Warwick, NY 
Brakewell Steel / Warwick Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #16
3 / 236ft.   3 / 317ft.   3 / 301ft.   3 / 400ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Long Tee



Reviews: 50
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
Almost Perfect

1    7/8/2014   7/13/2014
Review By: JohtoVillage
Played: 134  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 14.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wow is a great way to start this review! This course is as close to a 5 as you can get in my opinion. Here are the pros for this course:

1) Options options options. Having two concrete tees and two baskets per hole is such a pleasure. Also, its great that the baskets are distinguished from each other. One being powder coated blue and the other being silver is a great way to let players know what holes they are playing.

2) The long holes have obstacles and variety. I love bomber holes but get a little bored with bomber holes that are literally wide open. The long holes really had some obstacles and made you think. The obstacles ranged from elevation, trees, roads, etc. Long for the sake of long is no fun but these long holes were some of the best long holes I have played. Kudos to the designer for making these holes great.

3) This course had a ton of variety. There was a hole over two creeks, a hole over a rock wall, a hole between two pine trees, a long downhill bomber, a triple option hole, a hole that had a basket right on the top of a cliff and everything in between. There were some super tight holes and some huge bomber holes. This course had the PERFECT variety of elevation and open and wooded holes.

4) This course was literally manicured like a ball golf course. The grass was cut perfectly and the grass was very green.

5) Even though the course was very long and hard from the back tees/long baskets, the course was very fair. The course was challenging but I did not have any qualms with holes being too hard or unfair.

6) This course had some epic signature holes. The basket position/green for hole 3 was one of the coolest greens I have ever played. The basket was literally right on top of a cliff wall. Amazing! Hole 14 also had the WOW factor. The drive on that hole was literally amazing as you had to thrown downhill about 450 feet over a wide open field. The second shot (to the long pin) was through a tight tunnel to a protected green with a creek snaking right around the green. Also who could forget hole 17? This was actually a better hole from the silver tee (see below) but still was an amazing hole to throw. The drive was pretty much in an open field but had some nice elevation. The second shot was simply awesome, with a protected green and a picturesque view.

Taking all of these things together gives this course a 4.5 rating which is considered Phenomenal according to DG Course Review.
Cons: There's not much to dislike about this course. Here are just a few things I noticed when playing the course:

1) Artificial OB: There were a few holes that included artificial out of bounds. This essentially means that there is not water or road but simply an area flagged as being worthy of a penalty stroke. This is not a huge con to me, but on a few of the holes the artificial OB was actually just not necessary. The main reason is that if you are in the area that is flagged as artificial OB your shot will be penalized enough as it is and there is no need for a penalty. I believe that one of the holes included the artificial OB so players wouldn't cut a corner but on one hole the OB was marked right in the fairway and it seemed unnecessary. This is not a huge con but just worth mentioning.

2) Navigation was a little tricky in some spots. On a few holes if you were playing the blue baskets there was some backtracking to get back to where you needed to go to get to the next hole. I brought a map so it wasn't too bad but on a few holes a local had to help us find where we were going.

3) This is not a huge con but also simply worth nothing: I really appreciated the option of having multiple baskets and multiple tees but on a few of the long tees it seemed that the long tee was just thrown a few hundred feet back to make it longer and harder when the shorter tee would have sufficed. A great example of this is hole 17 - from the silver tee this is a signature hole on the course from the elevated pad. But going backwards 175 feet and having to throw uphill on the tee takes away from the joy of throwing from the silver pad. This is not a huge con because long tees are supposed to be hard but a few times it added a lot of extra walking and didn't add a lot of value. In my opinion this did not take away from the overall flavor of the course and is not a huge con. If you don't want to play the long tees then play the short tees!

4) Some of the walks are very long so be prepared to get a work out. My buddy and I were pretty exhausted after playing this round but it was worth it!
Other Thoughts: I agree with a few other posters here: I truly wish we had the option of going with .25 increments. To me this course is SO close to a 5. It has almost everything you could possibly want in a course. The cons are minor compared to the awesome pros. This course is HIGHLY recommended and is literally one of the best courses in the Northeast. I would put this course right behind Nockamixon and Maple Hill and ahead of Iron Hill and Brewster's Ridge when it comes to Northeast disc golf. I would put this course on the same level as Idlewild, Moraine, Deer Lakes and Tyler.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Animal - Dr. Teeth and The Electric Mayhem!

1    7/5/2014   7/7/2014
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 106  Reviewed: 76  Exp: 8 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Unleash your inner Animal with 18 unrestrained and spectacular world class holes over elevation galore mixing par 3, 4, and 5s. Two concrete tees and two baskets on every hole providing a ton a variety from funky fun to electric mayhem! Perfect mix of woods and open and use of elevation, stone walls, creek, and ob. Nice signage and navigation for the most part. Two loops of 9 hole back to parking lot. Course plays well for any level of player, but is a bombers dream from the longs. Very well manicured and maintained course. Disc golf area of park. Bathrooms over by the playground.
Cons: Really not much to complain about. There is a little a bit of poison ivy around the edges of the woods. The short tee for hole 7 says hole 9. A little bit of backtracking on some holes. You cross hole 18 long going from basket 15 to tee 16. You play over the park road on 14 from the long tee, and man what a shot! It's a bit of a hike up and down the elevation. If you can't handle the hike or style of play head down the hill to Wolfe Woods which is the other course on site and is heavily wooded and short.
Other Thoughts: The Warwick course is nestled in the southern NY mountains and features long sweeping fairways up, down, over and across elevation with some vista views. Want to watch your discs fly? Come play here! I parked the short basket about 600' away on 14 which is one of the signature holes, and is about downhill 80', but I was playing the par 5 long island basket, and chained out for eagle. Every hole here is freaking awesome!

A-ni-mal! A-ni-mal! What does Animal do? Eat drums! Eat drums! No! Beat drums! Beat drums! Animal does a little bit both. Someone needs to chain me down like Animal to keep me away from this course like Animal trying to chase after "Wo Man!" or "Car!" The Animal Course at Warwick is the course I would pick if I could only play one for the rest of my life. I wish I didn't live 4+ hours away, but I will definitely make trips to come back here. I've had the Three Days Grace, "The animal I have become" song stuck in my head since playing. This is my kind of course!

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

I love this!

1    9/22/2013   10/18/2013
Review By: EWSdiscgolf
Played: 26  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 1 Years
This review was updated on 6/1/2014
0 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: It was great! Two baskets, two tees? I've never been to a course as good as this!
It was very well marked. The silver to silver was for beginners, silver to blue or blue to silver was intermediate, and blue to blue was for advanced disc golfers.
Cons: Not many. Some places were marked out of bounds that shouldn't have, but I let that go.
Some holes on the silver to silver are a little bit short, too.
Other Thoughts: They should make more courses around here like this. This places was awesome!

0 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Awesome

1    5/19/2013   6/6/2013
Review By: TKdicker
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1.2 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Nice assortment of holes, some long some short some wooded some open, clean as a whistle, beautiful park setting, lots of options with two tees and two baskets on each hole, nice concrete tee pads,
Cons: Some signs with par info missing or baffling (hole 16 silver tee to silver basket a par 4 really?). Direction to next hole confusing in spots.
Other Thoughts: Fantastic course. Hopefully this doesn't set me up for disappointment on other courses this being my first course played. The bar has been set pretty high. My rating could go up after I play some other courses.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

world class course!!!

1    3/22/2013   3/23/2013
Review By: StevenFoster
Played: 21  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.2 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Many wide open shots for big arms, combined with cleverly designed woods holes for touch shots. Nice putting greens. Big concrete tee pads, top quality pole holes, fairways groomed by many years of maintenance, lawn closely mowed for roller shots, beautiful views, beautiful park. Every hole lets you grip it and rip it.
Cons: Some of the long tee placements are iffy, by simply being tucked back 30 feet behind the short tee (hole 15, 13, 18). I mean, if the hole is 400 feet and the first 50 feet of it just gets you out of the woods you can't really rip it and the first throw only gets you started...IF you get out of the woods. 16 long tee puts you behind a row of trees forcing you to throw a roller. Looks like the whole course was designed for the short tees and the long tees were an afterthought.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Best in the East

5+    3/20/2013   3/20/2013
Review By: BoomerangRich
Played: 19  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.1 Years
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: 4 different layouts
wide range of distances
easy parking
bathrooms
concrete pads
elevation changes
next to two other high caliber courses
Cons: still trying to find one, I wish it were closer to my house?
Other Thoughts: a must play in the northeast! a quick round for short to short and long to long can make you question your endurance.

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

One of the best

5+    9/6/2012   3/6/2013
Review By: mmblink86
Played: 17  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.1 Years
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Not much more can be said regarding how great this course is. All 4 layouts feel like individual courses in their own right. Plenty of parking, restrooms, great tee signs
Cons: Not having the Oasis finished yet!
Other Thoughts: I would play here everyday even though I live an hour away

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

There's no place like home

5+    1/1/2013   1/1/2013
Review By: adevuyst
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4
This review was updated on 7/19/2014
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Well groomed, I can't say this enough. The course is always freshly mowed and clear of debris. The layout is fantastic with two tees and two baskets on EVERY hole. There are public restrooms here and two covered pavilions with picnic tables. Most holes have benches, all holes have decent signage although beginning to show their age.
Cons: There is poison ivy all over the place, especially the tree vine variety so look out. I always pack a zip lock bag for discs that have gone the way of the ivy.
Other Thoughts: This is a fantastic course that is certainly worth the drive to get to if you're not a local. The blue-silver layout is great since the silver-silver is a bit short. Make sure you check out the newer and much more technical Wolfe woods course near the fairway for hole 16 on this course. And also check out the Oasis farm across the street which boasts a pro shop (if you're lucky enough to track someone down who lives there) and a full course of their own, which plays similarly to a mini golf course.

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

I Wish I was Local

1    10/12/2012   12/1/2012
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 256  Reviewed: 130  Exp: 12.9 Years
17 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Championship Level. Warwick, from the longs, is a true championship level course. With several Par 4's and 5's, and extremely challenging Par 3's Warwick / Brakewell Steel is a serious course to contend with and certainly not for the faint of heart.
- HUGE HOLES. Some of the Holes from the Longs are HUGE. Hole 18 for example starts in the farthest corner of the park and finishes near the parking lot some 900+' later. Other holes require massive drives to optimal positions in order to throw a second equally massive approach shot. I LOVE this kind of golf.
- Great Use of Natural Features. From the elevation, to the rock outcropping pin positions, to the use of the winding creek and the open and wooded sections of the park, Warwick utilized the natural features of the park excellently. There were even some non-natural features that enhanced the course such as road and roped OB's.
- 1 Park / 2 Courses / 4 Options. The Park has two 18-Hole disc golf courses (Warwick / Brakewell Steel and Wolf Woods), with each course having dual layouts (long and short) which created 4 options for play: Brakewell short, Brakewell long, Wolf Woods short, Wolf Woods long. I was able to play the Brakewell long and Wolf Woods short during my visit.
- Open / Wooded. Warwick offered a steady mix of open and wooded holes… several holes were wide open, while several other holes were decently wooded. And, it did so in rotation, offering a few open holes, and then a few wooded holes, and then some more open holes, and then some mixed open/wooded holes, etc…
Cons:
- LONG Walks. If you're playing Warwick / Brakewell Steel from the longs, it's not just the holes that are long, it's the walks that are LONG as well. The "triangulation" of the previous pin to the next tee (whether it be the short or long) favors the short tees... adding 50-100 yards (or more) to the walk to get to some of the Long pads. Long walks happen after Holes 4, 7, 8, 10, 14, 15 and 16… that's a lot of long walks.
- Navigation Confusion at Hole 5. I want to say that after finishing Hole 4, there was a sign saying "this way to Hole 7"… since I wanted to play Hole 5, I did not go that way. I instead followed another footpath up the hill and found Hole 6. After some investigation I found the pin and tee-pad for 5 and saw my error… I should have followed the sign's directions. To play Hole 5 (which was a good hole), I would have had to walk from 4's pin, past 5's pin, down the entire side of the fairway for Hole 5 to find the tee, only to turn around and play the hole back in the direction I had just come from… Not the best design, even though the hole was awesome.
Other Thoughts:
- Overall. Warwick / Brakewell Steel from the longs was an amazing championship level course. I am surprised that I had not heard of the course (before my road trip), or that the course didn't have more hype/attention nationally… it's certainly worthy. The layout has some long walk issues, but the holes generally make up for that, rewarding you for having taken the extra effort to walk the extra distance. A few of the Par 5 holes were insanely great, including Hole 14 which had a huge, open air downhill drive to a landing zone in order to throw an approach shot through a wooded section and to a creek guarded island green - amazing Hole! Several of the other holes were amazing as well. Plus, when you are finished, (if you still have any arm left), you can warm down on the smaller, but still challenging, Wolf Woods course in the lower portion of the park.
My Score: -2 (65)

17 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 My Favorite Place on Earth

5+    11/4/2012   11/8/2012
Review By: healage
Played: 84  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Immaculately groomed (The Parks department takes great pride in the course and have been absolutely amazing in keeping the park maintained)
4 Possible Layouts with challenges for every skill level
Almost every shot imaginable is needed to score well on the Blue-Blue layout
Very difficult (and fair) Par 4's and an amazing Par 5
Sandwiched between 2 other courses literally less than 100 feet away in 2 directions.
Too many to keep listing
Cons: Front 9/Back 9 break up is a bit awkward due to Park renovations years ago
A few blind shots where an errant shot can (and has) hit someone if one is not paying attention
Longer layouts can be very difficult to play during summer peak hours when the course is crawling with newbies

Other Thoughts: I would objectively rate this course a 4.75 if the option was available, but it is closer to a level 5 course than a 4.5. Hence the 5 rating.


3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.