Disc Golf Store
Torrington, WY 
Pioneer Park Share
Uploaded By: DGtourist Hole #1 (Taken 4/2010)
-- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole 3



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Cool Old Baskets and No Tees

1    5/12/2013   5/14/2013
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 347  Reviewed: 342  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -I liked the old Innova Baskets with the bar stamp logo on them. They were pretty cool.
-Nice park overall, parking, shelters, playground, basketball courts, etc.
-Almost no chance to lose a disc here.
-A few ace runs depending on how you decide to play the course.
-There shouldn't be other disc golfers on the course.
-There were a few trees in the park, some conifers, some deciduous. A decent design could be made of this park.
Cons: -No tees, I just teed off from somewhere near the previous basket.
-Flow was pretty bad, the fairways were right near all kinds of other park amenities. It could be dangerous if the park was busy. It would be impossible to navigate if the baskets didnt have numbers on them.
Other Thoughts: There probably isn't a lot to do in Torrington so at least they have a course. There also probably aren't a lot of parks so a lot is crammed into this one. I would recommend mornings to play this course so you will lessen your chances of finding a busy park. This course really isn't worth going out of your way for and as long as you don't expect any tees you won't be disapointed.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Might be the ONLY! thing to do in Torrington

2-4    4/2/2010   4/3/2010
Review By: Ghetto B
Played: 25  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pioneer Park is a very easy course to find and, is usally not crowded. It is maintained by the city so it's green and clean.
Cons: All though the park is "Green and Clean" there are no obstacles to make it challenging. Most holes have little if not no hazzards at all. No Tee Pads is a CON to some people. But since the course is well maintained. I found it not to be an issue.

Other Thoughts: Torrington is generally warm during the summer month( I say MONTH because we have very short window of warm weather) and, in my experience not as windy as a lot of courses in the eastern part of Wyoming. Dispite only having 9 holes, Pioneer Park is a great beginner or Safri course. It would also serve as a great place to bring the family. With a Playground right smack dab in the middle of the course. You'll be able to keep a very close eye on you kids. Horseshoes, Basketball, Restrooms and, a 2 Gazeebo's with a BBQ pits. Are also available within the park. Friends and Family can hang out all day. While you get your fix.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Very small town, at least they have a course

1    8/30/2009   8/31/2009
Review By: Harrishabitat
Played: 134  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 8.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Many towns with 3 times the population don't have a course, so at least they have one. Beautiful park with nice grass...
Cons: Only hole one has a tee pad, no signs anywhere, holes 7 & 9 were out of the ground and laying the parking lot.
Other Thoughts: At least there is a course in this small town. Was in Wyoming for the weekend visiting family and me and the kids came down from Lusk to play a quick round. Was sad to find no tee pads or any signs, Still was nice to get out and throw at something. Really need to consider looking for donations or something to get some signs at least and flags on the ground for tee boxes. There is potential here.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 where to throw from?

3/29/2008   3/29/2008
Review By: DGtourist
Played: 188  Reviewed: 106  Exp: 11.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice park not far from the river. Depending on where you tee off from there can be great use of very tall mature trees. Unlike most nine hole park courses, there is length. I would shy away from the phrase pitch and putt. It was easy to find.
Cons: Number one (for all my searching) seems to be the only hole with a tee pad. I get the feeling that the city wanted to keep the pads away from the park grass. There is not even a simple marker poll or a flag, nothing. Not knowing where to tee off from takes away a lot of the score for me. The rest of the place is well taken care of as a park should be, but where should we tee off from?
Other Thoughts: If it were me I would have use the land to the south and had the course by the river. Very scenic

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.