Thornton, IA 
Prairie DGC Share
Uploaded By: scarpfish Hole #9 (Taken 6/2010)
3 / --   3 / 220ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee: 220 feet



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

5+    10/12/2013   10/20/2013
Review By: KLK420
Played: 12  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.4 Years
Pros: The course pars are set challenging. The holes are mapped out at the beginning of the course, and individually at each tee off.
Cons: The worst thing about this course is the tee pads. They need cement tee offs!

Nice stop

1    7/22/2012   7/22/2012
Review By: iblanchard
Played: 180  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 11.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Holes are easy to follow.
Creative hole placements. Even the short holes are not gimme 2's
Very nice signs with maps. Very helpful for blind shots.
Well maintained.
Despite having prairie grass, there is enough room for a safe shot.
Cons: tee pads- I mainly played off to the side of the tee pads because it looked safer.
Many of the holes favored a left curve, which plays great for my game, but could be annoying for LHBH or RHFH.
Prairie grass looked pretty thick. Looks like it could eat discs, but it only come into play on 3 holes.
May be too easy for advanced players but still fun in my mind.
Other Thoughts: If you are anywhere near the area and want to do a quick 9 I would say this course is worth the stop. Very easy to find. I was able to finish the round in about 20 minutes, could have taken longer if i threw it in the prairie grass or by the stream. # 3 has the most potential to lose a disc, with a 20 yd fairway and tall grass on each #1,8 are very short but a lot of trees. #4,5 have blind dog leg lefts around prairie grass. #6 is about 300 to the big pine tree and the hole is on the other side.
Overall I'd say good for a nine holer

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Decent small town course

1    6/8/2010   9/8/2010
Review By: scarpfish
Played: 314  Reviewed: 95  Exp: 11 Years
Pros: Good recreational level course in a well maintained park. Has some decent length cleverly placed trees and tall grass rough to add difficulty. Good signs marking the tee boxes. (Hopefully they'll stay this way). Has some decent lefty-righty balance for a nine holer. In a small town, so you'll have a good chance of having this one all to yourself.
Cons: The tee pads leave a lot to be desired. I think a lot of small towns can go without concrete pads, but if the park is getting use (and it appears by the ruts in the ground that this one is) it certainly couldn't hurt. Advanced players are likely going to find this underwhelming, much like any small town niner (of course there's plenty of opportunity for safari rounds).
Other Thoughts: I hit Prairie DGC on my summer road trip in June. It was not in my original plans (I was hoping to get up into Minnesota and play a course there) but due to me losing a lot of time in Ames that day, I had to settle for this little gem. Nothing championship caliber here, but its good for a nice relaxing round or two, and just a hop and a skip off I-35.

 Prairie...

1    6/26/2010   7/31/2010
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 323  Reviewed: 321  Exp: 6.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice baskets
-Map at start of course and decent tee signs with distance and a basic map
-Challenge from wind, prairie grass and river on a few holes
-Pretty small town so not a lot of traffic
-Friendly locals, let me play a round with them
-A few blind shots caused by bushes and prairie grass. Baskets were well positioned to make use of the trees and prairie grass.
-Good for a quick round but not too quick
-Good mix of straight, right and left curving shots
-Challenging enough for better players but not too rough on the new ones as well
-Very close to the interstate, easy to find
Cons: -Tees were natural, slippery and bumpy
-Course wasn't too long
-Stay out of the prairie grass. It may sound harmless but it is 6+ feet tall of thorny, thick, bee infested, stinging, disc eating prairie grass!
Other Thoughts: It was a decent course and they used what they had well. The only real bad part was the tee pads but it was still an enjoyable round. It was a pretty typical city park course with the added challenge of prairie grass. The course name is fitting!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/25/2010   6/27/2010
Review By: slash87
Played: 137  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 6.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has chainstar baskets. It is close to the interstate and has a nice mix of short 200+ plus holes and a 400+ hole.
Cons: Every shot is pretty much the same. Either straight or curves to the left. No real obstacles other then a river along holes 2 to 4.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 One Fine Nine

2-4    8/23/2009   8/24/2009
Review By: Gflap
Played: 314  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 11 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Quiet, peaceful setting in a small town park. Tee signs on 4 x 4 posts indicating diagram and distance of hole. Grass was freshly mowed. Creek borders left side of fairway on holes 2, 3, and 4. Native prairie grass borders same 3 holes on the right. Camping close by--campground actually connects to course via bridge over creek to # 5 tee. Nice variety of shots required as final 2 holes have mature trees as obstacles. 2 longer holes to air it out. Small trash receptacles attached to posts for tee signs. Bathroom in park with small play area for the kids.
Cons: Grass tee pads. Really no elevation change to speak of.
Other Thoughts: This course ranks as one of my favorite 9 holers. 2 miles off of I 35.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.