Portales, NM 
Portales Sports Complex DGC Share
Uploaded By: manuel_g85  
Official Wind Gardens logo



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Long and Fun

1    7/28/2014   7/28/2014
Review By: rickbergman10
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 0.7 Years
Pros: Good baskets.
Great use of elevation change.
Not busy. Not many walkers either.
20 holes.
Blind shots.
Tee markers with distance on them.
Great desert course.
Cons: Needs some direction to the next tee.
It would be an awesome course if they put in concrete pads.
Wind is fierce on occasion.
No shade.
Needs more trash cans.
No bathroom. But hey no one's around.
No water fountain.
I don't like the tee placement on #17. It needs to be moved so you're not forced to throw at a steep angle. Move #18 tee as well it's not my favorite either.
Other Thoughts: I grew up in Portales and moved away. I discovered disc golf so when I went back I had to try the local course. My hopes were not high because I had never heard of anyone playing out there and honestly our city does things cheap and poorly. So I was pleasantly surprised when I played Windgardens. It's a fun course. Pretty easy. The distance is really the only hard part about it other than the wind. I recommend getting up early to play to avoid it. #1, #2, #9 and #19 all play in or around a giant pit making for some nice elevation change. Best course within 80 miles.


1    6/23/2013   6/26/2013
Review By: tkmcdougal
Played: 153  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 6.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The baskets were nice DISCatchers. The holes were a good distance not too long but nothing too shortI really enjoyed the elevation change that is carried throughout the course. My favorite hole were holes 2,9,10 because of the elevation change. Hole 2 you shoot across a gap. Hole 9 is a blind shot down into the big hole. 10 you shoot back out of the gap. The course was easy to navigate even though there weren't signs.
Cons: One con I have but is not fixable was the wind was terrible because it was so open. I also wish that there were tee signs. I realized that there were the red painted poles but its always nice to know the distances and it makes the hole more permanent because the painted rock could always be moved then people would not know which hole is which. Also, the were no tee pads so the tee pad was rocky and not flat like they should be.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging course

1    2/27/2011   2/28/2011
Review By: oidhchegaoth
Played: 14  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 10.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Challenging course, love the elevation changes, wonderful how the designers used as much of the available elevation changes and trees in this area of the country to make the course as challenging as possible.
Cons: The wind greatly affects play, hard to follow the course, not all the tee boxes are labeled, get to the back nine and start over with numbering which as a first time playing the course was a bit confusing especially when get to basket 10 and there are two number 10's not far from each other, only differentiated by color of the number, which finally made since when we found number 11 which was also in red, where the first 10 in black numbers
Other Thoughts: Initial directions stated to go to the parking lot that is on the left past the pit, well we spent 15 minutes looking for the 1 tee box which it turns out is much closer to the parking lot for the "back nine" so just park there get out and head toward the ball parks parallel to the street and you'll see the first tee box. As above, first 10 holes are blue and white T-posts to mark the tee box and the baskets have the number of the hold in black the last 10 are red and black T-posts with the number on the basket in red.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Great and Challenging Course

1    2/27/2010   3/1/2010
Review By: Miniclapton
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: * 20 holes with 17 baskets
* Varying terrain, ranging from flat to hilly.
* Good range of difficulty throughout course
* Great baskets
Cons: * More trees would be welcome
* The wind can be an issue
Other Thoughts: The course is technically still in development; however, I would recommend it any one who likes a challenge and can appreciate a desert course.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 My Home Course

5+    6/6/2009   6/7/2009
Review By: samuelson2484
Played: 31  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.7 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a challenging and well thought out course. There several different types of terrain and an abundance of wildlife. I have played this course since it's initial conception, and it has continued to improve over the years.
Cons: The wind can be BRUTAL, and the back 9 needs to be updated like the front 9.
Other Thoughts: As one of the course designers, I can assure you that this course will change from excellent to best of the best by the end of this year

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A personal Favorite

5+    12/30/2008   6/6/2009
Review By: SmittyDisc
Played: 15  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A fun course with lots of terrain, a crazy pit that is always more trouble than you think it will be, and almost always great weather. I've played Wind Gardens several times since it's initial design and opening (playing to painted fence posts before the shiny discatchers were installed) and it gets better as it evolves.
Cons: hard to navigate for a first time player, would be nice to have some more trees in play.
Other Thoughts: This was one of the first courses I ever played, and remains a strong favorite. I highly recommend it if you ever go through the Portales/Clovis area.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 My home course

5+    3/15/2009   3/25/2009
Review By: manuel_g85
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.5 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The "Wind Gardens" Disc Golf course is one that plays on many different types of terrain. Lots of long shots with new innova baskets.The massive course consists of holes in an expansive caliche pit, along convenient jogging trails, several tree hazards, sand flats and dunes and mostly flat and rugged terrain typical of eastern New Mexico. Most of the holes are over the flat area but the holes in the caliche pit add downhill and elevation shots. The entire course plays away from the road so you never have to worry about crossing streets or car hazards.
Cons: There is not a great deal of elevation besides the caliche pit holes. Needs better tee pads (on the way).
Other Thoughts: This is a fairly new course that is still being tweaked with to make it more playable. It has a great deal of potential because of the varying terrain and the massive area in which the course was built. Maps, hole markers and tee pads are coming soon. If you play it in the near future, it would be smart to contact one of the guides because it can be confusing until we put up the signs and maps.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.