Disc Golf Center
Manhattan Beach, CA 
Polliwog Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: nexanimal Hole #3
3 / 285ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Mixed feelings

1    11/10/2013   11/19/2013
Review By: mashnut
Played: 814  Reviewed: 749  Exp: 12.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a really nice neighborhood park. A few holes have enough trees in play to make you navigate a tight line or a low ceiling, others are mostly open with one or two trees as obstacles. There are a few minor elevation changes that add some fun and variety. The baskets are in great shape, and the tees use the sidewalk so they provide fine footing. The signage is basic, but plenty adequate to figure out where to throw.
Cons: In a few spots it's not at all obvious where to find the next tee, make sure to take a look at the map ahead of time. There are a ton of safety issues here, with holes playing along and over sidewalks, playgrounds and an amphitheater. This park seems pretty popular for families and picnickers so you may have to skip holes if you play on a busy day.

The locals have set up alternate shots. They're a lot of fun, but they make the safety issues even worse by adding crossing fairways and multiple groups throwing at the same basket. Holes 6 and 7 play right at one another sharing the same fairway.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will find this course fun and approachable with enough challenges to push players to learn new disc golf skills. Experienced players can have a really fun putter round here unless the park is busy. Don't come here on the weekend, but it's worth a quick stop on a weekday morning.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Short Public Course

5+    2/18/2013   3/23/2013
Review By: Tree Weaver
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.2 Years
Pros: - Great short course for beginners and practice. - Park is clean and well maintained.
- The baskets are well maintained.
- There is slight elevation gain/loss on holes 3-7.
Cons: - You must play early or late on weekends as this public park is crowded during the day.
- The tee pads are not clearly marked
- Hole 2 often floods after rain
Other Thoughts: Try it if you're in the area and it's not crowded.

 Small, but fun.

5+    9/20/2012   11/24/2012
Review By: BasketHunter
Played: 16  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 17.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: If you get there before 9am, on just about any day, you will have the course to yourself. There are still some nice challenging holes and some elevation changes. Hole 3 is long and up hill, even if you have a big arm there is still some challenge to it. 5,6 and 7 are up and down and fun holes. My favorite is 9, right down Manhattan Beach Blvd and requires a good toss to get to the pin.
Cons: If you get there after 9am on any day, it is going to be crowded and your round probably won't be the most enjoyable experience of your life. There are a few short holes. 1 is right next to a playground and the middle school requiring some holding back to avoid hitting a kid or losing a disc. Hole 4 is very short and hole 8 is next to a bathroom and a playground, and short. There are lots of alternate tees laid down by various people, making things sometimes confusing. Especially when people are playing alternate tees and you don't know what they are throwing at. Just keep your head up and you'll be fine.
Other Thoughts: Overall, small park with a decent course. I have fun when I play there. Not the most challenging course, but worth a shot and good for practice if you're in the South Bay and don't want to get on the freeway.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Close to LAX AIRPORT

1    8/22/2012   8/22/2012
Review By: Daniel Pratt
Played: 15  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There are a good range of baskets from long to short shots and up a hill on # 3. I really enjoyed this course and the players i met here where very cool people.
Cons: There are alot of people at this park and they dont seem to look out for them selfs.
So be sure to shout there way load.
The Locals tell me the park will bag and lock the baskets during concerts and other functions at the park. and that its not worth playing on the weekends unless u are there before 10 am.
Other Thoughts: #9 tee pole has been broken off but it stands next to a cement Fire ash trash. The container has a fire logo on it next to the side walk.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Busy short course

1    5/14/2012   5/14/2012
Review By: poorredz
Played: 27  Reviewed: 4
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a good first timer or newbee course.Clean park with easy to find tees and holes.
Cons: .No need for a driver disc as a mid range or putter will do for the short holes. Lots of moms with young kids running around and they are oblivious to the fact they, and their kids are pinicing or playing on the fairways
Other Thoughts: There is a elementary/middle school right next door that gets out at 3pm. Hundreds of kids cross and cut through the park and fairways to go home, making play impossible. Play early morning if possible.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  This shouldn't be a golf course

1    1/29/2012   1/30/2012
Review By: Archimedes
Played: 22  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.9 Years
5 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Markers and tee pads are fairly well marked
Cons: This really shouldn't be a disc golf course. This park was clearly designed to attract people, with great playgrounds, nice ampitheater seating, and a decent lake. The problem is that the park designers crammed so many benches and other "park stuff" in that the disc golf baskets appear to be an afterthought. There are holes that run right next to playgrounds with kids running around, holes that literally have park benches inline with the path of the hole, and holes that are so close to each other that you're forced to dodge discs. I absolutely love little 9 hole courses but this one just shouldn't be. Please keep in mind I played on a Sunday afternoon in beautiful CA weather, my experience would probably have been different on a Tuesday morning after a storm.

5 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  Nice Course and Park

1    1/6/2012   1/6/2012
Review By: rpburi
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A good course for beginners as most of the holes are relatively short. Basket placement is generally straight on, and there aren't many trees except on holes 8 and 9.
Cons: The course is built around a park, so you will have kids walking, running, or playing. Sometimes adults will be walking on the trail. Also, there are some people that don't play the course from the tees, so you may not realize that someone else is playing the same hole.
Other Thoughts: Nice little course and park. Not too far from my Grandma's house in Redondo. Go and enjoy!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A lot of pedestrians

1    10/18/2011   10/19/2011
Review By: atalised
Played: 20  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 13.2 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 1. I ran into a couple of really nice guys who helped me find my way.
2. I really liked hole 5,6 and 7.
3. Tee Markers with numbers at every hole makes it easy to find the next one.
4. The Baskets are bright yellow so you can see what you're shooting for.
Cons: 1. It was really busy, not with disc golfers but with people of all ages everywhere. Use caution before you throw.
2. I don't understand why they put hole 3 right in front of those seats. There were people sitting there so I couldn't throw because I didn't want to hit them. I liked the idea of using both sides of the park though.
Other Thoughts: It was really nice to get out and play again and I can't wait to see what else California has to offer! This is the course closest to my house so I'll probably be playing here a lot. Best to go before school gets out.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Don't go on a weekend

5+    6/19/2011   6/19/2011
Review By: DocHaole
Played: 72  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 7 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Nice new baskets in great shape

- Brown posts marking hole numbers

- Course map at the bathrooms by the lake

- Absolutely beautiful park with well maintained green grass and a lake.

- Good use of obstacles, elevation changes and a few tunnel shots.
Cons: - Pedestrians, Pedestrians, Pedestrians. Young and old all over this park. From toddlers kicking soccer balls to geriatrics pushing walkers and all with one thing in common: they have no idea that there is a disc golf course here. I came on a weekend and the amount of non DG traffic makes it no fun at all.

- Tee signs do not have distances on them. Which is a problem since there can be a birthday party 30' behind the basket. Turning an ace run into a lawsuit.

- Most holes are pretty short but for a 9 holer it's pretty good.
Other Thoughts: To be honest this is the least fun I've had playing disc golf in a long time due to the insane crowds milling about. Even if you are patient and wait for people to pass by you run the risk of hitting someone if you go just a little bit long or wide on your drive.

That being said the course design is solid. The holes are a decent challenge for a 9 hole course and it makes great use of the obstacles in place. I'm sure there are locals that absolutely love this course and I would too if I lived here. But I will never go again on a weekend.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  Very nice course

2-4    2/2/2011   2/11/2011
Review By: cholopotter
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: - great course for any skill level
- semi-short holes
- near the beach
- nice weather
- park is well taken care of.
Cons: - pretty easy to go OB
- it is in a somewhat busy park
- windy
- if you go on a weekday before 3 pm, there will be the PE classes of the high school next door running around the park.
Other Thoughts: I personally like this park very much. I haven't lost a disc, but basically all of my friends have.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.