Somerset, CA 
Pioneer Park Share
Uploaded By: CptSaveAPar Hole #9 (Taken 12/2011)
3 / --   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
What's going on?

5+    6/16/2014   6/18/2014
Review By: djlynch902
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.1 Years
Cons: Recent changes are making this course silly
Other Thoughts: What is going on here? The back 9 was moved around earlier this year and now the front nine is being moved.

#8 is silly. New #6 (I hear) will be a waste of time. Whatever the idea with the new #14 is a joke and the old #16 was a hole most looked forward to playing...now it's just more junk

I can only assume that the County landlords are forcing a move away from the common areas (which is always a good idea), but the resulting course is going to be far less enjoyable than it was before the changes

Course could be better

1    2/23/2014   2/24/2014
Review By: Fntsygamr
Played: 27  Reviewed: 23
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice quiet location. Good park atmosphere. Playground, baseball diamonds and community center for a day to picnic and hangout besides playing disc golf. Not too many people playing, good local help if you get lost finding your way around.
Cons: NAVIGATION IS HORRIBLE!! The "map" that has been provided at the beginning hole is just horrible. It doesn't represent the actual hole or tee locations for the course. Basket placement for some of the holes is crazy. back 9 is a mess and if you aren't paying attention, you will throw at the wrong basket and it will ruin your round.
Other Thoughts: The locals that we ended up playing with were amazing. Thank you to them for providing what was turning out to be a frustrating trip to a new course actually enjoyable to play. There needs to be some serious though put into the course. I have heard that vandals are messing up the tee signs, so that could be improved with better signage. Take the "map" away from the beginning hole, cause it doesn't represent the actual layout of the course. My review score would have been lower if not for the help we had navigating the course with help. It would have been higher if the basket locations were not so crazy in placement.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

My home course

5+    10/5/2013   10/5/2013
Review By: Gravediggerjason
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Easy course with some challenging shots great local flavor easy to find a group to join rarely over crowded locals do doubles on Thursdays in spring and summer and a winter tourney dubbed SuperCharlies which plays a round at pioneer and another at summerset country club.
Cons: Not marked well. No maps vandals like to bust up
The number signs and the 10th basket is played across a sometimes packed softball field.
Other Thoughts: It's my home course I live a mile away and have played it at least a 1000 times. I still love it.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

I Want To Steal The Previous Reviewers Title!

1    8/18/2012   9/20/2012
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 662  Reviewed: 606  Exp: 36.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/9/2012
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The previous reviewer "Jasonandsharon" perfectly summed up this course in his title. That is, it being a very solid course with some serious navigation issues. Actually, I could just plagiarize his entire review, it's that well written. You might want to just skip over mine and give his a thumbs up!
But I'll try and add some of my own intrepid insights. I played the course in August and things were bone dry. Water in the creek on the front nine would have certainly added to the beauty and challenge here. I think it was # 7 that I never found the teepad for. That's too bad because I really wanted to throw to that nifty basket location.
# 15 is a great longer hole and a perfect one to bring out your roller disc.

The signature hole on the course for me was # 16. It's a great ACE run where accuracy is really needed to stay out of trouble and at least come away with a birdie. You're throwing from up on a small hillside across a park road through a fairly small tunnel through the trees. Enjoyed the challenge here.
# 18 was another fun little ACE run. I'd like to see a small amount of trimming done to some branches here to give players a more realistiic chance for the ACE!. It's still a enjoyable little finishing hole.
Cons: The back nine really broke down as far as navigation went. I was fairly lost on holes 10-14. Really couldn't make much sense out of these. Signs were broke off or didn't seem to reflect upon the proper holes.
Other Thoughts: As I was finishing my round, two groups of people showed up to play. Had I been able to join them or follow, I'm sure my experience would have reflected more positvely upon this course. As is, there are some really enjoyable holes lurking just below the surface waiting to be played if you only know where to go, most of the front 9, as well as #'s 15, 16 and 18. And I'd like to see this course when it's not totally brown and parched.
So in conclusion, I say with a little water and a tiny bit of help navigating it, I think this is a course that could really grow on me.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Good Solid Course Hidden Under a Nightmare of Navigation

5+    9/13/2012   9/13/2012
Review By: jasonandsharon
Played: 142  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 30.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is located in a nice park with lots of anemities. Basketball court, two baseball diamonds, a horse arena, playground, and a community center. There is a solid course here once you figure it all out with lots of different shots varieties. You've got uphills, downhills, hyzers and anhyzers. You've got short holes under 200 feet, you've got longer holes over 400 feet. You've got tunnels and wide open fields. Theres a creek that plays through the front 9 giving some water hazards, although dry in summer. It really is a nice mixture of play. The course plays around all of the park starting and ending at roughly the same spot by the parking lot. And as others have mentioned the gas staion on the corner serves as a pro shop.
Cons: 1. Navigation, Navigation, Navigation!!! This course is really confusing without a guide or map. Tee signs don't match basket numbers. Holes share the same tees and one basket serves for two holes.
2. It really is kind of in the middle of nowhere. Not a con if you live close by but for most people will be.
Other Thoughts: This course was tough to review. The first time playing I spent most of the time looking for the tees and baskets and muttering and cussing to myself. I could see why some people don't bother to play this entire course. At this point I would have rated the course a 2 or lower. But being a glutton for punishment and after taking the time to figure out all the placements, I actually started to realize there was a pretty good course here. Once you know what you're doing and are not worried about navigation any more this course actually plays like a 3.5 course. Theres a lot of variety and shots and makes for a good throwing round. This course would easily be rated a 3.5 if the local club would just spend $5 on a can of paint and an hour in labor making it easier for people to find their way around. There is a really good course here and you can tell the locals have alot of fun here but if you are playing for the first time its going to take some time to figure out. I roughed out a course map and posted here, would highly recommend anyone trying to play to print it out before going, it will save you an hour of headache.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/4/2012   7/5/2012
Review By: lrghmn
Played: 55  Reviewed: 6
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Rock Formations. Shot Variety. And it's in a nice setting w/ cool locals. The course circles the parking lot so you can get as many holes as you want and just bounce.
Cons: Certainly no serious ones. It is hard to navigate the first time, but there are different ways to play the course. It's not maintained like golden gate park, but it is maintained.
Other Thoughts: Corner store serves as pro shop. When in Pville I often drive past another course to go here.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/22/2010   9/23/2010
Review By: Skwirly
Played: 37  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -decent elevation changes for small park
-good mix of holes
-just a fun course
Cons: -no tee signs
-a little bit of a challenge to figure out
-some tees dirt
Other Thoughts: I thought this was a really nice course. The holes were mostly short but with a technical aspect to make it a challenge. The front 9 are right when you enter the park and the back 9 are across the baseball field. Holes 2,7, and 9 have dirt tees and are hard to find especially 7 and 9, luckily some helpful local had set little markers for those paying attention. Holes 3 and 6 share a tee and so do 11 and 14. The course has obviously gone through some changes as some tees were numbered wrong, but had new numbers pasted on( some of which had fallen off). A lot of the holes are very close to each other but the park is not too busy so you could probably change up how you play it for some variety. My thought is that may be intentional since this park is well off the beaten path.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Pioneer Park, 2010

1    4/16/2010   4/16/2010
Review By: Joe_Maumy
Played: 35  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 4.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: After reading the first review we went and checked out the course today. The front 9 are all on the same side now but a bit confusing. #1 starts off right at the entrance by the sign. #2 is behind you after you finish #1. The tee markers are a bit screwed up. we never found the tee for 7 but figured it was behind the backstop by the water fountain.
Cons: The back nine or whatever are there are a confusing mess.
Other Thoughts: A bit of work and this course would rock. Some new markers for the tees and maybe some directional arrows or something?
There is a gas station right by the entrance that sells discs too.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Odd number of holes

1    11/16/2008   11/17/2008
Review By: J.Koeberlein
Played: 22  Reviewed: 11
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Bathrooms, water, tables, horse arena.
Most holes are in the range for birdie but when you miss your pathway you can be in trouble. It's short enough that newbies wont be totally out of their league but moderate players will have a challenge. Interesting use of the field, hole two and five use the same tee--pad. There are four alternate pins the old post style that we used as extra holes.
Cons: Even though the use of the field is interesting the layout is confusing. Finding the next hole is not obvious. Hole 13 is a "blind hole" that's over a roadway and the pin is next to a table, send someone to watch.
Other Thoughts: After hole 7 cross the baseball field but turn to the left (third base side) for tee-pad 8 near the horse arena.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.