Warwick, NY
Brakewell Steel / Warwick Park Share
Uploaded By: toothyfish Hole #12 (Taken 6/2010)
3 / 285ft.   3 / 315ft.   3 / 294ft.   3 / 324ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Short Tee



Reviews: 48
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Close to perfect

1    8/13/2011   8/13/2011
Review By: prerube
Played: 200  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 6.9 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is the closest to perfection that I have seen. It caters to so many skill levels, it is aesthetically stimulating featuring rocky outcroppings, elevation changes, and nice use of the creek, and it is low frustration with easy navigation and smooth flow.

Dual Pin Positions with concrete pads and dual color coded baskets give each hole 4 different options. Phenomenal course design, on most of the holes the four options are quite different, using different fairways and requiring several different shots. This is not your typical add 30 feet and call it a new tee. Each tee has its own challenges Silver to silver can still provide a challenge for experienced played. You can get a drop in deuce one time, then the next time you play it card a 6 on the same 200 foot hole or play blue to blue and shoot better than silver to silver for the same hole.

For example: Hole 8:
Silver to silver is a slight left 266 ft shot.
Silver to blue is a 362 dog leg right
Blue to silver is a 362 foot straight shot
Blue to blue is a 434 hard right hook

Another example of the variety you can expect to see is hole 18. From silver to silver it is 297 feet, but blue to blue is 900 feet. This course consistently has variety in pin positions and distances with only minimal affect on the flow of the course.

Excellent tee signs on each tee.

Playground on site for the little ones

Clean bathrooms

So many attractive holes, many times I wanted to take a second throw or even empty my bag on a hole, even when I knew I had more rounds to play.

A second 18 hole course tucked in the woods off of hole 15 is a clear plus for this already amazing course.
Cons: There are very few issues I could find and all were relatively trivial.
Hole 7 is a blind shot with the basket close to the parking lot. Also it is close to another blue basket both are unlabeled, so it is hard to tell which one is the correct basket. After hole 7 there is a little backtracking to get to 8.

Hole 11 silver's tee pad is backwards and no new sign is up.

Hole 16 took a few minutes to find, but hardly long enough to be a true con.

Other Thoughts: I agree with bcr123psu and would love to give this course a 4.75. It is that close to being exactly what I am looking for in my pursuit of a perfect 5 star course.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Championship level course

1    7/11/2011   7/15/2011
Review By: Jeffrey2636
Played: 39  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 3.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: With out a doubt, this is a championship level course. Amazing park and now becoming a Mecca of DG in the area. Great use of the land and 4 options to play. This is a place to grow with over the years. By far, the best of the best I have played so far.
Cons: Signage between few holes could be improved. We wandered around between holes 4-5 for a while before figuring out where the next tee was. Luckily the locals are very friendly.
Other Thoughts: There are so many great reviews of this course to read through but I wanted to reiterate how freakin good this course is. Go out of your way to come here and play this course. (There's even a bonus 18 holes on premises now with Wolfe Woods) Amazing!!!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Worth The Trip.

1    7/3/2011   7/4/2011
Review By: disc-o maniac
Played: 11  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.8 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is easily the best course out there for New York. Being a resident of the New York state, I've covered most if not all of the courses in New York and after playing this course yesterday, im still in awe of how amazing this course was. Its without a doubt a pro course but with different tees and baskets to mix and match, this course ranges from a 6000ft adventure to a 4000ft walk in the park. The basket placement might be one of the most creative placements ive seen with some on isolated hills, and others around tree walls. Heres a list of some organized pros i have for this course.
Pros-----

~ 1st tee is extremely easy to find, and right near parking so its not a hassle to get to

~ Warwick Wall, near 1st tee has tons of flyers showing events and important dates for disc golf in the area

~ A breathtaking course, whether you decide to play silver tees, to silver baskets, or blue tees to blue baskets, or even if you mix and match, you will not be dissapointed. I went on a rainy day in the afternoon and i figured i wouldnt get all of the experience. I was completely wrong. even in the rain, the course is a blast to play. It easily topped courses that i have played in perfect weather.

~ Tees are marked and some even have contact numbers for help and questions

~ The Locals there are great guides and are always willing to give you any tips and items. My brother lost his Pro Destroyer on #4 and one of the guys we let play ahead while we looked for it, gave him a star Destoyer and said, if you ever lose anything give me a call.

~ Along with the great course it has everything else, a baseball field, a playground, picnic area, and soccer fields, it turns a trip to a great course into a trip to a great park. Me and my family were there for about 4 hours after we finished the course just playing around in all of the things Warwick town park has to offer.

~ Garbage cans and Benches on every tee. The course takes a lot out of you if you play Blue to Blue so it was great having a place to rest before playing the next basket.

~Well groomed all of the field was playable, and it was well maintained so there was no tall grass or fallen trees in the In Bounds area
Cons: Very few but like all courses theres always a couple of cons.

~"Next Tee" signs were lacking and sometimes it turned into a guessing games as to where the next tee was. If you follow a local however, you wont have much of a problem navigating.

~ With so much area on some baskets, its easy to see it getting crowded. i went on a rainy day so i didnt have that problem, but be advised some baskets are near picnic areas and parking lots.
Other Thoughts: ~ Scorecards are lacking at the Course so make sure you print it out off of the Link/Files page

~BRING BUG SPRAY! i promise you, you will get eaten alive without bug spray, mosquitos here are relentless but any type of spray will do the trick.

~Make sure you check out wolfe woods after basket 15, its an amzing water based course that can complete with any course in the Northeast.

~ If you live in the Northeast area and still haven't tried this course out, please do so, i've played for 3 years and after playing this course for my first time yesterday, im still kicking myself that i waited so long for this unbelievable course



5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A Must Play

1    5/3/2011   5/20/2011
Review By: bcr123psu
Played: 73  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 4.7 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Warwick Town Park is off the beaten path, but easy to find, giving this pro-caliber course a pleasant, secluded feel.

The course design is amazing, consisting of two permanent concrete tees and two permanent baskets on nearly every hole, essentially creating four different ways to play the same course. While some of the basket/tee combinations were just longer variations of each other, many were quite different and presented the player with a completely different fairway requiring a totally different throwing line. Essentially, Warwick lets you play four different courses at once. The diverse layout includes wide-open (e.g. long-bomb) holes, wooded tunnels, and everything in between. There was a nice mix of straight, left-turning, and right-turning fairways. This course made fantastic use of the rolling country side and included many trees in its design, as well as other features such as rock walls and cleaver use of water. Elevation was in play in some way on nearly every hole. This ranged from subtle/gradual uphill/downhill variations to extreme upshots and pronounced downhill throws. No matter which tees/baskets you play, every shot in your bag will be necessary.

In terms of other ammenities, the course was impecably maintained, from the grass, to the paths, to the trees. While there was some underbrush on some of the holes, it wasn't so bad that most stray throws couldn't be found. The tee signs were, for the most part, in great shape, very well detailed, and extremely helpful. The concrete tees were in fantastic condition. The baskets at Warwick Town Park were colored to match the accompanying tee and were in great shape. Additionally, the baskets were of a different color than those at Wolfe Woods, so confusion as to which basket goes with which course is minimized. Garbage cans and benches were frequent without a spec of litter to be found on the entire course.

Having another course on the property is also a big plus. Especially when the proximity to Wolfe Woods (right off the 15th hole) allows you to play another 18-hole round during your round at Warwick Town Park or as another option before/after the Town Park. I'd recommend playing Wolfe Woods at least once to try it, but Warwick Town Park is the real gem at this location.
Cons: The cons at this course are very few. Although it's easy to find, the Warwick courses aren't exactly close to any major thoroughfares.

There are minimal safety concerns, although a few of the long baskets play close to parking lots and/or roads. Additionally, there could be occasional navigation issues finding the next tee on a few holes, but not a real big detractor and probably wouldn't happen again in subsequent rounds.
Other Thoughts: If I could rate things on a 0.25 disc scale, I wouldn't hesitate to rate this a 4.75 (not quite a 5). This course was an amazing place to play. The people that play this course frequently are some of the luckiest golfers in the game. I'm planning on making a trip to Warwick, NY at least once a year to play this championship quality course. For anyone considering Warwick Town Park or for those people that are looking for a DG destination, I would highly recommend this course. You won't be disappointed.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 The Ultimate Disc Golf Center!

5+    11/20/2010   11/28/2010
Review By: toothyfish
Played: 25  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4.8 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Warwick offers the ultimate in layout and flexibility with two tees and two baskets on every hole! All the time! Four ways to play each hole. A color designation is used: the silver tees and silver baskets represent the short layout, and the blue tees and blue baskets represent the longest layout. Silver tees to blue baskets and blue tees to silver baskets represent intermediate length layouts. What is creative here is that the alternate layouts aren't just a longer version of the same hole, but rather ofter force different lines.
* Cement short and long tees
* Standard and long basket locations - often the long basket locations increase the putting challenge - especially hole 2, 3, and 5.
* great usage of ledges, peaks, rock walls, woods
* nice balance and flow of play - the layout of the holes change to avoid repetition of a particular shot
* somewhat hilly, yet easy walking
* well-maintained park and nicely manicured and mulched trails - CLEAN!
* trash cans and benches at most tees
* tees are well marked with both basket locations marked on signs at both tees
* very clean restrooms are near the 17th tee and just a short walk from the 1st tee.
Cons: While there are minimal cons, there are some.
* minimal next tee signs
* some signs at tees are worn
* some extra walking between holes, especially the longest layout (Blue-Blue)
* The 15th long tee throws through about 100 ft of woods into the open - golfers can't see others and others can't see golfers teeing off - USE CAUTION!
Other Thoughts: Some of the back tracking and extra walking is understandable, as the attempt to superimpose multiple layouts will create this challenge.

What is this course's greateast attribute is the ability to play 4 different courses without ever leaving the park. The front nine tend to be more wooded and the back nine tend to be more open, yet you will not find repetition in the course. The "open" holes make good use of tree groups and lines to create challenges. Even the 900+ ft Blue-Blue 18th hole is not merely open bombs but require good drive placements to setup next shots.

This course offeres something for every level of player, from beginner to top pro. It is very family friendly and a great place to bring young golfers and less experienced friends and significant others.

The park tends to draw alot of larger groups of varied experience on nice weekends, which can slow things down, so plan accordingly. If you are playing solo or with experienced players, and playing through is becomeing difficult, due to traffic, one remedy is to play a longer layout so you are not waiting so much. Also, while most of the course plays around the busier parts of the park, there can be the occasional walker in the more remote parts so take notice before bombing one out there.

And if the four layouts aren't enough for you, play a round at the Wolfe Woods course, a shorter, technical 18 hole course that starts off by the 15th basket.

I am very fortunate to live about 30 mins from Warwick so I play here often. If you have any questions regarding this course, please feel free to PM me and I'll help you the best I can.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 The Best I've Played

1    11/7/2010   11/7/2010
Review By: RamsFan1
Played: 60  Reviewed: 60  Exp: 0.6 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Located in a beautiful town park which is essentially disc golf exclusive, although there are picnic areas and a child's playground on the property. Bathroom facilities are located by hole 17. Dual tee pads at each hole with four possible layouts to play; silver basket to silver basket (easiest), blue to blue (toughest), silver to blue and blue to silver- each with its own par and set of challenges. Great balance of both wooded, technical holes and open holes across rolling hills. Excellent use of elevation, OB, water, rock walls, trees and other barriers. Cement tee pads in good shape and of adequate length. Color signs exist at each tee pad with par, distance and preferred flight path for each of the four layouts. There are benches and trash cans at EVERY HOLE. Navigation is easy and course flow is excellent. Very well maintained and manicured- a tribute to both the local club and the parks commission. Many memorable holes, especially in the blue layout including #3 blue ( basket perched above a 12 foot rock wall), #5 (elevated basket atop a hill with a small landing area and steep slope) #8 (horseshoe hole in blue, steep drop left in silver) #10 (long winding hyzer across an open field in both layouts) #11 (blue basket across a stream) and bombs on holes 14, 15, 17 and 18. A tremendous course in every way with varied distances and shot requirements. and though very demanding will appeal to all skill levels.
Cons: Hard to do anything but nitpick. Blue basket #4 is about 30 feet from the street and can be overshot with an errant throw. One must be heads up walking off tee 13 for shots coming down the hill from hole 10. Blue tee on 14 must throw over the main park accessway- use common sense. A few of the sign holders are rusty and worn out. Maybe some "next tee" arrows would assist in course navigation. Absolutely none of these minor factors detracts from the course or one's playing experience here.
Other Thoughts: With picturesque views, rolling hills and rock walls that neatly line portions of the park, this is small town America and your grandfather's back yard all wrapped up into one. The Warwick Animal Course is just an amazing place to play disc golf and most reviews won't do it justice; you simply must come see this place for yourself. The wooded portion of the course is fair yet requires accuracy and thought. And don't think for a second that the open part of Warwick is a cake walk- there are chutes, wind, roped out-of-bounds areas and enough trees scattered around to make every hole a challenge . One of the premier courses on the east coast and the best place I've had the pleasure to play.

And if for some reason this course doesn't meet your approval, Wolfe Woods is right around the corner!

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

  Wow Simply Amazing Course

5+    10/10/2010   10/11/2010
Review By: KanyeKnievel
Played: 13  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.7 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 1. Silver Tee and Blue Tees
2. Silver Hole and Blue Hole
3. Wide Variety Of Holes, some open woods, some dense woods, and then wide open ones going up hill and down hill
4.Great scenery
5.Sometimes a Hotdog and Drink Guy :)
6.Friendly People
7.Two Courses at certain time of the year
8. I could go on...
Cons: 1. Can be very crowded at sometimes
2. Never see any scorecards
Other Thoughts: This is just an amazing course. I would give it a 5 out of 5 but I've only played 10 courses so I can't say its the best. But this is definitely the best course I've ever played so far. Im so happy its my home course :D. This course is so great, has just a little bit of everything you want in a disc golf course. Woods, Heavy Woods, Open Fields, Hill Throws, Up Hill Throws, River Holes, Everything! Also has 4 different ways to play so it can never get old.

Simply amazing !

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 What else can be said?

5+    8/29/2010   8/29/2010
Review By: gregorvn
Played: 38  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.1 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Excellent disc golf park:
Two tees/baskets per hole
All cement teepads
Excellent design
Well-maintained
Tee signs for each teepad
The club recently added some ob rope on 1, 8 & 9 to make it just a little more difficult (as if I needed that)
Cons: The signs are showing a bit of age.
Other Thoughts: If you haven't played this, you really should.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 The best in the East?

5+    8/1/2006   7/11/2010
Review By: Everett Evans
Played: 60  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 20.9 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Incredible diversity, 2 tees, 2 pins per hole, short/long/punishingly long, whatever your heart desires. Beautiful and well thought out layout.
Cons: Bathrooms are sometimes iffy, but at least the course has them.
Other Thoughts: Played this course a lot from creation until moving out of the area, nothing better than pulling into the parking lot knowing that you had 2-3 hours of awesome golf ahead of you. Animal to blues were TOUGH!!! By the time you get to 18 you are mentally and physically drained, making the drive from 18's tee a nailbiter. Many, many awesome holes. If you are in the NYC/NJ area you have to play it.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/2/2010   7/8/2010
Review By: The Ombudsman
Played: 60  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 38.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/12/2010
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great layout and excellent variety of terrain.
4 different layouts makes for many nice rounds.
Bring every shot in your bag.
Never crowded.
Cons: Although I love the idea of 2 baskets and 2 tees on each hole, if you are playing a longer layout such as blue to blue, be prepared to have people play through you.
There are some newbies out there that need to be educated on course ettiquette. Plenty of trash to fill up your bag with here.
Other Thoughts: Doubles happens on Tuesdays in the summer months.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.