Warwick, NY 
Brakewell Steel / Warwick Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #7
3 / 325ft.   3 / 375ft.   3 / 413ft.   3 / 455ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Long Tee



Reviews: 53
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

5+    7/25/2009   7/28/2009
Review By: StymieDidIt
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A nice variety of wooded holes and open holes. Varied approaches and elevation. Well maintained. Possibility of playing 4 different ways with the dual tee boxes and dual baskets for each hole. Concrete tee pads are great opposed to gravel or rubber,and are good sized pads. The only thing keeping me from giving this course a rating of 5, is the fact that I've never been to a 5, so I wouldn't know what perfect is.
Cons: Not too many. Better signage and directions for the tees. Maybe marking the course for pedestrians that aren't aware that they're traversing a disc golf course. I'm sure it wouldn't be a big deal to the people if they knew that they should beware the golfers.
Other Thoughts: It's an unfortunate fact that many people are slobs with no repect for public facilities. Maybe more trash containers for the lazy golfers that can't pack it out.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/7/2009   3/8/2009
Review By: suzy q
Played: 11  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.7 Years
3 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: the course was very well laid out, all the holes were very well marked. the choice of tee/basket was great. the concrete tees were awesome! the local players were extremely friendly and very helpful
Cons: early spring is not such a good time to play...LOTS of mud....especially #6!!
Other Thoughts: other than muddy terrain in spring, the course is great. and as an added bonus there is a 2nd 18 hole course in the woods behind the park....the holes are short, but everything is very well marked, a very fun little course. a great way to wind down after the first 18 holes!!!

3 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Top Rated?

1    2/9/2009   2/9/2009
Review By: crouchingwombat
Played: 52  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 7 Years
8 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: The park it self is pretty nice and well maintained. Parking is no problem at all.
When you get to hole 1 there is a huge bulletin board with loads of information and even score cards!! The course has a unique layout making the 18 hole course actually 2 courses. As everyone here has said and the course description has stated there are 2 of everything, no need for me to get more into that. I liked the challenge both the short and long tees/baskets gave. I played almost every combo of tees and baskets and each time was different (3 out of 4). The elevation change is great. All of those shots I keep shanking upward actually helped me on a couple holes. A couple holes have a creek that comes into play, especially for the blue baskets. Those holes are 11 and 14 both very enjoyable. A few holes go through fields but the pins are located around or in some trees making it more challenging and interesting than an all open field hole.

For the actual course it self, every tee has a sign for both short and long pads. Most courses don't bother with that, I liked it here. The few tee pads that were not under snow or ice were tapered at the back to allow for different approaches, pretty cool idea. I really enjoyed the park and it seemed like a good amount of effort was put into this course.
Cons: It took a bit of wandering around to find a couple holes the first time around but the course flows nicely and I was able to locate them pretty quickly. The locals litter a lot, there were beer cans and boxes all over the place, especially for a park that has a no alcohol policy. The bathrooms were locked for winter, no biggie, nothing they could do about that anyway. Some of the trashcans were overflowing....now i'm just trying to find things to bitch about...haha
Other Thoughts: Warwick park is a great disc golf course with a great variety of shots and challenges. I enjoy playing disc golf where ever I go and drove 2 hours to get here. With that said I drove a bit to play at Tyler State park in PA and felt that drive was much more worth it. I'm not sure why this park is so highly rated, it's a great park but in my opinion just great.
I played it in the snow/ice, and a few holes were very difficult to get to because of the huge sheets of ice around them, kinda fun actually. If I miss my puts my disc would slide forever. Maybe this place is more amazing in the spring, I played it in the winter. One more thing, someone left a lost disc near the bulletin board for the owner to find. Thats pretty cool, the people in most places wouldn't be so friendly.

8 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 Love it

5+    8/16/2006   2/2/2009
Review By: craigg
Played: 183  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 33.3 Years
14 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Two permanent baskets on every hole.
Two permanent teepads on every hole.

This combination makes the course very accessible for beginners and top pros alike.

Long sweeping fairways you get to go up, down, and across, mixed with an excellent wooded hillside makes for very little repetition - great variety here. The property is what every designer dreams of finding when looking for a DGC property. (You know when you're driving down some country highway making up holes in the scenic fields along the way? - This is that field!!)

Lots of parking, bathrooms, shelters available for tournaments, and locals who have started an "adopt a hole" program to spruce up and maintain their favorite holes. Warwick is definitely in my top 10 - a must see.
Cons: It's 5 hours from my house!
Not conveniently located - about an hour or a little more outside NYC along the NY/NJ border. Other than location - I can't think of anything bad to say about this course.
Other Thoughts: Dan Doyle has done an incredible job with this course. This is a course you SHOULD go out of your way to see. The first time I played it - it rained 6" - and I couldn't wait to go back.

14 of 16 people found this review helpful.

 Big Green Mean and Clean

1    6/11/2003   1/11/2009
Review By: optidiscic
Played: 155  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 12.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/11/2010
13 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Amazing course. Has everything you need for a good time. Very balanced with challenging but fair wooded holes. These are tight but not unreasonable. Fun but not easy open holes. You have to really be able to drive across an open field but usually need to negotiate some tight fairway at the beginning or end or both of your drive. Up and down elevation, very cool and at times extreme changes with hills and some almost cliff like areas. Varied terrain that keeps the course exciting and interesting. Unique basket and tee locations such as on steep edges, little island, and shooting down dramatic hills. Super long baskets, shorter baskets, clean park, very challenging without frustrating or seeming unfair. Variety of fairways. Theres even a big U-turn slicing hookshot type shot. Choices to challenge your strategy and skill as well as your muscle. The best thing about this place is it is very balanced. I would guess you could take a sixsome from New England, Florida, the Rockies, Texas, California, and Oregon and they would all feel the course is fair. There is just so much variety here. You can play it 4 different ways because of the permanent dual pin and dual tee pad options. Hurray! a moment that will stand out in your mind will be standing on the tee of 18. ....One of the first courses to adapt to strides made in disc technology. When maintained I am sure the island green is really cool. Good tee pads. No seedy undesireables in the park. I really love the new woods holes, a great improvement from the past holes near the road and playing away and walking backtrack to the cliff hole.
Cons: Really a delightful course. Some of the holes are a bit outdated in regards to what some top caliber players can do with premium discs. I am not an expert and from the longs I was able to flirt with birdie quite often. In that sense the course does not seem to reward upper echelon players the way some of the newer courses do.I list this a con because I think score differentation is evident of a top notch course. It can be cumbersome at times to throw at the correct basket if your not scouting ahead or playing course for first time. (just pay attention to the wonderful tee signs) Throwing across/near the soccer field is cool but during game time would be too difficult or dangerous.
Other Thoughts: All in all, this course is worth the trip. It is world class and allows you to play 4 different layouts if you so desire. It is really green and pretty there. I love the east Coast. In the Fall I am sure it is very scenic and pleasant. It is a bit out of the way but I think Campgaw is nearby now so you could feasibly spend a full day playing some premium golf. It is no longer the ultimate destination it was 5-10 yrs ago for the east coast but it is still one of the best courses you will ever play.

13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Incredible variety, for beginners and experts

1    9/22/2008   9/23/2008
Review By: Godard
Played: 49  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 7.3 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I played Blue-Silver (Long tees short baskets) with a beginner buddy who played Silver-Silver and had a grand time. Blue baskets are in often stunning positions, can't wait to do Silver-Blue sometime. Elevations, water, trees, meadows, length...this one truly has it all, and in 4 different combinations. I love holes 3 and 5 especially, which use the elevation and pin placement to the extreme. Hole 14, a downhill meadow beauty, also has two terrific pin placements, utilizing a rock wall for the short basket and a gauntlet to an island basket for the long pin. And hole 18 has a thrilling elevated long tee... especially since my drive made it all the way to the short tee. A must-visit if you pass exit 16 on the Thruway.
Cons: Not a fan of new holes 11 and 12, which are too tight and need to be broken in a bit. Blue baskets for 11 and 12 not installed yet. Blue tee for 12 also not there yet, though I did see gravel on the ground. Everything is hard to find without a map, so bring one!
Other Thoughts: I love this because you could have a beginner, a rec player and a pro all playing together from different tees and positions and all would have an appropriate challenge. The course is quite scenic, well mowed and excellently maintained.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Warwick-Great Time!!

2-4    9/1/2008   9/5/2008
Review By: five2loves42
Played: 90  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.8 Years
2 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Great layout! Love the multi-tee/pins. We played two rounds Blue-Silver. Silver-Blue. Blue-Blue is just crazy hard.
Cons: Only a little backtracking. Be sure to get an updated map. Not the easiest to follow first time through.

2 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course!

5+    8/25/2008   8/25/2008
Review By: disc golfer
Played: 15  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 16.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/21/2011
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A disc golf dream land come true! This course is beautiful and has everything you want in a disc golf course. Challenging and fun with a nice quiet setting. Some cool rolling hills, trees, tree lines, stone walls, creek holes, uphill, downhill and beautiful manicured grass. Alot of design variations from hole to hole, each hole is unique and not one plays the same. Great having 2 permanent pin positions and 2 tees at every hole. Hole 17 has elevated tee, is wide open, and a great chance to grip and rip. Cement tee pads....Woo Hoo!
Cons: Not a big fan of hole 6 short tee because of the poke and hope through alot of skinny trees, but long tee plays much better. The course had gone through some changes over the past few years due to construction and some holes had to be redesigned, but only made the course better!
Other Thoughts: Warwick is a great course and always fun to play. You'll want to play this course over and over again and is worth the trip from anywhere. Don't forget that Warwick Town Park has a 2nd course to play called Wolfe Woods, so check it out! Bathrooms and water available in park and great food nearby.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 not as good as I hpped

7/28/2008   7/28/2008
Review By: chris deitzel
Played: 184  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 21.3 Years
4 Helpful / 16 Not
Pros: Played this course on the way home from the Vibram Open. I was not as impressed as I had hoped to be. The grass was very tall, there were many long walks that backtracked through fairways. Lots of pins near other tees or pins. Very confusing to find your way around. And all around I wasn't that impressed with the actual course. I played the long layout. It had some neat holes, but none that really stood out as amazing holes to me. MAple Hill was about 20 times better than this course. I had hoped this would make my top 10 list with Moraine, Maple Hill and a bunch of other great courses, but it just didn't do it for me.
Cons: Lots of backtracking.
Other Thoughts: IT was ok. I would never want to play a tournament here as some tees/pins seemed like they could be very dangerous with golfers on other holes. You really just need a big arm on this course from the longs. NOt much accuracy required to score well.

4 of 20 people found this review helpful.

 

6/1/2008   6/15/2008
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 226  Reviewed: 179  Exp: 16.6 Years
4 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Extremely well maintained fairways. Great pads, layout. Some signature shots like a double-cliff hole and a basket on an island with a creek all around. Tough as they come from longs.
Cons: Extreme amounts of poison ivy off the fairway and sometimes on. Tee signs faded hard to read.
Other Thoughts: Round-up

4 of 13 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center