Warwick, NY 
Brakewell Steel / Warwick Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #6
3 / 240ft.   3 / 364ft.   3 / 318ft.   4 / 437ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Long Tee



Reviews: 55
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 not as good as I hpped

7/28/2008   7/28/2008
Review By: chris deitzel
Played: 184  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 21.6 Years
4 Helpful / 16 Not
Pros: Played this course on the way home from the Vibram Open. I was not as impressed as I had hoped to be. The grass was very tall, there were many long walks that backtracked through fairways. Lots of pins near other tees or pins. Very confusing to find your way around. And all around I wasn't that impressed with the actual course. I played the long layout. It had some neat holes, but none that really stood out as amazing holes to me. MAple Hill was about 20 times better than this course. I had hoped this would make my top 10 list with Moraine, Maple Hill and a bunch of other great courses, but it just didn't do it for me.
Cons: Lots of backtracking.
Other Thoughts: IT was ok. I would never want to play a tournament here as some tees/pins seemed like they could be very dangerous with golfers on other holes. You really just need a big arm on this course from the longs. NOt much accuracy required to score well.

4 of 20 people found this review helpful.

 

6/1/2008   6/15/2008
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 226  Reviewed: 179  Exp: 16.8 Years
4 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Extremely well maintained fairways. Great pads, layout. Some signature shots like a double-cliff hole and a basket on an island with a creek all around. Tough as they come from longs.
Cons: Extreme amounts of poison ivy off the fairway and sometimes on. Tee signs faded hard to read.
Other Thoughts: Round-up

4 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Rated high for a reason!

2-4    5/20/2008   5/20/2008
Review By: adlacro
Played: 69  Reviewed: 69  Exp: 8.8 Years
This review was updated on 6/16/2009
2 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: 18 Mach baskets, all in good shape with many older baskets serving as the longer blue pin positions. Many new tee signs with accurate map of holes. Longer tee pads are mostly marked with the steel animals. All 36 tees are concrete and provide enough room for full run-up. Course well maintained. Wooded holes are tight but mostly forgiving, open holes will give you trouble should you miss the wide fairway. A few different holes have allowed a creek nearby to come into play, adding a touch of water to the course ( new 11). No super elevation, but enough to certainly add the hilly feeling.
Cons: A tad bit more signage would have been helpful but other than that, none!
Other Thoughts: In an area with just 2 or 3 other courses an hour or less away, Warwick serves as not only the best course in NY State, but one of the best overall! If you're an avid DG player and live even 2 or 3 hours away, and have never played here, WHAT ARE YOU WAITING FOR! Make the trip to Warwick and play two, three, or even all 4 layouts!

2 of 12 people found this review helpful.

  Warwick Winery

5/18/2008   5/18/2008
Review By: RichieVegas
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Elevation, nature-hike, cool locals, 4-way permanent layout, not in New Jersey.
Cons: Mosquitos
Other Thoughts: There are several wineries in the area that make this a worthy day trip from the Tri-State Area for non-golfers as well. Warwick Winery nearby has wine tasting, a restaurant and seasonal events when you have thrown your limit...

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 GREAT course(s)

1    7/13/2008   4/14/2008
Review By: discNDav
Played: 301  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 28.8 Years
This review was updated on 7/15/2009
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 2 tees and 2 baskets on each hole, a varirty of shots required, great elavation changes on almost very hole, front more wooded, back more open, scenic.

A 2nd 18 hole course is available too but why bother with it when you have basically 4 other courses to choose from, the original 18 can play like 4 different courses depending which tee or basket you are playing.

Very clean park and on 7/13/09 they were mowing the fairways on a Monday morning.

There are some tight wooded spots but nothing unfair.

The tee signs show all the options for each hole, blue/silver to blue/silver.

Cons: Not very near an interstate and/or it might be hard to follow the 1st time around. Old hole 4 was removed for a soccer field, this was one of favorite holes at Warwick.

Other Thoughts: I have played over 220 courses and Warwick is in my top 3! Very worth the trip.



5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 One of the best!

2/19/2008   2/19/2008
Review By: bryon
Played: 63  Reviewed: 58
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course amazes me every year I go back and play it. This course is just so unbelievable. Warwick in my mind is the number ONE course that exists. VERY well placed baskets, holes with tree's, holes semi open, a little elevation. EVERYTHING!!! Very well kept and well groomed. Improves every year. 2 sets of tee's and two pin placements that exist at all times (Two baskets up at all times on every hole). (LONG to SHORT is my favorite so far) Birdies are earned and plenty of mistakes to be made. Must have distance AND accuracy. Not many courses emphasize both so well. I must explain further, with most courses that have 2 (or more) different tees per hole, usually the only difference between the teepads is that the hole is longer from the further back tees. NOT this course, the best thing about this course in my opinion is that not only are the holes longer, but honestly, its a totally different hole. None of the four different combinations you can possibly play on every hole are similar. Truly amazing!
Cons: From what I read, the parks departments did a few things in fall/Winter of 2007which require re-placing a hole or two in 2008. However, it may make the course better in the long run.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Warwick

8/11/2007   1/22/2008
Review By: ferretdance03
Played: 75  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 9.8 Years
This review was updated on 1/27/2008
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 4 layouts at one course, what more can you want? Great shot variety required from all tees/pins. It's amazing how different each layout is.
Big props for having such an awesome local club as well. The Skylands crew knows how to do it.
Other Thoughts: It's no wonder this course is on everyone's favorite list, and everyone else's wish list! You can spend a weekend here and not be bored.
There are a few areas where you may have some conflict with soccer players and/or pedestrians. There's also one hole where you're forced to throw over the main road in, but you can see most traffic, be cautious.
I think most golfers would love to have this course in their backyard!

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Warwick

1/7/2008   1/15/2008
Review By: scottonthetrail@hvc.
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Cement Tees, multiple Pin + Tee placements. Plenty of Parking with the new back lot. Nice elevation changes. Beautiful manicured park in a Skylands setting. Nice bench's. Well designed, good balance of open + wooded holes.
Wolfe Woods is connected to Warwick.
Cons: Asphalt park road comes in to play on many holes. Tee signs are currently hard to decipher. The soccer people have taken over holes 3+4.
Other Thoughts: Can't wait to see the new holes. Great Disc Golf Center.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Play Warwick

11/15/2007   11/23/2007
Review By: martin
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: By far the best course in the NY/NJ area, and well worth the drive from wherever you are. Wolfe woods is a great addition and a completely different feel from the original Animal course. Blue to blue will test anyone skills, while silver to blue may be the most fun.
Cons: Wish it was closer so I could play it every day. Little bit of a drive to get water, snacks etc...if you can call those cons.
Other Thoughts: World Class - with Warwick and the Mighty Gaw within 30 minutes of one another Skylands has got it going on!

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

9/19/2007   9/26/2007
Review By: justin
Played: 278  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 8.8 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Wonderful layout with great use of 2 tees and 2 baskets (See Borderland in Massachusetts). Excellent elevation changes. Blue layout very challenging. #11 silver has a great risk/reward allowing you to either thread the needle or huck a huge RHBH hyzer to get to the pin. #10 was the only difficult ohle to find w/o a map.
Cons: Tee signs are fading making distances/pictures were very hard to see on a number of holes. Everything else is so wonderful at this course so this stuck out like a sore thumb.
Other Thoughts: A bit more open than wooded. Silver course feels much shorter than it is. If I could add anything to this course it would be some distance on he silver layout and water.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center