Poncha Springs, CO 
Poncha Springs Share
Uploaded By: DGtourist Hole #2 (Taken 7/2009)
3 / 242ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee Sign



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Did You See That?

1    8/18/2014   8/22/2014
Review By: TalbotTrojan
Played: 102  Reviewed: 102  Exp: 6.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a really interesting course that has plenty of challenge. The terrain for this course is simply amazing. The course is tucked in a very beautiful part of the world and the elevation and natural plant life is well used. Every hole has its own little challenge to it. There are plenty of short holes to make it fun for everyone and a few nice long holes, especially at the start and finish of this course. The cement tee pads were very nice. Tee signs were helpful on many occasions. Someone even took the time with the tee signs to write on new placements, making some baskets more findable. There was a nice course map posted near the parking lot and hole 1. There is also a lost and found there. There did appear to be a very nice campground right across the stream from the course and there was even a pedestrian bridge that connected the campground to the course near hole 4.
Cons: There are so many blind shots on this course that often, even when you think you know where your disc landed, it might take a while to find. Playing the course for the first time meant having to take several walks off the tee pad to find baskets on just about every hole. There were a few navigational issues that made having a map a good idea. There are a couple of long walks between holes and a few holes that play very close to each other. There really is not much length to this course. There is some rough terrain making it somewhat dangerous to simply walk at times. The parking lot seemed to be a logical landing place for bad shots on a few holes. Hole 18 was missing both the actual sign at the tee pad and the number plate on top of the basket. The B pin for hole 2 was nearly impossible to find.
Other Thoughts: You will want a map, someone who has played the course before, water and at least sturdy walking shoes if not hiking boots to play this course. There were so many blind shots that it got a little ridiculous at times. That being said, and in spite of the short nature of this course, I had a lot of fun playing this course. Even the first time disc golfer that was playing with me during my round enjoyed the course. Be sure to spot on just about every hole. The few times I did not have a spotter I usually ended up wishing that I did. There are simply so many trees that you cannot see everything from the tee pad. Maybe this is not a course that I would drive out of my way to play, but if you are in the area it is certainly a must play. Be sure to follow directions to the course very carefully. While I was not driving, I and fairly certain that my GPS would have had a tough time getting me to this course. Have I mentioned that you will want a spotter on most holes? You really will want one.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Very nice course, but...

1    7/24/2013   7/24/2013
Review By: markmcc
Played: 84  Reviewed: 72  Exp: 2.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent tapered concrete tee pads, signage, and baskets. Many tee signs include the direction to the next hole which is useful as some holes are not where you would expect them to be. Good paths exist from hole-to-hole.

Adequate parking lot with Porta-potty.

Course is on a nice piece of land that is covered with smallish (15'-25') pines. One edge of the course is defined by a creek that is down a steep slope. A couple of baskets sit at the top of the slope, so a careful drive/approach is prudent to keep your disc up near the basket.

Though short (only two holes over 300'), the extensive tree cover hides most of the baskets from the tee. Fairways have been created for each hole, and they are tight and challenging.

I cannot decide if the following is a Pro or a Con: While the fairways present real challenge, the height of the trees makes it possible to throw a high shot (Spike Hyzer, Overhand, etc.) at every hole. While knowing exactly where the basket sits within the trees still presents some challenge, dropping a drive in near the basket is a possibility on each hole.

If you want to shoot the lowest possible score, ignore the fairways and throw over the trees. If you want to work on technique and shot-shaping use the fairways. Interesting choice...
Cons: As noted above, throwing over the trees is possible on each hole. If you play it this way, the holes become very similar.

Since you cannot see most baskets from the tee, it is possible to throw on someone without realizing it. Hole 18 is 370' and blind drives toward the driveway/parking area. It seems that this hole in particular presents a possibility of throwing at another player.
Other Thoughts: First time out it helps to bring someone to go ahead and locate baskets, spot drives, etc.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Shorty

1    7/2/2013   7/8/2013
Review By: rflahive
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 15.6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great surroundings, good equipment, and well groomed--somebody loves this course! The signs were excellent and the paths were well marked.
Cons: Too short but a good use of the land. A bunch of blind shots slowed down the round due to sneak peaks.
Other Thoughts: Shot 6 down and should have been double digits down. Needs to be streched out. Overall a very nice place to spend an hour throwing a round.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Watch Out for that Tree

1    5/25/2013   5/25/2013
Review By: Wise Fool
Played: 123  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 5.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Baskets that are in great shape and catch very well.
-Concrete tee-pads on every hole
-The tee-signs are in great shape and tell you the distance of the hole and show a detailed layout of the hole.
-The course is very heavily wooded with some tight lines through the trees, but the lines on the holes never feel unfair.
-The course requires a lot of accuracy in order to score well.
-The thick trees on the holes punish you for bad shots.
-Course is pretty easy to navigate and you won't spend very much time looking for the next hole. The first hole is slightly confusing to find but just look at the map at the beginning of the course and you will find it easily.
-Map and practice basket at the beginning of the course.
-Small trash cans attached to many of the tee-sign posts.
-This course doesn't get very crowded. We played it on Memorial Day weekend and we only had to wait on people for 2 holes.
-There are quite a few ace opportunities on this course if you can throw accurately
-Several of the holes have multiple pin placements
-Lots of elevation change, with many of the holes incorporating at least some uphill or downhill.
-While most of the holes on this course are quite short, they are still fun and challenging and make you think about the line you want to throw.
-Brooms located on some of the tee-pads to sweep them off if they get dusty.
-The land this course is set on has very few other activities going on in it, so you don't have to worry about other park users getting in your way.
-Very easy to access off HWY285 if you need a break while traveling.
Cons: -Holes are very short. Most of the holes are under 250 ft, with only two holes over 300 feet. Additionally, since quite a few of the holes play downhill, the holes play shorter than there listed distance. If you like courses that let you grip and rip it on every hole, this is not the course for you.
-Lots of the holes play really close to each other and some cross over each other a little bit, so keep an on incoming discs if there are any other players near you.
-Trees are short enough that on a lot of holes stronger armed players can throw over the trees reducing some of the tighter lines on the course.
-Trees can eat discs and there are several spots where you could lose a disc. A few of the holes play near the river, which can be slightly overgrown. Hole 17 also has a water tower area fenced off by barbed wire that a disc could be lost in, but there is a number on the fence to call to retrieve your disc if it goes over the fence.
-The baskets are not visible from many tee-pads so at times, you might be walking up the fairway to see exactly where the basket is.
-The tee-pads are pretty small and it would be nice if they were slightly bigger.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course that requires a lot of accuracy to score well on. I wish some of the holes were longer, but if you are in the area make sure you give this course a try.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Poncha packs a punch!

5+    3/20/2013   3/21/2013
Review By: weum107
Played: 108  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 18.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This cozy Colorado course is easily found off the 285 Highway into Poncha Springs. 18 holes in a town of 742 (wow!) with multiple pin positions, a "full-size spare" (practice basket), excellent concrete teepads that are not slippery, seating at many holes, tee signs, facilities on site, seclusion just a mile from town....this place is truly a gem situated at the "Crossroads of the Rockies"
Cons: A bit short for the most part, but alternate pin placements have helped extend the original layout. The trees here eat up discs, but they aren't too tall and the course is short enough to where the tight lines through the trees are very risk/reward sometimes. As short courses go, you'll be hard pressed to find a funner one.
Other Thoughts: This course is in a great American small town that is very supportive of disc golf and outdoor recreation in general. I have played more than a hundred courses now and this may be the cleanest. Locals are respectful and courteous and the course is very well maintained, even featuring brooms at most tee pads!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Poncha Springs

5+    9/14/2012   1/5/2013
Review By: mtndiscs11
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Has a lot of technical shots and good pin placements. It appears there are multiple pin placements on some holes although I have played a dozen times or so and they are in the same spot. Good use of elevation and natural landscape.
Cons: Short and super rocky in most places that will eat you discs up fast. Tons of cactus.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Technical, Tight, & Fun

2-4    7/4/2011   7/8/2011
Review By: 14erDisc
Played: 40  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 4.8 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Poncha Springs is very unique for a mountain-style course in Colorado. Most of the holes are fairly short (many holes under 200, most holes between 200-300), and all of the holes are extremely wooded. This course is very technical as around 13 out of 18 holes are in VERY thick trees. The trees are thick… but the lines are there. If you enjoy practicing short technical lines, this is a fantastic course. Many putter/midrange throws requiring large amounts of accuracy, usually resulting in a steep hill or thick trees if you miss your mark. There is a fair amount of elevation change, as the course uses the natural contours of the land very well. You will be throwing up, down, near a river, and next to a cliff. The river is helpful as this area gets very hot, and the river can provide a nice breeze to sit down.

I greatly enjoy this course to work on my birdie game, and shoot for an ace. If you know where the pin is, 90% of the holes on this course are aceable. There are even a few shots that are easy aces, and it can be seen as many people have signed the back of the signs at the tee box. The tight windows keep you on your toes, and there is usually more than one route to pick, making it ideal for working on your game. If you play one round here, you will throw a fair amount of throws in your bag. If you throw every line here, you will throw everything in your bag (not including all bombers… however there are 2 long holes). It's hard to call this course easy because small mistakes and make large differences, but if you are a skilled discer you should be shooting for a few over par-par your first time here.

This course is a fairly quick 18 if you are in good hiking shape. For those from lower elevations, it may take a bit longer, but since the course is so short in distance, a quick round can take 40 minutes. Expect to be looking for a few discs here, as many times your disc will disappear behind trees far before it hits the ground.
The course has shown effort to place benches at every hole. Most of them are very primitive, made of rocks or stumps and some are very uneven. To me, it's the effort that counts though. The benches are at 50% or more of the holes, and while they may not be perfect, they are something to sit on.
Cons: The first and major issue I have with this course is the tree height. While every hole has technical lines that eventually lead to the pin, it is possible on almost every hole (about 85%) to throw above/over the trees and land your disc close to the hole. This is just to say that if you're shooting for a great score, it is usually easier to bypass the trees and throw a nice high shot. That being said if you're looking to shoot and have a fun round, the technical lines through the trees are the way to go. They are tight, tough, require high levels of precision, and are super fun.

While every hole has a sign denoting distance (which I heard from locals are usually incorrect), the signs do not mark the best routes to the pin. This can be a major disadvantage as 85% of the holes on this course are blind. It is truly a "play two times" course… because even if you scout every hole the first time, it is very hard to pick the best route, and often the trees are so thick its hard to remember EXACTLY where the pin is.

To elaborate on this, simply finding the directions from hole to hole can sometimes be an issue here. I highly advise bringing a map, and remember that the map provided is a "loose estimate", and you should always be looking in the general area the map points you in. Many holes criss-cross and take long detours which can be very confusing for a first timer.

Many holes also come very close to intersecting one another, as this course squeezes 18 holes into a fairly small plot of land. Since there are so many trees everywhere, it is nearly impossible to see more than 100 feet ahead, so bad shots can come flying in from other holes at any time. Beware of this! That being said, not too many non-locals play here, so not too many strays discs will find their way to you.
Other Thoughts: If you plan on coming here, I would plan on playing two rounds. One to familiarize, and one to shoot for a quality score. It is a very fun course, but the fact that nearly every hole can be overpassed with a tomahawk or high RHFH/RHBH was a tad bit annoying. If you go in knowing what to expect, this is a quality course to keep it low, work on your game, and pump out a few fun, short rounds. This place can get hot!... but if you're in the area and like technical courses (and like getting aces), this is a must see. While I did muster up many cons, this place was super fun and I would definitely return if I was in the area.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Excellent course

5+    7/7/2010   7/7/2011
Review By: Gurillanic
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Brilliant, beautiful surroundings. Very isolated.

The wooded and varied terrains make for great precision shots. Also has a good mix of distance shots when you get near the end.
Cons: The last holes 15 - 17 can drag on a bit. But 18 ties it together well.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Poncha Spings

1    3/14/2011   3/15/2011
Review By: Tclarencebrown
Played: 41  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tee Pads: Every hole has a tee pad with a broom to help keep the pads clean. Also, the pads are more wide at the back of the pad and narrows toward the front of the pad. So the pad kind of formed an "arrow" pointing toward the basket.

Baskets: The baskets are new.

Signs/navigation: There is a kiosk at the start of the course and the signs on each hole were very helpful. The paths on the course were often lined with rocks on each side to help guide you to the next hole. Also, there was orange tape hanging from some of the trees and baskets to help guide the way. This was a nice extra.

Flow: The course had a good flow and natural flow.

Restroom: There was only one port-a-potty but it is in a spot that you pass by 4 or 5 times during a round.
Cons: Game Play: The holes were for the most part were very short and I felt that some of the holes were repetitive and with all of the low pines it is hard to really open up. I feel that a good over hand player would do very good on this course. I would like to have seen some longer holes that you could open up on.

Multiple pin placements/tees: From what I could gather there were no alternate pins or tees. Not a huge deal for a one time player, like myself, but if I were a regular this would be a huge negative for me. I do, however feel that with the land that the course is on the course does utilize the land well.

Scorecards: There were no score cards available. With this being my only time playing this course I don't know if this is and everyday problem.
Other Thoughts: Overall the course was very fun and had a lot of ace runs. I would play this course again if ever in the area.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Very Fun

1    7/19/2009   7/23/2009
Review By: DGtourist
Played: 188  Reviewed: 106  Exp: 11.7 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Poncha Springs DGC is a beautiful tract located just south of highway 50 in the heart of the Rockies with creek side mountain views. The course has a very nice map that I photographed before I played incase I got lost and found that I never needed it. Each tee box has a good detailed sign and the basket have worm paths leading to the next tee box. Most tee boxes have a broom on them. The course land is very rocky and many of the rocks have been gathers to line the paths fairways and tee boxes, usually resulting in a very classily constructed tee area. It is obvious that there is a very active local scene that has put in tons of man hours on this course.

I would like to hear the story about how they were able to pave some of the tee areas because many of the boxes seem inaccessible to a heavy duty cement truck. Maybe it would have been more clear if I had this though while playing, but my point is that the locals has done a fabulous job turning a rugged hillside into a bonafide disc golf course. Many of the tee boxes have shaded sitting areas. There are trash cans and I did not see any litter on the course when I played it. Short disc catching pine trees line the course and many of the baskets are in short locations. There are some blind shots and the baskets are usually guarded. They even had a porta-potty in the parking lot.
Cons: The course only has two holes over 300 feet and seven that are less than 200 feet. I get the feeling that aces are pretty common here. However there are many design elements that overcome its shortness, The two longest holes are 1 and 18, many of the shorter holes have some of the craziest lines, and none of them are simply out in the open. Because of the tightness of the course some errant drives can find the next tee so you have to be careful. The rocky terrain is not very accommodating to cheaper plastics, dare I say disc eating. Many of the trees are short so a hammer or spike hyzer can run at the basket pretty easy. Bring water.
Other Thoughts: I had a BLAST here because scoring was easy and the terrain was not. This natural setting along with very nice course construction is my personal favorite type of course. It felt like I was just running up and down rugged terrain making shots. I bumped my grade up a notch because of the high fun factor.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.