Kirkland, IL 
Pioneer Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #18
3 / 239ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Solid Rec Course

1    6/11/2016   6/13/2016
Review By: MidwestZest
Played: 93  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 16.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Nice, perfectly sized park to put 18 recreational holes in. Nice sized 3-4 acre pond in the middle that the course plays around, and a swift moving river on the north end of the course.
- Good amount of trees in the park to create throwing lanes, and they're used pretty well. Especially for a park course.
- #5 - Nice hole design, even though it's short, forcing you to make a good choice to get to a guarded basket.
- #11 - Wow. This hole is down a lane next to the river that obviously used to be a road or trail in some life past. Now it's home to the coolest looking and hardest hole on the course. Fairway about 30 feet wide nearly all the way down to the pin, with a steep-ish drop off to the right down into the swift moving river.
- #13 - Really the only other hole that brings water into play. Nice hole though, with water skirting the right side of the fairway.
Cons: - Natural tee pads that have seen a lot of traffic. Mostly wallowed out, although generally smooth surface. Players have obviously started playing to one side of these ruts to avoid them.
- No great indication of where the course start is, or a map or kiosk anywhere on the course.
- Pretty short course. Only three holes at or above 300 feet. Eight holes 250 ft or shorter.
- Mosquitos, goose droppings, and poison ivy were among the unfortunate, natural obstacles on this course while I was there.
- For the nice water features in the park, they really weren't implemented in the design. Whether that was to keep the course at a recreational player level, or to keep fishing and disc golf separate, who knows. There could have been some really nice pond carries or skirts here, though.
- Pretty well no elevation here to work with.
- Didn't ever find the tee for #9. The fairway is pretty obvious, coming back from the #8 basket, but in the couple minutes I spent looking I didn't see one. Maybe I just missed it.
Other Thoughts: - Signage is sufficient, and actually done pretty effectively for as small as they are. Number, a small map, distance, and par. All you need.
- Layout is fine but not great - with the same to be said for navigation.
- Fun course, and a really nice attraction for a small community. I enjoyed my time here.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

April (2016) update

1    4/2/2016   4/2/2016
Review By: Pactime
Played: 21  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 1.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's neat to have a proper 18 hole course near DeKalb!
Kirkland is quiet and I'm guessing this place doesn't get too crowded.
If you have uDisc, there's a good map available for your phone (that's more a plug for uDisc than pro for the course, but still...)
The tees are marked fine, but this was my first time and without my app I would've struggled to figure it out. I'm used to concrete tees that are easier to spot. But that said, now that I know/understand, I'd say it's marked well.
I enjoyed playing the back stretch heading up to the river, and liked flirting with the pond too.
I didn't check out any of the facilities, but there's garbage cans, picnic tables. And benches scattered all around, and a good party/picnic spot there too.
Cons: It's very flat and overall not very technical. Fairly open, even with the trees around. There are quite a few new trees and as these mature, it should help the challenges. For now, it was pretty easy...too easy. And, although marked well as far as flow goes, don't believe the suggestions. It's all par 3. Great for beginners for sure.
Some of the baskets are kinda haggard, but none were broken and they mostly catch well. And if crowded, I can definitely see problems with interference and crossover.
Other Thoughts: I'm visiting family so was thrilled to find 18 holes. I played at Skare yesterday and enjoyed that a bunch. I like Pioneer too and would play again...will play again...when I'm back in DeKalb. Not sure I'd drive far if I lived more towards the city, but it's a wonderful spot for locals. It was crazy windy today, and started snowing as I arrived. That's not the parks fault, but I found it less fun than I otherwise might. On a nice day, I'm sure I'd want to play 36. Applause to Kirkland for setting up and maintaining.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner/Intermediate

1    6/25/2011   6/27/2011
Review By: notapro
Played: 462  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 13.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a flat city park that has a good amount of water present. Looks like people fish here, as well as meander around, so there might be some slight DG interference.
- Also present here are a good amount of trees, from little bitty ones to some very mature ones. Many holes have a clear, straight path to the basket, but also have plenty of trees to snag any shots that aren't lazer beams. Other holes seem to have an obvious hyzer or anhyzer to the basket, based on the location of the trees, there are very few holes that are wide, wide open. Low shots highly recommended.
- More than a couple holes play close to, or immediately next to some deep water. One is a small hyzer, with water on the right, and another is a wider corridor shot with water on the right (down a steep bank). It's definitely reachable with an inaccurate tee shot.
- Some other holes are set in a small, small forested area, which add some more difficulty. These also have water in play in a few spots, don't go long on 8.
- Decent variety in hole length
- Good signage, dirt teepads in ok shape, baskets ok, with a few exceptions. Navigation not tough.
Cons: - Biggest con at the this course is the shorter hole lengths; there just isn't much more room for anything else. The course already has 3 holes (2-4) on the other side of the road as is, and still have to jam a few in. The design is pretty solid, though, each hole has some trick to it. If you can throw 300', leave the drivers in the bag.
- With all the water here, it's a shame only a few holes are next to it. But, it is a normal city park, and it needs to be shared by everyone, i.e. fishermen.
Other Thoughts: - Overall, it's not that bad a course. You will need to execute some tight, accurate lines to reach some of the baskets, due to the scattered trees. Throwing dead straight is a definite plus. A few shots with some water help to keep things interesting. But, that said, it really is better suited to beginners. Shorter hole lengths and avoidable trees aren't super exciting to a more experienced player.
- As of 6/27, basket 8 was obliterated and tee 9 was nowhere to be found.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/28/2010   8/28/2010
Review By: mikeb23
Played: 16  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of different shots short to mid right turn to left turn and the straight on shots always had a tree right in the way making for some fun challenging holes. Fun layout with some water hazards. It would take some seriously bad throws to end up in the water but I did see it happen while I was there. The park itself is maintained pretty well, the grass was freshly mowed and it was reasonably clean.
Cons: The course is pretty short. The longest hole is only about 325 so be prepared for that. I wasn't sure what to expect today so I brought 3 mids and 5 drivers I think i threw 1 driver all day. Dirt tee pads were definitely a con. It hasn't rained in a while so they were ok today, but when it rains they would obviously get muddy and rutted. I was also told by a local that holes 7 and 8 flood when it rains. Lastly, some of the baskets are a little beat up and don't catch very well.
Other Thoughts: All in all I would say its a pretty fun course. But don't get too excited that its going to be exceedingly difficult or long. Its perfect for a mid level player who has a 300 foot drive and needs to hone thier skills a little bit.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good Recreational Course

2-4    6/14/2008   1/13/2010
Review By: #19325
Played: 343  Reviewed: 177  Exp: 15.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a medium sized park with scattered trees. There is a river and small pond on the property. There are very few places with heavy rough.

There are very nice tees signs.

Nice Discraft Chainstar baskets.

This is a super friendly beginner course.
Cons: The natural tee pads can be muddy and uneven. After heavy rain this course can be muddy with the River running next to it.

It can be difficult to navigate in a few areas.

Many shots are repetive and there is very little variety.

At 4,700 feet this is a super short course. Any semi experienced players are going to be throwing a mid range and putter all day. I felt the park land had potential to be a soild course but the designer did not maximize this potential.

There is a river and pond on this property. Neither are utilized and come into play. Some sweet pin placements and shots over the pond could have made this course interesting.
Other Thoughts: I make several trips a year to Rockford to play. I do not stop by this course to play since it's pretty boring and not challenging. If you are a student at NIU i'd consider the drive but I wouldn't go too far out of the way to play this course.

Here are some nice photos of the course.
http://discontinuum.org/index...itemId=244755

Check out my Illinois Top 10
http://discontinuum.org/index...1486.msg68704#msg68704

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.