Houston, TX 
Tom Bass Regional Park - Powell Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #11 (Taken 10/2009)
3 / 434ft.   3 / 303ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee: 434' long mostly straight, hyzer shots need to miss the tree midway up the fairway



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Bass isn't a favorite

2-4    8/11/2013   9/10/2010
Review By: Expired
Played: 12  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/11/2013
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Parking lot, restrooms, practice basket, and first hole are all next to each other. It's a decent course when it's been mowed and hasn't rained in a while.

Good workout for driving.
Cons: It's mostly wide open shots out in the sun. If you can't throw bombs then you probably wont have any fun.. and if you can, then all you have to worry about is getting bored.

If you're new to the course you will need a map to navigate the holes, and even then it'll be a bit of a challenge with everything looking the same and a lack of signage. Some of the tee posts don't point at the basket and will leave you guessing. My first time playing here we finished hole #11 and had no clue on where to go.

Don't hit a kid on hole #9/12/13. Don't lose your disc on #18.
Other Thoughts: Write anything remotely negative about this course, and prepare to have your review down voted by fanatics.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Tom Bass Powell

5+    7/31/2010   8/5/2010
Review By: whosnext
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course has nice post for tee boxes and benches. Course has 4 holes over 500ft. and because of the layout the trees make these very hard to three. Has good layout. There are not a lot of trees but because of the layout the trees come into play nicely to make the course challenging. The course is open so wind is a huge factor. If you want to improve your wind game this is the course to do it. Has two challenging water holes and 4 holes in the thick woods. Very challenging to shoot par.
Cons: Not a good place to play after a rain but drains in about three days. Not much shade so be prepared with water. The blue brick tees for begginers are almost impossible to find.
Other Thoughts: I love this course because you can air out your arm with little risk. Because of the length of this course your approach comes into to play a lot so if you want to improve your approach this is a great place to do it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Soccer field golf

5+    7/22/2009   2/10/2010
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 126  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 13.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is nice in the aspect that there is 36 holes in the same park and thats about it. This course is pretty wide open not making the fun factor high at all excpet for the few holes that offer a little bit of trees, but it does allow you to air out your arm without having to pay too big of a penalty. There is never alot of people here so you can always play at your own pace and not have to worry about hitting anyone on some of the close fairways. The benches are nice but not really needed unless your playing in a tourney. This course is much better then the Wilmonster but thats not saying a whole bunch.
Cons: This course is very flat and holds water like your bathtub! There is no shade for the most part making your round feel like your playing on the surface of the sun during the warmer months. Navigation can be an issue for first timers and the place could be a little more manicured. Like said before the good holes do not outweigh the boring and redundent holes that occupy this course.
Other Thoughts: I really feel like this course doesnt have much to offer over going to a soccer field and airing it out for the mostpart. I have talked to many locals over time and should have listened to them and gone to another course in the area.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    1/14/2010   2/3/2010
Review By: bobbeno
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.7 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This home course of mine has a little bit of everything to offer: 2 water holes (4 & 18), 4 wooded holes; most holes are around 400' or less, a couple over 500' with trees here and there; benches at almost every hole, restrooms at start and between 9 &10 at pavillion.
Cons: Holds water after rain- mostly the front 9; overgrown at times - mostly in the fall, during spring & summer course is maintained better; not bad enough to need a spotter like when playing big brother Wilmont.
Other Thoughts: Tee boxes?? More trash cans!

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great open course

5+    5/20/2009   5/21/2009
Review By: ChrisMacG
Played: 83  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 6.7 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A great selection of long holes make this course good for those with strong arms. The scattered trees around the open fields are used well to create challenging basket locations. The wooded holes are tight and fun.
Cons: Sometimes the holes get a bit redundant with nearly identical holes (8 & 9, 15 & 16) being next to each other. The field areas also tend to keep water after a rain for a while so it needs to be good and dry. The baskets are a bit difficult to see and could use more markings than the little plastic flags. Often the wind can make this course unplayable.
Other Thoughts: The park is heavily monitored by the police and they'll bust you for bringing beer on the course, or speeding on the roads or having expired tags.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Better than his twin

1    12/1/2008   12/29/2008
Review By: gsuslikesme
Played: 10  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.9 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I think that this is a well designed fun course. Kinda middle of the road as far as the few courses that I have seen. I really liked the final hole, It is a 430' hole with the approach shot over water. B-E-Autiful... Air it out you will have fun.
Cons: We couldn't find hole #1...and I think that is sad... When one designs a course I think #1 and #18 should be significant holes, great job with 18...bad job with 1. After walking a football field length to find hole #1 we began our round. My suggestion...don't forget to print out a course map, or look it up on your iphone because you will NOT just figure it out.
Other Thoughts: I am sure that if you play this course a few times you will find this course to be fun. When we played for the 1st time we had to redo 3 holes because we threw at the wrong basket. I also lost a disc in the drink on hole #4 in the gale force wind. Holes 10-14 are very confusing. I can recommend this course, but only if you have a course map. Powell is much better than his ugly not so identical twin Wilmont. If you only have time to play one of these 2 play Powell, if you have time to play 2, you still don't have time to play Wilmont.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Bring the Pith Helmet, we're going to the Savannah

1    3/15/2008   4/9/2008
Review By: Texconsinite
Played: 127  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 1/28/2009
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wide open field on most holes with a few scattered trees. Plenty of opportunities to just let it fly with room for error. Pretty forgiving. a few little twists like shooting over river or pond, or the one pin placed in the middle of a dozen large trees. Even a few holes that play on or around a hill.
Cons: Many of the Houston courses hold water after a rain, but this course is the worst I've played on. Very, very mucky. Look for the splash if you want to know where your dish landed. Bring Goretex boots unless you like soggy socks. Not much terrain, one hill, one lake, one river, and very scattered trees makes this a pretty straightforward course.

Most holes are just a straight shot the pin, with a tree or two thrown in. Its important to note that if there is no terrain, trees or hazards, its impossible to have anything other than a straight shot.

Some baskets might be guarded by a tree, but mostly its just boring, and teeing off in ankle deep water gets old really fast.

Its impossible to mow the grass in 6in of standing water, and thus, the grass here is out of control, over 2 ft tall in places. This makes it even harder trudging through the course and looking for your drives in the shallow water

The few holes on this course with interesting wrinkles are far outweighed by the many dull ones in-between them. The large amount of wide open space on this course is a blank template that you could mold into just about anything. It would take a lot of labor and some funding, but this course be drastically improved.

Obviously it has a drainage problem. They could solve this with more ditches for drainage and a new pond for them to flow into, combined with appropriately sloped landscaping and french drains to clear up remaining trouble spots on the fairways. This would would give them lots of water to work with in creating a bunch of new hazards, and opens up many possibilities, such as rivers, lakes and even island greens. When they dig out these areas for drainage, they can strategically put the dirt on some of the fairways to raise them and add some terrain to the wide open expanse. Throw in some additions like a terraced green and another tree here and there on top of all that, and this course easily goes from 2.0 to 4.0. Will this ever happen? Doubtful, as there are already many other, more interesting courses in Houston, but the potential is here, even if the funding and manpower never will be.
Other Thoughts: Sometimes, Spring Valley Proshop sets up a mobile shop at the gazebo by hole 1 and the pond, has discs and even a few bags.

Also, no alcohol means no alcohol. Maybe it was just the weekend we were there, but cops were sitting watching us the whole time we were playing, which was easy since the whole course is pretty open.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 I like Powell

5+    3/15/2008   3/26/2008
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 187  Reviewed: 150  Exp: 6.8 Years
This review was updated on 5/11/2011
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Well marked Main (red) tees. Available set of Alt (blue) tees marked with large bricks. Good mix of open and wooded holes Water in play on two holes.

For this course to provide the appropriate challenge you need to play a tee box to the right side off all tee posts, except #17 which plays to the left side. Over the years players have "cheated" and teed off on the wrong side leaving worn patches that entice players to the wrong side of the tee. Don't be fooled, play the right side... especially on holes #1, 4, and 8.
Cons:
Alt tees are hard to find without a map. Does not drain well, leading to very soggy fairways and muddy tee boxes. This is a multi-use park and at times parking near hole #1 for Powell can be at a premium. You may have to play around picnicers and soccer or cricket players. The course map in pavilion is no longer accurate.
Other Thoughts:
Has a warm-up basket. All dogs must be kept on leashes. This is a solid course that should not disappoint beginner or advanced players. Was the site for Texas State DG Championships for many years.

As of Dec '08 holes #11 and #13 have been swapped to improve the flow of play. Also, #12 tee and basket have been moved after hurricane Ike left the old hole far too easy.

In May 2011 the tee box for #10 was moved ~40' to the right to improve the footing.

Frequently patrolled by police looking out for all violations, including traffic so watch the speed limit through the park.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Powell

3/23/2008   3/25/2008
Review By: gcrussell4
Played: 123  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 9.6 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Long, well designed, a little more versatility then it is given credit for.
Cons: It is a flood plain and unless you have had a week and a half of sunshine you will get your socks wet, rarely mowed.
Other Thoughts: My home course. Great place to stretch out your arm and get some good wind practice. A little easier and more pleasant experience then playing the Wilmont course.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Powell

7/18/2007   1/25/2008
Review By: ferretdance03
Played: 74  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 9.3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a good place to work on your long drives. Fairly decent tees, with ample room for driving. Very pretty surroundings, with no real danger of pedestrian interference.
Other Thoughts: We had a hard time finding the course(s) because of the shear size of Tom Bass Park. The disc golf courses seem to be long just for the sake of being long, with no real challenge except for length. Many holes were on the verge of unplayable due to overgrowth, and most of the fairways were grown up to waist height.
I have heard rumor of bass swimming down the middle of the fairway due to poor drainage, and after walking in knee deep rain water, I believe it!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.