Warwick, NY 
Brakewell Steel / Warwick Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #18
3 / 297ft.   4 / 575ft.   4 / 618ft.   5 / 900ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Long Tee



Reviews: 53
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 The Best I've Played

1    11/7/2010   11/7/2010
Review By: RamsFan1
Played: 63  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 4.1 Years
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Located in a beautiful town park which is essentially disc golf exclusive, although there are picnic areas and a child's playground on the property. Bathroom facilities are located by hole 17. Dual tee pads at each hole with four possible layouts to play; silver basket to silver basket (easiest), blue to blue (toughest), silver to blue and blue to silver- each with its own par and set of challenges. Great balance of both wooded, technical holes and open holes across rolling hills. Excellent use of elevation, OB, water, rock walls, trees and other barriers. Cement tee pads in good shape and of adequate length. Color signs exist at each tee pad with par, distance and preferred flight path for each of the four layouts. There are benches and trash cans at EVERY HOLE. Navigation is easy and course flow is excellent. Very well maintained and manicured- a tribute to both the local club and the parks commission. Many memorable holes, especially in the blue layout including #3 blue ( basket perched above a 12 foot rock wall), #5 (elevated basket atop a hill with a small landing area and steep slope) #8 (horseshoe hole in blue, steep drop left in silver) #10 (long winding hyzer across an open field in both layouts) #11 (blue basket across a stream) and bombs on holes 14, 15, 17 and 18. A tremendous course in every way with varied distances and shot requirements. and though very demanding will appeal to all skill levels.
Cons: Hard to do anything but nitpick. Blue basket #4 is about 30 feet from the street and can be overshot with an errant throw. One must be heads up walking off tee 13 for shots coming down the hill from hole 10. Blue tee on 14 must throw over the main park accessway- use common sense. A few of the sign holders are rusty and worn out. Maybe some "next tee" arrows would assist in course navigation. Absolutely none of these minor factors detracts from the course or one's playing experience here.
Other Thoughts: With picturesque views, rolling hills and rock walls that neatly line portions of the park, this is small town America and your grandfather's back yard all wrapped up into one. The Warwick Animal Course is just an amazing place to play disc golf and most reviews won't do it justice; you simply must come see this place for yourself. The wooded portion of the course is fair yet requires accuracy and thought. And don't think for a second that the open part of Warwick is a cake walk- there are chutes, wind, roped out-of-bounds areas and enough trees scattered around to make every hole a challenge . One of the premier courses on the east coast and the best place I've had the pleasure to play.

And if for some reason this course doesn't meet your approval, Wolfe Woods is right around the corner!

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

  Wow Simply Amazing Course

5+    10/10/2010   10/11/2010
Review By: KanyeKnievel
Played: 13  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 1. Silver Tee and Blue Tees
2. Silver Hole and Blue Hole
3. Wide Variety Of Holes, some open woods, some dense woods, and then wide open ones going up hill and down hill
4.Great scenery
5.Sometimes a Hotdog and Drink Guy :)
6.Friendly People
7.Two Courses at certain time of the year
8. I could go on...
Cons: 1. Can be very crowded at sometimes
2. Never see any scorecards
Other Thoughts: This is just an amazing course. I would give it a 5 out of 5 but I've only played 10 courses so I can't say its the best. But this is definitely the best course I've ever played so far. Im so happy its my home course :D. This course is so great, has just a little bit of everything you want in a disc golf course. Woods, Heavy Woods, Open Fields, Hill Throws, Up Hill Throws, River Holes, Everything! Also has 4 different ways to play so it can never get old.

Simply amazing !

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 What else can be said?

5+    8/29/2010   8/29/2010
Review By: gregorvn
Played: 42  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.6 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Excellent disc golf park:
Two tees/baskets per hole
All cement teepads
Excellent design
Well-maintained
Tee signs for each teepad
The club recently added some ob rope on 1, 8 & 9 to make it just a little more difficult (as if I needed that)
Cons: The signs are showing a bit of age.
Other Thoughts: If you haven't played this, you really should.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 The best in the East?

5+    8/1/2006   7/11/2010
Review By: Everett Evans
Played: 64  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 21.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Incredible diversity, 2 tees, 2 pins per hole, short/long/punishingly long, whatever your heart desires. Beautiful and well thought out layout.
Cons: Bathrooms are sometimes iffy, but at least the course has them.
Other Thoughts: Played this course a lot from creation until moving out of the area, nothing better than pulling into the parking lot knowing that you had 2-3 hours of awesome golf ahead of you. Animal to blues were TOUGH!!! By the time you get to 18 you are mentally and physically drained, making the drive from 18's tee a nailbiter. Many, many awesome holes. If you are in the NYC/NJ area you have to play it.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/2/2010   7/8/2010
Review By: The Ombudsman
Played: 60  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 39.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/12/2010
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great layout and excellent variety of terrain.
4 different layouts makes for many nice rounds.
Bring every shot in your bag.
Never crowded.
Cons: Although I love the idea of 2 baskets and 2 tees on each hole, if you are playing a longer layout such as blue to blue, be prepared to have people play through you.
There are some newbies out there that need to be educated on course ettiquette. Plenty of trash to fill up your bag with here.
Other Thoughts: Doubles happens on Tuesdays in the summer months.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 fun

2-4    4/29/2010   4/29/2010
Review By: mozz46
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 11.6 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Played on silver/silver. Nice with 2 pads and 2 pins. great layout and 2nd course right behind hole 15.Shows where blue/silver pads are at.Great use of the land.
Cons: Finding your way from pin to next hole.Short pads on a couple of holes. Fell off and about fell. So had to change my x-step.
Other Thoughts: Would of had a hard time to find my way from hole to hole.But ended up playing doubles with some locals.Was just a bit windy. Cant wait to go back when its calm out and play different config.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 They call me Tatter Salad

2-4    4/12/2010   4/16/2010
Review By: StringPeachIncident
Played: 23  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 9.3 Years
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: *Multitude of different shots and distances to choose from
*Very well maintained and groomed
*Clear signs and nice concrete tee boxes
*Good use of land and lumps
*Requires distance and finesse
Cons: *Some basket overlap eachother when going for the far pins
*Fileds can be crowded, aswell as the course itself
Other Thoughts: It starts out kind of slow with the first hole, but then makes up for it right away with some sick shots down through pine trees and then back up to a nice little perched pin on a hill. works its way through more woods and back out arond fields giving a nice mixture of shots and challenges. all in all a very good course and much respect to the guys who maintain this course because it looks great.

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 A great venue... but...

5+    4/1/2010   4/3/2010
Review By: Taino
Played: 17  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 4/19/2011
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Excellent facilities: groomed fairways, baskets in great shape, tees sturdy, helpful signs at all tees with distance to baskets, four (!!!!!!) different possible layouts, all concrete tee pads. Very challenging, requiring every shot in your arsenal. Entrance is free!
Cons: Tee pads were too short. No signage at all from hole to hole. No maps or scorecards. Fairways can be considered crowded together, particularly the ones in the open. Fairways can be busy with families.
Other Thoughts: The venue is well-tended; fairways are clear, grounds are mowed, and the course(s) layout makes fantastic use of existing terrain including a stream that cuts through hole 11. I've only played a few parks that have either alternate tees or alternate baskets; Warwick has both, undoubtedly leading to some truly epic outings.

Unfortunately, there are a couple things about it that might seem like I'm nitpicking, but they really did factor in my enjoyment.

First and foremost: the tee pads are at least a step too short for me, and surprisingly enough the short sizing appears to be random. Some of the tees are longer, some are shorter, and there appears to be no rhyme or reason as to why. Still, I regularly found myself stumbling off the front of the tee on my first round (silver/silver), and was forced to start my X-step approach on the grass behind the raised concrete for the rest of my time there (blue/silver). Now, I don't have an exceptionally long X-step - three steps total - but I was forced to drastically change my tee shots to compensate for the short tees. Perhaps that will make me a better golfer, but it was annoying as hell at an otherwise excellent venue.

Updated to say: I went to two other courses in the Westchester area since playing at Warwick, and the tees at Warwick are definitely shorter than usual; I wasn't just imagining it. *sigh* It's a shame, really... I mean, the 18th hole has a 900+ foot option. With a short tee, it's a pain to drive effectively.

Updated again to say that I don't particularly want to play here again. The short tees have managed to injure me, and I've had it with this place.

I managed to find my way with a printed map from this site, but without that map I would have been hopelessly lost. There are absolutely no signs pointing to the next tee. On the back nine it's not so difficult to figure, but the front nine is tricky. Throw in the multiple baskets and multiple tees, and it got very confusing.

The fairways on the back nine all go back and forth, and are sandwiched in practically on top of each other. While you likely aren't in any danger, I had two close calls from someone driving off a tee nearby (front nine) and having their disc take a wild bounce, and nearly hit someone else whom I couldn't even see (hole 10).

Lastly, a couple of the holes are located right near 1) a soccer pitch, and 2) a kid's playground. On my second round, I couldn't use the blue tee on 17 due to a soccer practice and family camped out on it, and the blue tee on 16 is entirely too close to the playground for my comfort.

Thanks for the negative review. Makes my day when I'm honest, and someone shits on that honesty.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful and challenging

5+    9/1/2010   3/19/2010
Review By: Labelkills
Played: 26  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 8.5 Years
This review was updated on 9/9/2010
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is wonderful. It really earns its rating.

Great use of elevation.
Mix of open and heavily wooded holes.
Very well maintained.
Concrete tees.
Benches on every hole.
Maps on every hole.
2 tees and 2 baskets for every hole.
Signs and good natural flow to find next tee.
restrooms and water.
Lots of holes have a feeling of privacy
Cons: It can get busy in the summer.
especially after 5.
I wish there was water in play.
13 has a creek to the left of the fairway. but thats it for water hazards.
There is only one place in the area to get discs. It has a very small selection. (the toy store on main st in the village of warwick)
they recently got rid of two of the coolest holes (3 and 4) and put in two mediocre holes.
Other Thoughts: I will never love another course like i love you Warwick. even though i had to move away i promise i will visit on weekends and holidays. i miss you

love - Scott

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 AMAZING

2-4    9/12/2009   1/26/2010
Review By: goalkeeper19
Played: 124  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 16.7 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Dual Concrete Tees
-2 Colored Baskets per hole (silver and blue)
-EXCELLENT variety in challenge. Silver-silver is a nice fun course that doesn't take very long to play, and is plenty easy to get birdies. Blue-blue, on the other hand, is a BEAST, and extremely challenging for advanced/pro players. The difference between the blue and silver baskets in most cases is not just about adding extra length, but adding a LOT more challenge (2,3,8,9,15,17,18).
-Elevation everywhere, almost every hole utilizes a good amount of elevation.
-Memorable holes (2,5,8,10,14, 15, 18)
-CRAZY holes (2,3,8,14,15,18 on Blue-blue)
-excellent pin placements, with good risk-reward near several baskets
-thoughtful design definitely shows, the course flows pretty well once you've played it once.
-Beautiful course, very well maintained, on a very scenic property.
Cons: -Slightly confusing the first time through, especially between 6-7, and finding some of the longer tee pads (14 is across the road). an additional course on the property can mislead the player into playing different holes.
Other Thoughts: I would literally play this course 3 times a day if I lived closer. I would definitely stop to play here every single time I'm in the Tri-State area. Well worth the trip, and the time. Play all 4 varieties, it's an amazing experience to see 18 holes from so many different angles.

Courses like this make me love the game.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.