Warwick, NY 
Brakewell Steel / Warwick Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #7
3 / 325ft.   3 / 375ft.   3 / 413ft.   3 / 455ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Long Tee

Reviews: 57
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6

2-4    5/29/2015   6/22/2015
Review By: jeditden
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 4.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Amazing variety of holes. With beautifully made change ups. Hole 1 nice and open into a sweet high elevation Hole 2 canopy tree shot. It's got it all
-2 concrete tee pads, as well as 2 baskets on almost every hole. Take note of that. Not just locations, but baskets. Meaning no waiting for your preferred setup. Yeah!
-Very well maintained grounds. I felt like I was playing ball golf at times.
-Hole's 8 and 13 were two of my favorite. Loved the two pine trees flanking the hole on 13. Should be a postcard from the tee box, ha.
-Big park with lot's of parking and bathroom facilites.
Cons: -Not much that I can think of really. I'm originally from the area, but didn't discover the sport until I moved to the mecca of disc golf in NC. But no course I have played can come close to this one. I get angry if I come up to visit and it's too cold or rainy to play...
-It's the only course really around (Unless you count Wolfe Woods, which is in the same park, but is much more wooded) so I imagine it'd get busy if you came on weekends, which I have avoided so far.
-Some of the tee signs are starting to show some wear and it can be a tad difficult to find the next hole without a map, but that's because it's such a large course.
Other Thoughts: -Not much else to say. It's in the town of Warwick, which if you don't know is pretty high $$$, so that probably explains why this course is so nice. But the small amount of players I have encountered there have
been super nice and friendly.
-Get out there and play. I wish I knew about this place before I left NY.
Lousy stinking NC (I kid, I have some great courses down here.)

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Interesting and Well Maintained.

2-4    5/16/2015   5/28/2015
Review By: Lance Philip
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 0.5 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Clean and well maintained. All tee box signs are in place. There is a great variety in hole types. The baskets are all in great shape. Great for all skill levels.
Cons: There are some steep elevations that are a bit challenging to climb and descend if you are not sure footed. There really needs to be signs at the end of holes to guide you to the next tee.
Other Thoughts: I really love this course. It's clean, well maintained and offers a nice variety of holes. There are some tough elevations to climb on the front 9 but levels out on the back 9. This course provides enough of a challenge to keep it interesting every time it's played.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Is there a better course?

1    7/13/2014   3/20/2015
Review By: Disc Golf Chuck
Played: 44  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has it all. I felt like I was at a country club as I played the beautiful holes that this course offers. This is the best course I've played in the three years I've been playing.
The two tees and two baskets on every hole makes this course suitable for the beginner, the intermediate, and the advanced player. There are four separate, and permanent, layouts because of the two tee pads and two baskets on every hole.
The variety of the holes was excellent. There were some tighter, wooded holes, some short holes, and some open holes that allowed you to really test out your arm. Just about every shot was needed to play this course.
The signage was very good and informative.
The course was very clean and the beauty stunning.
A few locals saw that we were first-timers, gave us tips, and were very friendly.
The creek, large trees, squirrel, and other natural habitat just added to the experience.
The park has a pavilion, ample parking, and restrooms. The tees and baskets are in fine shape.
There is some elevation on many of the holes and the pin placements are done well to allow for enjoyment as well as difficulty and challenge.

Cons: Some may consider the remote location to be a con, but I would drive nearly two hours again to play this course.
The course is a bit on the long side and took some time to play. This isn't the course for you if you want to play a quick round. But when you're in these surroundings, you want to take your time, soak it in, and enjoy every minute. There is no need to rush.
Other Thoughts: I played the silver tee pads to the blue baskets while my 12-year-old son played the silver tees and silver baskets. The walking for my son was a bit much, but he also enjoyed this course.
Being from Arizona and in New York for two weeks, I had to play this course. It was well worth the trip...the 2,500 mile trip from Arizona as well as the 1 hour and 45 minute drive from where I was visiting in upstate New York.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Favorite course, bar none

1    12/26/2014   2/12/2015
Review By: itstallchris
Played: 14  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Excellent, diverse, well maintained landscape for a disc golf course.
Four permanent layouts, accommodates all skill levels.
Course design teaches disc golf skill progression very well, not found at many other courses by themselves.
Another course with two layouts located in same park.
Three baskets (usually) available for putting practice (two blue baskets near parking, 7 and 18, don't get a whole lot of traffic)
All things considered, great disc golf experience.
Cons: Vandalism (sign damage and ace signatures), but nothing more than what's common at other public courses.
Other Thoughts: This is the kind of course every disc golfer wishes they had as their home course.
This is where I first encountered disc golf, and I've played some courses in school and in travel, but I've learned the most here at Warwick.
If you want to give someone a best impression and modern representation of disc golf, bring them to Warwick.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Love this course!!!

5+    9/26/2014   9/26/2014
Review By: krismarvin88
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: I absolutely love this course. It's very well maintained, the fairways are always mowed, the baskets are very well take care of, the courses are all marked as to where the different baskets and tees are, and what the par is. There's even a pro shop across the street and bathrooms.
Cons: I can't seem to find any, the only thing I could say is that some of the signs for the holes could be updated, some have gotten wet and started to run, others have had the par or hole number changed with a magic marker. But I can deal with that so long as I can read them!
Other Thoughts: Great great course. The other players are always friendly. Best part is, cell service is next to nothing out there so no one bothers you while you're playing!

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Warwick Park Well Worth the Break

1    8/19/2014   9/8/2014
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 255  Reviewed: 148  Exp: 12.4 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Two! Two! Two for you, because one won't do! Brakewell Steel/Warwick Park has two tees on each hole.Two baskets on each hole. There is even a second course on site, Wolfe Woods, though I didn't play it. Tees are concrete, and signs are full of good information about all of the possibilities. I chose to play the long (blue) tees and short (silver) baskets, I think they call this the blue-silver layout. The short tees are referred to as silver, and the long baskets are trimmed in, and called blue. Blue-silver par is 57, and I was surprised when I played my first round at 56. Under par on a first round at a course of this caliber is not common for me, giving me one more reason to like the place. All of the equipment was really nice, grass was cut, course was fresh and clean. Obviously popular, and for good reason. Lots of people were spending the gorgeous August afternoon there, but the course was not overcrowded on a Tuesday. On the front nine I started and finished with a birdie, and only bogey was on hole 2. Bird on one is a nice start, but no big deal. I gave it right back with a two putt on 2, a fun downhill hole with a hard right turn. 3 is a cool shot uphill, with stands of large trees around the top end protecting the basket. 4 runs a corridor through the woods, and 5 begins in the open grass near the park entrance, but the pin is up the side of a fairly steep, wooded hill. Six is a 364' run through the woods. 7 plays more open, on a lengthy drive towards the parking lot. 8 is a tricky shot downhill and turning right through dense trees, but if you clear, the basket is wide open back in the grass near the tee for 5. I nailed the drive, but missed a 40' look at a two. 9 is open and uphill, with the basket tucked behind a group of trees, and I hit the birdie putt on this hole. The back nine I played even par disc golf (30), with a bogey on 11, but getting it back on 15, with some good driving on a par 4 that measures 550'. 10 is another big throw down a sun-drenched grassy hill, before 11 takes you into the low spots in the creek bend, and I took bogey after a poor drive that avoided the water luckily. 12 plays back the other way on the opposite side of the creek. There is enough water to lose a disc here, so beware. 13 comes out of the trees and climbs the hill toward the parking lot, longer but open once clear the short tee. 14 is a highlight. Long tee throws over the road, with the silver pin cutting right in front of a line of tall trees, and descending the hill over 480'. Very fun shot for RHBH, or anyone else I guess, had to get 2 off this tee. 15 blue passes between an early gap, and is long and open if you hit your spot. Scored a 3 with a great approach. 16 again drives across the road, and downhill, with some scattered trees. Fun and reachable from the tee. 17 tees near the soccer field, and it's the monster on the course, 651' blue to silver. Up and over a large hill, down the other side, second shot hopefully in the trough shooting to the edge of the trees, on another hill in the corner. 18 is not so long, and the long tee is elevated, but still two hard throws to get close to the silver pin. The versatility of the course ranges to make it as easy or hard as you can take. Most of the holes are really good if not great.
Cons: I had some trouble getting to the course, the apple map app was smarter than google maps on this one. Traffic may require you to wait when teeing across the road, but it is worth waiting for. Sunscreen is in order if you are prone to sunburn, several holes are exposed and long.
Other Thoughts: Planning the trip, this park was one I looked forward to playing, and looking back I remember how impressive it is hole by hole. The silver-silver, silver-blue, or blue-blue, and the Wolfe Woods leave a lot I didn't see, and with that in mind I believe the 4.5 rating is well deserved. The town itself, and the trip to get there are very nice too.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

A Complete Round of Golf

1    7/17/2014   8/2/2014
Review By: BigAl724
Played: 112  Reviewed: 105  Exp: 3.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Steve Brinster is one of the best disc golf players on the planet, people are well aware of that. But man, can he also design a course. The Brakewell Steel course in Warwick Park is right up there with the top courses in the country in terms of design, variety, and maintenance. The course covers many different sections of the park to provide a thoroughly balanced round. It clearly is the priority of the park and is immaculately groomed. There is plenty of parking space, a pavilion, and bathrooms very close to hole one.

This course screams "complete". My most dominant thought during and after my round was how thorough my round was. A day at Warwick provides a full experience of disc golf, not lacking in any aspect. The course has an unparalleled fun-factor quality to it, offering a tremendous variety in levels of woodenness, hole lengths, and pars.

All of the equipment is in great shape, starting with the very comfortable concrete tees. Tee signs are informative and are at both tee positions. Blue and silver baskets are respectively colored. The multiple tee and permanent pin positions do a tremendous job of adding variety to the hole, with 4 possible layouts available at any time. The pin positions especially not only make the holes more difficult by adding length, but offer a great difference in risk/reward on many occasions. The different pin positions also often drastically changed the look of the hole in a way that so few courses do.

One aspect of design that I personally love is when a hole is multi-staged and changes its feel as you approach the basket. Warwick is one of the best courses - if not the best - I've played where holes evolve in different levels of woodenness and elevation. Hole after hole (after hole) greatly changes in its quality from tee to basket. I love holes like 2 that have so many great aspects about it. From blue-blue, the hole plays downhill through a tight lane in the woods, hits a 90+ degree turn, and plays uphill as you approach the basket among trees. Holes like this cannot adequately be described, they must be played to experience their level of completeness. This rings true for many holes here, with 3, 5, 8, 14, 15, and 18 also being great examples of providing multi-stage par 4's and 5's.

Elevation is used tremendously throughout the course, with many holes playing through rollings hills (in the woods and in the open), as well as a few uphill and downhill bombs. No two holes use the elevation the same way. For example, there are a few holes that play downhill, but they are all vastly different from one another.

There is not a remotely boring or out-of place hole on the course. I really appreciated how every hole allows you to be creative on every shot, combining the offering of multiple lanes and the great elevation changes. There is no hole that just offers one line, one way to play it. A great deal of risk/reward is offered with some crazy pin positions on holes 3 and 5 and the creek on 11 and 14. Some fast fairways also make you think twice before you throw on holes like 4 and 8.

The course is nicely sprawled throughout the park and does a great job of playing through vastly different topographical sections of the park. The expanse of the park's land that is used is really amazing, and thedesigners did an awesome job of utilizing each part of the park to create a great blend of holes. The course does a great job of avoiding other park traffic and winds its way back to the parking after 18.
Cons: -My biggest complaint, which is a very minor one, is that there is some backtracking from the blue pins. It feels like the navigation of the course was designed around the silver baskets, which often have a path closer to them taking you to the next tee than the blue ones do.
-Navigation was great for the most part, but there are a few times where next tee signs would be helpful, especially from the blue baskets
-There is a good bit of poison ivy on the heavily wooded holes
Other Thoughts: For a course to be in the best-of-the-best category, it must have a very balanced variety of shots and hole types, offer a great deal of risk/reward play, be well maintained and aesthetically pleasing, and have a certain character about it that distinguishes it from the other phenomenal courses out there. Warwick provides each of these aspects.

The fact that it offers 4 permanent layouts is awesome, and the variety of that this course has makes its replay-factor through the roof. How can the shortest layout double in length when compared to the longest layout, and have a difference of 14 for par? Only Warwick provides this type of awesome variety.

I was a little skeptical about its high praise coming into my round, and was viewing the course with a critical eye. Though I was ready to find flaws in the course to keep from giving it a 5-disc rating, I did not find anything worth knocking it down. This course is awesome, offering unparalleled variety and such a complete round of disc golf.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Almost Perfect

1    7/8/2014   7/13/2014
Review By: JohtoVillage
Played: 152  Reviewed: 74  Exp: 15.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wow is a great way to start this review! This course is as close to a 5 as you can get in my opinion. Here are the pros for this course:

1) Options options options. Having two concrete tees and two baskets per hole is such a pleasure. Also, its great that the baskets are distinguished from each other. One being powder coated blue and the other being silver is a great way to let players know what holes they are playing.

2) The long holes have obstacles and variety. I love bomber holes but get a little bored with bomber holes that are literally wide open. The long holes really had some obstacles and made you think. The obstacles ranged from elevation, trees, roads, etc. Long for the sake of long is no fun but these long holes were some of the best long holes I have played. Kudos to the designer for making these holes great.

3) This course had a ton of variety. There was a hole over two creeks, a hole over a rock wall, a hole between two pine trees, a long downhill bomber, a triple option hole, a hole that had a basket right on the top of a cliff and everything in between. There were some super tight holes and some huge bomber holes. This course had the PERFECT variety of elevation and open and wooded holes.

4) This course was literally manicured like a ball golf course. The grass was cut perfectly and the grass was very green.

5) Even though the course was very long and hard from the back tees/long baskets, the course was very fair. The course was challenging but I did not have any qualms with holes being too hard or unfair.

6) This course had some epic signature holes. The basket position/green for hole 3 was one of the coolest greens I have ever played. The basket was literally right on top of a cliff wall. Amazing! Hole 14 also had the WOW factor. The drive on that hole was literally amazing as you had to thrown downhill about 450 feet over a wide open field. The second shot (to the long pin) was through a tight tunnel to a protected green with a creek snaking right around the green. Also who could forget hole 17? This was actually a better hole from the silver tee (see below) but still was an amazing hole to throw. The drive was pretty much in an open field but had some nice elevation. The second shot was simply awesome, with a protected green and a picturesque view.

Taking all of these things together gives this course a 4.5 rating which is considered Phenomenal according to DG Course Review.
Cons: There's not much to dislike about this course. Here are just a few things I noticed when playing the course:

1) Artificial OB: There were a few holes that included artificial out of bounds. This essentially means that there is not water or road but simply an area flagged as being worthy of a penalty stroke. This is not a huge con to me, but on a few of the holes the artificial OB was actually just not necessary. The main reason is that if you are in the area that is flagged as artificial OB your shot will be penalized enough as it is and there is no need for a penalty. I believe that one of the holes included the artificial OB so players wouldn't cut a corner but on one hole the OB was marked right in the fairway and it seemed unnecessary. This is not a huge con but just worth mentioning.

2) Navigation was a little tricky in some spots. On a few holes if you were playing the blue baskets there was some backtracking to get back to where you needed to go to get to the next hole. I brought a map so it wasn't too bad but on a few holes a local had to help us find where we were going.

3) This is not a huge con but also simply worth nothing: I really appreciated the option of having multiple baskets and multiple tees but on a few of the long tees it seemed that the long tee was just thrown a few hundred feet back to make it longer and harder when the shorter tee would have sufficed. A great example of this is hole 17 - from the silver tee this is a signature hole on the course from the elevated pad. But going backwards 175 feet and having to throw uphill on the tee takes away from the joy of throwing from the silver pad. This is not a huge con because long tees are supposed to be hard but a few times it added a lot of extra walking and didn't add a lot of value. In my opinion this did not take away from the overall flavor of the course and is not a huge con. If you don't want to play the long tees then play the short tees!

4) Some of the walks are very long so be prepared to get a work out. My buddy and I were pretty exhausted after playing this round but it was worth it!
Other Thoughts: I agree with a few other posters here: I truly wish we had the option of going with .25 increments. To me this course is SO close to a 5. It has almost everything you could possibly want in a course. The cons are minor compared to the awesome pros. This course is HIGHLY recommended and is literally one of the best courses in the Northeast. I would put this course right behind Nockamixon and Maple Hill and ahead of Iron Hill and Brewster's Ridge when it comes to Northeast disc golf. I would put this course on the same level as Idlewild, Moraine, Deer Lakes and Tyler.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Animal - Dr. Teeth and The Electric Mayhem!

1    7/5/2014   7/7/2014
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 134  Reviewed: 123  Exp: 9.2 Years
7 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Unleash your inner Animal with 18 unrestrained and spectacular world class holes over elevation galore mixing par 3, 4, and 5s. Two concrete tees and two baskets on every hole providing a ton a variety from funky fun to electric mayhem! Perfect mix of woods and open and use of elevation, stone walls, creek, and ob. Nice signage and navigation for the most part. Two loops of 9 hole back to parking lot. Course plays well for any level of player, but is a bombers dream from the longs. Very well manicured and maintained course. Disc golf area of park. Bathrooms over by the playground.
Cons: Really not much to complain about. There is a little a bit of poison ivy around the edges of the woods. The short tee for hole 7 says hole 9. A little bit of backtracking on some holes. You cross hole 18 long going from basket 15 to tee 16. You play over the park road on 14 from the long tee, and man what a shot! It's a bit of a hike up and down the elevation. If you can't handle the hike or style of play head down the hill to Wolfe Woods which is the other course on site and is heavily wooded and short.
Other Thoughts: The Warwick course is nestled in the southern NY mountains and features long sweeping fairways up, down, over and across elevation with some vista views. Want to watch your discs fly? Come play here! I parked the short basket about 600' away on 14 which is one of the signature holes, and is about downhill 80', but I was playing the par 5 long island basket, and chained out for eagle. Every hole here is freaking awesome!

A-ni-mal! A-ni-mal! What does Animal do? Eat drums! Eat drums! No! Beat drums! Beat drums! Animal does a little bit both. Someone needs to chain me down like Animal to keep me away from this course like Animal trying to chase after "Wo Man!" or "Car!" The Animal Course at Warwick is the course I would pick if I could only play one for the rest of my life. I wish I didn't live 4+ hours away, but I will definitely make trips to come back here. I've had the Three Days Grace, "The animal I have become" song stuck in my head since playing. This is my kind of course!

7 of 10 people found this review helpful.

I love this!

1    9/22/2013   10/18/2013
Review By: EWSdiscgolf
Played: 56  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 2.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/1/2014
0 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: It was great! Two baskets, two tees? I've never been to a course as good as this!
It was very well marked. The silver to silver was for beginners, silver to blue or blue to silver was intermediate, and blue to blue was for advanced disc golfers.
Cons: Not many. Some places were marked out of bounds that shouldn't have, but I let that go.
Some holes on the silver to silver are a little bit short, too.
Other Thoughts: They should make more courses around here like this. This places was awesome!

0 of 13 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.