Warwick, NY 
Brakewell Steel / Warwick Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #4
3 / 193ft.   3 / 248ft.   3 / 234ft.   3 / 289ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Long Tee



Reviews: 55
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Best in the East

5+    3/20/2013   3/20/2013
Review By: BoomerangRich
Played: 19  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.9 Years
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: 4 different layouts
wide range of distances
easy parking
bathrooms
concrete pads
elevation changes
next to two other high caliber courses
Cons: still trying to find one, I wish it were closer to my house?
Other Thoughts: a must play in the northeast! a quick round for short to short and long to long can make you question your endurance.

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 One of the best

5+    9/6/2012   3/6/2013
Review By: mmblink86
Played: 17  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.9 Years
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Not much more can be said regarding how great this course is. All 4 layouts feel like individual courses in their own right. Plenty of parking, restrooms, great tee signs
Cons: Not having the Oasis finished yet!
Other Thoughts: I would play here everyday even though I live an hour away

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

There's no place like home

5+    1/1/2013   1/1/2013
Review By: adevuyst
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4
This review was updated on 7/19/2014
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Well groomed, I can't say this enough. The course is always freshly mowed and clear of debris. The layout is fantastic with two tees and two baskets on EVERY hole. There are public restrooms here and two covered pavilions with picnic tables. Most holes have benches, all holes have decent signage although beginning to show their age.
Cons: There is poison ivy all over the place, especially the tree vine variety so look out. I always pack a zip lock bag for discs that have gone the way of the ivy.
Other Thoughts: This is a fantastic course that is certainly worth the drive to get to if you're not a local. The blue-silver layout is great since the silver-silver is a bit short. Make sure you check out the newer and much more technical Wolfe woods course near the fairway for hole 16 on this course. And also check out the Oasis farm across the street which boasts a pro shop (if you're lucky enough to track someone down who lives there) and a full course of their own, which plays similarly to a mini golf course.

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 I Wish I was Local

1    10/12/2012   12/1/2012
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 317  Reviewed: 131  Exp: 13.7 Years
19 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Championship Level. Warwick, from the longs, is a true championship level course. With several Par 4's and 5's, and extremely challenging Par 3's Warwick / Brakewell Steel is a serious course to contend with and certainly not for the faint of heart.
- HUGE HOLES. Some of the Holes from the Longs are HUGE. Hole 18 for example starts in the farthest corner of the park and finishes near the parking lot some 900+' later. Other holes require massive drives to optimal positions in order to throw a second equally massive approach shot. I LOVE this kind of golf.
- Great Use of Natural Features. From the elevation, to the rock outcropping pin positions, to the use of the winding creek and the open and wooded sections of the park, Warwick utilized the natural features of the park excellently. There were even some non-natural features that enhanced the course such as road and roped OB's.
- 1 Park / 2 Courses / 4 Options. The Park has two 18-Hole disc golf courses (Warwick / Brakewell Steel and Wolf Woods), with each course having dual layouts (long and short) which created 4 options for play: Brakewell short, Brakewell long, Wolf Woods short, Wolf Woods long. I was able to play the Brakewell long and Wolf Woods short during my visit.
- Open / Wooded. Warwick offered a steady mix of open and wooded holes… several holes were wide open, while several other holes were decently wooded. And, it did so in rotation, offering a few open holes, and then a few wooded holes, and then some more open holes, and then some mixed open/wooded holes, etc…
Cons:
- LONG Walks. If you're playing Warwick / Brakewell Steel from the longs, it's not just the holes that are long, it's the walks that are LONG as well. The "triangulation" of the previous pin to the next tee (whether it be the short or long) favors the short tees... adding 50-100 yards (or more) to the walk to get to some of the Long pads. Long walks happen after Holes 4, 7, 8, 10, 14, 15 and 16… that's a lot of long walks.
- Navigation Confusion at Hole 5. I want to say that after finishing Hole 4, there was a sign saying "this way to Hole 7"… since I wanted to play Hole 5, I did not go that way. I instead followed another footpath up the hill and found Hole 6. After some investigation I found the pin and tee-pad for 5 and saw my error… I should have followed the sign's directions. To play Hole 5 (which was a good hole), I would have had to walk from 4's pin, past 5's pin, down the entire side of the fairway for Hole 5 to find the tee, only to turn around and play the hole back in the direction I had just come from… Not the best design, even though the hole was awesome.
Other Thoughts:
- Overall. Warwick / Brakewell Steel from the longs was an amazing championship level course. I am surprised that I had not heard of the course (before my road trip), or that the course didn't have more hype/attention nationally… it's certainly worthy. The layout has some long walk issues, but the holes generally make up for that, rewarding you for having taken the extra effort to walk the extra distance. A few of the Par 5 holes were insanely great, including Hole 14 which had a huge, open air downhill drive to a landing zone in order to throw an approach shot through a wooded section and to a creek guarded island green - amazing Hole! Several of the other holes were amazing as well. Plus, when you are finished, (if you still have any arm left), you can warm down on the smaller, but still challenging, Wolf Woods course in the lower portion of the park.
My Score: -2 (65)

19 of 19 people found this review helpful.

  My Favorite Place on Earth

5+    11/4/2012   11/8/2012
Review By: healage
Played: 87  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Immaculately groomed (The Parks department takes great pride in the course and have been absolutely amazing in keeping the park maintained)
4 Possible Layouts with challenges for every skill level
Almost every shot imaginable is needed to score well on the Blue-Blue layout
Very difficult (and fair) Par 4's and an amazing Par 5
Sandwiched between 2 other courses literally less than 100 feet away in 2 directions.
Too many to keep listing
Cons: Front 9/Back 9 break up is a bit awkward due to Park renovations years ago
A few blind shots where an errant shot can (and has) hit someone if one is not paying attention
Longer layouts can be very difficult to play during summer peak hours when the course is crawling with newbies

Other Thoughts: I would objectively rate this course a 4.75 if the option was available, but it is closer to a level 5 course than a 4.5. Hence the 5 rating.


3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Great course, multiple layouts! Something for everyone.

5+    8/4/2012   8/5/2012
Review By: BigMerch81
Played: 34  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 13.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Warwick is an amazing course, it is well maintained and groomed. The signage is excellent. The basket placements are tough, some of the holes are very risk/reward. The fact that each of the four total ways to play each hole is completely different from the other is incredible. Blue, blue is a tough layout and can give anyone a rough round. Silver to silver is fun, somewhat challenging but accessible to new players. There are lots of great signature holes like hole 14 blue to blue. The variety of wooded to open bomber shots, elevation, beauty, different layouts make this the second best course I have played next to Blue Ribbon. The blue to blue layout is tough enough for high end tournament play. This course will test all of your shots. Many holes require great placement while others reward long drives. The locals are friendly and awesome.
Cons: Hole 7s blue basket placement. It is located 50 feet from the warm up basket and people typically throw to 7 to warm up or play catch around the area. You can't tell if it is clear before throwing. Most people play the silver baskets and do not realize that people play to blue. I usually have to shout down to clear people out upon approaching. I also had a drive picked up the other night, these kids didn't realize I was driving the hole. I thought my drive was around 20 feet from the blue basket, turns out it was. I ran into a group of kids after 30 minutes of searching and they had my disc but were nice enough to give it back. Also, don't go long down the hill and into the crowded parking lot on 7, though I have seen a disc hit a car and end up back in bounds. 7 is a great hole, just exercise caution.
Other Thoughts: If you are anywhere near this place make sure to check it out. It is worth a few hours drive and is a destination course for many people all over the east coast. I love having Warwick as my new home course, it is a great place to work on your skills. My game has blossomed because of the demanding lay outs that I have the fortune to play on all the time.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 No Objection

1    3/17/2012   3/18/2012
Review By: laderjr
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 3.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There is very little for me to add to what is already here for reviews. This course is one of the tops that I have played since starting this game. The tees are all nice and clean and well marked. The baskets are also accurately marked on the maps at every tee. Great combination of long and skill shots and very happy with the overall shape of the course. There are a lot of elevation changes and terrain issues that will do nothing but improve your technical game.
Cons: I would not, so much, say these are cons as challenges. First, this course has a LOT of up hill walking. Up hill walking implies up hill throws and this is true, allowing one to develop their "uphill" game.
There is not a lot of shade on this course at the tees, and so, playing in the sun of the summer could heat you up. Bring fluids and sun block if you're planning an extended game.
Other Thoughts: Beginner or pro, this course has something for everyone. The locals were helpful when encountered and the course is set in some of the most beautiful countryside out there. I can't wait to go back in the summer when the trees are full, for a completely DIFFERENT game.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Close to perfect

1    8/13/2011   8/13/2011
Review By: prerube
Played: 213  Reviewed: 195  Exp: 7.9 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is the closest to perfection that I have seen. It caters to so many skill levels, it is aesthetically stimulating featuring rocky outcroppings, elevation changes, and nice use of the creek, and it is low frustration with easy navigation and smooth flow.

Dual Pin Positions with concrete pads and dual color coded baskets give each hole 4 different options. Phenomenal course design, on most of the holes the four options are quite different, using different fairways and requiring several different shots. This is not your typical add 30 feet and call it a new tee. Each tee has its own challenges Silver to silver can still provide a challenge for experienced played. You can get a drop in deuce one time, then the next time you play it card a 6 on the same 200 foot hole or play blue to blue and shoot better than silver to silver for the same hole.

For example: Hole 8:
Silver to silver is a slight left 266 ft shot.
Silver to blue is a 362 dog leg right
Blue to silver is a 362 foot straight shot
Blue to blue is a 434 hard right hook

Another example of the variety you can expect to see is hole 18. From silver to silver it is 297 feet, but blue to blue is 900 feet. This course consistently has variety in pin positions and distances with only minimal affect on the flow of the course.

Excellent tee signs on each tee.

Playground on site for the little ones

Clean bathrooms

So many attractive holes, many times I wanted to take a second throw or even empty my bag on a hole, even when I knew I had more rounds to play.

A second 18 hole course tucked in the woods off of hole 15 is a clear plus for this already amazing course.
Cons: There are very few issues I could find and all were relatively trivial.
Hole 7 is a blind shot with the basket close to the parking lot. Also it is close to another blue basket both are unlabeled, so it is hard to tell which one is the correct basket. After hole 7 there is a little backtracking to get to 8.

Hole 11 silver's tee pad is backwards and no new sign is up.

Hole 16 took a few minutes to find, but hardly long enough to be a true con.

Other Thoughts: I agree with bcr123psu and would love to give this course a 4.75. It is that close to being exactly what I am looking for in my pursuit of a perfect 5 star course.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Championship level course

1    7/11/2011   7/15/2011
Review By: Jeffrey2636
Played: 43  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 4.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: With out a doubt, this is a championship level course. Amazing park and now becoming a Mecca of DG in the area. Great use of the land and 4 options to play. This is a place to grow with over the years. By far, the best of the best I have played so far.
Cons: Signage between few holes could be improved. We wandered around between holes 4-5 for a while before figuring out where the next tee was. Luckily the locals are very friendly.
Other Thoughts: There are so many great reviews of this course to read through but I wanted to reiterate how freakin good this course is. Go out of your way to come here and play this course. (There's even a bonus 18 holes on premises now with Wolfe Woods) Amazing!!!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Worth The Trip.

1    7/3/2011   7/4/2011
Review By: disc-o maniac
Played: 13  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.8 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is easily the best course out there for New York. Being a resident of the New York state, I've covered most if not all of the courses in New York and after playing this course yesterday, im still in awe of how amazing this course was. Its without a doubt a pro course but with different tees and baskets to mix and match, this course ranges from a 6000ft adventure to a 4000ft walk in the park. The basket placement might be one of the most creative placements ive seen with some on isolated hills, and others around tree walls. Heres a list of some organized pros i have for this course.
Pros-----

~ 1st tee is extremely easy to find, and right near parking so its not a hassle to get to

~ Warwick Wall, near 1st tee has tons of flyers showing events and important dates for disc golf in the area

~ A breathtaking course, whether you decide to play silver tees, to silver baskets, or blue tees to blue baskets, or even if you mix and match, you will not be dissapointed. I went on a rainy day in the afternoon and i figured i wouldnt get all of the experience. I was completely wrong. even in the rain, the course is a blast to play. It easily topped courses that i have played in perfect weather.

~ Tees are marked and some even have contact numbers for help and questions

~ The Locals there are great guides and are always willing to give you any tips and items. My brother lost his Pro Destroyer on #4 and one of the guys we let play ahead while we looked for it, gave him a star Destoyer and said, if you ever lose anything give me a call.

~ Along with the great course it has everything else, a baseball field, a playground, picnic area, and soccer fields, it turns a trip to a great course into a trip to a great park. Me and my family were there for about 4 hours after we finished the course just playing around in all of the things Warwick town park has to offer.

~ Garbage cans and Benches on every tee. The course takes a lot out of you if you play Blue to Blue so it was great having a place to rest before playing the next basket.

~Well groomed all of the field was playable, and it was well maintained so there was no tall grass or fallen trees in the In Bounds area
Cons: Very few but like all courses theres always a couple of cons.

~"Next Tee" signs were lacking and sometimes it turned into a guessing games as to where the next tee was. If you follow a local however, you wont have much of a problem navigating.

~ With so much area on some baskets, its easy to see it getting crowded. i went on a rainy day so i didnt have that problem, but be advised some baskets are near picnic areas and parking lots.
Other Thoughts: ~ Scorecards are lacking at the Course so make sure you print it out off of the Link/Files page

~BRING BUG SPRAY! i promise you, you will get eaten alive without bug spray, mosquitos here are relentless but any type of spray will do the trick.

~Make sure you check out wolfe woods after basket 15, its an amzing water based course that can complete with any course in the Northeast.

~ If you live in the Northeast area and still haven't tried this course out, please do so, i've played for 3 years and after playing this course for my first time yesterday, im still kicking myself that i waited so long for this unbelievable course



6 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.