Warwick, NY 
Brakewell Steel / Warwick Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #2
3 / 306ft.   3 / 360ft.   4 / 386ft.   4 / 444ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Long Tee



Reviews: 50
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Almost Perfect

1    7/8/2014   7/13/2014
Review By: JohtoVillage
Played: 135  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 14.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wow is a great way to start this review! This course is as close to a 5 as you can get in my opinion. Here are the pros for this course:

1) Options options options. Having two concrete tees and two baskets per hole is such a pleasure. Also, its great that the baskets are distinguished from each other. One being powder coated blue and the other being silver is a great way to let players know what holes they are playing.

2) The long holes have obstacles and variety. I love bomber holes but get a little bored with bomber holes that are literally wide open. The long holes really had some obstacles and made you think. The obstacles ranged from elevation, trees, roads, etc. Long for the sake of long is no fun but these long holes were some of the best long holes I have played. Kudos to the designer for making these holes great.

3) This course had a ton of variety. There was a hole over two creeks, a hole over a rock wall, a hole between two pine trees, a long downhill bomber, a triple option hole, a hole that had a basket right on the top of a cliff and everything in between. There were some super tight holes and some huge bomber holes. This course had the PERFECT variety of elevation and open and wooded holes.

4) This course was literally manicured like a ball golf course. The grass was cut perfectly and the grass was very green.

5) Even though the course was very long and hard from the back tees/long baskets, the course was very fair. The course was challenging but I did not have any qualms with holes being too hard or unfair.

6) This course had some epic signature holes. The basket position/green for hole 3 was one of the coolest greens I have ever played. The basket was literally right on top of a cliff wall. Amazing! Hole 14 also had the WOW factor. The drive on that hole was literally amazing as you had to thrown downhill about 450 feet over a wide open field. The second shot (to the long pin) was through a tight tunnel to a protected green with a creek snaking right around the green. Also who could forget hole 17? This was actually a better hole from the silver tee (see below) but still was an amazing hole to throw. The drive was pretty much in an open field but had some nice elevation. The second shot was simply awesome, with a protected green and a picturesque view.

Taking all of these things together gives this course a 4.5 rating which is considered Phenomenal according to DG Course Review.
Cons: There's not much to dislike about this course. Here are just a few things I noticed when playing the course:

1) Artificial OB: There were a few holes that included artificial out of bounds. This essentially means that there is not water or road but simply an area flagged as being worthy of a penalty stroke. This is not a huge con to me, but on a few of the holes the artificial OB was actually just not necessary. The main reason is that if you are in the area that is flagged as artificial OB your shot will be penalized enough as it is and there is no need for a penalty. I believe that one of the holes included the artificial OB so players wouldn't cut a corner but on one hole the OB was marked right in the fairway and it seemed unnecessary. This is not a huge con but just worth mentioning.

2) Navigation was a little tricky in some spots. On a few holes if you were playing the blue baskets there was some backtracking to get back to where you needed to go to get to the next hole. I brought a map so it wasn't too bad but on a few holes a local had to help us find where we were going.

3) This is not a huge con but also simply worth nothing: I really appreciated the option of having multiple baskets and multiple tees but on a few of the long tees it seemed that the long tee was just thrown a few hundred feet back to make it longer and harder when the shorter tee would have sufficed. A great example of this is hole 17 - from the silver tee this is a signature hole on the course from the elevated pad. But going backwards 175 feet and having to throw uphill on the tee takes away from the joy of throwing from the silver pad. This is not a huge con because long tees are supposed to be hard but a few times it added a lot of extra walking and didn't add a lot of value. In my opinion this did not take away from the overall flavor of the course and is not a huge con. If you don't want to play the long tees then play the short tees!

4) Some of the walks are very long so be prepared to get a work out. My buddy and I were pretty exhausted after playing this round but it was worth it!
Other Thoughts: I agree with a few other posters here: I truly wish we had the option of going with .25 increments. To me this course is SO close to a 5. It has almost everything you could possibly want in a course. The cons are minor compared to the awesome pros. This course is HIGHLY recommended and is literally one of the best courses in the Northeast. I would put this course right behind Nockamixon and Maple Hill and ahead of Iron Hill and Brewster's Ridge when it comes to Northeast disc golf. I would put this course on the same level as Idlewild, Moraine, Deer Lakes and Tyler.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

I Wish I was Local

1    10/12/2012   12/1/2012
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 256  Reviewed: 130  Exp: 12.9 Years
18 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Championship Level. Warwick, from the longs, is a true championship level course. With several Par 4's and 5's, and extremely challenging Par 3's Warwick / Brakewell Steel is a serious course to contend with and certainly not for the faint of heart.
- HUGE HOLES. Some of the Holes from the Longs are HUGE. Hole 18 for example starts in the farthest corner of the park and finishes near the parking lot some 900+' later. Other holes require massive drives to optimal positions in order to throw a second equally massive approach shot. I LOVE this kind of golf.
- Great Use of Natural Features. From the elevation, to the rock outcropping pin positions, to the use of the winding creek and the open and wooded sections of the park, Warwick utilized the natural features of the park excellently. There were even some non-natural features that enhanced the course such as road and roped OB's.
- 1 Park / 2 Courses / 4 Options. The Park has two 18-Hole disc golf courses (Warwick / Brakewell Steel and Wolf Woods), with each course having dual layouts (long and short) which created 4 options for play: Brakewell short, Brakewell long, Wolf Woods short, Wolf Woods long. I was able to play the Brakewell long and Wolf Woods short during my visit.
- Open / Wooded. Warwick offered a steady mix of open and wooded holes… several holes were wide open, while several other holes were decently wooded. And, it did so in rotation, offering a few open holes, and then a few wooded holes, and then some more open holes, and then some mixed open/wooded holes, etc…
Cons:
- LONG Walks. If you're playing Warwick / Brakewell Steel from the longs, it's not just the holes that are long, it's the walks that are LONG as well. The "triangulation" of the previous pin to the next tee (whether it be the short or long) favors the short tees... adding 50-100 yards (or more) to the walk to get to some of the Long pads. Long walks happen after Holes 4, 7, 8, 10, 14, 15 and 16… that's a lot of long walks.
- Navigation Confusion at Hole 5. I want to say that after finishing Hole 4, there was a sign saying "this way to Hole 7"… since I wanted to play Hole 5, I did not go that way. I instead followed another footpath up the hill and found Hole 6. After some investigation I found the pin and tee-pad for 5 and saw my error… I should have followed the sign's directions. To play Hole 5 (which was a good hole), I would have had to walk from 4's pin, past 5's pin, down the entire side of the fairway for Hole 5 to find the tee, only to turn around and play the hole back in the direction I had just come from… Not the best design, even though the hole was awesome.
Other Thoughts:
- Overall. Warwick / Brakewell Steel from the longs was an amazing championship level course. I am surprised that I had not heard of the course (before my road trip), or that the course didn't have more hype/attention nationally… it's certainly worthy. The layout has some long walk issues, but the holes generally make up for that, rewarding you for having taken the extra effort to walk the extra distance. A few of the Par 5 holes were insanely great, including Hole 14 which had a huge, open air downhill drive to a landing zone in order to throw an approach shot through a wooded section and to a creek guarded island green - amazing Hole! Several of the other holes were amazing as well. Plus, when you are finished, (if you still have any arm left), you can warm down on the smaller, but still challenging, Wolf Woods course in the lower portion of the park.
My Score: -2 (65)

18 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 No Objection

1    3/17/2012   3/18/2012
Review By: laderjr
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 3.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There is very little for me to add to what is already here for reviews. This course is one of the tops that I have played since starting this game. The tees are all nice and clean and well marked. The baskets are also accurately marked on the maps at every tee. Great combination of long and skill shots and very happy with the overall shape of the course. There are a lot of elevation changes and terrain issues that will do nothing but improve your technical game.
Cons: I would not, so much, say these are cons as challenges. First, this course has a LOT of up hill walking. Up hill walking implies up hill throws and this is true, allowing one to develop their "uphill" game.
There is not a lot of shade on this course at the tees, and so, playing in the sun of the summer could heat you up. Bring fluids and sun block if you're planning an extended game.
Other Thoughts: Beginner or pro, this course has something for everyone. The locals were helpful when encountered and the course is set in some of the most beautiful countryside out there. I can't wait to go back in the summer when the trees are full, for a completely DIFFERENT game.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Close to perfect

1    8/13/2011   8/13/2011
Review By: prerube
Played: 211  Reviewed: 190  Exp: 7.2 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is the closest to perfection that I have seen. It caters to so many skill levels, it is aesthetically stimulating featuring rocky outcroppings, elevation changes, and nice use of the creek, and it is low frustration with easy navigation and smooth flow.

Dual Pin Positions with concrete pads and dual color coded baskets give each hole 4 different options. Phenomenal course design, on most of the holes the four options are quite different, using different fairways and requiring several different shots. This is not your typical add 30 feet and call it a new tee. Each tee has its own challenges Silver to silver can still provide a challenge for experienced played. You can get a drop in deuce one time, then the next time you play it card a 6 on the same 200 foot hole or play blue to blue and shoot better than silver to silver for the same hole.

For example: Hole 8:
Silver to silver is a slight left 266 ft shot.
Silver to blue is a 362 dog leg right
Blue to silver is a 362 foot straight shot
Blue to blue is a 434 hard right hook

Another example of the variety you can expect to see is hole 18. From silver to silver it is 297 feet, but blue to blue is 900 feet. This course consistently has variety in pin positions and distances with only minimal affect on the flow of the course.

Excellent tee signs on each tee.

Playground on site for the little ones

Clean bathrooms

So many attractive holes, many times I wanted to take a second throw or even empty my bag on a hole, even when I knew I had more rounds to play.

A second 18 hole course tucked in the woods off of hole 15 is a clear plus for this already amazing course.
Cons: There are very few issues I could find and all were relatively trivial.
Hole 7 is a blind shot with the basket close to the parking lot. Also it is close to another blue basket both are unlabeled, so it is hard to tell which one is the correct basket. After hole 7 there is a little backtracking to get to 8.

Hole 11 silver's tee pad is backwards and no new sign is up.

Hole 16 took a few minutes to find, but hardly long enough to be a true con.

Other Thoughts: I agree with bcr123psu and would love to give this course a 4.75. It is that close to being exactly what I am looking for in my pursuit of a perfect 5 star course.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Championship level course

1    7/11/2011   7/15/2011
Review By: Jeffrey2636
Played: 39  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 3.8 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: With out a doubt, this is a championship level course. Amazing park and now becoming a Mecca of DG in the area. Great use of the land and 4 options to play. This is a place to grow with over the years. By far, the best of the best I have played so far.
Cons: Signage between few holes could be improved. We wandered around between holes 4-5 for a while before figuring out where the next tee was. Luckily the locals are very friendly.
Other Thoughts: There are so many great reviews of this course to read through but I wanted to reiterate how freakin good this course is. Go out of your way to come here and play this course. (There's even a bonus 18 holes on premises now with Wolfe Woods) Amazing!!!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A Must Play

1    5/3/2011   5/20/2011
Review By: bcr123psu
Played: 73  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 5 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Warwick Town Park is off the beaten path, but easy to find, giving this pro-caliber course a pleasant, secluded feel.

The course design is amazing, consisting of two permanent concrete tees and two permanent baskets on nearly every hole, essentially creating four different ways to play the same course. While some of the basket/tee combinations were just longer variations of each other, many were quite different and presented the player with a completely different fairway requiring a totally different throwing line. Essentially, Warwick lets you play four different courses at once. The diverse layout includes wide-open (e.g. long-bomb) holes, wooded tunnels, and everything in between. There was a nice mix of straight, left-turning, and right-turning fairways. This course made fantastic use of the rolling country side and included many trees in its design, as well as other features such as rock walls and cleaver use of water. Elevation was in play in some way on nearly every hole. This ranged from subtle/gradual uphill/downhill variations to extreme upshots and pronounced downhill throws. No matter which tees/baskets you play, every shot in your bag will be necessary.

In terms of other ammenities, the course was impecably maintained, from the grass, to the paths, to the trees. While there was some underbrush on some of the holes, it wasn't so bad that most stray throws couldn't be found. The tee signs were, for the most part, in great shape, very well detailed, and extremely helpful. The concrete tees were in fantastic condition. The baskets at Warwick Town Park were colored to match the accompanying tee and were in great shape. Additionally, the baskets were of a different color than those at Wolfe Woods, so confusion as to which basket goes with which course is minimized. Garbage cans and benches were frequent without a spec of litter to be found on the entire course.

Having another course on the property is also a big plus. Especially when the proximity to Wolfe Woods (right off the 15th hole) allows you to play another 18-hole round during your round at Warwick Town Park or as another option before/after the Town Park. I'd recommend playing Wolfe Woods at least once to try it, but Warwick Town Park is the real gem at this location.
Cons: The cons at this course are very few. Although it's easy to find, the Warwick courses aren't exactly close to any major thoroughfares.

There are minimal safety concerns, although a few of the long baskets play close to parking lots and/or roads. Additionally, there could be occasional navigation issues finding the next tee on a few holes, but not a real big detractor and probably wouldn't happen again in subsequent rounds.
Other Thoughts: If I could rate things on a 0.25 disc scale, I wouldn't hesitate to rate this a 4.75 (not quite a 5). This course was an amazing place to play. The people that play this course frequently are some of the luckiest golfers in the game. I'm planning on making a trip to Warwick, NY at least once a year to play this championship quality course. For anyone considering Warwick Town Park or for those people that are looking for a DG destination, I would highly recommend this course. You won't be disappointed.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 The Ultimate Disc Golf Center!

5+    11/20/2010   11/28/2010
Review By: toothyfish
Played: 25  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.1 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Warwick offers the ultimate in layout and flexibility with two tees and two baskets on every hole! All the time! Four ways to play each hole. A color designation is used: the silver tees and silver baskets represent the short layout, and the blue tees and blue baskets represent the longest layout. Silver tees to blue baskets and blue tees to silver baskets represent intermediate length layouts. What is creative here is that the alternate layouts aren't just a longer version of the same hole, but rather ofter force different lines.
* Cement short and long tees
* Standard and long basket locations - often the long basket locations increase the putting challenge - especially hole 2, 3, and 5.
* great usage of ledges, peaks, rock walls, woods
* nice balance and flow of play - the layout of the holes change to avoid repetition of a particular shot
* somewhat hilly, yet easy walking
* well-maintained park and nicely manicured and mulched trails - CLEAN!
* trash cans and benches at most tees
* tees are well marked with both basket locations marked on signs at both tees
* very clean restrooms are near the 17th tee and just a short walk from the 1st tee.
Cons: While there are minimal cons, there are some.
* minimal next tee signs
* some signs at tees are worn
* some extra walking between holes, especially the longest layout (Blue-Blue)
* The 15th long tee throws through about 100 ft of woods into the open - golfers can't see others and others can't see golfers teeing off - USE CAUTION!
Other Thoughts: Some of the back tracking and extra walking is understandable, as the attempt to superimpose multiple layouts will create this challenge.

What is this course's greateast attribute is the ability to play 4 different courses without ever leaving the park. The front nine tend to be more wooded and the back nine tend to be more open, yet you will not find repetition in the course. The "open" holes make good use of tree groups and lines to create challenges. Even the 900+ ft Blue-Blue 18th hole is not merely open bombs but require good drive placements to setup next shots.

This course offeres something for every level of player, from beginner to top pro. It is very family friendly and a great place to bring young golfers and less experienced friends and significant others.

The park tends to draw alot of larger groups of varied experience on nice weekends, which can slow things down, so plan accordingly. If you are playing solo or with experienced players, and playing through is becomeing difficult, due to traffic, one remedy is to play a longer layout so you are not waiting so much. Also, while most of the course plays around the busier parts of the park, there can be the occasional walker in the more remote parts so take notice before bombing one out there.

And if the four layouts aren't enough for you, play a round at the Wolfe Woods course, a shorter, technical 18 hole course that starts off by the 15th basket.

I am very fortunate to live about 30 mins from Warwick so I play here often. If you have any questions regarding this course, please feel free to PM me and I'll help you the best I can.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

  Wow Simply Amazing Course

5+    10/10/2010   10/11/2010
Review By: KanyeKnievel
Played: 13  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 1. Silver Tee and Blue Tees
2. Silver Hole and Blue Hole
3. Wide Variety Of Holes, some open woods, some dense woods, and then wide open ones going up hill and down hill
4.Great scenery
5.Sometimes a Hotdog and Drink Guy :)
6.Friendly People
7.Two Courses at certain time of the year
8. I could go on...
Cons: 1. Can be very crowded at sometimes
2. Never see any scorecards
Other Thoughts: This is just an amazing course. I would give it a 5 out of 5 but I've only played 10 courses so I can't say its the best. But this is definitely the best course I've ever played so far. Im so happy its my home course :D. This course is so great, has just a little bit of everything you want in a disc golf course. Woods, Heavy Woods, Open Fields, Hill Throws, Up Hill Throws, River Holes, Everything! Also has 4 different ways to play so it can never get old.

Simply amazing !

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 What else can be said?

5+    8/29/2010   8/29/2010
Review By: gregorvn
Played: 42  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.3 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Excellent disc golf park:
Two tees/baskets per hole
All cement teepads
Excellent design
Well-maintained
Tee signs for each teepad
The club recently added some ob rope on 1, 8 & 9 to make it just a little more difficult (as if I needed that)
Cons: The signs are showing a bit of age.
Other Thoughts: If you haven't played this, you really should.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 The best in the East?

5+    8/1/2006   7/11/2010
Review By: Everett Evans
Played: 63  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 21.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Incredible diversity, 2 tees, 2 pins per hole, short/long/punishingly long, whatever your heart desires. Beautiful and well thought out layout.
Cons: Bathrooms are sometimes iffy, but at least the course has them.
Other Thoughts: Played this course a lot from creation until moving out of the area, nothing better than pulling into the parking lot knowing that you had 2-3 hours of awesome golf ahead of you. Animal to blues were TOUGH!!! By the time you get to 18 you are mentally and physically drained, making the drive from 18's tee a nailbiter. Many, many awesome holes. If you are in the NYC/NJ area you have to play it.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.