Manhattan Beach, CA 
Polliwog Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: nexanimal Hole #7
3 / 252ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Approach



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 not very good

5+    9/14/2010   9/18/2010
Review By: kelso829
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.2 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: this course has a mix on up hill and down hill holes,most are marked by wooden pools with the numbers on it close to where i live and enough parking and no one is every playing there
Cons: hole one is hard to find and there is no map,( it starts on the noth east corner look on the ground for the marker) people and kids are everywhere, it's more of a park with some chains mixed in, you have to throw over people on a few hole a traffic is near by.some holes are really sort others are hard to guess the distance
Other Thoughts: overall not a course to make a trip to, sort of a pitch and putt for disc golf, i have played it so many times because it is by far the closest to my house

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Typical Neighborhood Pitch n' Putt!

1    4/6/2010   4/6/2010
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 683  Reviewed: 635  Exp: 36.3 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's a lovely little park. It's definitly multi-use so be prepared to play around groups of park users. I was lucky to play fairly early on a weekday. The park has enough elevation and mature trees to make for a couple of more interesting holes. The baskets are discatchers. Tee signs, when they can be found, are posts with the number on them. You mostly throw your tee off shot off of the sidewalks. I liked # 5. It is a low tunnel shot, about 200 ft. slightly downhill. # 7 is another slight downhill shot to a basket semi-protected by some trees.
Cons: One of the biggest cons appears to be the crowds in the park. Play early to avoid them. I found navigation to be a little difficult at the start and again at the end. Finding a place to tee off was difficult. I could see the shot over the amphitheatre to be problematic but then again I seldom see any events at these amphitheatres.
Other Thoughts: I'd play this if I lived close. I'd probably be frustrated with the other park patrons. I' would just make it a point to get there early. Probably be a great throw at 7 AM on a warm Southern Cali day.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Oh My Kids...

2-4    12/28/2009   12/28/2009
Review By: Apothecary
Played: 66  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 17.3 Years
18 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice, deep, numbered Discatcher baskets, all in great shape
-Plush, short green grass throughout the course
-Concrete walkways to tee off from
-Nice bathrooms in the middle of the course
-Interesting, technical hole layout. Lots of trees and good up-and-down use of moderately steep, small hills
Cons: -LOTS of people. Pedestrians. Toddlers. Teenagers. All oblivious to disc golf. The fairway of hole 2 shares the shortest path between the bathrooms and the playground equipment. Expect delays.
-The shot up the back of the amphitheater is ridiculous...I had to skip that hole because there were too many picnickers and skateboarders gravity surfing.
-A few holes are right along busy streets with not much room to work your line
-No parking lot, though I didn't have a problem finding parking on Manhattan Beach Bvd.
-While there are posts to mark where the tees are, signs would be nice
-NO DOGS! Wth?..
Other Thoughts: I played this course when i had a little bit of time to kill and I was in the area. If I ever play it again, it will be when school is in session. The amount of people on the day I played almost made the course unplayable. I skipped one hole after waiting at the tee for about 5 minutes for the people to clear out.
All the non-DG traffic aside, the course designers really did a lot with what they had to work with. Good mix of different low-angle shots and wider shots with more elevation change. Plenty of trees to dodge.
Not the best 9-hole course in SoCal, primarily because of the foot-traffic. Catch Polliwog at an off-time and you will get much more out of it and leave a much happier camper than I did.

18 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 Fun little course near LAX

5+    2/11/2011   12/2/2009
Review By: Danger
Played: 87  Reviewed: 70  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 2/12/2011
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Numbered DISCatcher baskets
-All holes tee off from concrete
-Elevation variety and some tight lines
-Safe, friendly neighborhood
-Ample lighting for night play
-Good mix of short and long holes
Cons: -Not DG exclusive
-Tees not specifically marked, pole markers are vague
-Holes play through high traffic potential areas
Other Thoughts: Polliwog Park is a great mulit-use park in Manhattan Beach featuring rolling hills, a lake, and many different types of trees and bushes. The disc golf course winds its way around a playground, over an amphitheater, along a hill, and back along the playground. The lake should never come into play. The tee markings and hole info in the pictures here no longer exist. Just wood poles.

The main complaint about this park are the constant crowds, which are not only everywhere but also seemingly oblivious to the game. Dog walkers and people with kids used the park at their own pace and paid no attention to the game.

People issues: Hole two plays across a heavily used field between a playground and restroom. Hole three plays directly up an amphitheater. Hole five, downhill, is along a path. Hole 6, uphill, is along a path. Hole 8 is near the playground and restroom, and Hole 9 is heavily wooded and 6 lane Manhattan Beach Blvd is dangerously close.

Other than people as an obstacle, this is a well designed course on a great piece of property. Each hole has a different goal and strategy, and multiple rounds do not get boring.

Holes four and eight are short, fun ace or birdie attempts. On the other end, hole nine is easily over 300 feet long. Hole three is at least 250 feet and gains 30 in elevation. All the other holes play in between that with varying degrees of slope.

Many great tunnel shots on this course can be easily avoided by going 'over' the trees or bushes, but in all cases there is more than one route to the pin. Bad drives can usually save par.

To avoid crowds here, play at night. This is a very, very well lit course, especially holes 3 through 7. NO disc finding issues at night, no crowds, and great terrain not found at the other 9 hole courses in the area. Private Anderson may have the same amount of hills, but this course is in a better neighborhood.

Park closes at ten, however no enforcement was observed when we left at 10:30pm. As for most 9 hole courses, ample safari options exist. There were a bunch of kids playing with swords and nerf guns, but they were never in the way.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Jumping frogs at polliwog

5+    8/25/2009   8/28/2009
Review By: wadflinger
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: nicely groomed, legit baskets, pretty park with pond, perfect for bringing other family to enjoy the park while you play
Cons: usually have to play around people, short and not very challenging, no tees
Other Thoughts: make sure you show up early to miss people. i typically don't go nuts for 9 hole courses either

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/16/2009   3/16/2009
Review By: progprowl
Played: 18  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 12.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Baskets are in good condition and the park is clean and green.
-Some challenging holes with thight drives and plenty of obstacles, mature trees and elevation changes.
-Hole #3 toward the amphitheater is fun as well as the tight downhill shot on #6.
-If you play the standard tees and not the Alternate there are several ace oppurtunities.
Cons: -Too many People. We made the mistake of playing on a Sunday afternoon. Picknickers, Kids picking up our discs, guys playing soccer (prevented us from playing hole #9)
-Very short distances
-The 1st tee was not at all marked, painted tees are faded away on the concrete, no distance indications. We played toward the wrong basket on a couple of holes.
-Played behind a small group of locals (all 10-15 yrs old) that played really slow and stood around the baskets for a couple of minutes after each hole. Really frustrating.
-Rejected on 2 holes by those darn DISCatcher yellow rims. Rolled down the hill and I ended up with Bogie. Not a fan of these baskets.
Other Thoughts: I would play here again only if I was up on the weekend (I have a buddy that lives a mile away). Not the most techniquely challenging, scenic, or fun course. The park users really can frustrate.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Lil Shorty

1    3/8/2009   3/9/2009
Review By: pokamitch
Played: 30  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 28.6 Years
This review was updated on 2/24/2010
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very nicely maintained park. Very clean with nice, lush grass. Nice elevation changes. Has lights for night play (which we did), which is always a plus. Clean restrooms centrally located by hole #2. They were locked at night when we played though

Great for beginners or to get the lil ones interested in the sport. For the Intermidiate/ Advanced Players, it is good for working on the short game and ace runs.

I loved that there was a sign stating rules of play and etiquette. It also warned the general public that this park was for disc golf as well and to be mindful of it (as well reminding us to be patient and courteous of them).

One thing I will always say about these lil neighborhood 9'rs they can make some awesome guerilla courses. So the potential for some good fun is always there
Cons: Very, very short course (not much challenge). For as short as it was, I wished for some tighter shots. As a matter of fact, it was so short, I played right handed (poka plays lefty). Tees are not all level, but not that bad. The tee signage could be better, but it is vadalization proof (they are wooden poles with the hole # and distance).

*Mixed use park that gets very crowded. I would never go there on a weekend day. (see below)
Other Thoughts: Great place to have a Disc Golf course. Best thing is you can go surf, then get 9 in after the waves blow out!!

*You can't get to upset over this, because it is a mixed use park, and honestly, if I were picnicing with the family or taking Jr. to the park, this is the really nice park that I would take them/him too. At night, there are hardly any problems with the crowd, regarless of what the day of the week you visit.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Shorty in Manhattan

1    1/17/2009   1/18/2009
Review By: bigrocc01
Played: 83  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 18.7 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Disc Golf in Manhattan Beach.Tee 3 up the ampitheatre is a good short hole.
Sunny Ca.
Easy to convince girlfiend to stop on way to destination.
Cons: Crowded. Easy pitch and putt
Other Thoughts: Definately not a must play in SoCal.
If you're in the area it's better than no disc golf!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great Local Course

5+    9/14/2008   9/19/2008
Review By: SoCal-Wraith
Played: 18  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/3/2008
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice Views of pond and surroundings areas.


Cons: Crowded alot of the time,
Need to to go at a low traffic time.

Other Thoughts:

This is a nice course in a very nice park.
Holes 1 and 2 are pretty much straight shots. Hole 3 has a nice elevation change up a hill. Hole 4 and 5 have some tree's by the tee's. Holes 6 and 7 are criss-cross and open field. And hole 9 is by far the longest.

Can play from alternate tee's.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 One outstanding hole, otherwise nice pitch n put

5/12/2008   5/22/2008
Review By: nexanimal
Played: 18  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 9.3 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Sloping park lots of fun uphills and downhills
- Alternate tee for 3 shoots across a large outdoor amphitheater, really fun
- Nice, active local DG community
- Interesting play for a local pitch n put, probably not worth traveling to but if you're in the area, definately give it a toss
- just up the street from the Manhattan Beach pier and beach, visit them too
- really nice park, check out the misters at the kid's playground down by the duck pond
- locals have established multiple tees for many holes, look around for interesting alternates, many are described in Other Thoughts
Cons: - tees are poorly marked, usually white or silver duct tape corners on a sidewalk or path
- baskets are not in the right number order
- course layout varies significantly from course map (at center park kiosk and by duck pond) -- see corrected course map posted here
- the course is next to a middle school, which disgorges hundreds of teens at 2:45 pm weekdays during the school year. They mostly just stream across the park on their way somewhere else, but be prepared to wait at least 15 minutes for the park to clear
Other Thoughts: The course as set up the day we played differs significantly from the official course map. The locals have set up alternate tees for some holes to make the shots more challenging, and hole 8 has been moved. The course is relatively straightforward once you know how to identify the minimalist tee markings on the sidewalks.

The course circles around the upper part of the park, with the first tee at the northeast corner of the park, near Redondo Blvd and the middle school. Start out shooting west. Tee 2 is easy to locate, though the pin is a lot harder to reach down a tunnel of trees. The best tee for hole 3 is around on the other side of the bathrooms from basket 2.

As long as you play from alternate tee 3 there's no need to go down by the duck pond. (Official tee 3 is at the duck pond gazebo and is an easy uphill.) Alternate shot 3 is why this nice local pitch n put gets a 2 rating instead of a 1.5. Alt 3 shoots across a large outdoor amphitheatre, proving interesting visual lines and lots of levels for your disc to land on, bounce down, or slide off of.

Remember that tee 4 is by the swimming pool, and tee shot 5 shoots over the yellow pipes. 6 and 7 shoot side by side up and down the hill.

Hole 8 is completely different than on the course map -- see the corrected one posted here. The best tee for 8 is on Manhattan Beach Blvd just west of the Historical Society building, shooting down an asphalt walkway in front of the building to the pin slightly past it. It shoots through a low tree tunnel. The easier tee for 8 is halfway down the walk, cutting out half of the trees.

Hole 9 is also best shot from an alternate tee, instead of the official one near the park's southeast entrance. :Look for markings on the sidewalk on Mahnattan Beach Blvd about 25 feet west of the park sign. This is a great tee shot underneath low tree branches and up a low rise. Pin 9 is back by tee 1.

The park gets crowded sometimes and the course is obviously closed when there's an concert in the ampitheater. Check the park's website for events that may be happening when you want to play.

This is a lovely park that's fun to explore when you're done playing golf. The kids playground by the duck pond is really neat, with swings and cool misters that go off from time to time. Plus it's in Manhattan Beach, one of LA's nicer beach communities. Go west on Manhattan Beach Blvd. a couple of miles and you're at Manhattan Beach Pier and beach. Take in the view while you're there.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.