Houston, TX 
Tom Bass Regional Park - Powell Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #12 (Taken 10/2009)
3 / 303ft.   3 / 303ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee: 303' with lots of trees to avoid. Some players prefer the more open anny line



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Good but cut the grass!

1    8/26/2013   9/4/2013
Review By: ejsanchezjr
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good mix of long and short holes. And a mix of wide open and really tight holes although there are really only 4 or 5 tight ones. Easy to get to right off South Beltway. Bathroom at first hole/last tee is a big plus.
Cons: The grass was knee high on about 90% of the course. I cannot believe I didn't lose a disc - it is that long. Glad I didn't run across any snakes.
Other Thoughts: Use the map on this website, not the one at the bathroom. Don't freak out when you notice the #11 basket has a #13 on it - it's the right one. They appear to have redesigned the layout at some time and didn't move the numbers. Holes 12-14 are right next to a playground area - I played in the middle part of a weekday, so no kids around, but this may be an issue if kids are using the swings and play area.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Take Two.

2-4    3/20/2012   3/27/2012
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.6 Years
This review was updated on 3/29/2012
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Tom Bass Park Powell course is similar in terrain to the Wilmont, minus the big hill. I think it has a higher enjoyment factor, which could be in part to the duel tee placements, but the course itself just feels more doable for the casual player. Unlike the Wilmont, there is a warm-up basket between #1 and #18. #4 and #18 play water, and #18 truly stands out because of this feature and can single-handedly decide a round. The middle portion plays through a more wooded area, which is a welcome break in the Texas sun versus the long open holes surrounding it.

BEST HOLE/S: #18
Cons: Like the Wilmont, my personal con is unless you're a power player or pro - the regular tees really aren't designed for you. It's not as bad due to the alternate tee pads, but since the signage here is subpar as well, having a map is handy in locating everything if it's your first time out. Again, the feel of this course may not appeal to the majority of casual players.

The signage is mediocre, and the pads are natural and in average to below average shape depending on the weather. There's not much thinking involved besides grip it and rip it, and unless you're playing around the time of the Texas States Tournament - the grass is usually high and the course generally haphazard. Even with the slightly wooded area, most of the course remains wide open, so the African Savannah feel is in play here as well.

WORST HOLE/S: #16
Other Thoughts: Ultimately in what I believe the open concept design is trying to achieve, the Powell plays second fiddle to the Wilmont. Besides #18, Wilmont's more memorable holes, slightly more diverse shot selection, and the overall grip and rip it feeling, the Powell just isn't as good. However, for the pure enjoyment factor - I really think most casual players will like this course more. Come right after states, and you'll find a well groomed course ready for a solid round.

As echoed in the Wilmont review - I still can't figure out why Tom Bass should still be the host of Texas States. There are just so many better courses out there in Houston (Move it to Jacks Brooks and level the playing field a bit), let alone the state of Texas that have simply left Bass in their wake. I understand the distance factor, but if that's the main issue - go have yourself a tournament in a wheat field with baskets - there's not much difference. Bottom line, I enjoy both Tom Bass courses, but I just enjoy most other 18-hole Houston courses better.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/7/2011   10/19/2011
Review By: scuddyp4
Played: 32  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 7.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Some good things.

-Practice Basket. It's nice to be able to get some putting in before the round gets started.
-Although the tees are natural, they still are in pretty decent shape. All of the red tees are marked with posts. Blues with bricks in the ground. No big holes or ruts that you have to contend with.
-Hole #18. This is probably the most challenge hole on the course when there is water in the pond. It forces you to make the decision to go for it off the tee or layup and take your par. This is the only hole on the course that will really be that memorable.
-Distance. I like playing this course because it really helps with your distance off the tee. There are only a few holes that most folks won't throw a driver off the tee. Most holes are well out of mid-range/putter length.
-Flow. The course does flow pretty well. Although there are some issues with basket numberings (which I'll address in the "cons" section). There are not any long walks from hole to hole that will make it difficult to find the next tee.
-There are benches close (within 50ft or so) to most tees.
-Map. There is a course map at the restrooms that is accurate for the course.
-Restrooms. There are nice restrooms right by the tennis courts.
-Plenty of parking. This course has plenty of parking because there are not a lot of people that play out here. I've never had a problem finding a place to park. For the Powell course you should park by the tennis courts.
-Cleanliness. This course seemed to not have a lot of trash on it. There are plenty of trashcans on the course to put trash in throughout the round.
-Not a lot of non-DGers. The park seems like it doesn't get used that much. Not just the course, but the park itself. I rarely see anyone in the park when I'm there.
Cons: Some not so good things.

-Flat and for the most part, wide open. This course is only challenging because of the length of the holes. There aren't really that many holes that force you to throw great shots. There are some longer straight holes with a few trees. There are some that are wide open and there are a few in a slightly wooded section of the park that are slightly more technical. They are not heavily wooded, but they do force you to throw fairly accurate shots in order to have a look at a birdie.
-Alternate tees. There are alternate tees that are marked, just not marked with a post. They have blue bricks that are very hard to locate, even with a map it took me about 5-10 mins to find the first couple of holes. After that I gave up on the alt. tees.
-Baskets markings. The basket markings for #11 and #13 have somehow been switched. On #11 you are throwing to the basket that says "13" and #13 you throw to the basket that says "11". The map that is on DGCR is correct. If you are going to play this course you could bring that for reference.
Other Thoughts: I will probably continue to play this course about once a month or so. I would rather play Wilmont if I'm going to this park to play. It's not a bad course, but it's not a great course either. It's definitely worth checking out at least once to see if you love it or hate it. Hope this helps.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    1/14/2010   2/3/2010
Review By: bobbeno
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.8 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This home course of mine has a little bit of everything to offer: 2 water holes (4 & 18), 4 wooded holes; most holes are around 400' or less, a couple over 500' with trees here and there; benches at almost every hole, restrooms at start and between 9 &10 at pavillion.
Cons: Holds water after rain- mostly the front 9; overgrown at times - mostly in the fall, during spring & summer course is maintained better; not bad enough to need a spotter like when playing big brother Wilmont.
Other Thoughts: Tee boxes?? More trash cans!

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 I like Powell

5+    3/15/2008   3/26/2008
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 188  Reviewed: 150  Exp: 6.9 Years
This review was updated on 5/11/2011
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Well marked Main (red) tees. Available set of Alt (blue) tees marked with large bricks. Good mix of open and wooded holes Water in play on two holes.

For this course to provide the appropriate challenge you need to play a tee box to the right side off all tee posts, except #17 which plays to the left side. Over the years players have "cheated" and teed off on the wrong side leaving worn patches that entice players to the wrong side of the tee. Don't be fooled, play the right side... especially on holes #1, 4, and 8.
Cons:
Alt tees are hard to find without a map. Does not drain well, leading to very soggy fairways and muddy tee boxes. This is a multi-use park and at times parking near hole #1 for Powell can be at a premium. You may have to play around picnicers and soccer or cricket players. The course map in pavilion is no longer accurate.
Other Thoughts:
Has a warm-up basket. All dogs must be kept on leashes. This is a solid course that should not disappoint beginner or advanced players. Was the site for Texas State DG Championships for many years.

As of Dec '08 holes #11 and #13 have been swapped to improve the flow of play. Also, #12 tee and basket have been moved after hurricane Ike left the old hole far too easy.

In May 2011 the tee box for #10 was moved ~40' to the right to improve the footing.

Frequently patrolled by police looking out for all violations, including traffic so watch the speed limit through the park.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.