Manhattan Beach, CA 
Polliwog Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: nexanimal Hole #3
3 / 285ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Mid-Fairway: Basket is across amphitheater



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Short Public Course

5+    2/18/2013   3/23/2013
Review By: Tree Weaver
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.2 Years
Pros: - Great short course for beginners and practice. - Park is clean and well maintained.
- The baskets are well maintained.
- There is slight elevation gain/loss on holes 3-7.
Cons: - You must play early or late on weekends as this public park is crowded during the day.
- The tee pads are not clearly marked
- Hole 2 often floods after rain
Other Thoughts: Try it if you're in the area and it's not crowded.

 Small, but fun.

5+    9/20/2012   11/24/2012
Review By: BasketHunter
Played: 16  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 17.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: If you get there before 9am, on just about any day, you will have the course to yourself. There are still some nice challenging holes and some elevation changes. Hole 3 is long and up hill, even if you have a big arm there is still some challenge to it. 5,6 and 7 are up and down and fun holes. My favorite is 9, right down Manhattan Beach Blvd and requires a good toss to get to the pin.
Cons: If you get there after 9am on any day, it is going to be crowded and your round probably won't be the most enjoyable experience of your life. There are a few short holes. 1 is right next to a playground and the middle school requiring some holding back to avoid hitting a kid or losing a disc. Hole 4 is very short and hole 8 is next to a bathroom and a playground, and short. There are lots of alternate tees laid down by various people, making things sometimes confusing. Especially when people are playing alternate tees and you don't know what they are throwing at. Just keep your head up and you'll be fine.
Other Thoughts: Overall, small park with a decent course. I have fun when I play there. Not the most challenging course, but worth a shot and good for practice if you're in the South Bay and don't want to get on the freeway.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A lot of pedestrians

1    10/18/2011   10/19/2011
Review By: atalised
Played: 20  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 13.2 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 1. I ran into a couple of really nice guys who helped me find my way.
2. I really liked hole 5,6 and 7.
3. Tee Markers with numbers at every hole makes it easy to find the next one.
4. The Baskets are bright yellow so you can see what you're shooting for.
Cons: 1. It was really busy, not with disc golfers but with people of all ages everywhere. Use caution before you throw.
2. I don't understand why they put hole 3 right in front of those seats. There were people sitting there so I couldn't throw because I didn't want to hit them. I liked the idea of using both sides of the park though.
Other Thoughts: It was really nice to get out and play again and I can't wait to see what else California has to offer! This is the course closest to my house so I'll probably be playing here a lot. Best to go before school gets out.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun little course near LAX

5+    2/11/2011   12/2/2009
Review By: Danger
Played: 86  Reviewed: 70  Exp: 5 Years
This review was updated on 2/12/2011
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Numbered DISCatcher baskets
-All holes tee off from concrete
-Elevation variety and some tight lines
-Safe, friendly neighborhood
-Ample lighting for night play
-Good mix of short and long holes
Cons: -Not DG exclusive
-Tees not specifically marked, pole markers are vague
-Holes play through high traffic potential areas
Other Thoughts: Polliwog Park is a great mulit-use park in Manhattan Beach featuring rolling hills, a lake, and many different types of trees and bushes. The disc golf course winds its way around a playground, over an amphitheater, along a hill, and back along the playground. The lake should never come into play. The tee markings and hole info in the pictures here no longer exist. Just wood poles.

The main complaint about this park are the constant crowds, which are not only everywhere but also seemingly oblivious to the game. Dog walkers and people with kids used the park at their own pace and paid no attention to the game.

People issues: Hole two plays across a heavily used field between a playground and restroom. Hole three plays directly up an amphitheater. Hole five, downhill, is along a path. Hole 6, uphill, is along a path. Hole 8 is near the playground and restroom, and Hole 9 is heavily wooded and 6 lane Manhattan Beach Blvd is dangerously close.

Other than people as an obstacle, this is a well designed course on a great piece of property. Each hole has a different goal and strategy, and multiple rounds do not get boring.

Holes four and eight are short, fun ace or birdie attempts. On the other end, hole nine is easily over 300 feet long. Hole three is at least 250 feet and gains 30 in elevation. All the other holes play in between that with varying degrees of slope.

Many great tunnel shots on this course can be easily avoided by going 'over' the trees or bushes, but in all cases there is more than one route to the pin. Bad drives can usually save par.

To avoid crowds here, play at night. This is a very, very well lit course, especially holes 3 through 7. NO disc finding issues at night, no crowds, and great terrain not found at the other 9 hole courses in the area. Private Anderson may have the same amount of hills, but this course is in a better neighborhood.

Park closes at ten, however no enforcement was observed when we left at 10:30pm. As for most 9 hole courses, ample safari options exist. There were a bunch of kids playing with swords and nerf guns, but they were never in the way.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/16/2009   3/16/2009
Review By: progprowl
Played: 18  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 12.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Baskets are in good condition and the park is clean and green.
-Some challenging holes with thight drives and plenty of obstacles, mature trees and elevation changes.
-Hole #3 toward the amphitheater is fun as well as the tight downhill shot on #6.
-If you play the standard tees and not the Alternate there are several ace oppurtunities.
Cons: -Too many People. We made the mistake of playing on a Sunday afternoon. Picknickers, Kids picking up our discs, guys playing soccer (prevented us from playing hole #9)
-Very short distances
-The 1st tee was not at all marked, painted tees are faded away on the concrete, no distance indications. We played toward the wrong basket on a couple of holes.
-Played behind a small group of locals (all 10-15 yrs old) that played really slow and stood around the baskets for a couple of minutes after each hole. Really frustrating.
-Rejected on 2 holes by those darn DISCatcher yellow rims. Rolled down the hill and I ended up with Bogie. Not a fan of these baskets.
Other Thoughts: I would play here again only if I was up on the weekend (I have a buddy that lives a mile away). Not the most techniquely challenging, scenic, or fun course. The park users really can frustrate.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.