DeKalb, IL 
Prairie Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #6
4 / 420ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Bitchin Chicago 9'er!

1    6/30/2016   6/30/2016
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1006  Reviewed: 956  Exp: 38.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is just another of Chicago's famed 9'ers. It's not going to wow you but as you're playing it, you're probably going to have a big smile on your face. It's just that kind of a course. And that's exactly why there were about four other groups playing this afternoon. And on these four groups, not one player was carrying more than 2-3 discs.

The park is just the normal, flat city park found in every village in Illinois. It's flat with scattered mature trees. There's thick, bushy rough bordering some fairways.

The course plays at a very comfortable recreation level. It's no pitch and putt. The course has concrete pads and some of the best tee signs anywhere. They are concrete blocks with a slanted top surface. The signs are imbedded into the concrete making them very difficult for vandals to trash. The baskets are Discatchers with yellow bands. Hole distances vary from a 182 ACE run to a long of 407' across a open expanse of grass.

I thought # 9 was n interesting hole. Overly confident players (make that younger players) can try to cut the corner by trying their hand through a very small window in the trees. Trouble is awaiting those players who fail to throw with pinpoint accuracy.
Cons: Intermediate and advanced players won't be challenged.

Course probably "not exciting enough" to hold the attention of some players.

The course is mostly open, sometimes just a tree or two you need to avoid.

Other Thoughts: Once again, Chicago area rec and beginner players have a wealth of perfect courses awaiting them. This is disc golf nirvana for the player who throws 275' drives and likes to play a variety of courses. If you're an advanced type player who drives 450', you might find yourself driving 450 miles into a neighboring state to seek out a courses that challenges you.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Perfectly sized park course

1    6/11/2016   6/13/2016
Review By: MidwestZest
Played: 93  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 16.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Nice, tucked-away course. Very good use of space - the park's perfectly sized for a community 9-hole course. Not much overlap on holes, pretty good from a safety standpoint.
- Great, huge concrete tee pads.
- Good signage and DISCatcher baskets.
- #3 - this cute, short little blind ace run was my favorite hole on the course. Very nice, narrow fairway design, opening at the end with a fade left to the basket.
- #5 - Shorter hole with a tree-guarded basket, and a quick moving river 15 feet behind. Nice pin location.
Cons: - Mostly open course, with scattered trees of various sizes in and around fairways.
- There is a walking path that splits the park, but technically does not cross any fairways. Definitely in play though, for a wayward shot on #5.
- The last 3 holes play along the edge of the park counterclockwise, asking for 3 consecutive L-R drives. (RHFH flicks for me). Just a bit repetitive.
- #9 - not a huge fan of this finishing hole. A longer, hook-back design that should be an easy 3, but difficult 2 for most players. Listed a par 4, which is probably right for novice players. There's a path straight through the woods to the right that people obviously play, which also probably makes for an easy 3, but difficult 2.
Other Thoughts: - There are two longer "rip it" holes on the course, #4 and #6. I list them here because, although they're nice to have, there's nothing particularly spectacular about the hole designs. There are trees in both fairways, but nothing to really alter a big drive one way or the other, and certainly no real punishment if you clip one.
- Nice course that's worth a quick 30 minute play if you're in town.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Spring 2016 updates

1    3/31/2016   3/31/2016
Review By: Pactime
Played: 22  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 1.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I arrived at 0915 on a Thursday during local spring break week. I think NIU is in session, but DeKalb mostly seems a little empty. The park definitely was empty. It was me and 6 geese out there.

The tees are in great shape.
The course is in great shape.
The baskets are in great shape.
It was two fast fun practice rounds in abt an hour.
Cons: I don't have any new cons. The baskets and tees are compacted and I can see how it'd be frustrating if there were many others out there.

It was super windy today. While I wouldn't find the river intimidating under calm conditions, my disc got buffeted a coupe times and so I did alter my approaches when facing the Kish. I found myself standing around a lot hoping for wind to stop gusting. It hurt my play, but not my score, which tells me a lot about the size and general ease of the course.

Other Thoughts: First and foremost, I'm really excited that DeKalb has a dg course. Just at all. This wasn't here when I was a kid, so getting to play during a visit was great. For that alone, I can say "thumbs up, DeKalb."

That said, I'm really spoiled by great courses in the PNW and can't consider Prarie as more than practice. Cages for aiming, maybe playing with different motions, or trying to sneak thru tree lines.

I like a previous comment that said something like "check it if you're already in town." I'm going to Kirkland tomorrow and Rochelle Saturday, but otherwise would head back here in a second. Bc it's disc golf in DeKalb. But I don't think I'd come out of my way to play here if I wasn't visiting family.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Average

5+    7/26/2014   8/9/2014
Review By: duain
Played: 67  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 14.9 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course has concrete pads and is decent for newer players. Holes 3 and 5 play toward the river. Holes 4 and 6 are longer and let you open up on your drive and have some newer trees that will eventually make for decent fairways.
Cons: Most holes are short open shots due to the large tree being removed. Parks/Rec do poor mowing job on the back part of the course.
Other Thoughts: The course is fun and decent for newer players. Hole 6's basket being moved takes the walking path out of play for most people now. Par is defiantly not a 30, its a 27.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 the return to my first ever course

5+    10/28/2012   10/28/2012
Review By: booradly
Played: 91  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 4.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - awesome pads square cement pads that are bigger then your average pads( nice for me and my massive strides)
-makes use of almost every tree in the park(nice grassy area with only a little underbrush around the edge of the course)
-has one or 2 holes that let you use your full arm(like 400 foot shots) it was nice that they worked these in given the size of the park
-holes 2 and 9 are both a lot of fun.
2 has a line of trees 30-40 feet in front of the pad that block a lot of lines and give u the option of shooting the gaps in the trees and getting right under the basket or hooking around the trees and parking a little further away- 9 is a good sized hook shot around the trees on the back side of the park but there is an option of a tunnel shot through the trees that can park u right under the basket if you get it through(very hard shot but i gotta try it at least once every time i go)
-is within walking distance of the NIU campus so if you come visit you might as well hit up this course.
-or if you want to take a break from driving on 88 you can get off in dekalb and the course is not far(if you reach 38 you have gone to far
Cons: -has one or 2 shots that are just open field shots.(4,6)4 at least has a tree or 2 near the basket
-is only a 9 hole
-has several holes where a small river comes in to play(3,5,6,7) but it would be hard for a right backhand player to throw in to 6,7 and as long as you don't try to bomb them 3,5 the river is easy to avoid.
-more of an if you are in town type of course.
- there is a path that comes into play on hole 6
i almost hit a few people walking on it. also i use to fish the river near the course and was almost hit a few times and have seen a few other fishermen almost get hit
Other Thoughts: -if you go to niu and want to try disc golf a great course to learn on. i played my first 3-4 rounds at this course before moving and drove back out that way today to see how fun it was not that i a decent player and it was still a fun course to play
-also i often would play it 2 times through in order to get in 18 instead of 9

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 alright course

5+    4/22/2012   5/11/2012
Review By: southside5
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.7 Years
Pros: some cool holes
good use of the trees there
path makes it easily accessible on bike
can get crowded/littered with the college nearby
Cons: walking path may be a problem
completely flat
some trees have been cut down which makes the holes easier.
some very short holes
bugs can be a problem with forested area and river nearby
Other Thoughts: cant really complain too much since there isnt much else in the area.

 Beginner/Intermediate

2-4    6/25/2011   6/27/2011
Review By: notapro
Played: 462  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 13.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a city park that has a typical walking path. Definitely some possible interference with pedestrians in a few spots.
- Best feature here is the abundance of trees, as well as some thicker forested areas. These are used well, with #1 under a large and low tree, #3 a RHBH hyzer around the forest, #8 totally blocked on the right of the pin, and #9 is a big anny or similar around the forest. There are a few open shots, but the majority have well placed obstacles to force some line shaping. Good balance of left, right, and straight.
- There is a creek here as well, and it can be in play. But, it would take a pretty wild or long throw to get it there. Decent accuracy, and there's nothing to worry about (maybe #5 is close enough to worry).
- Some baskets are protected, due to things like the tree on #1 and the forest on #8. Nothing too difficult.
- Decent mix of hole lengths here as well, there are definitely some short ones, but also longer ones with two holes over 350' and one at 420'.
- Good signage, teepads, and baskets. Navigation is a breeze.
Cons: - Although there are patches of trees and forest to avoid, the course is pretty much wide open. Every hole can yield an easy par, and is usually pretty brainless. Choosing between left, straight, and right, is about the bulk of it.
- Land is pretty much dead flat, if there were any elevation changes, it wasn't very noticable.
Other Thoughts: - For a niner in a heavily populated area, it's not that bad. The land was used extremely well to make the course long and technical at parts; there are easily bogeys to be found if you miss your line. Definitely beginner friendly (watch that water though), and also a good place for intermediate players to test controlled distance. Experienced golfers should look to score super low here.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 an okay course.

1    6/9/2010   6/9/2010
Review By: danscimeca
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: nice location. fairly scenic. cool flight patterns to the pins. on my school campus.
Cons: the river that runs through it. i lost a disc to it and there are signs that warn you of poisonous fish and the water is just pure brown. i usually go after a disc too if it goes in water but this was just to disgusting. good amount of mosquitoes. will have to yell fore alot because the tees for the next hole are very close to the pin for the previous hole.
Other Thoughts: if your in the area its a good quick play. but dont go out of your way to it.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    5/8/2010   5/8/2010
Review By: mykeg44
Played: 64  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 7.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is set in a nicely manicured park along the Kishwaukee River located just off the NIU campus, and allows for a pretty quick round. There is a nice variety of shots, and trees on most holes as obstacles. With a few exceptions the Discatcher baskets and tee signs are in good shape, and although somewhat muddy (it had rained a few hours before I played) the dirt tees were level and free of any major ruts. All baskets rest on little circles of wood chips which makes spotting them a little easier from a distance and improves the aesthetic of the course.
Cons: The river comes into play on #3, #5, and #6 and your disc is gone if it goes in. Personally, I enjoyed the added risk, but newer players or those who toss one in may find this to be unpleasant.

The terrain of the park does not allow for any elevation changes, and although trees/bushes provide obstacles on most holes, most experienced players will not find this course to be overly challenging. The lack of distance also contributes to this ease. Only #4, #6, and #9 required me to use a driver.

While easily correctable, the basket for #8 was crooked when I played.
Other Thoughts: As of now, this is the only course in the area, so if you find yourself with some free time and you're around Dekalb, this course is worth checking out. It's not the most difficult course, and while it wasn't overly crowded when I played (overcast Saturday afternoon when classes were out), I have heard it can get crowded on nicer days when classes are in. Overall an average, but enjoyable course.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Some good and some bad

1    4/9/2010   4/27/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 14.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a mostly open flat park with nice grassy fairways and scattered stands of trees. There are a few nice mature trees in play on the course, and stands of smaller trees and some woods that can come into play if you get off track, adding a little bit of risk for errant drives. There are some nice views of the small river that runs along the course on a couple holes.

Most of the holes are shorter ace run holes, but the end of the course gets a little longer and has one hole where you can open up and throw a long drive. There are a couple holes that force lines to the left and right, the most interesting being the last hole that wraps to the right around some thicker woods.

There are very large tee signs set on huge blocks of concrete. They are descriptive and easy to read, with hole maps and distance. The course flow is easy to follow with no navigation issues.
Cons: The course has some major safety issues. Many holes throw right at the next tee, and several fairways play very close to other holes. This is made even worse by how many people play this course. It's great that so many people in this area play, but they all have to come to the same course which makes for slow rounds and lots of ducking.

The tees are natural, and have spread out a ton. It's not at all clear where the actual tee ends, as the dirt patches next to the giant tee signs can be ten feet wide and twenty feet long. The course overall has some fun shots, but there's just not a lot of challenge or variety here with lots of open shots and not a lot of distance.
Other Thoughts: The course is great for the hordes of beginners that play here, it's got some obstacles, but is approachable and not too long, with no real chances of losing discs. More experienced players won't find a whole lot of challenge here, but it's a pretty little city park with a couple fun holes.

There aren't a lot of courses that are very close to this one, so if you're in the area you don't have a lot of choices. That said, it's not a terrible course so don't avoid it, just be ready to watch out for discs flying in from other holes and to wait for other groups on a nice day.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.