Houston, TX 
Tom Bass Regional Park - Powell Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #16 (Taken 10/2009)
3 / 599ft.   3 / 513ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee: 599' long bomber hole, miss the early trees and then basket is perched on the side of the mound



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

2-4    10/13/2012   11/1/2012
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 129  Reviewed: 106  Exp: 2.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Powell is definitely the better of the two courses here at Tom Bass Park.
-The course is long but not as long as Wilmont is.
-A few holes play into the woods which makes the course a bit more challenging.
-This course has a few memorable holes. #17 is blind over and down a hill to the basket. #18 has to carry a lake that surrounds the last basket that is about 300' away.
-Water is in play on a few holes. It is not severe enough that you should worry about losing your disc but there is enough of it to make you a bit on your toes.
-Maybe it is the time I usually play these course, but I have never gone out here and seen another person playing at either of the courses here.
-There is a map, water fountains, and restrooms at the parking lot of the course
Cons: -No concrete tee pads. Natural tees are fine here but concrete tee pads would make this course much better.
-Towards the middle of the course it gets a bit confusing on what basket you should shoot at. The first time I played here I played to the wrong basket and did not realize it until later.
-This course can get a bit boring since most shots are in the wide open 400' range. I realize this is a championship level course and those type of courses need longer holes but this many with no trees may be over doing it.
Other Thoughts: Like I said Powell is much better then it's brother course right across the parking lot. If you are passing through and only have the chance to play one of these, this is the one that you need to come and play.
-Because of the lack of trees and shade on this course bring water bottles to protect yourself from the Houston sun.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent Long Course

5+    7/17/2012   7/18/2012
Review By: Jefflogix
Played: 29  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of long holes, great for developing long drives. Good mix of wooded and open holes. Allows me to use most of the discs in my bag. Very challenging course. Not many water hazards where one might lose a disc. Distances labeled on all of the tee boxes. Holes are all visible and baskets are numbered.
Cons: No cement tee boxes--tee boxes can get muddy after a good rain. Some of the course holds standing water after a big rain. Course is very rarely mowed, which is my biggest objection to this course. There is tall grass almost everywhere for weeks on end. When they mow, they typically only mow a small section. Some of the holes are next to parks, picnic tables, etc., so you sometimes have to compete with assembled groups for birthday parties, church functions, and volleyball games, etc. (e.g. one Sunday, they were playing flag football on the fairway to hole #9.) The course map posted on the restroom wall is outdated. Best to print out the map on this site and take it with you to navigate your first time playing the course.
Other Thoughts: This has the potential to be an awesome course. I really enjoy playing it, and it challenges me over and over again. The biggest improvement they could make would be to put in better cement tee boxes and mow the place more regularly.

That said, they have improved signage and basket numbers since some of the negative reviews below were written. The course is better now, but it could still be improved.

Park by the tennis courts, and then walk past the tennis courts to the practice basket and then hole #1.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 One of Houston's better courses.

5+    6/14/2011   6/17/2011
Review By: BigJim
Played: 15  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 19.4 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Long and challenging.
Enough trees that you actually have to make some shots.
Great finishing hole.
Cons: Like most Houston courses, there's basically no elevation change.
More wooded holes would be nice.
Other Thoughts: Challenging course that doesn't get played as much as it should.
Not sure why the hole descriptions state that there's water on 6. I guess if it's raining, there might be some in the ditch.
Also water on 4 doesn't really come into play since it's near the tee box and only about 150' to cross it.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Tom Bass Powell

5+    7/31/2010   8/5/2010
Review By: whosnext
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course has nice post for tee boxes and benches. Course has 4 holes over 500ft. and because of the layout the trees make these very hard to three. Has good layout. There are not a lot of trees but because of the layout the trees come into play nicely to make the course challenging. The course is open so wind is a huge factor. If you want to improve your wind game this is the course to do it. Has two challenging water holes and 4 holes in the thick woods. Very challenging to shoot par.
Cons: Not a good place to play after a rain but drains in about three days. Not much shade so be prepared with water. The blue brick tees for begginers are almost impossible to find.
Other Thoughts: I love this course because you can air out your arm with little risk. Because of the length of this course your approach comes into to play a lot so if you want to improve your approach this is a great place to do it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great open course

5+    5/20/2009   5/21/2009
Review By: ChrisMacG
Played: 84  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 6.8 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A great selection of long holes make this course good for those with strong arms. The scattered trees around the open fields are used well to create challenging basket locations. The wooded holes are tight and fun.
Cons: Sometimes the holes get a bit redundant with nearly identical holes (8 & 9, 15 & 16) being next to each other. The field areas also tend to keep water after a rain for a while so it needs to be good and dry. The baskets are a bit difficult to see and could use more markings than the little plastic flags. Often the wind can make this course unplayable.
Other Thoughts: The park is heavily monitored by the police and they'll bust you for bringing beer on the course, or speeding on the roads or having expired tags.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Better than his twin

1    12/1/2008   12/29/2008
Review By: gsuslikesme
Played: 10  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I think that this is a well designed fun course. Kinda middle of the road as far as the few courses that I have seen. I really liked the final hole, It is a 430' hole with the approach shot over water. B-E-Autiful... Air it out you will have fun.
Cons: We couldn't find hole #1...and I think that is sad... When one designs a course I think #1 and #18 should be significant holes, great job with 18...bad job with 1. After walking a football field length to find hole #1 we began our round. My suggestion...don't forget to print out a course map, or look it up on your iphone because you will NOT just figure it out.
Other Thoughts: I am sure that if you play this course a few times you will find this course to be fun. When we played for the 1st time we had to redo 3 holes because we threw at the wrong basket. I also lost a disc in the drink on hole #4 in the gale force wind. Holes 10-14 are very confusing. I can recommend this course, but only if you have a course map. Powell is much better than his ugly not so identical twin Wilmont. If you only have time to play one of these 2 play Powell, if you have time to play 2, you still don't have time to play Wilmont.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.