (college town)
--There is a great variety of shots & terrain though the length of the course, some super-long, some short, some open, some technical, some elevated. A little bit of everything.
--Easily converts to a 9-hole course if you play from 1 & work your way around the back of the course.
--The course can also start w hole 12 if you park off Windsor Dr. by the tennis courts, which mixes up the feel a bit(close technical holes first, that way you're well and warmed up for the long bombs of the front 9)
Cons: dirt tees, signage is meh, long walk between 11 & 12, front 9 is kinda intimidating for folks who throw under 350 feet. mixed baskets, some are in better shape than others. hot as hades in the summer, bring lots of water.
Other Thoughts: All in all, this is a very underrated park that is getting a much needed facelift this summer, with new teepads, signs & several new pro tees. (i'm pretty sure there was talk of new baskets, as well) If you don't know the way around, then you may find yourself befuddled around the 10th-11th hole...walk past the tennis courts & past the batting cages along the street to get to 12. Looking forward to fall here, going to be sooooo nice once the upgrades are done.
***This is NOT my home course, by the way, but i still make the drive to play here at least once a week. If you learn the course & have the shots, it's worth it. Great run.***

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.