Warwick, NY
Brakewell Steel / Warwick Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #10
3 / 219ft.   3 / 353ft.   3 / 262ft.   3 / 397ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Long Tee



Reviews: 48
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
world class course!!!

1    3/22/2013   3/23/2013
Review By: StevenFoster
Played: 21  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Many wide open shots for big arms, combined with cleverly designed woods holes for touch shots. Nice putting greens. Big concrete tee pads, top quality pole holes, fairways groomed by many years of maintenance, lawn closely mowed for roller shots, beautiful views, beautiful park. Every hole lets you grip it and rip it.
Cons: Some of the long tee placements are iffy, by simply being tucked back 30 feet behind the short tee (hole 15, 13, 18). I mean, if the hole is 400 feet and the first 50 feet of it just gets you out of the woods you can't really rip it and the first throw only gets you started...IF you get out of the woods. 16 long tee puts you behind a row of trees forcing you to throw a roller. Looks like the whole course was designed for the short tees and the long tees were an afterthought.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Best in the East

5+    3/20/2013   3/20/2013
Review By: BoomerangRich
Played: 19  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.9 Years
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: 4 different layouts
wide range of distances
easy parking
bathrooms
concrete pads
elevation changes
next to two other high caliber courses
Cons: still trying to find one, I wish it were closer to my house?
Other Thoughts: a must play in the northeast! a quick round for short to short and long to long can make you question your endurance.

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

One of the best

5+    9/6/2012   3/6/2013
Review By: mmblink86
Played: 15  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.9 Years
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Not much more can be said regarding how great this course is. All 4 layouts feel like individual courses in their own right. Plenty of parking, restrooms, great tee signs
Cons: Not having the Oasis finished yet!
Other Thoughts: I would play here everyday even though I live an hour away

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

There's no place like home

5+    1/1/2013   1/1/2013
Review By: adevuyst
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4
This review was updated on 6/7/2013
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Well groomed, I can't say this enough. The course is always freshly mowed and clear of debris. The layout is fantastic with two tees and two baskets on EVERY hole. There are public restrooms here and two covered pavilions with picnic tables. Most holes have benches, all holes have decent signage although beginning to show their age.
Cons: There is poison ivy all over the place, especially the tree vine variety so look out. I always pack a zip lock bag for discs that have gone the way of the ivy.
Other Thoughts: This is a fantastic course that is certainly worth the drive to get to if you're not a local. The blue-silver layout is great since the silver-silver is a bit short. Make sure you check out the newer and much more technical Wolfe woods course near the fairway for hole 16 on this course. And also check out the Oasis farm across the street which boasts a pro shop (if you're lucky enough to track someone down who lives there) and a full course of their own, which plays similarly to a mini golf course.

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 My Favorite Place on Earth

5+    11/4/2012   11/8/2012
Review By: healage
Played: 83  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Immaculately groomed (The Parks department takes great pride in the course and have been absolutely amazing in keeping the park maintained)
4 Possible Layouts with challenges for every skill level
Almost every shot imaginable is needed to score well on the Blue-Blue layout
Very difficult (and fair) Par 4's and an amazing Par 5
Sandwiched between 2 other courses literally less than 100 feet away in 2 directions.
Too many to keep listing
Cons: Front 9/Back 9 break up is a bit awkward due to Park renovations years ago
A few blind shots where an errant shot can (and has) hit someone if one is not paying attention
Longer layouts can be very difficult to play during summer peak hours when the course is crawling with newbies

Other Thoughts: I would objectively rate this course a 4.75 if the option was available, but it is closer to a level 5 course than a 4.5. Hence the 5 rating.


2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great course, multiple layouts! Something for everyone.

5+    8/4/2012   8/5/2012
Review By: BigMerch81
Played: 34  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 12.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Warwick is an amazing course, it is well maintained and groomed. The signage is excellent. The basket placements are tough, some of the holes are very risk/reward. The fact that each of the four total ways to play each hole is completely different from the other is incredible. Blue, blue is a tough layout and can give anyone a rough round. Silver to silver is fun, somewhat challenging but accessible to new players. There are lots of great signature holes like hole 14 blue to blue. The variety of wooded to open bomber shots, elevation, beauty, different layouts make this the second best course I have played next to Blue Ribbon. The blue to blue layout is tough enough for high end tournament play. This course will test all of your shots. Many holes require great placement while others reward long drives. The locals are friendly and awesome.
Cons: Hole 7s blue basket placement. It is located 50 feet from the warm up basket and people typically throw to 7 to warm up or play catch around the area. You can't tell if it is clear before throwing. Most people play the silver baskets and do not realize that people play to blue. I usually have to shout down to clear people out upon approaching. I also had a drive picked up the other night, these kids didn't realize I was driving the hole. I thought my drive was around 20 feet from the blue basket, turns out it was. I ran into a group of kids after 30 minutes of searching and they had my disc but were nice enough to give it back. Also, don't go long down the hill and into the crowded parking lot on 7, though I have seen a disc hit a car and end up back in bounds. 7 is a great hole, just exercise caution.
Other Thoughts: If you are anywhere near this place make sure to check it out. It is worth a few hours drive and is a destination course for many people all over the east coast. I love having Warwick as my new home course, it is a great place to work on your skills. My game has blossomed because of the demanding lay outs that I have the fortune to play on all the time.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Worth The Trip.

1    7/3/2011   7/4/2011
Review By: disc-o maniac
Played: 11  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.8 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is easily the best course out there for New York. Being a resident of the New York state, I've covered most if not all of the courses in New York and after playing this course yesterday, im still in awe of how amazing this course was. Its without a doubt a pro course but with different tees and baskets to mix and match, this course ranges from a 6000ft adventure to a 4000ft walk in the park. The basket placement might be one of the most creative placements ive seen with some on isolated hills, and others around tree walls. Heres a list of some organized pros i have for this course.
Pros-----

~ 1st tee is extremely easy to find, and right near parking so its not a hassle to get to

~ Warwick Wall, near 1st tee has tons of flyers showing events and important dates for disc golf in the area

~ A breathtaking course, whether you decide to play silver tees, to silver baskets, or blue tees to blue baskets, or even if you mix and match, you will not be dissapointed. I went on a rainy day in the afternoon and i figured i wouldnt get all of the experience. I was completely wrong. even in the rain, the course is a blast to play. It easily topped courses that i have played in perfect weather.

~ Tees are marked and some even have contact numbers for help and questions

~ The Locals there are great guides and are always willing to give you any tips and items. My brother lost his Pro Destroyer on #4 and one of the guys we let play ahead while we looked for it, gave him a star Destoyer and said, if you ever lose anything give me a call.

~ Along with the great course it has everything else, a baseball field, a playground, picnic area, and soccer fields, it turns a trip to a great course into a trip to a great park. Me and my family were there for about 4 hours after we finished the course just playing around in all of the things Warwick town park has to offer.

~ Garbage cans and Benches on every tee. The course takes a lot out of you if you play Blue to Blue so it was great having a place to rest before playing the next basket.

~Well groomed all of the field was playable, and it was well maintained so there was no tall grass or fallen trees in the In Bounds area
Cons: Very few but like all courses theres always a couple of cons.

~"Next Tee" signs were lacking and sometimes it turned into a guessing games as to where the next tee was. If you follow a local however, you wont have much of a problem navigating.

~ With so much area on some baskets, its easy to see it getting crowded. i went on a rainy day so i didnt have that problem, but be advised some baskets are near picnic areas and parking lots.
Other Thoughts: ~ Scorecards are lacking at the Course so make sure you print it out off of the Link/Files page

~BRING BUG SPRAY! i promise you, you will get eaten alive without bug spray, mosquitos here are relentless but any type of spray will do the trick.

~Make sure you check out wolfe woods after basket 15, its an amzing water based course that can complete with any course in the Northeast.

~ If you live in the Northeast area and still haven't tried this course out, please do so, i've played for 3 years and after playing this course for my first time yesterday, im still kicking myself that i waited so long for this unbelievable course



5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 The Best I've Played

1    11/7/2010   11/7/2010
Review By: RamsFan1
Played: 60  Reviewed: 60  Exp: 0.6 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Located in a beautiful town park which is essentially disc golf exclusive, although there are picnic areas and a child's playground on the property. Bathroom facilities are located by hole 17. Dual tee pads at each hole with four possible layouts to play; silver basket to silver basket (easiest), blue to blue (toughest), silver to blue and blue to silver- each with its own par and set of challenges. Great balance of both wooded, technical holes and open holes across rolling hills. Excellent use of elevation, OB, water, rock walls, trees and other barriers. Cement tee pads in good shape and of adequate length. Color signs exist at each tee pad with par, distance and preferred flight path for each of the four layouts. There are benches and trash cans at EVERY HOLE. Navigation is easy and course flow is excellent. Very well maintained and manicured- a tribute to both the local club and the parks commission. Many memorable holes, especially in the blue layout including #3 blue ( basket perched above a 12 foot rock wall), #5 (elevated basket atop a hill with a small landing area and steep slope) #8 (horseshoe hole in blue, steep drop left in silver) #10 (long winding hyzer across an open field in both layouts) #11 (blue basket across a stream) and bombs on holes 14, 15, 17 and 18. A tremendous course in every way with varied distances and shot requirements. and though very demanding will appeal to all skill levels.
Cons: Hard to do anything but nitpick. Blue basket #4 is about 30 feet from the street and can be overshot with an errant throw. One must be heads up walking off tee 13 for shots coming down the hill from hole 10. Blue tee on 14 must throw over the main park accessway- use common sense. A few of the sign holders are rusty and worn out. Maybe some "next tee" arrows would assist in course navigation. Absolutely none of these minor factors detracts from the course or one's playing experience here.
Other Thoughts: With picturesque views, rolling hills and rock walls that neatly line portions of the park, this is small town America and your grandfather's back yard all wrapped up into one. The Warwick Animal Course is just an amazing place to play disc golf and most reviews won't do it justice; you simply must come see this place for yourself. The wooded portion of the course is fair yet requires accuracy and thought. And don't think for a second that the open part of Warwick is a cake walk- there are chutes, wind, roped out-of-bounds areas and enough trees scattered around to make every hole a challenge . One of the premier courses on the east coast and the best place I've had the pleasure to play.

And if for some reason this course doesn't meet your approval, Wolfe Woods is right around the corner!

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 AMAZING

2-4    9/12/2009   1/26/2010
Review By: goalkeeper19
Played: 124  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 16.1 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Dual Concrete Tees
-2 Colored Baskets per hole (silver and blue)
-EXCELLENT variety in challenge. Silver-silver is a nice fun course that doesn't take very long to play, and is plenty easy to get birdies. Blue-blue, on the other hand, is a BEAST, and extremely challenging for advanced/pro players. The difference between the blue and silver baskets in most cases is not just about adding extra length, but adding a LOT more challenge (2,3,8,9,15,17,18).
-Elevation everywhere, almost every hole utilizes a good amount of elevation.
-Memorable holes (2,5,8,10,14, 15, 18)
-CRAZY holes (2,3,8,14,15,18 on Blue-blue)
-excellent pin placements, with good risk-reward near several baskets
-thoughtful design definitely shows, the course flows pretty well once you've played it once.
-Beautiful course, very well maintained, on a very scenic property.
Cons: -Slightly confusing the first time through, especially between 6-7, and finding some of the longer tee pads (14 is across the road). an additional course on the property can mislead the player into playing different holes.
Other Thoughts: I would literally play this course 3 times a day if I lived closer. I would definitely stop to play here every single time I'm in the Tri-State area. Well worth the trip, and the time. Play all 4 varieties, it's an amazing experience to see 18 holes from so many different angles.

Courses like this make me love the game.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Love it

5+    8/16/2006   2/2/2009
Review By: craigg
Played: 181  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 32.7 Years
13 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Two permanent baskets on every hole.
Two permanent teepads on every hole.

This combination makes the course very accessible for beginners and top pros alike.

Long sweeping fairways you get to go up, down, and across, mixed with an excellent wooded hillside makes for very little repetition - great variety here. The property is what every designer dreams of finding when looking for a DGC property. (You know when you're driving down some country highway making up holes in the scenic fields along the way? - This is that field!!)

Lots of parking, bathrooms, shelters available for tournaments, and locals who have started an "adopt a hole" program to spruce up and maintain their favorite holes. Warwick is definitely in my top 10 - a must see.
Cons: It's 5 hours from my house!
Not conveniently located - about an hour or a little more outside NYC along the NY/NJ border. Other than location - I can't think of anything bad to say about this course.
Other Thoughts: Dan Doyle has done an incredible job with this course. This is a course you SHOULD go out of your way to see. The first time I played it - it rained 6" - and I couldn't wait to go back.

13 of 15 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.