Prairie City, IA 
Prairie City Park Share
Uploaded By: TreeSkipper Hole #5 (Taken 5/2010)
3 / 186ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Prairie City DGC Review

2-4    7/2/2014   7/3/2014
Review By: dutchrunningriot
Played: 14  Reviewed: 5
Pros: Beginner friendly
Open Hole Locations
Won't lose discs
Grass is mowed consistently
Cons: Very short course (longest hole is 290 feet)
No cement pads
Hole signs are not extremely helpful (each basket does have the number above it, but my brothers and I would just jog up to the hole beforehand to confirm we were throwing the the correct hole the first time through.
Other Thoughts: This course is ultimately a birdie binge. The course is very par friendly where par 4s are easily drivable to an average player and par 3s are essentially middle distance approach shots. Great course to work on the middle range portion of your game and to bring new players to increase their confidence.

 Small Park, Short Holes

5+    8/28/2010   9/13/2010
Review By: yearofrolling
Played: 55  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 17.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Mowed every time I've been there
Hole lengths accessible for beginners
Some trees used as obstacles to some effect
Pretty easy to find the next tee
Ace prospects
Cons:
Baskets are the barely functional, rusty, single-chained type
Signage (not that it is really needed here) is missing or lacking
Short holes in a small park
Other Thoughts:
It's easier to view this collection of baskets as an extra added bonus activity for park-goers already utilizing the park than to think of them as a disc golf destination.
Or more simply put, unless you live in PC or somewhere near you probably won't want to spend the travel time to come here just to play disc golf.
I would recommend this course to anyone who is trying to play as many courses as possible or trying to play every course in Iowa.

I don't think this course gets that much traffic, so it might be a good place to play basket to basket or backwards or make-up your own disc golf game; play to every basket from the same spot, it's doable.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 A walk in the park.

1    6/6/2010   6/7/2010
Review By: dustbuster232000
Played: 30  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 14.2 Years
Pros: Clean park with water and bathrooms. Varied shot paths. Short easy holes.
Cons: First tee sign missing. Start from the right side of the building along the parking area.
Other Thoughts: Baskets rusted but usable. Course could use some TLC but for a small town forgotten course its not bad. Not worth the trip but fun if your in the area.

 Great for Practice and Beginners

2-4    5/22/2010   5/22/2010
Review By: TreeSkipper
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: In well maintained park. Pretty tough to lose a disc unless you happen to throw one over the fence on hole 2 or hole 8. Good mixture of trees throughout course. Great for practice or Beginners
Cons: Difficult to find first tee box. Signs are missing or in need of repair on holes 1 & 2. Some signs can rotate around so we had to send out a spotter a couple of times to make sure we were shooting at the right cage. It would have been nice to see a map of the course somewhere.
Other Thoughts: The lengths of the holes are on the short side so we ended up playing it twice. Cages could use a little paint. All-in-all not bad if you are learning the game.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Not sure what to say here

1    7/8/2006   3/11/2009
Review By: SpikeHyzer
Played: 63  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 11.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It has baskets...that is about the only pro about it
Cons: You can play this 9 hole course with a putter. It is also a dangerous course as it plays near a shelter house and playground.
Other Thoughts: Skip this. It took me only 20 minutes to play the whole course.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.