Houston, TX 
Tom Bass Regional Park - Powell Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #5 (Taken 10/2009)
3 / 287ft.   3 / 287ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee: 287' straight to slight anny shot



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Good but cut the grass!

1    8/26/2013   9/4/2013
Review By: ejsanchezjr
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good mix of long and short holes. And a mix of wide open and really tight holes although there are really only 4 or 5 tight ones. Easy to get to right off South Beltway. Bathroom at first hole/last tee is a big plus.
Cons: The grass was knee high on about 90% of the course. I cannot believe I didn't lose a disc - it is that long. Glad I didn't run across any snakes.
Other Thoughts: Use the map on this website, not the one at the bathroom. Don't freak out when you notice the #11 basket has a #13 on it - it's the right one. They appear to have redesigned the layout at some time and didn't move the numbers. Holes 12-14 are right next to a playground area - I played in the middle part of a weekday, so no kids around, but this may be an issue if kids are using the swings and play area.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

The First Course

1    6/21/2013   6/21/2013
Review By: bogeymanjr
Played: 27  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 3.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a mostly open course with natural tees and baskets. Best challenges here besides distance on some holes are two throws over the pond for holes 4 & 18. I enjoyed my play here, especially since a lot of the course had recently been mowed. Hole 12 plays through a nice set of trees, which was really good for my Mamba disc. And Hole 17 plays over a blind hill which made a first shot interesting. Lots of good grip and rip holes and few obstacles to get in the way. Excellent practice course for drives.
Cons: The map up front is nothing like what the course is, so do not go by that. Print out the map here, and use it. Navigation should not be too difficult. Numbering on baskets for holes 11 and 13 are backward. Hole 11 plays to basket 13 and hole 13 plays to basket 11.
Other Thoughts: I find little difference except more picnic tables and playground equipment between this course and Wilmont. It is a good course to come out and get some good long throws in. Worth the trip to bring some friends, throw a few discs and have a good time.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


2-4    10/13/2012   11/1/2012
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 127  Reviewed: 106  Exp: 2.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Powell is definitely the better of the two courses here at Tom Bass Park.
-The course is long but not as long as Wilmont is.
-A few holes play into the woods which makes the course a bit more challenging.
-This course has a few memorable holes. #17 is blind over and down a hill to the basket. #18 has to carry a lake that surrounds the last basket that is about 300' away.
-Water is in play on a few holes. It is not severe enough that you should worry about losing your disc but there is enough of it to make you a bit on your toes.
-Maybe it is the time I usually play these course, but I have never gone out here and seen another person playing at either of the courses here.
-There is a map, water fountains, and restrooms at the parking lot of the course
Cons: -No concrete tee pads. Natural tees are fine here but concrete tee pads would make this course much better.
-Towards the middle of the course it gets a bit confusing on what basket you should shoot at. The first time I played here I played to the wrong basket and did not realize it until later.
-This course can get a bit boring since most shots are in the wide open 400' range. I realize this is a championship level course and those type of courses need longer holes but this many with no trees may be over doing it.
Other Thoughts: Like I said Powell is much better then it's brother course right across the parking lot. If you are passing through and only have the chance to play one of these, this is the one that you need to come and play.
-Because of the lack of trees and shade on this course bring water bottles to protect yourself from the Houston sun.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent Long Course

5+    7/17/2012   7/18/2012
Review By: Jefflogix
Played: 29  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of long holes, great for developing long drives. Good mix of wooded and open holes. Allows me to use most of the discs in my bag. Very challenging course. Not many water hazards where one might lose a disc. Distances labeled on all of the tee boxes. Holes are all visible and baskets are numbered.
Cons: No cement tee boxes--tee boxes can get muddy after a good rain. Some of the course holds standing water after a big rain. Course is very rarely mowed, which is my biggest objection to this course. There is tall grass almost everywhere for weeks on end. When they mow, they typically only mow a small section. Some of the holes are next to parks, picnic tables, etc., so you sometimes have to compete with assembled groups for birthday parties, church functions, and volleyball games, etc. (e.g. one Sunday, they were playing flag football on the fairway to hole #9.) The course map posted on the restroom wall is outdated. Best to print out the map on this site and take it with you to navigate your first time playing the course.
Other Thoughts: This has the potential to be an awesome course. I really enjoy playing it, and it challenges me over and over again. The biggest improvement they could make would be to put in better cement tee boxes and mow the place more regularly.

That said, they have improved signage and basket numbers since some of the negative reviews below were written. The course is better now, but it could still be improved.

Park by the tennis courts, and then walk past the tennis courts to the practice basket and then hole #1.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 My Favorite Course

5+    4/22/2012   4/22/2012
Review By: acedp02
Played: 12  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: A great variety of open and difficult holes. Even the open holes have some technicality to them. Two holes have water but are somewhat easy to throw over.
Cons: Would be better with concrete tee boxes. They can get somewhat muddy even a couple days after a good rain. They could use better baskets. Even after playing numerous times without the yellow rings they can be difficult to see.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Take Two.

2-4    3/20/2012   3/27/2012
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.6 Years
This review was updated on 3/29/2012
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Tom Bass Park Powell course is similar in terrain to the Wilmont, minus the big hill. I think it has a higher enjoyment factor, which could be in part to the duel tee placements, but the course itself just feels more doable for the casual player. Unlike the Wilmont, there is a warm-up basket between #1 and #18. #4 and #18 play water, and #18 truly stands out because of this feature and can single-handedly decide a round. The middle portion plays through a more wooded area, which is a welcome break in the Texas sun versus the long open holes surrounding it.

BEST HOLE/S: #18
Cons: Like the Wilmont, my personal con is unless you're a power player or pro - the regular tees really aren't designed for you. It's not as bad due to the alternate tee pads, but since the signage here is subpar as well, having a map is handy in locating everything if it's your first time out. Again, the feel of this course may not appeal to the majority of casual players.

The signage is mediocre, and the pads are natural and in average to below average shape depending on the weather. There's not much thinking involved besides grip it and rip it, and unless you're playing around the time of the Texas States Tournament - the grass is usually high and the course generally haphazard. Even with the slightly wooded area, most of the course remains wide open, so the African Savannah feel is in play here as well.

WORST HOLE/S: #16
Other Thoughts: Ultimately in what I believe the open concept design is trying to achieve, the Powell plays second fiddle to the Wilmont. Besides #18, Wilmont's more memorable holes, slightly more diverse shot selection, and the overall grip and rip it feeling, the Powell just isn't as good. However, for the pure enjoyment factor - I really think most casual players will like this course more. Come right after states, and you'll find a well groomed course ready for a solid round.

As echoed in the Wilmont review - I still can't figure out why Tom Bass should still be the host of Texas States. There are just so many better courses out there in Houston (Move it to Jacks Brooks and level the playing field a bit), let alone the state of Texas that have simply left Bass in their wake. I understand the distance factor, but if that's the main issue - go have yourself a tournament in a wheat field with baskets - there's not much difference. Bottom line, I enjoy both Tom Bass courses, but I just enjoy most other 18-hole Houston courses better.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/7/2011   10/19/2011
Review By: scuddyp4
Played: 32  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 7.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Some good things.

-Practice Basket. It's nice to be able to get some putting in before the round gets started.
-Although the tees are natural, they still are in pretty decent shape. All of the red tees are marked with posts. Blues with bricks in the ground. No big holes or ruts that you have to contend with.
-Hole #18. This is probably the most challenge hole on the course when there is water in the pond. It forces you to make the decision to go for it off the tee or layup and take your par. This is the only hole on the course that will really be that memorable.
-Distance. I like playing this course because it really helps with your distance off the tee. There are only a few holes that most folks won't throw a driver off the tee. Most holes are well out of mid-range/putter length.
-Flow. The course does flow pretty well. Although there are some issues with basket numberings (which I'll address in the "cons" section). There are not any long walks from hole to hole that will make it difficult to find the next tee.
-There are benches close (within 50ft or so) to most tees.
-Map. There is a course map at the restrooms that is accurate for the course.
-Restrooms. There are nice restrooms right by the tennis courts.
-Plenty of parking. This course has plenty of parking because there are not a lot of people that play out here. I've never had a problem finding a place to park. For the Powell course you should park by the tennis courts.
-Cleanliness. This course seemed to not have a lot of trash on it. There are plenty of trashcans on the course to put trash in throughout the round.
-Not a lot of non-DGers. The park seems like it doesn't get used that much. Not just the course, but the park itself. I rarely see anyone in the park when I'm there.
Cons: Some not so good things.

-Flat and for the most part, wide open. This course is only challenging because of the length of the holes. There aren't really that many holes that force you to throw great shots. There are some longer straight holes with a few trees. There are some that are wide open and there are a few in a slightly wooded section of the park that are slightly more technical. They are not heavily wooded, but they do force you to throw fairly accurate shots in order to have a look at a birdie.
-Alternate tees. There are alternate tees that are marked, just not marked with a post. They have blue bricks that are very hard to locate, even with a map it took me about 5-10 mins to find the first couple of holes. After that I gave up on the alt. tees.
-Baskets markings. The basket markings for #11 and #13 have somehow been switched. On #11 you are throwing to the basket that says "13" and #13 you throw to the basket that says "11". The map that is on DGCR is correct. If you are going to play this course you could bring that for reference.
Other Thoughts: I will probably continue to play this course about once a month or so. I would rather play Wilmont if I'm going to this park to play. It's not a bad course, but it's not a great course either. It's definitely worth checking out at least once to see if you love it or hate it. Hope this helps.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 One of Houston's better courses.

5+    6/14/2011   6/17/2011
Review By: BigJim
Played: 15  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 19.4 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Long and challenging.
Enough trees that you actually have to make some shots.
Great finishing hole.
Cons: Like most Houston courses, there's basically no elevation change.
More wooded holes would be nice.
Other Thoughts: Challenging course that doesn't get played as much as it should.
Not sure why the hole descriptions state that there's water on 6. I guess if it's raining, there might be some in the ditch.
Also water on 4 doesn't really come into play since it's near the tee box and only about 150' to cross it.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Windfest!

1    3/18/2011   5/3/2011
Review By: MrNiceFella
Played: 17  Reviewed: 15
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Lots of holes to play. Great place to get a tan because there isn't any shade. Good course for beginners.
Cons: Very flat, very open, not much challenge other than wind. Needs a major update to official course map. Dirt tee pads.
Other Thoughts: If some Boy Scout would pick this park up as an Eagle project, it could dramatically improve. Concrete tee boxes and good signs would make a big difference.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A PowerDriver's Paradise

1    9/24/2010   10/5/2010
Review By: MikoDisc
Played: 15  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: If you're looking for long, open holes to practice or perfect your long drives or break-in a new driver, this is the place. Most holes are 350+ feet.

Enough terrain changes (a hill, pond hazard and some light woods) keeps the course interesting.
Cons: Baskets are not well marked or aligned with tees.

The tee for hole 12 was broken and the basket missing when I played.

Playing through picnic areas and close to playgrounds can be distracting.

Other Thoughts: It was very difficult to find the first tee as we parked near the play area. We finally found it near the tennis courts.

The course map located at the restrooms by the tennis courts is outdated as the course has changed dramatically.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.