Disc Golf Store
DeKalb, IL 
Prairie Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #6
4 / 420ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 the return to my first ever course

5+    10/28/2012   10/28/2012
Review By: booradly
Played: 78  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 2.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - awesome pads square cement pads that are bigger then your average pads( nice for me and my massive strides)
-makes use of almost every tree in the park(nice grassy area with only a little underbrush around the edge of the course)
-has one or 2 holes that let you use your full arm(like 400 foot shots) it was nice that they worked these in given the size of the park
-holes 2 and 9 are both a lot of fun.
2 has a line of trees 30-40 feet in front of the pad that block a lot of lines and give u the option of shooting the gaps in the trees and getting right under the basket or hooking around the trees and parking a little further away- 9 is a good sized hook shot around the trees on the back side of the park but there is an option of a tunnel shot through the trees that can park u right under the basket if you get it through(very hard shot but i gotta try it at least once every time i go)
-is within walking distance of the NIU campus so if you come visit you might as well hit up this course.
-or if you want to take a break from driving on 88 you can get off in dekalb and the course is not far(if you reach 38 you have gone to far
Cons: -has one or 2 shots that are just open field shots.(4,6)4 at least has a tree or 2 near the basket
-is only a 9 hole
-has several holes where a small river comes in to play(3,5,6,7) but it would be hard for a right backhand player to throw in to 6,7 and as long as you don't try to bomb them 3,5 the river is easy to avoid.
-more of an if you are in town type of course.
- there is a path that comes into play on hole 6
i almost hit a few people walking on it. also i use to fish the river near the course and was almost hit a few times and have seen a few other fishermen almost get hit
Other Thoughts: -if you go to niu and want to try disc golf a great course to learn on. i played my first 3-4 rounds at this course before moving and drove back out that way today to see how fun it was not that i a decent player and it was still a fun course to play
-also i often would play it 2 times through in order to get in 18 instead of 9

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 an okay course.

1    6/9/2010   6/9/2010
Review By: danscimeca
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: nice location. fairly scenic. cool flight patterns to the pins. on my school campus.
Cons: the river that runs through it. i lost a disc to it and there are signs that warn you of poisonous fish and the water is just pure brown. i usually go after a disc too if it goes in water but this was just to disgusting. good amount of mosquitoes. will have to yell fore alot because the tees for the next hole are very close to the pin for the previous hole.
Other Thoughts: if your in the area its a good quick play. but dont go out of your way to it.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Prairie Park

5+    11/14/2009   3/28/2010
Review By: Big_Man
Played: 35  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 8.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is conveniently right next to the NIU campus. The first five holes are my favorite because of the fact that more trees come into play. The last 4 are more in an open prairie, which is good if you have a big arm. I played this course all the time because it is the only full course in DeKalb, and it can be pretty fun.
Cons: I wish there were 9 more holes on this course. If the park district would make more holes on the wooded side of the river it would make for an awesome course. They also might want to invest in some cement or rubber tee pads. It kind of sucks when you are throwing on dirt or wood chips.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I enjoyed this course when I was a student at NIU. If you go earlier in the day it is generally not as crowded, but if you go on a nice day in the afternoon you may have to wait between holes. I really hope they add more holes in the future, it would make the course much better.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 9 good holes

5+    10/20/2008   11/10/2008
Review By: andy8755
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.8 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Hole 6 is 400+ and wide open, unless you hook it into the river way to the right (which I've done a couple times in the past)
-good mix of long and shorter holes.
-Tree lines on the last few holes make it good for a sidearmer, and allows you to find a few freebies from time to time.
-#9 has a 90 degree dogleg to the right, and nearly impossible to birdie.
-Usually shoot +1 to-1 (playing all par 3s), never much better or worse.
Cons: -Unless you go early on a weekday, it's kind of crowded.
Other Thoughts: -Good park to take your dog along with you, nice and open.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 De Kalb, IL

5+    9/6/2008   10/15/2008
Review By: Robert Scott
Played: 52  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 18.5 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very nice short course but Hole 9. The only course in town so we played it alot while staying in town.
Cons: The park is crowded after about 4pm and when NIU started up for the fall semester. My friend lost a few disc in the river off hole 6. During the summer months the Mosquitoes are very bad on holes 7 and 8.
Other Thoughts: A nice course with very aceable holes, but watch the river on holes 3 and 6.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A nice course to play

5+    9/30/2008   9/30/2008
Review By: krc1130
Played: 25  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 12/11/2008
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice use of space in this park, as there are nine fun holes to play. Some, though not all, are pretty challenging. A couple of longer ones, with some fairly wooded holes as well. Requires some skill, but not the hardest I've played. Clearly marked tees and holes - it would be hard to get lost or mixed up at this course.
Cons: Very, very buggy - especially after the flood a couple of weeks ago. Mosquitoes were bad even before then, and I've heard they've gotten worse. The back few holes can be pretty moist, even when it hasn't rained recently. The river can provide some trouble on a couple of the holes, and the first few are close to the road (though it isn't a very busy area). If you lose a disc in that murky river, you are NOT getting it back. Some holes are a bit too easy, all told.
Other Thoughts: This is a very good course, which would be enjoyable for first time or long time players. The holes don't all provide a ton of challenge, but some do and it's enough to make it an enjoyable course. Just bring plenty of bug spray - you may even want to avoid it for a few more weeks while the weather gets cooler. All told, I would still recommend this course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 NIU Frolf

1    8/23/2008   8/24/2008
Review By: theseus414
Played: 30  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is a big open field that is great for those of us who like to chuck our discs and often times misfire. In addition to that it is the only course around for miles and it's conveniently located right on the NIU campus.
Cons: It is a boring course and the tee pads are literally a pile of wood chips. The field is over grown with clovers and other things that aren't grass. Point being the disc does not always stand out as much as it would at other courses.

The river that runs through it is disgusting, There is a sign near by saying how all the fish are poisonous (as if any could live in that Beijing style water), and if I ever through my disc into it (which is possible on a couple holes) I would not go into get it. I like my discs as much as anyone else but I'd be terrified of growing a third eye or something.
Other Thoughts: All my cons aside i would go back there.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.