Sterling, CO 
Pioneer Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: DGtourist Hole #6
3 / 349ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Play it

1    3/12/2014   3/12/2014
Review By: banknwank
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 1.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Variation of distance and difficulty make this a course that everyone should be able to find something they like. Park area has mild trees and shot shaping. Fields headed towards baseball fields have wide open bombs for big arms to show off. The tree section that starts off with a tuff one on 9. (Check out picture of 9 tee sign). Great tunnel shots of variousness difficulty in the trees. Above average tree section IMO .
Cons: Navigation was so so. No tee pads caused minor confusion on where to throw from. Tables in middle of fairway on 1?......
Other Thoughts: Nav is always an issue first time on new course, so print the map to avoid frustration. My knees liked the lack of concrete tee pads. Worthy of a dg road trip from Denver area if you are craving a new dg adventure. Other dg courses to check out in fort Morgan and brush. Fort Morgan got some flood damage last year and brush is a pitch and put for a quick 9

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

A Sterling Saturday

2-4    5/4/2013   5/4/2013
Review By: Lennie Bottorff
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 40.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A very good variety of shots are required to negotiate through the trees. Each hole uses trees, elevation changes, and other natural features well to lend a challenge. The Discatcher holes are generally in good shape. The lay-out of the course, while not intuitive, is easily followed with the map provided on this site.
Cons: As many have mentioned, having no tee pads to throw from creates some problems. Playing recreationally, it's difficult to even know where the intended tee box is. Two of the holes (1 and 17) have picnic tables in the middle of the fairway, which were both being used. Finding an alternative fairway created some difficulties that I don't believe were intended by the course designer. There are also several places where fairways or walking paths to one hole are in the fairway of another hole. The signage is adequate, but the distances shown don't appear to be accurate on a few of the holes.
Other Thoughts: A beautiful park and very good use of the park's characteristics. Well worth the trip. I look forward to playing the course again in a couple of weeks at the Vibram Birdie Bash.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great mix of everything

2-4    4/20/2013   4/20/2013
Review By: bcos4life
Played: 19  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 2.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/6/2014
Pros: This course is an excellent combination of everything. It has a park set of holes and it has a forest setting. It has different height shots that will challenge your depth perception. It has some holes that will test your arm, but others are still reachable off the tee. It will test your bag capacity.

Many of the holes are tree riddled that will make you think out your shot... just grip it and rip it will not work here.
Cons: No tee pads make for a frustrating day when it had snowed the day before. They are working on it right now, but for now, it isn't cutting it.

A bit of a hike between tees at times, but not terrible.

Other Thoughts: I played this in a tourney, and it was a great time. A real gem for being the only course around.

I Want To Give A Better Rating!

2-4    12/1/2012   12/1/2012
Review By: TalbotTrojan
Played: 93  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 5.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great park setting with many other amenities for no disc throwers. Design of the course made for some very interesting holes that kept you thinking. A good variety of length and type of shot. Even the holes that are "open" make extremely good use of the trees that are there. The baskets are consistent. There is a lot of character in this course. This is a very fun course to play and really makes for a good experience.
Cons: No tee pads. There are just signs in the ground and baskets down the way. Signage varies and is often without accurate distances on the few signs that have that information. Many of the signs are in the ground right in the way of where one would want to throw. There is no easy way to figure out where the course starts or ends without knowing before hand as there is no general information sign. Some of the baskets could use a little tightening as the baskets are not level despite perfectly vertical center poles. Holes 11-15 feel a little bit repeatative when they are all right next to each other like they are. Several tees feel like they are in the way of the previous fairway or have the previous basket in the next fairway (so be sure to watch out where you are throwing on holes 2, 5, 7, and 12).
Other Thoughts: I spent the time to make sure I knew where I was going in the park to be able to find the first hole. The second drive West of the ball fields would be the best bet, leaving the first tee next to the horse shoe pits on your right with parking right there. Make sure you look at the map or take a map with you the first time because some of the tee signs are hard to find from the previous basket. Rumor has it that this course is in process for improvement which might include tee pads. It really is a gem of a course and with a few improvements will improve significantly.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Grasshopper Take Over

1    8/10/2010   8/10/2010
Review By: mgcarney
Played: 80  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 5.2 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: There were some very lengthy holes, which gave you a nice chance to stretch out your arm. The baskets were nice, and they were in challenging locations.
Cons: The creek water smelled terrible. There were no tee boxes. The course is entirely in a low land area so I practically had to swim to the baskets. The back were not only difficult to shoot, but very confusing. Hole lengths were also not listed on the back 9.
Other Thoughts: I did play this in the morning, and the dew made the water problem more apparent.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 3 Terrains in 1

1    7/14/2010   7/20/2010
Review By: Leroy
Played: 128  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 4.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a little bit of everything. It starts out as a park course on the first three holes. Then it's a dry high plains course on holes 4 through 8. Then it becomes a wooded course with lots of narrow chutes on holes 9 through 15, and back to a park course for the last 3 holes. A couple of times you have to cross a ditch full of water so this adds some challenge. On the wooded portion it seems that they actually mow fairways into the tall grass. There are usually some trees in the way on almost every hole to add to the challenge also. The first 9 holes have nice signs at the tee off spot and the back nine has numbered posts. A course that will test lots of your throwing styles.
Cons: No tee pads. The sign posts on the back nine do seem to get in the way a little bit. Nobody had uploaded a complete course map before I went but they did have a slightly wet wrinkled one hanging up by the first tee box. I took a picture and added it to the file section here although the quality leaves a lot to be desired. At least you can print up your own map now before visiting which I highly recommend.
Other Thoughts: For being in a small town 50 miles away from any other town in the middle of the high plains of Colorado this course is a very pleasant surprise. This and Ft Morgan could be played in a day from the Denver area if you are really ambitious or you could make a two day trip out of it and stay at one of the motels in town.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 a nice little course

5+    12/27/2009   12/27/2009
Review By: rflahive
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 15.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good mix of holes. Hole #1-2 are longer Par 4's that give you a chance to score right out of the box. # 3 is a aceable par 3 with a good forehand. #4 is a long par 4 (even though it reads par 5 on the sign)--fairly boring hole--but tough to birdie if the wind is blowing. #5 is similar to 4--long par 4--but dead into the prevailing wind. #6-7 are two of the best holes on the course--longer par 3s that require pinpoint drives and approaches. Difficult to deuce. #8 is a very difficult hole--almost 500 ft par 4 with an irrigation ditch running in front of the basket (it eats lots of approach shots). # 9 begins a nice stretch of wooded holes through #15--all par 3s. They are a mixture of short forehand shots, anheizer draws, and straight chute shots. Pinpoint accuracy is needed to stay out of the trees and avoid a big number. *If you don't have a forehand, you will struggle on these holes* Hole #16 is a longer par 4 with OB to the right with the basket hidden behind a line of pine trees. Hole 17 is another long par 4 through several large cottonwood trees. Easily birdieable with a solid approach shot. Hole 18 is similar to #3--an aceable hole with a good forehand.

A good player should be able to score 2-5 down on any given day, but with a few good bounces, a 10 down day is not out of the question.
Cons: 1. Way finding--the front has a very good sign system, but does not have any directional to the next tee box.
2. Tee boxes--they are dirt if you're lucky--rubber pads would be a major improvement.
3. Back 9 signage--for some reason, the 4x4 wooden posts were placed directly in the middle of the walking path instead of on the side--quite obnoxious.
4. No players--every time I have played this course while on my vacation to my home town, I fail to find any good players, much less any players--on this course. Quite discouraging.
Other Thoughts: Having grown up in this town prior to this courses construction, i deeply appreciate this course. It gives the town of Sterling another recreation option for its often times bored adolescent population. If I still lived here, I would make several changes, and if anyone who does live there wants to make the changes, contact the Wright Life in Ft. Collins.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A Forest in the Plains

5/21/2008   5/21/2008
Review By: DGtourist
Played: 188  Reviewed: 106  Exp: 11.3 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pioneer Park DGC in Sterling Colorado is a mix of park course and high plains forest. The front nine have marked yardage and tall metal signage that duels as bag hangers with a crude map drawn on them, they are quality. The back nine is marked with knee high posts that only bear the number of the hole, but the quality of the holes in the back nine make up for what the signs lack.

The course can be broken down into three main parts with their own characteristics. Excellent park grass and occasional tall trees on numbers 1-3, and 16-18. Arid weeds of the high plains and the occasional dry tree on long holes behind baseball fields on numbers 4-8. Tight woods with short interesting lines on 9-15. The three different styles provide good game transitions, but mostly this is a great big arm course.

9-15 make a day trip worth the effort. Unheard of tight woods, nearly Washington like, but drier, unlike any place I've played in the High Plains regions of Wyoming Colorado and Nebraska. While playing, I wanted to say that this course was nearby Optimist in Ft. Morgan's twin, but the woods in the back set it apart. The fairways in the back have been cleared away of debris and mowed, including the paths from the basket to the next tee.
Cons: There is only dirt and grass to tee off from. Pioneer Park has only one pin position per hole that I can tell. Some of the wooded holes are mostly straight short shots. Ants all over the area behind the baseball fields. The maps only show the first nine holes. The yardage for the back nine is not marked anywhere. Numbers 3 to 4 and 8 to 9 had me turned around a bit and the map was helpful.
Other Thoughts: Whomever designed this course is getting the job done piece by piece. It's obvious that the back nine is more recent than the front. I imagine that better signage in the back and then tee boxes will follow. Other than that, there isn't much more to improve upon, great job Sterling! One more note, for being in a busy park with people everywhere, I never once had a problem with people on the course. The park is very clean. I didn't see one speck of garbage anywhere. The creek that two and eight play with even have little schools of fish in it.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.