Houston, TX
Tom Bass Regional Park - Wilmont Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ   (Taken 1/2008)
Wilmont in the Winter



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Good Challenge Course

2-4    8/29/2013   9/1/2013
Review By: hefalump
Played: 23  Reviewed: 19
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Long holes that make for an excellent practice course to air out a lot of discs in your bag. Trees in just the right places on some holes to make you think about a lot of shots. Set off from the rest of the park for very minimal interruptions while playing. Lots of trash cans and benches at each tee.
Cons: Upkeep is spotty at best. I have only seen one time where this course was completely mowed this summer. This could be an excellent course if they kept this course up as well as they do Powell. I do not mind playing a course every so often where I have to look for a throw or two, but when a player like myself has to spend at least 5 to ten minutes looking for a disc I have thrown every time due to very tall grass, that gets to be a bit much.
Other Thoughts: I like this course and that is why I travel more than 40 miles to play it once in a while. And I realize this part of the park probably does not see as much use as the Powell course does, but to let this course go for 2 months without mowing it is ridiculous. If the parks department cannot keep it mowed at least once a month, they ought to contract it out. Playing should be a pleasure not a burden. If this is not a helpful review, it ought to be just to let other players know to come out for Powell and not this one. This is an excellent open championship course when kept mowed. Otherwise, it is just an open field for a player to a lot of discs because of burial in grass that is way too tall.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

You need a cannon

1    7/21/2012   7/24/2012
Review By: nomex
Played: 8  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 1.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Wilmont is a great course to work on distance, with some really long holes. Your driver game better improve if you've been playing this course after a while. Hole 14 seems taylor made for new RHBH players with drivers that are too fast for their arms (i.e. noob hyzers with overstable distance drivers in max weight/premium plastic). Wind is fairly common so the Wilmont is a great course for working with the wind, so you'll get a chance to have some head and tailwinds.
Holes 14,15,and 16 are great for working in a little elevation. Make sure you steer clear from the Wetlands, as your disc may be irrecoverable. When I came to play there was a group finishing, and a foursome ahead of us, so this course may not be in frequent use. This course is an excellent example of how disc golf is used to bring more use out of an otherwise under-utilized part of the park.

My favorite holes are:

1-3 in the woods, as you can set up/luck out with some shots that miraculously make it through trees.

Hole 8 has a nice finish to it with a technical upshot/putt with water hazards behind it.

Hole 14-16 are great fun and the hill of the amphitheater can be seen through the course, like some foreboding castle. Make sure your discs stay away from the wetlands.
Cons: The negative of the Wilmont course are:

Tall grass - If you lose sight of your disc and it tombstones, you're in for a long search.

Bring a map or someone who's played there before, or you may get lost/confused as to were the holes are.

I wish the tee boxes were at least asphalted but oh well, it'd be tough to get that kind of equipment around here, I guess.
Other Thoughts: I've heard so much about this course from my buddy, who's been playing since 2001, about how long this course was. I don't take the par 3 6-800 foot holes as a negative, but rather as a challenge to work on my technique so I can increase my distance game. To me, it beats throwing in a field for distance practice, because at least you're playing a round of golf. I played MacGregor Park, TC Jester, and the Powell course, so it's nice to be able to grip and rip without fear of hitting some park users (well, maybe hole 18 if there's a big party). I like throwing a couple extra discs down hole #16 just to see them float forever, and I love throwing my 7speed/7 glide disc at hole 15 just to see it get carried in a tail wind. If you don't like the distance of this course, you can always play the Powell, or even the Woody DGC just a few miles east. Heck, there's a great bike shop/ disc golf store close to Woody as well. Warm up your arm and shoulders, this course is a workout!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 The Perfect Spot for States...17 years ago.

2-4    3/20/2012   3/27/2012
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.1 Years
This review was updated on 3/29/2012
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Besides the Power Nine at Spring Valley DGC, Tom Bass offers the best consistently long open shots in the area. The length comes in at almost 8000', so it's not for the faint of heart. However, the Wilmont still integrates a few shorter technical holes to open your round, and then ends with its strongest and most memorable holes from #14 through #18. I love the big elevated shot off of #16, however a windy day can major headaches on the hill.

The course is easy to follow, even without the good signage, there is ample parking, and the place is usually pretty desolate. Basically, unless you plan on visiting during States, you'll maybe see one or two other players during a round.

BEST HOLE/S: #14; #16
Cons: My personal con is unless you're a power player or pro - this course isn't really designed for you. I remember the first time playing here years ago remembering how frustrated I was that took three good shots and I still was looking at a long putt to save bogey. As I've improved, life isn't quite that bad now - but my point it, the feel of this course may not appeal to the majority of casual players.

The pads are natural and in average to below average shape depending on the weather. There's not much thinking involved besides grip it and rip it, and unless you're playing around the time of the Texas States Tournament - the grass is usually high and the course generally haphazard. Combine that with hot Texas summers and this shadeless course makes you feel like you're walking the African Savannah rather than enjoying a round of golf.

WORST HOLE/S: #5; #6
Other Thoughts: I personally think Wilmont is the better of the two courses with more memorable holes, slightly more diverse shot selection, and the overall grip and rip it feeling. Sure, Tom Bass has been eclipsed in recent years by better courses in the surrounding area, but if you can overlook the obvious negatives and like wide open power shots and - it doesn't get much better. Come right after states, and you'll find a well groomed course ready for a solid round.

However, having said that - I still can't figure out why Tom Bass should still be the host of Texas States. There are just so many better courses out there in Houston (Move it to Jacks Brooks and level the playing field a bit), let alone the state of Texas that have simply left Bass in their wake. I understand the distance factor, but if that's the main issue - go have yourself a tournament in a wheat field with baskets - there's not much difference. Bottom line, I like the Wilmont, but I just enjoy most other 18-hole Houston courses better.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Perspectives from a beginner

1    4/3/2010   4/4/2010
Review By: feralpanda
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of open areas to practice big drives and throws (especially for a newbie like myself). Some up- and downhill shots which are pretty rare in the Houston area. Rarely busy, and unlike the Powell, most of the people on that side of the park that are BBQing are only at the very edge of the first hole, not in the middle and next to 4 different ones.
Cons: Some pretty long holes for a beginner. Gave me lots of practice at really winding up but a couple of holes were a little discouraging considering I call a 200ft drive phenomenal. LOTS of bugs (bring some DEET), few snakes but pretty reasonable considering how much water is usually standing in the area. I can agree with many past reviewers in that 1) the course map at the park is outdated and 2) the "flow" of the layout is not at all intuitive. Now that I've walked it once, however, I'm pretty sure it would come right back to me. Oh, and wear sunscreen...the length of time you'll be walking on the Wilmont coupled with the brutal Houston sun will equal a gnarly sunburn if you aren't careful!
Other Thoughts: Admittedly, I had avoided the Wilmont for almost a year based on others' reviews and lore on the internet about how long, hard, and boring it can be. Compared to the Powell, it IS pretty long and not quite as accommodating to the beginner...however, I had a blast on it and I got a lot of chances to try different discs and work on my power throws. I'm not sure I'll play the Wilmont/Powell courses 50/50 but when I'm throwing by myself it might be where I end up so that I can continue working on some of the finesse holes and complete lack of rush considering there are rarely people on this side of Tom Bass. Overall, I'm glad I finally played this course and I'd recommend trying it to anyone in the area if you're looking for a fun...but long game.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/8/2009   7/9/2009
Review By: JAFFY
Played: 12  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Some have complained about the length of the course but about half the holes are b/w 280-360'. It's nice to really unleash but there are enough scattered trees that you can't simply shoot and holler sheet. Really feels like you're playing 3 different courses. Holes, 1, 2, 3, 8, and 18 are all finesse holes. Holes 14, 15, 16 utilize the elevation change similar to Terramont in the Woodlands-with hole 17 going across a creek (albeit dry). The other holes remind me of a longer/less treed version of Moffitt.
Cons: Have to rehash what others say about the baskets not being marked/painted, etc. For the most part, holes 4-11 are in an open pasture with trees that make each hole look identical when you're panning the course trying to spot the basket. I had the map printed from the links/files but I often found myself just unleashing in the direction according to the map but would find myself in spots that I would have avoided if I knew exactly where the basket was. Definitely cost me strokes. The tall grass wasn't as bad as others have reviewed. Of course, this could be with the lack of rain or a recent mow. Only hole that I had issues with was around the basket of #7-b/w knee and waste high.
Other Thoughts: This was my first time playing. I had the map on links/files but it got a bit wrinkled in my bag. Don't play the course without it if you're a first timer. Also, note that #14's basket is on the left side of the hill of the theatre and #15's is the on top of the hill in plain sight. I got the two confused. The wind can pose some throwing problems but it really keeps the mosquitoes at bay. Mowing has caused some major ruts that could twist a few ankles. I really wanted to bump up the rating but soemthing needs to be done about baskets/signs/directions around the course beyond the map.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.