Warwick, NY 
Brakewell Steel / Warwick Park Share
Uploaded By: toothyfish Hole #12 (Taken 6/2010)
3 / 285ft.   3 / 315ft.   3 / 294ft.   3 / 324ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Short Tee



Reviews: 55
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Is there a better course?

1    7/13/2014   3/20/2015
Review By: Disc Golf Chuck
Played: 29  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: • This course has it all. I felt like I was at a country club as I played the beautiful holes that this course offers. This is the best course I've played in the three years I've been playing.
• The two tees and two baskets on every hole makes this course suitable for the beginner, the intermediate, and the advanced player. There are four separate, and permanent, layouts because of the two tee pads and two baskets on every hole.
• The variety of the holes was excellent. There were some tighter, wooded holes, some short holes, and some open holes that allowed you to really test out your arm. Just about every shot was needed to play this course.
• The signage was very good and informative.
• The course was very clean and the beauty stunning.
• A few locals saw that we were first-timers, gave us tips, and were very friendly.
• The creek, large trees, squirrel, and other natural habitat just added to the experience.
• The park has a pavilion, ample parking, and restrooms. The tees and baskets are in fine shape.
• There is some elevation on many of the holes and the pin placements are done well to allow for enjoyment as well as difficulty and challenge.

Cons: • Some may consider the remote location to be a con, but I would drive nearly two hours again to play this course.
• The course is a bit on the long side and took some time to play. This isn't the course for you if you want to play a quick round. But when you're in these surroundings, you want to take your time, soak it in, and enjoy every minute. There is no need to rush.
Other Thoughts: • I played the silver tee pads to the blue baskets while my 12-year-old son played the silver tees and silver baskets. The walking for my son was a bit much, but he also enjoyed this course.
• Being from Arizona and in New York for two weeks, I had to play this course. It was well worth the trip…the 2,500 mile trip from Arizona as well as the 1 hour and 45 minute drive from where I was visiting in upstate New York.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Favorite course, bar none

1    12/26/2014   2/12/2015
Review By: itstallchris
Played: 11  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Excellent, diverse, well maintained landscape for a disc golf course.
Four permanent layouts, accommodates all skill levels.
Course design teaches disc golf skill progression very well, not found at many other courses by themselves.
Another course with two layouts located in same park.
Three baskets (usually) available for putting practice (two blue baskets near parking, 7 and 18, don't get a whole lot of traffic)
All things considered, great disc golf experience.
Cons: Vandalism (sign damage and ace signatures), but nothing more than what's common at other public courses.
Other Thoughts: This is the kind of course every disc golfer wishes they had as their home course.
This is where I first encountered disc golf, and I've played some courses in school and in travel, but I've learned the most here at Warwick.
If you want to give someone a best impression and modern representation of disc golf, bring them to Warwick.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Love this course!!!

5+    9/26/2014   9/26/2014
Review By: krismarvin88
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: I absolutely love this course. It's very well maintained, the fairways are always mowed, the baskets are very well take care of, the courses are all marked as to where the different baskets and tees are, and what the par is. There's even a pro shop across the street and bathrooms.
Cons: I can't seem to find any, the only thing I could say is that some of the signs for the holes could be updated, some have gotten wet and started to run, others have had the par or hole number changed with a magic marker. But I can deal with that so long as I can read them!
Other Thoughts: Great great course. The other players are always friendly. Best part is, cell service is next to nothing out there so no one bothers you while you're playing!

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

A Complete Round of Golf

1    7/17/2014   8/2/2014
Review By: BigAl724
Played: 87  Reviewed: 82  Exp: 2.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Steve Brinster is one of the best disc golf players on the planet, people are well aware of that. But man, can he also design a course. The Brakewell Steel course in Warwick Park is right up there with the top courses in the country in terms of design, variety, and maintenance. The course covers many different sections of the park to provide a thoroughly balanced round. It clearly is the priority of the park and is immaculately groomed. There is plenty of parking space, a pavilion, and bathrooms very close to hole one.

This course screams "complete". My most dominant thought during and after my round was how thorough my round was. A day at Warwick provides a full experience of disc golf, not lacking in any aspect. The course has an unparalleled fun-factor quality to it, offering a tremendous variety in levels of woodenness, hole lengths, and pars.

All of the equipment is in great shape, starting with the very comfortable concrete tees. Tee signs are informative and are at both tee positions. Blue and silver baskets are respectively colored. The multiple tee and permanent pin positions do a tremendous job of adding variety to the hole, with 4 possible layouts available at any time. The pin positions especially not only make the holes more difficult by adding length, but offer a great difference in risk/reward on many occasions. The different pin positions also often drastically changed the look of the hole in a way that so few courses do.

One aspect of design that I personally love is when a hole is multi-staged and changes its feel as you approach the basket. Warwick is one of the best courses - if not the best - I've played where holes evolve in different levels of woodenness and elevation. Hole after hole (after hole) greatly changes in its quality from tee to basket. I love holes like 2 that have so many great aspects about it. From blue-blue, the hole plays downhill through a tight lane in the woods, hits a 90+ degree turn, and plays uphill as you approach the basket among trees. Holes like this cannot adequately be described, they must be played to experience their level of completeness. This rings true for many holes here, with 3, 5, 8, 14, 15, and 18 also being great examples of providing multi-stage par 4's and 5's.

Elevation is used tremendously throughout the course, with many holes playing through rollings hills (in the woods and in the open), as well as a few uphill and downhill bombs. No two holes use the elevation the same way. For example, there are a few holes that play downhill, but they are all vastly different from one another.

There is not a remotely boring or out-of place hole on the course. I really appreciated how every hole allows you to be creative on every shot, combining the offering of multiple lanes and the great elevation changes. There is no hole that just offers one line, one way to play it. A great deal of risk/reward is offered with some crazy pin positions on holes 3 and 5 and the creek on 11 and 14. Some fast fairways also make you think twice before you throw on holes like 4 and 8.

The course is nicely sprawled throughout the park and does a great job of playing through vastly different topographical sections of the park. The expanse of the park's land that is used is really amazing, and thedesigners did an awesome job of utilizing each part of the park to create a great blend of holes. The course does a great job of avoiding other park traffic and winds its way back to the parking after 18.
Cons: -My biggest complaint, which is a very minor one, is that there is some backtracking from the blue pins. It feels like the navigation of the course was designed around the silver baskets, which often have a path closer to them taking you to the next tee than the blue ones do.
-Navigation was great for the most part, but there are a few times where next tee signs would be helpful, especially from the blue baskets
-There is a good bit of poison ivy on the heavily wooded holes
Other Thoughts: For a course to be in the best-of-the-best category, it must have a very balanced variety of shots and hole types, offer a great deal of risk/reward play, be well maintained and aesthetically pleasing, and have a certain character about it that distinguishes it from the other phenomenal courses out there. Warwick provides each of these aspects.

The fact that it offers 4 permanent layouts is awesome, and the variety of that this course has makes its replay-factor through the roof. How can the shortest layout double in length when compared to the longest layout, and have a difference of 14 for par? Only Warwick provides this type of awesome variety.

I was a little skeptical about its high praise coming into my round, and was viewing the course with a critical eye. Though I was ready to find flaws in the course to keep from giving it a 5-disc rating, I did not find anything worth knocking it down. This course is awesome, offering unparalleled variety and such a complete round of disc golf.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Animal - Dr. Teeth and The Electric Mayhem!

1    7/5/2014   7/7/2014
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 108  Reviewed: 99  Exp: 8.7 Years
7 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Unleash your inner Animal with 18 unrestrained and spectacular world class holes over elevation galore mixing par 3, 4, and 5s. Two concrete tees and two baskets on every hole providing a ton a variety from funky fun to electric mayhem! Perfect mix of woods and open and use of elevation, stone walls, creek, and ob. Nice signage and navigation for the most part. Two loops of 9 hole back to parking lot. Course plays well for any level of player, but is a bombers dream from the longs. Very well manicured and maintained course. Disc golf area of park. Bathrooms over by the playground.
Cons: Really not much to complain about. There is a little a bit of poison ivy around the edges of the woods. The short tee for hole 7 says hole 9. A little bit of backtracking on some holes. You cross hole 18 long going from basket 15 to tee 16. You play over the park road on 14 from the long tee, and man what a shot! It's a bit of a hike up and down the elevation. If you can't handle the hike or style of play head down the hill to Wolfe Woods which is the other course on site and is heavily wooded and short.
Other Thoughts: The Warwick course is nestled in the southern NY mountains and features long sweeping fairways up, down, over and across elevation with some vista views. Want to watch your discs fly? Come play here! I parked the short basket about 600' away on 14 which is one of the signature holes, and is about downhill 80', but I was playing the par 5 long island basket, and chained out for eagle. Every hole here is freaking awesome!

A-ni-mal! A-ni-mal! What does Animal do? Eat drums! Eat drums! No! Beat drums! Beat drums! Animal does a little bit both. Someone needs to chain me down like Animal to keep me away from this course like Animal trying to chase after "Wo Man!" or "Car!" The Animal Course at Warwick is the course I would pick if I could only play one for the rest of my life. I wish I didn't live 4+ hours away, but I will definitely make trips to come back here. I've had the Three Days Grace, "The animal I have become" song stuck in my head since playing. This is my kind of course!

7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 world class course!!!

1    3/22/2013   3/23/2013
Review By: StevenFoster
Played: 21  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Many wide open shots for big arms, combined with cleverly designed woods holes for touch shots. Nice putting greens. Big concrete tee pads, top quality pole holes, fairways groomed by many years of maintenance, lawn closely mowed for roller shots, beautiful views, beautiful park. Every hole lets you grip it and rip it.
Cons: Some of the long tee placements are iffy, by simply being tucked back 30 feet behind the short tee (hole 15, 13, 18). I mean, if the hole is 400 feet and the first 50 feet of it just gets you out of the woods you can't really rip it and the first throw only gets you started...IF you get out of the woods. 16 long tee puts you behind a row of trees forcing you to throw a roller. Looks like the whole course was designed for the short tees and the long tees were an afterthought.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Best in the East

5+    3/20/2013   3/20/2013
Review By: BoomerangRich
Played: 19  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.9 Years
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: 4 different layouts
wide range of distances
easy parking
bathrooms
concrete pads
elevation changes
next to two other high caliber courses
Cons: still trying to find one, I wish it were closer to my house?
Other Thoughts: a must play in the northeast! a quick round for short to short and long to long can make you question your endurance.

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 One of the best

5+    9/6/2012   3/6/2013
Review By: mmblink86
Played: 17  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.9 Years
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Not much more can be said regarding how great this course is. All 4 layouts feel like individual courses in their own right. Plenty of parking, restrooms, great tee signs
Cons: Not having the Oasis finished yet!
Other Thoughts: I would play here everyday even though I live an hour away

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

There's no place like home

5+    1/1/2013   1/1/2013
Review By: adevuyst
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4
This review was updated on 7/19/2014
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Well groomed, I can't say this enough. The course is always freshly mowed and clear of debris. The layout is fantastic with two tees and two baskets on EVERY hole. There are public restrooms here and two covered pavilions with picnic tables. Most holes have benches, all holes have decent signage although beginning to show their age.
Cons: There is poison ivy all over the place, especially the tree vine variety so look out. I always pack a zip lock bag for discs that have gone the way of the ivy.
Other Thoughts: This is a fantastic course that is certainly worth the drive to get to if you're not a local. The blue-silver layout is great since the silver-silver is a bit short. Make sure you check out the newer and much more technical Wolfe woods course near the fairway for hole 16 on this course. And also check out the Oasis farm across the street which boasts a pro shop (if you're lucky enough to track someone down who lives there) and a full course of their own, which plays similarly to a mini golf course.

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

  My Favorite Place on Earth

5+    11/4/2012   11/8/2012
Review By: healage
Played: 86  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Immaculately groomed (The Parks department takes great pride in the course and have been absolutely amazing in keeping the park maintained)
4 Possible Layouts with challenges for every skill level
Almost every shot imaginable is needed to score well on the Blue-Blue layout
Very difficult (and fair) Par 4's and an amazing Par 5
Sandwiched between 2 other courses literally less than 100 feet away in 2 directions.
Too many to keep listing
Cons: Front 9/Back 9 break up is a bit awkward due to Park renovations years ago
A few blind shots where an errant shot can (and has) hit someone if one is not paying attention
Longer layouts can be very difficult to play during summer peak hours when the course is crawling with newbies

Other Thoughts: I would objectively rate this course a 4.75 if the option was available, but it is closer to a level 5 course than a 4.5. Hence the 5 rating.


3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.