Pittsburg, KS 
Pittsburg Lincoln Park Share
Uploaded By: Iberian_55 Hole #3 (Taken 3/2010)
3 / 228ft.   3 / 381ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Basket



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Short and Quick

1    9/29/2013   9/30/2013
Review By: mmsciron
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 16.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A really quick, short course that plays pretty smoothly. The trees play in as a really good natural barriers to pretty much all the holes. All but one hole, in the defined 9 holes, have the layout for where you are shooting so it's pretty easy to navigate where you are going.
Cons: The pads to drive off of are really short. Some of the holes you have the ability to use the ground as part of the pad, but if the ground is washed out, you really dont have much driving room. I didn't play the alternate back 9, which is just some marked areas to shoot holes 10-18 using the original baskets for holes 1-9. I'm not a big fan of the alternate holes but with limited space, I just stuck with playing holes 1-9.
Other Thoughts: There are parked cars along the street so you have to watch your drive on 3 out of the 9 holes. I could see cars getting hit and the drivers not being too happy. Overall a fun quick course. Definitely worth playing if you're in Pittsburg, but it shouldn't be the main reason to play Pittsburg since there's a much better 18 hole course across town.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Run those chains!

1    4/28/2013   4/28/2013
Review By: Chained Evil
Played: 247  Reviewed: 97  Exp: 4.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a short course and a good place to work on your midrange game. The course plays quickly and the flow is very logical. This course offers a little bit of elevation change and has a good amount of trees to challenge you but not frustrate you at the same time.
This course has good signage and was clean and well maintained. It wasn't busy upon my visit. A good beginners/learners course. A good warm up for Schlanger Park across town.
Cons: The tee pads are very short and even though the holes are short your run up will be affected. Some tee pads need fill dirt both behind and in front of the tee pads. I could see the potential for a twisted ankle if you were not paying attention. Tees and basket are a little too close for comfort and could be hazardous if the course was busy. Please make sure all is clear before you tee off.
Other Thoughts: Beginners should love this course and advanced players will find this course helpful for their short game. Not a must play but it still offers a decent challenge and is a course that is great for new players to the sport. Players that can't bomb 350-450ft drives should find this course satisfying(I'm in this category and I liked what this course had to offer). And who wouldn't love a course that offers a lot of birdie chances and has Ace Run holes?

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Under-rated

5+    6/1/2012   6/1/2012
Review By: kcplease
Played: 95  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 5.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/4/2013
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -The layout is extremely clever-I'm still surprised how they could fit a full 18 holes (albeit with 9 baskets) in such a small area.
-There isn't horrible variety-you won't be bombing shots out but there is never anything too disgustingly short (200-330 feet, for the most part)
-Trees are used creatively
-Somehow they have made this course feel like it belongs there, some courses suffer in my reviews because I feel like they were forced onto the land and not well thought through. This course, although it is the most forced and smallest course I have played, it feels like it belongs where it is.
Cons: -The tee pads are very close to the basket of the previous hole. this makes it easy no navigate but also makes the players easy targets
-Some of the alternate tees, or rather holes 10-18, are not real tees but instead boxes painted onto asphalt.
-Not particularly exciting golf
-Teepads are short. I don't have a long run up and most people shouldn't need to use one at this course, but it could be an issue for some.
Other Thoughts: I am surpassed this course has less than 3 rating. Yes, it is short and it is cramped but it amazes me how the town and the local club have made the layout work. Its full of potential for aces and great rounds (the course record is -20). The main reason I gave this a 3 is because it does not feel forced on the land and feels like it was well designed, unlike Young Park in Blue Springs, MO or Prairie Ridge in Overland Park. If you're driving through, go ahead and stop by for a quick round.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Meh

1    5/21/2011   5/23/2011
Review By: kguyty
Played: 13  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Interesting layout.
- Not overly crowded.
- Tree cover was nice on a fairly warm/sunny day.
- Decent technical shots (tunnel shots/s curves) required to birdie/par holes.
Cons: - Tee pads are far too short for x-steps/run ups. There are a few tripping hazards near tee boxes (tree roots, acorns, etc.).
- Tee signs made it a little confusing regarding where to tee off (back 9), and a few made it difficult to tell which basket to drive toward.
- I was the only person there on the 'front 9', then a group of 10-12 inconsiderate folks showed up. They were teeing off, then playing ultimate frisbee between the tee boxes and their lie. They did not seem in any hurry to get out of the way when I was driving. They did not move quickly or apologize for being in the fairway of the hole I was playing. They nearly hit me and did not say 'fore' or 'heads up' when we were on holes that had fairways next to each other. I gave up after the group drove towards me twice without regard to where I was standing.
Other Thoughts: Started out decent, until the inconsiderate discers showed up. I will not play here again if the same group is 'playing' at the same time.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Bring your short game...

2-4    2/19/2011   2/19/2011
Review By: eye-ball-sac
Played: 67  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 5.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This very beginner friendly course is located in a fairly hilly part of Pittsburg with plenty of trees. Lots of variation in elevation. Uphill, downhill, over a valley, makes holes a lot more fun. Trees help force you decide on a line. There are obvious preferred routes, but if you just can't do a shot you could try your normal one. The variation in shots is better than some in the area. It seems to prefer RHBH, but it's hard to judge when there's just 9 baskets (18 holes). Baskets are DGA and are in very good condition. Each basket has a number plate to identify which hole you're on. Tee pads are very good and are sized correctly for the extremely short holes. A great place to show a beginner to disc golf.
Cons: Course layout. Wow, this is a dangerous layout. 8 holes play next to the street and 4 tee pads ARE the street! Be sure to watch for cars! Theres a section where 2 tee pads are right next to each other and they play right over the other tee pad! I actually got hit by an approach while I was there. Tee signs are not very informative, but they look good. They only point which direction the hole goes and the distance of the hole, most of which were wrong and had the correct distance written in sharpie above the sign distance. The holes are very short. They only range from 150-300ft. Not much parking, so if it's busy you might have to park on the street.
Other Thoughts: A very fun "Pitch-and-putt" Course. You could bring just a mid and a putter and score fine. I know it looks like there's a lot of cons, but it really is a fun course. Lot's of ace runs. I played the Ice Bowl here and it's really confusing. Partially because of the parking and because of the layout. '

-------------------------
If you mark this review unhelpful or you find a mistake, please send me a personal message here on DGCR explaining what is wrong with it.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Short Course

5+    10/1/2010   10/1/2010
Review By: jayhawker737
Played: 47  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 5.5 Years
This review was updated on 1/3/2013
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great for a quick round or good for multiple rounds.
Trees need to be taken into account for on each drive, but usually are not right in the way.
Good for beginners looking for a fun round.
It is nice that there are 9 short holes and 9 longer holes.
Cons: Most teepads and baskets are too close to each other and can be somewhat dangerous.
The back 9 teepads can be tricky to find if you are new to the course.
It would have been nice to have the short and longer holes work together rather than 9 short then 9 long.
Other Thoughts: This course is great for a quick and fun round. It is not heavily used, but when it is busy, it can be a bit scary with teepads and baskets being so close. I enjoy coming to play this course during breaks of my college classes for a quick round.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Pretty course good for beginners

2-4    5/11/2009   5/12/2009
Review By: diskritter
Played: 16  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.4 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It is a beautiful park with lots of big trees and nice tunnels. It is in a fairly hilly part of the park and requires shooting through some valleys.
Cons: It is a great park, but the holes themselves are not very challenging. There is not a hole over 300 feet and most of it is canopied by trees so its hard to do anything except for straight shots to the hole. BUT, If you are looking to build your ace rep, this is the park for you :D

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.