Course Extinct
Billings, MT 
Pioneer Park Share
Uploaded By: JR Stengele Hole #2
3 / --   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Basket



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Good city course.

5+    7/10/2010   7/15/2010
Review By: Danger
Played: 87  Reviewed: 70  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/16/2010
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Rubber tees on most holes
-Very popular course, friendly locals
-All around FUN to play
-Natural and easy to navigate course flow
-Area is essentially DG exclusive
-Baskets numbered
-Well manicured grass
-Alternate pro tees on most holes
Cons: -Only 13 holes, would be fun to be a full 18
-Tee signs exist, but no info is on them. Just a blank post. Some have a number sticker on the pole
-Mud in a few of the tee pads made the intended tee-off area impossible to use
Other Thoughts: So this is the disc golf course in Billings that is under threat of being removed due to 'gang and drug activity.' Well, that being said, we found the locals at this park among the most friendly we have encountered. The course was also ALWAYS busy, with no less than five groups playing each time we went. It would be a shame for the city to take out this popular course. It will remain until June 2011 until another 'decision' is made. . . .

Anyway, this is a fun, typical park course that occupies a corner of a large city park behind a High School. Rolling hills, trees (including these evil disc-eating pines), and a small creek shape most of the holes here, each with its own challenge or lack there-of.

This is a very re-playable course, being only 13 holes, 12 looping back to hole one. A round takes less than 45 minutes. The park is open till 10 PM and there is enough lighting (or light out in the summer) to continue play until this time.

Without sounding like another blah blah blah review, this course had uphills, downhills, around-the-hills, flat bomber holes and shorter technical ones that brought the creek into play. Hole two plays particularly close to the creek and it seemed like every group that played it had at least one disc end up in the water.

The other nice thing about the layout of the course is that there were usually multiple lines to the basket. Its the first course I have played in this region of the states that is not blatantly designed for the forehand thrower. Different lines for each type of throw kept the course interesting.

This course is a great compliment to Diamond X because it is the complete opposite type of course. After you are done torturing yourself out in the desert you can come back to Pioneer Park and remind yourself that you can, indeed, play disc golf. Good for casual play, quick rounds, and practice. A good variety of players were here too; families, teenagers, some seniors, and really everything across the board. Most players had good etiquette, letting faster players through through, allowing those ahead of you to hole out, and so on. I really am not sure why the city wants this course gone, but I hope to see it stay for a very long time.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A Quick, Fun Round

1    8/27/2009   8/31/2009
Review By: DaKineSurfer32
Played: 429  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 13.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - every hole is fun
- a quick round for lunchtime or when you don't have any time to devote to Diamond X
- challenging risk/reward shots, and the water definitely comes into play
- creative hole layouts that make you use every shot
Cons: - only 12 holes
- poor tees and no signs made the course hard to follow
- can get a little crowded and no one lets anyone play through
- lots of family groups that play slowly
- a few older baskets that need some repairs
Other Thoughts: I actually had a lot of fun at this course. It was a quick, fun round in a pretty nice city park with a small creek in the middle.

I think one of the biggest downfalls of this course is that it's only 12 holes. There most definitely is space enough in this park to add another six and make a solid 18 hole course.

I had a little bit of trouble following the course because there weren't any sort of signs or directions at all (though the directions in the course directory get you to tee 1 perfectly). But there are enough locals that do play this course that are willing to help you find your way around, so no signs isn't a huge issue from that respect.

Billings is a cool little town with lots of fun things to do, and Pioneer Park is worth playing if you're in town to play Diamond X.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Pioneer Park

2-4    4/7/2008   4/8/2008
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 192  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 14.6 Years
This review was updated on 3/13/2010
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
The course is located in a beautiful park next to the local high school. The course plays on rolling hills with plenty of elevation shots. The running stream which flows through the course comes into play on some holes which adds to the difficulty and fun. The tee pads are rubber for the long positions and dirt for the closer shots. Some holes only have one tee pad however. The Mach 2 baskets are in great shape, with challenging pin placements for some because of the water and elevation. The course requires challenging drives through trees, and open putts on most holes with the exception of #'s 1, 2, and 9.
Cons:
Although the course is very easy to find, the tee signs are damaged so it was somewhat difficult to know where to start. It would be nice if they had some sort of sign indicating where the official DG entrance was. Also, since the course is located next to the high school PE classes are out playing with about 30 students. They are all over the place and are not quite sure why they are out there or what they are doing. Atleast they are being introduced to the game. Another thing is that the course has been cut back from 18 to 12 holes and dog poop is all over the place. Apparently nobody around there has ever heard about cleaning up after their pets.
Other Thoughts:
Because I didn't quite know where to start I searched out a couple of locals who were about to play. Joseph and Kenny were about two of the nicest players I have played with and were very helpful in showing me around, playing, and explaining why the holes were cut back and what the old layout used to look like. Even though this course was only 12 holes it was very scenic and exciting. It gave me the opportunity to practice shots, make a few birdies, and just get out and play. I would recommend getting out and playing a round if ever in Billings. It was quick and easy!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.