Kirkland, IL 
Pioneer Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #17
3 / 247ft. Par / Distance:
I aced this with a 171g StarMax on 10/1/8. Dumb me I signed the back of the pin number marker.



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Solid Rec Course

1    6/11/2016   6/13/2016
Review By: MidwestZest
Played: 93  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 16.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Nice, perfectly sized park to put 18 recreational holes in. Nice sized 3-4 acre pond in the middle that the course plays around, and a swift moving river on the north end of the course.
- Good amount of trees in the park to create throwing lanes, and they're used pretty well. Especially for a park course.
- #5 - Nice hole design, even though it's short, forcing you to make a good choice to get to a guarded basket.
- #11 - Wow. This hole is down a lane next to the river that obviously used to be a road or trail in some life past. Now it's home to the coolest looking and hardest hole on the course. Fairway about 30 feet wide nearly all the way down to the pin, with a steep-ish drop off to the right down into the swift moving river.
- #13 - Really the only other hole that brings water into play. Nice hole though, with water skirting the right side of the fairway.
Cons: - Natural tee pads that have seen a lot of traffic. Mostly wallowed out, although generally smooth surface. Players have obviously started playing to one side of these ruts to avoid them.
- No great indication of where the course start is, or a map or kiosk anywhere on the course.
- Pretty short course. Only three holes at or above 300 feet. Eight holes 250 ft or shorter.
- Mosquitos, goose droppings, and poison ivy were among the unfortunate, natural obstacles on this course while I was there.
- For the nice water features in the park, they really weren't implemented in the design. Whether that was to keep the course at a recreational player level, or to keep fishing and disc golf separate, who knows. There could have been some really nice pond carries or skirts here, though.
- Pretty well no elevation here to work with.
- Didn't ever find the tee for #9. The fairway is pretty obvious, coming back from the #8 basket, but in the couple minutes I spent looking I didn't see one. Maybe I just missed it.
Other Thoughts: - Signage is sufficient, and actually done pretty effectively for as small as they are. Number, a small map, distance, and par. All you need.
- Layout is fine but not great - with the same to be said for navigation.
- Fun course, and a really nice attraction for a small community. I enjoyed my time here.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

April (2016) update

1    4/2/2016   4/2/2016
Review By: Pactime
Played: 22  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 1.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's neat to have a proper 18 hole course near DeKalb!
Kirkland is quiet and I'm guessing this place doesn't get too crowded.
If you have uDisc, there's a good map available for your phone (that's more a plug for uDisc than pro for the course, but still...)
The tees are marked fine, but this was my first time and without my app I would've struggled to figure it out. I'm used to concrete tees that are easier to spot. But that said, now that I know/understand, I'd say it's marked well.
I enjoyed playing the back stretch heading up to the river, and liked flirting with the pond too.
I didn't check out any of the facilities, but there's garbage cans, picnic tables. And benches scattered all around, and a good party/picnic spot there too.
Cons: It's very flat and overall not very technical. Fairly open, even with the trees around. There are quite a few new trees and as these mature, it should help the challenges. For now, it was pretty easy...too easy. And, although marked well as far as flow goes, don't believe the suggestions. It's all par 3. Great for beginners for sure.
Some of the baskets are kinda haggard, but none were broken and they mostly catch well. And if crowded, I can definitely see problems with interference and crossover.
Other Thoughts: I'm visiting family so was thrilled to find 18 holes. I played at Skare yesterday and enjoyed that a bunch. I like Pioneer too and would play again...will play again...when I'm back in DeKalb. Not sure I'd drive far if I lived more towards the city, but it's a wonderful spot for locals. It was crazy windy today, and started snowing as I arrived. That's not the parks fault, but I found it less fun than I otherwise might. On a nice day, I'm sure I'd want to play 36. Applause to Kirkland for setting up and maintaining.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 random course in the middle of nowhere

1    10/28/2012   10/28/2012
Review By: booradly
Played: 91  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 4.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -is a nice park and super quiet
- there was not any other disc golfers on the course made it so we could take our time throw a few shots and really just have a nice relaxing game
- i know this is going to sound silly but its nice to have a course with water on the right side of the fairway as a left back hand player most courses that use water as an obstacle do nothing to make those holes more of a challenge.
-hole 8 is awesome lots of woods and cover that make for a tough shot up to the basket that is surrounded by trees.
-most holes have at least some sort of obstacle to make you line up a good shot
Cons: -no pads, and some of the dirt pad areas had random stuff half buried like one hole had a pipe sticking out of it that took up a lot of the pad and hole 8 had some cement ticking out
- some of the baskets on the back side were really old and in poor condition(you gotta hit the chains because the baskets are loose, i missed a few puts because of this)
-lots of water i know some people hate water so i thought i would put this here even though i think it makes a course a lot more fun.
- tons of geese i actually hit one with my boss.
-not a great location there is not much around it.
Other Thoughts: -if you live in the dekalb area it is worth the trip. and really east to get to from niu.
- i live in the west burbs and unless i was going to hit up the courses in like rockford i don't know if i wouldmake the trip out to play this course

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Sweet little flinger...

1    6/12/2012   6/12/2012
Review By: CzTeacherMan
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 16.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Easily marked (just be sure to park off of North Rd. by the awning and port-a-potties).
-Great flow to the course
-Beautiful park
-very quiet little town
-shorter holes, nothing over 330 feet (see also: Cons)
-a few tricky shots with obstacles, but many open shots as well
Cons: -shorter holes. Par 4s were no longer than 260 feet.
-dirt tees
-goose poop. Lots of goose poop. Oh, and geese. They only got in the way on hole 13, but they were very angry that I disturbed them... Scary goose!
Other Thoughts: Overall, a fun little place to flick some discs for an hour. A quick little course that can challenge a beginner, be great practice for an intermediate player, and be quick fun for a more advanced player. I'll definitely be back on a regular basis!

Quick note, earlier reviews mentioned broken baskets... All have been fixed. Only broken anything was tee post #9, but the post is there and the basket is clearly visible.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  kirkland course

5+    8/3/2011   8/3/2011
Review By: gabe007
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: i really like this course because its in a nice park if alot of trees and it has a pond in the middle. also there isnt to many people there and if there are they are all playing disc golf if there are other people using the park they are fishing and they wont get in your way. im fairly new to the sport and thought this course was fun and Challenging. not to hard to get par in fact really easy to. also for new players the hols arent that long( may be bad for better players. i dont know all the technical terms but according to other reviews there are alot of different looks. over all park is clean and the all the baskets are kept in good order. i fixed basket 8 the day but it doesnt have a bottom
Cons: alot of geese poo. there is a stupid river right by one hole and i lost a disk in it. the tee boxes get flooded sometimes but other then that its a pretty nice.
Other Thoughts: Its maybe the best thing kirkland has to offer in fact it is the best thing in kirkland. i have only been to two courses and this one is by far the best.
ALSO DONT FORGET HOLE 8 IS FIXED KINDA im working on the tee for hole 9

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner/Intermediate

1    6/25/2011   6/27/2011
Review By: notapro
Played: 462  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 13.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a flat city park that has a good amount of water present. Looks like people fish here, as well as meander around, so there might be some slight DG interference.
- Also present here are a good amount of trees, from little bitty ones to some very mature ones. Many holes have a clear, straight path to the basket, but also have plenty of trees to snag any shots that aren't lazer beams. Other holes seem to have an obvious hyzer or anhyzer to the basket, based on the location of the trees, there are very few holes that are wide, wide open. Low shots highly recommended.
- More than a couple holes play close to, or immediately next to some deep water. One is a small hyzer, with water on the right, and another is a wider corridor shot with water on the right (down a steep bank). It's definitely reachable with an inaccurate tee shot.
- Some other holes are set in a small, small forested area, which add some more difficulty. These also have water in play in a few spots, don't go long on 8.
- Decent variety in hole length
- Good signage, dirt teepads in ok shape, baskets ok, with a few exceptions. Navigation not tough.
Cons: - Biggest con at the this course is the shorter hole lengths; there just isn't much more room for anything else. The course already has 3 holes (2-4) on the other side of the road as is, and still have to jam a few in. The design is pretty solid, though, each hole has some trick to it. If you can throw 300', leave the drivers in the bag.
- With all the water here, it's a shame only a few holes are next to it. But, it is a normal city park, and it needs to be shared by everyone, i.e. fishermen.
Other Thoughts: - Overall, it's not that bad a course. You will need to execute some tight, accurate lines to reach some of the baskets, due to the scattered trees. Throwing dead straight is a definite plus. A few shots with some water help to keep things interesting. But, that said, it really is better suited to beginners. Shorter hole lengths and avoidable trees aren't super exciting to a more experienced player.
- As of 6/27, basket 8 was obliterated and tee 9 was nowhere to be found.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/28/2010   8/28/2010
Review By: mikeb23
Played: 16  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of different shots short to mid right turn to left turn and the straight on shots always had a tree right in the way making for some fun challenging holes. Fun layout with some water hazards. It would take some seriously bad throws to end up in the water but I did see it happen while I was there. The park itself is maintained pretty well, the grass was freshly mowed and it was reasonably clean.
Cons: The course is pretty short. The longest hole is only about 325 so be prepared for that. I wasn't sure what to expect today so I brought 3 mids and 5 drivers I think i threw 1 driver all day. Dirt tee pads were definitely a con. It hasn't rained in a while so they were ok today, but when it rains they would obviously get muddy and rutted. I was also told by a local that holes 7 and 8 flood when it rains. Lastly, some of the baskets are a little beat up and don't catch very well.
Other Thoughts: All in all I would say its a pretty fun course. But don't get too excited that its going to be exceedingly difficult or long. Its perfect for a mid level player who has a 300 foot drive and needs to hone thier skills a little bit.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Pioneer Park

1    6/29/2010   6/30/2010
Review By: Big_Man
Played: 36  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 10.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: When I arrived at this course I was pleasantly surprised at how nice this parked looked. Large trees, ponds, and well groomed grass. The course has 18 holes that makes its way around the large city park. The holes, though not entirely difficult, can create some challenge for beginning to intermediate disc golfers. The pond and Kishwaukee river do come into play on some holes, but only a really bad throw would your disc end up going into either of the two.
Cons: This park has a lot of things going for it, but there are certainly needs for improvement. The first thing I noticed when I arrived at hole 1 was the tee box (or lack there of). Dirt tee boxes are the worst, especially after rain, which happened the night before. I played every hole to the side of the tee box. Another down side is the flooding. Two of the holes ( I believe 7 and 8) were completely flooded and I had to skip them because they were surrounded by water. The other downside to this course is the inconsistency of baskets. Some baskets are really nice, others are older and a little more beat up.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I would play this course again. It is a pretty 18 hole course with a few kinks that need to be fixed. If this course ever has rubber or concrete tee boxes I would automatically give it a higher rating. There isn't much they can do about the flooding and I can live with the different baskets. I would suggest it if you are in DeKalb or Belvidere and are looking for something new.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 one of the best.

1    6/9/2010   6/9/2010
Review By: danscimeca
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Great 18 hole course. some akward tree placement makes it a fun challenge. almost no mosquitoes. wasnt busy at all plus the locals seemed friendly. has a good range of distances for the holes. and even the shortest of holes have a neat pin placement so it makes it still fun. honestly the best course i have played out of dekalb, jericho lake, oswego, and campton hills, and yorkville.
Cons: only one i can say is that the par system if you follow it is too easy compared to other courses par systems. anything over 300 ft is a par five.
Other Thoughts: once again a great course.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Meh

2-4    4/8/2010   5/7/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 14.8 Years
This review was updated on 7/8/2010
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a large flat park with scattered mature trees. There are two ponds and a river that can come into play with errant shots on a couple holes, I like seeing some risk like that on a course. Though there aren't really any tightly wooded shots, there are trees in play on every hole so it isn't just a bunch of wide open shots. There are several holes that call for a left or right turning shot but most holes have a variety of lines available.

There are lots of fun ace runs here, and every hole is reachable from the tee making it a fun course to go for deuces and a good course for newer players without much distance. The long tees add some distance and challenge for a little tougher round.

The tee signs on the main tees are good, with hole length and map. Some friendly locals pointed out the bricks set into the ground for the long tees which made for some more variety and some tougher shots. The park was nicely mowed and well kept with no trash or vandalism.
Cons: Both the short and long tees are natural, and could easily be muddy and rutted after the rain. Several were not level and didn't provide very good footing. The long tees were difficult to find on several holes, as they are just grass spots with numbered bricks set flush into the ground. Some had survey flags marking them when I played, if those were on every hole it would help a lot.

The navigation was a little funky in spots, none of the fairways crossed but you did have to walk by other tees to get to the next hole at times. The baskets weren't in great shape, they're definitely showing their age and they didn't catch all that well.

The design of this course is just mediocre. There are too many short easy holes that are reachable on lots of different lines so the course doesn't really make you use many different shots. The long tees are a little tougher, but every hole is still easily reachable off the tee. There are some great water hazards that really only came into play on shanked shots, I would have loved to see the water used better to make some cool risk/reward type holes. There were a few places where the course played too close to picnic areas and roads for some safety hazards.

Other Thoughts: This is an ok course that's worth a quick round if you're in the area, but not worth much of a trip. If you're going to play here, the long tees are more fun, but can be difficult to find. Beginners will find the course very approachable, with reasonable distances, multiple lines, and limited places to lose discs. More experienced players won't find a ton of challenge here, but will enjoy some fun ace runs. This course has a ton of safari potential, including some great over the water shots.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.