Warwick, NY
Brakewell Steel / Warwick Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #7
3 / 325ft.   3 / 375ft.   3 / 413ft.   3 / 455ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Long Tee



Reviews: 48
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Incredible variety, for beginners and experts

1    9/22/2008   9/23/2008
Review By: Godard
Played: 49  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 6.6 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I played Blue-Silver (Long tees short baskets) with a beginner buddy who played Silver-Silver and had a grand time. Blue baskets are in often stunning positions, can't wait to do Silver-Blue sometime. Elevations, water, trees, meadows, length...this one truly has it all, and in 4 different combinations. I love holes 3 and 5 especially, which use the elevation and pin placement to the extreme. Hole 14, a downhill meadow beauty, also has two terrific pin placements, utilizing a rock wall for the short basket and a gauntlet to an island basket for the long pin. And hole 18 has a thrilling elevated long tee... especially since my drive made it all the way to the short tee. A must-visit if you pass exit 16 on the Thruway.
Cons: Not a fan of new holes 11 and 12, which are too tight and need to be broken in a bit. Blue baskets for 11 and 12 not installed yet. Blue tee for 12 also not there yet, though I did see gravel on the ground. Everything is hard to find without a map, so bring one!
Other Thoughts: I love this because you could have a beginner, a rec player and a pro all playing together from different tees and positions and all would have an appropriate challenge. The course is quite scenic, well mowed and excellently maintained.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Warwick-Great Time!!

2-4    9/1/2008   9/5/2008
Review By: five2loves42
Played: 51  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.1 Years
2 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Great layout! Love the multi-tee/pins. We played two rounds Blue-Silver. Silver-Blue. Blue-Blue is just crazy hard.
Cons: Only a little backtracking. Be sure to get an updated map. Not the easiest to follow first time through.

2 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course!

5+    8/25/2008   8/25/2008
Review By: disc golfer
Played: 15  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 15.6 Years
This review was updated on 9/21/2011
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A disc golf dream land come true! This course is beautiful and has everything you want in a disc golf course. Challenging and fun with a nice quiet setting. Some cool rolling hills, trees, tree lines, stone walls, creek holes, uphill, downhill and beautiful manicured grass. Alot of design variations from hole to hole, each hole is unique and not one plays the same. Great having 2 permanent pin positions and 2 tees at every hole. Hole 17 has elevated tee, is wide open, and a great chance to grip and rip. Cement tee pads....Woo Hoo!
Cons: Not a big fan of hole 6 short tee because of the poke and hope through alot of skinny trees, but long tee plays much better. The course had gone through some changes over the past few years due to construction and some holes had to be redesigned, but only made the course better!
Other Thoughts: Warwick is a great course and always fun to play. You'll want to play this course over and over again and is worth the trip from anywhere. Don't forget that Warwick Town Park has a 2nd course to play called Wolfe Woods, so check it out! Bathrooms and water available in park and great food nearby.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 not as good as I hpped

7/28/2008   7/28/2008
Review By: chris deitzel
Played: 182  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 19.6 Years
4 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: Played this course on the way home from the Vibram Open. I was not as impressed as I had hoped to be. The grass was very tall, there were many long walks that backtracked through fairways. Lots of pins near other tees or pins. Very confusing to find your way around. And all around I wasn't that impressed with the actual course. I played the long layout. It had some neat holes, but none that really stood out as amazing holes to me. MAple Hill was about 20 times better than this course. I had hoped this would make my top 10 list with Moraine, Maple Hill and a bunch of other great courses, but it just didn't do it for me.
Cons: Lots of backtracking.
Other Thoughts: IT was ok. I would never want to play a tournament here as some tees/pins seemed like they could be very dangerous with golfers on other holes. You really just need a big arm on this course from the longs. NOt much accuracy required to score well.

4 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 

6/1/2008   6/15/2008
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 224  Reviewed: 176  Exp: 15.9 Years
4 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Extremely well maintained fairways. Great pads, layout. Some signature shots like a double-cliff hole and a basket on an island with a creek all around. Tough as they come from longs.
Cons: Extreme amounts of poison ivy off the fairway and sometimes on. Tee signs faded hard to read.
Other Thoughts: Round-up

4 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Rated high for a reason!

2-4    5/20/2008   5/20/2008
Review By: adlacro
Played: 62  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 7.9 Years
This review was updated on 6/16/2009
2 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: 18 Mach baskets, all in good shape with many older baskets serving as the longer blue pin positions. Many new tee signs with accurate map of holes. Longer tee pads are mostly marked with the steel animals. All 36 tees are concrete and provide enough room for full run-up. Course well maintained. Wooded holes are tight but mostly forgiving, open holes will give you trouble should you miss the wide fairway. A few different holes have allowed a creek nearby to come into play, adding a touch of water to the course ( new 11). No super elevation, but enough to certainly add the hilly feeling.
Cons: A tad bit more signage would have been helpful but other than that, none!
Other Thoughts: In an area with just 2 or 3 other courses an hour or less away, Warwick serves as not only the best course in NY State, but one of the best overall! If you're an avid DG player and live even 2 or 3 hours away, and have never played here, WHAT ARE YOU WAITING FOR! Make the trip to Warwick and play two, three, or even all 4 layouts!

2 of 12 people found this review helpful.

  Warwick Winery

5/18/2008   5/18/2008
Review By: RichieVegas
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Elevation, nature-hike, cool locals, 4-way permanent layout, not in New Jersey.
Cons: Mosquitos
Other Thoughts: There are several wineries in the area that make this a worthy day trip from the Tri-State Area for non-golfers as well. Warwick Winery nearby has wine tasting, a restaurant and seasonal events when you have thrown your limit...

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 GREAT course(s)

1    7/13/2008   4/14/2008
Review By: discNDav
Played: 289  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 27.9 Years
This review was updated on 7/15/2009
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 2 tees and 2 baskets on each hole, a varirty of shots required, great elavation changes on almost very hole, front more wooded, back more open, scenic.

A 2nd 18 hole course is available too but why bother with it when you have basically 4 other courses to choose from, the original 18 can play like 4 different courses depending which tee or basket you are playing.

Very clean park and on 7/13/09 they were mowing the fairways on a Monday morning.

There are some tight wooded spots but nothing unfair.

The tee signs show all the options for each hole, blue/silver to blue/silver.

Cons: Not very near an interstate and/or it might be hard to follow the 1st time around. Old hole 4 was removed for a soccer field, this was one of favorite holes at Warwick.

Other Thoughts: I have played over 220 courses and Warwick is in my top 3! Very worth the trip.



4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 One of the best!

2/19/2008   2/19/2008
Review By: bryon
Played: 63  Reviewed: 58
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course amazes me every year I go back and play it. This course is just so unbelievable. Warwick in my mind is the number ONE course that exists. VERY well placed baskets, holes with tree's, holes semi open, a little elevation. EVERYTHING!!! Very well kept and well groomed. Improves every year. 2 sets of tee's and two pin placements that exist at all times (Two baskets up at all times on every hole). (LONG to SHORT is my favorite so far) Birdies are earned and plenty of mistakes to be made. Must have distance AND accuracy. Not many courses emphasize both so well. I must explain further, with most courses that have 2 (or more) different tees per hole, usually the only difference between the teepads is that the hole is longer from the further back tees. NOT this course, the best thing about this course in my opinion is that not only are the holes longer, but honestly, its a totally different hole. None of the four different combinations you can possibly play on every hole are similar. Truly amazing!
Cons: From what I read, the parks departments did a few things in fall/Winter of 2007which require re-placing a hole or two in 2008. However, it may make the course better in the long run.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Warwick

8/11/2007   1/22/2008
Review By: ferretdance03
Played: 67  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 8.9 Years
This review was updated on 1/27/2008
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 4 layouts at one course, what more can you want? Great shot variety required from all tees/pins. It's amazing how different each layout is.
Big props for having such an awesome local club as well. The Skylands crew knows how to do it.
Other Thoughts: It's no wonder this course is on everyone's favorite list, and everyone else's wish list! You can spend a weekend here and not be bored.
There are a few areas where you may have some conflict with soccer players and/or pedestrians. There's also one hole where you're forced to throw over the main road in, but you can see most traffic, be cautious.
I think most golfers would love to have this course in their backyard!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.