Warwick, NY 
Brakewell Steel / Warwick Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #13
3 / 280ft.   3 / 356ft.   3 / 373ft.   4 / 447ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Long Tee



Reviews: 53
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Love this course!!!

5+    9/26/2014   9/26/2014
Review By: krismarvin88
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: I absolutely love this course. It's very well maintained, the fairways are always mowed, the baskets are very well take care of, the courses are all marked as to where the different baskets and tees are, and what the par is. There's even a pro shop across the street and bathrooms.
Cons: I can't seem to find any, the only thing I could say is that some of the signs for the holes could be updated, some have gotten wet and started to run, others have had the par or hole number changed with a magic marker. But I can deal with that so long as I can read them!
Other Thoughts: Great great course. The other players are always friendly. Best part is, cell service is next to nothing out there so no one bothers you while you're playing!

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

A Complete Round of Golf

1    7/17/2014   8/2/2014
Review By: BigAl724
Played: 78  Reviewed: 69  Exp: 2.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Steve Brinster is one of the best disc golf players on the planet, people are well aware of that. But man, can he also design a course. The Brakewell Steel course in Warwick Park is right up there with the top courses in the country in terms of design, variety, and maintenance. The course covers many different sections of the park to provide a thoroughly balanced round. It clearly is the priority of the park and is immaculately groomed. There is plenty of parking space, a pavilion, and bathrooms very close to hole one.

This course screams "complete". My most dominant thought during and after my round was how thorough my round was. A day at Warwick provides a full experience of disc golf, not lacking in any aspect. The course has an unparalleled fun-factor quality to it, offering a tremendous variety in levels of woodenness, hole lengths, and pars.

All of the equipment is in great shape, starting with the very comfortable concrete tees. Tee signs are informative and are at both tee positions. Blue and silver baskets are respectively colored. The multiple tee and permanent pin positions do a tremendous job of adding variety to the hole, with 4 possible layouts available at any time. The pin positions especially not only make the holes more difficult by adding length, but offer a great difference in risk/reward on many occasions. The different pin positions also often drastically changed the look of the hole in a way that so few courses do.

One aspect of design that I personally love is when a hole is multi-staged and changes its feel as you approach the basket. Warwick is one of the best courses - if not the best - I've played where holes evolve in different levels of woodenness and elevation. Hole after hole (after hole) greatly changes in its quality from tee to basket. I love holes like 2 that have so many great aspects about it. From blue-blue, the hole plays downhill through a tight lane in the woods, hits a 90+ degree turn, and plays uphill as you approach the basket among trees. Holes like this cannot adequately be described, they must be played to experience their level of completeness. This rings true for many holes here, with 3, 5, 8, 14, 15, and 18 also being great examples of providing multi-stage par 4's and 5's.

Elevation is used tremendously throughout the course, with many holes playing through rollings hills (in the woods and in the open), as well as a few uphill and downhill bombs. No two holes use the elevation the same way. For example, there are a few holes that play downhill, but they are all vastly different from one another.

There is not a remotely boring or out-of place hole on the course. I really appreciated how every hole allows you to be creative on every shot, combining the offering of multiple lanes and the great elevation changes. There is no hole that just offers one line, one way to play it. A great deal of risk/reward is offered with some crazy pin positions on holes 3 and 5 and the creek on 11 and 14. Some fast fairways also make you think twice before you throw on holes like 4 and 8.

The course is nicely sprawled throughout the park and does a great job of playing through vastly different topographical sections of the park. The expanse of the park's land that is used is really amazing, and thedesigners did an awesome job of utilizing each part of the park to create a great blend of holes. The course does a great job of avoiding other park traffic and winds its way back to the parking after 18.
Cons: -My biggest complaint, which is a very minor one, is that there is some backtracking from the blue pins. It feels like the navigation of the course was designed around the silver baskets, which often have a path closer to them taking you to the next tee than the blue ones do.
-Navigation was great for the most part, but there are a few times where next tee signs would be helpful, especially from the blue baskets
-There is a good bit of poison ivy on the heavily wooded holes
Other Thoughts: For a course to be in the best-of-the-best category, it must have a very balanced variety of shots and hole types, offer a great deal of risk/reward play, be well maintained and aesthetically pleasing, and have a certain character about it that distinguishes it from the other phenomenal courses out there. Warwick provides each of these aspects.

The fact that it offers 4 permanent layouts is awesome, and the variety of that this course has makes its replay-factor through the roof. How can the shortest layout double in length when compared to the longest layout, and have a difference of 14 for par? Only Warwick provides this type of awesome variety.

I was a little skeptical about its high praise coming into my round, and was viewing the course with a critical eye. Though I was ready to find flaws in the course to keep from giving it a 5-disc rating, I did not find anything worth knocking it down. This course is awesome, offering unparalleled variety and such a complete round of disc golf.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Animal - Dr. Teeth and The Electric Mayhem!

1    7/5/2014   7/7/2014
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 106  Reviewed: 76  Exp: 8.2 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Unleash your inner Animal with 18 unrestrained and spectacular world class holes over elevation galore mixing par 3, 4, and 5s. Two concrete tees and two baskets on every hole providing a ton a variety from funky fun to electric mayhem! Perfect mix of woods and open and use of elevation, stone walls, creek, and ob. Nice signage and navigation for the most part. Two loops of 9 hole back to parking lot. Course plays well for any level of player, but is a bombers dream from the longs. Very well manicured and maintained course. Disc golf area of park. Bathrooms over by the playground.
Cons: Really not much to complain about. There is a little a bit of poison ivy around the edges of the woods. The short tee for hole 7 says hole 9. A little bit of backtracking on some holes. You cross hole 18 long going from basket 15 to tee 16. You play over the park road on 14 from the long tee, and man what a shot! It's a bit of a hike up and down the elevation. If you can't handle the hike or style of play head down the hill to Wolfe Woods which is the other course on site and is heavily wooded and short.
Other Thoughts: The Warwick course is nestled in the southern NY mountains and features long sweeping fairways up, down, over and across elevation with some vista views. Want to watch your discs fly? Come play here! I parked the short basket about 600' away on 14 which is one of the signature holes, and is about downhill 80', but I was playing the par 5 long island basket, and chained out for eagle. Every hole here is freaking awesome!

A-ni-mal! A-ni-mal! What does Animal do? Eat drums! Eat drums! No! Beat drums! Beat drums! Animal does a little bit both. Someone needs to chain me down like Animal to keep me away from this course like Animal trying to chase after "Wo Man!" or "Car!" The Animal Course at Warwick is the course I would pick if I could only play one for the rest of my life. I wish I didn't live 4+ hours away, but I will definitely make trips to come back here. I've had the Three Days Grace, "The animal I have become" song stuck in my head since playing. This is my kind of course!

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

world class course!!!

1    3/22/2013   3/23/2013
Review By: StevenFoster
Played: 21  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.5 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Many wide open shots for big arms, combined with cleverly designed woods holes for touch shots. Nice putting greens. Big concrete tee pads, top quality pole holes, fairways groomed by many years of maintenance, lawn closely mowed for roller shots, beautiful views, beautiful park. Every hole lets you grip it and rip it.
Cons: Some of the long tee placements are iffy, by simply being tucked back 30 feet behind the short tee (hole 15, 13, 18). I mean, if the hole is 400 feet and the first 50 feet of it just gets you out of the woods you can't really rip it and the first throw only gets you started...IF you get out of the woods. 16 long tee puts you behind a row of trees forcing you to throw a roller. Looks like the whole course was designed for the short tees and the long tees were an afterthought.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Best in the East

5+    3/20/2013   3/20/2013
Review By: BoomerangRich
Played: 19  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.4 Years
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: 4 different layouts
wide range of distances
easy parking
bathrooms
concrete pads
elevation changes
next to two other high caliber courses
Cons: still trying to find one, I wish it were closer to my house?
Other Thoughts: a must play in the northeast! a quick round for short to short and long to long can make you question your endurance.

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

One of the best

5+    9/6/2012   3/6/2013
Review By: mmblink86
Played: 17  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.4 Years
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Not much more can be said regarding how great this course is. All 4 layouts feel like individual courses in their own right. Plenty of parking, restrooms, great tee signs
Cons: Not having the Oasis finished yet!
Other Thoughts: I would play here everyday even though I live an hour away

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

There's no place like home

5+    1/1/2013   1/1/2013
Review By: adevuyst
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4
This review was updated on 7/19/2014
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Well groomed, I can't say this enough. The course is always freshly mowed and clear of debris. The layout is fantastic with two tees and two baskets on EVERY hole. There are public restrooms here and two covered pavilions with picnic tables. Most holes have benches, all holes have decent signage although beginning to show their age.
Cons: There is poison ivy all over the place, especially the tree vine variety so look out. I always pack a zip lock bag for discs that have gone the way of the ivy.
Other Thoughts: This is a fantastic course that is certainly worth the drive to get to if you're not a local. The blue-silver layout is great since the silver-silver is a bit short. Make sure you check out the newer and much more technical Wolfe woods course near the fairway for hole 16 on this course. And also check out the Oasis farm across the street which boasts a pro shop (if you're lucky enough to track someone down who lives there) and a full course of their own, which plays similarly to a mini golf course.

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 My Favorite Place on Earth

5+    11/4/2012   11/8/2012
Review By: healage
Played: 86  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Immaculately groomed (The Parks department takes great pride in the course and have been absolutely amazing in keeping the park maintained)
4 Possible Layouts with challenges for every skill level
Almost every shot imaginable is needed to score well on the Blue-Blue layout
Very difficult (and fair) Par 4's and an amazing Par 5
Sandwiched between 2 other courses literally less than 100 feet away in 2 directions.
Too many to keep listing
Cons: Front 9/Back 9 break up is a bit awkward due to Park renovations years ago
A few blind shots where an errant shot can (and has) hit someone if one is not paying attention
Longer layouts can be very difficult to play during summer peak hours when the course is crawling with newbies

Other Thoughts: I would objectively rate this course a 4.75 if the option was available, but it is closer to a level 5 course than a 4.5. Hence the 5 rating.


3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Great course, multiple layouts! Something for everyone.

5+    8/4/2012   8/5/2012
Review By: BigMerch81
Played: 34  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 12.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Warwick is an amazing course, it is well maintained and groomed. The signage is excellent. The basket placements are tough, some of the holes are very risk/reward. The fact that each of the four total ways to play each hole is completely different from the other is incredible. Blue, blue is a tough layout and can give anyone a rough round. Silver to silver is fun, somewhat challenging but accessible to new players. There are lots of great signature holes like hole 14 blue to blue. The variety of wooded to open bomber shots, elevation, beauty, different layouts make this the second best course I have played next to Blue Ribbon. The blue to blue layout is tough enough for high end tournament play. This course will test all of your shots. Many holes require great placement while others reward long drives. The locals are friendly and awesome.
Cons: Hole 7s blue basket placement. It is located 50 feet from the warm up basket and people typically throw to 7 to warm up or play catch around the area. You can't tell if it is clear before throwing. Most people play the silver baskets and do not realize that people play to blue. I usually have to shout down to clear people out upon approaching. I also had a drive picked up the other night, these kids didn't realize I was driving the hole. I thought my drive was around 20 feet from the blue basket, turns out it was. I ran into a group of kids after 30 minutes of searching and they had my disc but were nice enough to give it back. Also, don't go long down the hill and into the crowded parking lot on 7, though I have seen a disc hit a car and end up back in bounds. 7 is a great hole, just exercise caution.
Other Thoughts: If you are anywhere near this place make sure to check it out. It is worth a few hours drive and is a destination course for many people all over the east coast. I love having Warwick as my new home course, it is a great place to work on your skills. My game has blossomed because of the demanding lay outs that I have the fortune to play on all the time.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Worth The Trip.

1    7/3/2011   7/4/2011
Review By: disc-o maniac
Played: 11  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.3 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is easily the best course out there for New York. Being a resident of the New York state, I've covered most if not all of the courses in New York and after playing this course yesterday, im still in awe of how amazing this course was. Its without a doubt a pro course but with different tees and baskets to mix and match, this course ranges from a 6000ft adventure to a 4000ft walk in the park. The basket placement might be one of the most creative placements ive seen with some on isolated hills, and others around tree walls. Heres a list of some organized pros i have for this course.
Pros-----

~ 1st tee is extremely easy to find, and right near parking so its not a hassle to get to

~ Warwick Wall, near 1st tee has tons of flyers showing events and important dates for disc golf in the area

~ A breathtaking course, whether you decide to play silver tees, to silver baskets, or blue tees to blue baskets, or even if you mix and match, you will not be dissapointed. I went on a rainy day in the afternoon and i figured i wouldnt get all of the experience. I was completely wrong. even in the rain, the course is a blast to play. It easily topped courses that i have played in perfect weather.

~ Tees are marked and some even have contact numbers for help and questions

~ The Locals there are great guides and are always willing to give you any tips and items. My brother lost his Pro Destroyer on #4 and one of the guys we let play ahead while we looked for it, gave him a star Destoyer and said, if you ever lose anything give me a call.

~ Along with the great course it has everything else, a baseball field, a playground, picnic area, and soccer fields, it turns a trip to a great course into a trip to a great park. Me and my family were there for about 4 hours after we finished the course just playing around in all of the things Warwick town park has to offer.

~ Garbage cans and Benches on every tee. The course takes a lot out of you if you play Blue to Blue so it was great having a place to rest before playing the next basket.

~Well groomed all of the field was playable, and it was well maintained so there was no tall grass or fallen trees in the In Bounds area
Cons: Very few but like all courses theres always a couple of cons.

~"Next Tee" signs were lacking and sometimes it turned into a guessing games as to where the next tee was. If you follow a local however, you wont have much of a problem navigating.

~ With so much area on some baskets, its easy to see it getting crowded. i went on a rainy day so i didnt have that problem, but be advised some baskets are near picnic areas and parking lots.
Other Thoughts: ~ Scorecards are lacking at the Course so make sure you print it out off of the Link/Files page

~BRING BUG SPRAY! i promise you, you will get eaten alive without bug spray, mosquitos here are relentless but any type of spray will do the trick.

~Make sure you check out wolfe woods after basket 15, its an amzing water based course that can complete with any course in the Northeast.

~ If you live in the Northeast area and still haven't tried this course out, please do so, i've played for 3 years and after playing this course for my first time yesterday, im still kicking myself that i waited so long for this unbelievable course



6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.