Disc Golf Store
Poncha Springs, CO 
Poncha Springs Share
Uploaded By: DGtourist Hole #8 (Taken 7/2009)
3 / 174ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee Sign



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Did You See That?

1    8/18/2014   8/22/2014
Review By: TalbotTrojan
Played: 100  Reviewed: 100  Exp: 6.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a really interesting course that has plenty of challenge. The terrain for this course is simply amazing. The course is tucked in a very beautiful part of the world and the elevation and natural plant life is well used. Every hole has its own little challenge to it. There are plenty of short holes to make it fun for everyone and a few nice long holes, especially at the start and finish of this course. The cement tee pads were very nice. Tee signs were helpful on many occasions. Someone even took the time with the tee signs to write on new placements, making some baskets more findable. There was a nice course map posted near the parking lot and hole 1. There is also a lost and found there. There did appear to be a very nice campground right across the stream from the course and there was even a pedestrian bridge that connected the campground to the course near hole 4.
Cons: There are so many blind shots on this course that often, even when you think you know where your disc landed, it might take a while to find. Playing the course for the first time meant having to take several walks off the tee pad to find baskets on just about every hole. There were a few navigational issues that made having a map a good idea. There are a couple of long walks between holes and a few holes that play very close to each other. There really is not much length to this course. There is some rough terrain making it somewhat dangerous to simply walk at times. The parking lot seemed to be a logical landing place for bad shots on a few holes. Hole 18 was missing both the actual sign at the tee pad and the number plate on top of the basket. The B pin for hole 2 was nearly impossible to find.
Other Thoughts: You will want a map, someone who has played the course before, water and at least sturdy walking shoes if not hiking boots to play this course. There were so many blind shots that it got a little ridiculous at times. That being said, and in spite of the short nature of this course, I had a lot of fun playing this course. Even the first time disc golfer that was playing with me during my round enjoyed the course. Be sure to spot on just about every hole. The few times I did not have a spotter I usually ended up wishing that I did. There are simply so many trees that you cannot see everything from the tee pad. Maybe this is not a course that I would drive out of my way to play, but if you are in the area it is certainly a must play. Be sure to follow directions to the course very carefully. While I was not driving, I and fairly certain that my GPS would have had a tough time getting me to this course. Have I mentioned that you will want a spotter on most holes? You really will want one.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Very nice course, but...

1    7/24/2013   7/24/2013
Review By: markmcc
Played: 74  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 2.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent tapered concrete tee pads, signage, and baskets. Many tee signs include the direction to the next hole which is useful as some holes are not where you would expect them to be. Good paths exist from hole-to-hole.

Adequate parking lot with Porta-potty.

Course is on a nice piece of land that is covered with smallish (15'-25') pines. One edge of the course is defined by a creek that is down a steep slope. A couple of baskets sit at the top of the slope, so a careful drive/approach is prudent to keep your disc up near the basket.

Though short (only two holes over 300'), the extensive tree cover hides most of the baskets from the tee. Fairways have been created for each hole, and they are tight and challenging.

I cannot decide if the following is a Pro or a Con: While the fairways present real challenge, the height of the trees makes it possible to throw a high shot (Spike Hyzer, Overhand, etc.) at every hole. While knowing exactly where the basket sits within the trees still presents some challenge, dropping a drive in near the basket is a possibility on each hole.

If you want to shoot the lowest possible score, ignore the fairways and throw over the trees. If you want to work on technique and shot-shaping use the fairways. Interesting choice...
Cons: As noted above, throwing over the trees is possible on each hole. If you play it this way, the holes become very similar.

Since you cannot see most baskets from the tee, it is possible to throw on someone without realizing it. Hole 18 is 370' and blind drives toward the driveway/parking area. It seems that this hole in particular presents a possibility of throwing at another player.
Other Thoughts: First time out it helps to bring someone to go ahead and locate baskets, spot drives, etc.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Shorty

1    7/2/2013   7/8/2013
Review By: rflahive
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 15.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great surroundings, good equipment, and well groomed--somebody loves this course! The signs were excellent and the paths were well marked.
Cons: Too short but a good use of the land. A bunch of blind shots slowed down the round due to sneak peaks.
Other Thoughts: Shot 6 down and should have been double digits down. Needs to be streched out. Overall a very nice place to spend an hour throwing a round.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Poncha Springs

5+    9/14/2012   1/5/2013
Review By: mtndiscs11
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Has a lot of technical shots and good pin placements. It appears there are multiple pin placements on some holes although I have played a dozen times or so and they are in the same spot. Good use of elevation and natural landscape.
Cons: Short and super rocky in most places that will eat you discs up fast. Tons of cactus.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Technical, Tight, & Fun

2-4    7/4/2011   7/8/2011
Review By: 14erDisc
Played: 40  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 4.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Poncha Springs is very unique for a mountain-style course in Colorado. Most of the holes are fairly short (many holes under 200, most holes between 200-300), and all of the holes are extremely wooded. This course is very technical as around 13 out of 18 holes are in VERY thick trees. The trees are thick… but the lines are there. If you enjoy practicing short technical lines, this is a fantastic course. Many putter/midrange throws requiring large amounts of accuracy, usually resulting in a steep hill or thick trees if you miss your mark. There is a fair amount of elevation change, as the course uses the natural contours of the land very well. You will be throwing up, down, near a river, and next to a cliff. The river is helpful as this area gets very hot, and the river can provide a nice breeze to sit down.

I greatly enjoy this course to work on my birdie game, and shoot for an ace. If you know where the pin is, 90% of the holes on this course are aceable. There are even a few shots that are easy aces, and it can be seen as many people have signed the back of the signs at the tee box. The tight windows keep you on your toes, and there is usually more than one route to pick, making it ideal for working on your game. If you play one round here, you will throw a fair amount of throws in your bag. If you throw every line here, you will throw everything in your bag (not including all bombers… however there are 2 long holes). It's hard to call this course easy because small mistakes and make large differences, but if you are a skilled discer you should be shooting for a few over par-par your first time here.

This course is a fairly quick 18 if you are in good hiking shape. For those from lower elevations, it may take a bit longer, but since the course is so short in distance, a quick round can take 40 minutes. Expect to be looking for a few discs here, as many times your disc will disappear behind trees far before it hits the ground.
The course has shown effort to place benches at every hole. Most of them are very primitive, made of rocks or stumps and some are very uneven. To me, it's the effort that counts though. The benches are at 50% or more of the holes, and while they may not be perfect, they are something to sit on.
Cons: The first and major issue I have with this course is the tree height. While every hole has technical lines that eventually lead to the pin, it is possible on almost every hole (about 85%) to throw above/over the trees and land your disc close to the hole. This is just to say that if you're shooting for a great score, it is usually easier to bypass the trees and throw a nice high shot. That being said if you're looking to shoot and have a fun round, the technical lines through the trees are the way to go. They are tight, tough, require high levels of precision, and are super fun.

While every hole has a sign denoting distance (which I heard from locals are usually incorrect), the signs do not mark the best routes to the pin. This can be a major disadvantage as 85% of the holes on this course are blind. It is truly a "play two times" course… because even if you scout every hole the first time, it is very hard to pick the best route, and often the trees are so thick its hard to remember EXACTLY where the pin is.

To elaborate on this, simply finding the directions from hole to hole can sometimes be an issue here. I highly advise bringing a map, and remember that the map provided is a "loose estimate", and you should always be looking in the general area the map points you in. Many holes criss-cross and take long detours which can be very confusing for a first timer.

Many holes also come very close to intersecting one another, as this course squeezes 18 holes into a fairly small plot of land. Since there are so many trees everywhere, it is nearly impossible to see more than 100 feet ahead, so bad shots can come flying in from other holes at any time. Beware of this! That being said, not too many non-locals play here, so not too many strays discs will find their way to you.
Other Thoughts: If you plan on coming here, I would plan on playing two rounds. One to familiarize, and one to shoot for a quality score. It is a very fun course, but the fact that nearly every hole can be overpassed with a tomahawk or high RHFH/RHBH was a tad bit annoying. If you go in knowing what to expect, this is a quality course to keep it low, work on your game, and pump out a few fun, short rounds. This place can get hot!... but if you're in the area and like technical courses (and like getting aces), this is a must see. While I did muster up many cons, this place was super fun and I would definitely return if I was in the area.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

7/19/2007   4/22/2008
Review By: Savage27
Played: 21  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Short fun course. Many different types of shots are needed. Course is in great shape. Great elevation changes. Nice looking creek runs by the side of the course. Anything under 54 is a great score.
Cons: Cactus plants and rocks will piss you off by hole 7. Make sure you watch where your disc goes. There are several blind shots so losing a disc isn't hard.
Other Thoughts: Fun course that is challenging even though it is short. Blind shots make the course interesting.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.