Manhattan Beach, CA 
Polliwog Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: nexanimal Hole #7
3 / 252ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Approach



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  Nice Course and Park

1    1/6/2012   1/6/2012
Review By: rpburi
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A good course for beginners as most of the holes are relatively short. Basket placement is generally straight on, and there aren't many trees except on holes 8 and 9.
Cons: The course is built around a park, so you will have kids walking, running, or playing. Sometimes adults will be walking on the trail. Also, there are some people that don't play the course from the tees, so you may not realize that someone else is playing the same hole.
Other Thoughts: Nice little course and park. Not too far from my Grandma's house in Redondo. Go and enjoy!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Typical Neighborhood Pitch n' Putt!

1    4/6/2010   4/6/2010
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 682  Reviewed: 634  Exp: 36.3 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's a lovely little park. It's definitly multi-use so be prepared to play around groups of park users. I was lucky to play fairly early on a weekday. The park has enough elevation and mature trees to make for a couple of more interesting holes. The baskets are discatchers. Tee signs, when they can be found, are posts with the number on them. You mostly throw your tee off shot off of the sidewalks. I liked # 5. It is a low tunnel shot, about 200 ft. slightly downhill. # 7 is another slight downhill shot to a basket semi-protected by some trees.
Cons: One of the biggest cons appears to be the crowds in the park. Play early to avoid them. I found navigation to be a little difficult at the start and again at the end. Finding a place to tee off was difficult. I could see the shot over the amphitheatre to be problematic but then again I seldom see any events at these amphitheatres.
Other Thoughts: I'd play this if I lived close. I'd probably be frustrated with the other park patrons. I' would just make it a point to get there early. Probably be a great throw at 7 AM on a warm Southern Cali day.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Jumping frogs at polliwog

5+    8/25/2009   8/28/2009
Review By: wadflinger
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: nicely groomed, legit baskets, pretty park with pond, perfect for bringing other family to enjoy the park while you play
Cons: usually have to play around people, short and not very challenging, no tees
Other Thoughts: make sure you show up early to miss people. i typically don't go nuts for 9 hole courses either

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Lil Shorty

1    3/8/2009   3/9/2009
Review By: pokamitch
Played: 30  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 28.5 Years
This review was updated on 2/24/2010
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very nicely maintained park. Very clean with nice, lush grass. Nice elevation changes. Has lights for night play (which we did), which is always a plus. Clean restrooms centrally located by hole #2. They were locked at night when we played though

Great for beginners or to get the lil ones interested in the sport. For the Intermidiate/ Advanced Players, it is good for working on the short game and ace runs.

I loved that there was a sign stating rules of play and etiquette. It also warned the general public that this park was for disc golf as well and to be mindful of it (as well reminding us to be patient and courteous of them).

One thing I will always say about these lil neighborhood 9'rs they can make some awesome guerilla courses. So the potential for some good fun is always there
Cons: Very, very short course (not much challenge). For as short as it was, I wished for some tighter shots. As a matter of fact, it was so short, I played right handed (poka plays lefty). Tees are not all level, but not that bad. The tee signage could be better, but it is vadalization proof (they are wooden poles with the hole # and distance).

*Mixed use park that gets very crowded. I would never go there on a weekend day. (see below)
Other Thoughts: Great place to have a Disc Golf course. Best thing is you can go surf, then get 9 in after the waves blow out!!

*You can't get to upset over this, because it is a mixed use park, and honestly, if I were picnicing with the family or taking Jr. to the park, this is the really nice park that I would take them/him too. At night, there are hardly any problems with the crowd, regarless of what the day of the week you visit.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Shorty in Manhattan

1    1/17/2009   1/18/2009
Review By: bigrocc01
Played: 83  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 18.7 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Disc Golf in Manhattan Beach.Tee 3 up the ampitheatre is a good short hole.
Sunny Ca.
Easy to convince girlfiend to stop on way to destination.
Cons: Crowded. Easy pitch and putt
Other Thoughts: Definately not a must play in SoCal.
If you're in the area it's better than no disc golf!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 One outstanding hole, otherwise nice pitch n put

5/12/2008   5/22/2008
Review By: nexanimal
Played: 18  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 9.2 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Sloping park lots of fun uphills and downhills
- Alternate tee for 3 shoots across a large outdoor amphitheater, really fun
- Nice, active local DG community
- Interesting play for a local pitch n put, probably not worth traveling to but if you're in the area, definately give it a toss
- just up the street from the Manhattan Beach pier and beach, visit them too
- really nice park, check out the misters at the kid's playground down by the duck pond
- locals have established multiple tees for many holes, look around for interesting alternates, many are described in Other Thoughts
Cons: - tees are poorly marked, usually white or silver duct tape corners on a sidewalk or path
- baskets are not in the right number order
- course layout varies significantly from course map (at center park kiosk and by duck pond) -- see corrected course map posted here
- the course is next to a middle school, which disgorges hundreds of teens at 2:45 pm weekdays during the school year. They mostly just stream across the park on their way somewhere else, but be prepared to wait at least 15 minutes for the park to clear
Other Thoughts: The course as set up the day we played differs significantly from the official course map. The locals have set up alternate tees for some holes to make the shots more challenging, and hole 8 has been moved. The course is relatively straightforward once you know how to identify the minimalist tee markings on the sidewalks.

The course circles around the upper part of the park, with the first tee at the northeast corner of the park, near Redondo Blvd and the middle school. Start out shooting west. Tee 2 is easy to locate, though the pin is a lot harder to reach down a tunnel of trees. The best tee for hole 3 is around on the other side of the bathrooms from basket 2.

As long as you play from alternate tee 3 there's no need to go down by the duck pond. (Official tee 3 is at the duck pond gazebo and is an easy uphill.) Alternate shot 3 is why this nice local pitch n put gets a 2 rating instead of a 1.5. Alt 3 shoots across a large outdoor amphitheatre, proving interesting visual lines and lots of levels for your disc to land on, bounce down, or slide off of.

Remember that tee 4 is by the swimming pool, and tee shot 5 shoots over the yellow pipes. 6 and 7 shoot side by side up and down the hill.

Hole 8 is completely different than on the course map -- see the corrected one posted here. The best tee for 8 is on Manhattan Beach Blvd just west of the Historical Society building, shooting down an asphalt walkway in front of the building to the pin slightly past it. It shoots through a low tree tunnel. The easier tee for 8 is halfway down the walk, cutting out half of the trees.

Hole 9 is also best shot from an alternate tee, instead of the official one near the park's southeast entrance. :Look for markings on the sidewalk on Mahnattan Beach Blvd about 25 feet west of the park sign. This is a great tee shot underneath low tree branches and up a low rise. Pin 9 is back by tee 1.

The park gets crowded sometimes and the course is obviously closed when there's an concert in the ampitheater. Check the park's website for events that may be happening when you want to play.

This is a lovely park that's fun to explore when you're done playing golf. The kids playground by the duck pond is really neat, with swings and cool misters that go off from time to time. Plus it's in Manhattan Beach, one of LA's nicer beach communities. Go west on Manhattan Beach Blvd. a couple of miles and you're at Manhattan Beach Pier and beach. Take in the view while you're there.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.