Disc Golf Store
Houston, TX 
Tom Bass Regional Park - Wilmont Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #10 (Taken 4/2012)
3 / 279ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
What Do You Want, Its Houston

2-4    3/12/2013   3/13/2013
Review By: jimjohnmarks
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Yes, this course is mostly about huge distance, but it isn't nearly as boring as Powell (the other course located in this same park) and you don't have to compete with the play ground and picnic users over here.

And unlike many other mostly straight hyzer shot courses around Houston, at least this one offers some challenging distances -- most courses around town are nothing but straight hyzer shots in the 250-350 foot range with no trees.

This course actually does a very good job of working what few trees there are to make use of. #9 isn't "merely" an 800 foot monster, you actually have to pick your line or you're going to spend five throws bouncing off lumber. #14 isn't "merely" an 800 foot monster, you have to curve around a wetlands (if you lose a disc in here, don't even bother violating the signs to try to find it, they seem to vanish into another dimension).

Using the amphitheater hill for #14, #15 and #16 adds a dimension of altitude you can't find on ANY OTHER COURSE IN HOUSTON.
Cons: Unless you are playing the day after the lawn was mowed, you'll not only never get any skip distance, but it can also become very hard to find your disc.

The par ratings here are nonsense. Why ar people so obsessed with "EVERYTHING PAR THREE BRO"?

If #9, #11, #14 are a par three, then #4 and #10 should be par one or par two at most. These links are far too varied to be all par three.

They should re-number the course so that 1, 2 and 3 are actually 16, 17 and 18. It is totally absurd to make the three most nuanced, finesse shots of the whole round be the three you have to throw when you're arm is still ice cold. These are great links and I hate not being able to enjoy them because I know my arm isn't warmed up and I'm probably going to put a disc in the drink.

The very pretty map has #14 labeled totally incorrectly. Lost 15 minutes trying to find the basket once I rounded the wetlands on the left.

#14 IS UP THE SIDE OF THE HILL TO THE LEFT OF #15 WHICH IS AT THE TOP OF THE HILL. It is not out in the open near the fifteen tee.
Other Thoughts: Houston simply doesn't have a lot to offer in terms of terrain. It is a flat, flat, flat place and we've cut down pretty much all the trees. And the problem with this is that Houstonian disc golfers get accustomed to a certain kind of course. When they made Texas Army Trail tight, curving and wooded everyone complained until they shortened, widened and straightened it.

You can't play a course like this and then complain it is nothing but a boring "grip and rip" course unless you've never golfed in Houston. As dull as much of this course is, compared to the rest of Houston's offerings, this one is pretty interesting.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course When Mowed and Maintained

5+    7/22/2012   7/22/2012
Review By: Jefflogix
Played: 29  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.3 Years
Pros: Mix of long holes and some wooded shots, although the longest holes are VERY long. Holes #14, 15, and 16 have elevation changes, using the Ampitheatre hill. Many of the holes require some strategic thinking, due to the openness of the course and the tendency to find a lot of wind, which can shift from different directions, depending on the day. Course markings have improved, since some of the negative reviews here. When it is mowed, I actually prefer this course to Jack Brooks. There are a few hazards, but you are generally not at risk of losing a disc if you play them "safe." Course is generally well marked, but it helps to print out the map from this site, if this is your first time.
Cons: The biggest negative for me is the tall grass and weeds (with barbs and thorns), and having to wade through them on long holes. The second negative is that after a big rain, there is not much good drainage, and so you have a lot of standing water and the tee boxes can get really muddy. It would be much better if this course had nice cement tee boxes, like at Jack Brooks, but this is only really an issue when it is muddy. There are some VERY long holes, so tackling this course can make for a longer than usual hike. Take that into consideration.
Other Thoughts: Just like it's sister course at Tom Bass - Powell, this course would be a great course (probably even better than Powell) IF it were regularly mowed and well maintained and had better drainage and better tee boxes. That said, this is generally the lesser maintained of the two. I generally choose Powell over Wilmont simply because it is so uncomfortable to have your legs eaten up by long weed (not really grass). At least Powell's long grass is generally some form of grass instead of the obnoxious weeds you generally have to walk through at Wilmont. Wilmont has the potential to be a very great course, and it is a blast to play it every once in a while, when it has been mowed.

 Wilmonster

5+    9/27/2011   9/29/2011
Review By: scuddyp4
Played: 32  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 7.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I was really surprised how much I liked this course. Especially after reading some of the reviews on here. There are so many things about this course that I love.
-This course has a good variety of holes.
-The first 3 are slightly wooded (not like Spring Valley or Jack Brooks wooded, but slightly wooded). Which is nice because the rest of the course is pretty open. I love that this course has long holes. I mean like 800' long. This is not something that we find too much of in the area.
-It's great for getting to know your distance drivers a little better. I have gained at least 75 feet on my drives in the last month alone.
-Even on the longer holes there are still a fair amount of trees to contend with, but there are plenty of ways to get to most most baskets.
-Rarely anyone there. I have played this course about 10 times over the past 3 weeks and have seen 3 DGers total. Even on the weekends (Saturday morning at 9:30 am) I didn't see anyone there.
-The holes on the amphitheater are really challenging. Especially 14. The basket for that sits on the side of a hill. Similar to # 8 at the bayou.
-Throwing off the top of the amphitheater on 16 is pretty awesome too. It's a 600' hole that drops about 40' in elevation in the first 75' of the hole.
-There are benches and trashcans in close proximity (some are about 50'-75' away) to all of the boxes.
-The restrooms at the pavilion by the parking lot are pretty nice.
-The course was pretty easy for me to navigate my first time out and I didn't have a map. You will probably have trouble seeing some of the baskets on the longer holes but I think most are visible without having to look too hard.
-Overall I think this course has a lot of pros.
Cons: -Tee boxes. They are natural but that's not really the issue. About half of them have really tall weeds growing around the post, so you may need to throw a little left or right of where the post is. This park is so huge I think they just rarely get weed-eaters in there. The tee area really isn't that bad as far as ruts go. I think this is because this course gets such little traffic.
-For some the lack of other DGers is a con. So I will add that in this section as well.
-Despite the fact that there are trashcans all over the place on this course, there was still a good bit of trash on the first 3 or 4 holes. One you get further into the course it's not a problem.
-No updated map on course. The map that is there is of the old layout I assume. It is not accurate for how the course plays now.
-No tee signs. Most holes will have the distance on the post, but signs usually add a little extra to the course. Overall not a huge deal.
Other Thoughts: I just started playing this course about a month and half ago and have to say that it is one of my new favorite courses in the Houston area. I hesitated playing this course for a very long time because of the negative reviews on here. Those reviews, however, are from a while back. If you haven't played this course before, I would suggest that you give it a shot. Beginners all the way up to advanced will enjoy this course. It's a great course to work on throwing longer. My overall distance has changed pretty dramatically since I started playing here. If you don't play it then I will continue to enjoy it and you will miss out on a great course. Hope to see you out there though!!!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Tom Bass Willmont

5+    7/30/2010   8/5/2010
Review By: whosnext
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is very challenging. The layout is made for pros who can throw 450ft+. This course is not for begginers the reason no one plays this course it is simply too hard for them. It is an excellant course for an advanced player to test his skills. The first 4 holes are birdie holes. The first two play along side a creek, go left and lose your disc. Even though they are birdie holes they are not easy. holes 5 & 6 are long the trees get in your way so you cant just let it rip with out some control. Hole 7 pretty simple straight shot about 350ft. Hole 8 is my favorite. Plays through trees and the basket is about 5 feet away from a 20ft ledge down to the drink. It takes a 325ft shot that wont go left to give you about 100ft approach that if it goes left your wet. Hole 9 Long very hard three even for the pros. Hole 10 short righty birdie. 11 another long hole trees come into play to make it a very hard three. 12 & 13 not much too them. 14 very long very hard 1000ft with wetlands out of bounds on your left the whole way trees on your right makes a long hole very tough to pull off a four. 15 plays up on a hill 50 ft high to make a nice birdie hole difficult because of the elevation change. 16 plays off the top of the hill making the 600+ft hole very parable and nice to watch the disc fly off the top of the hill. 17 350ft with trees to go through 18 plays through thick woods but birdieable. During the 2002 worlds I asked Ken Climo what he thought of the course and he said the Willmont was the only challenging course here.
Cons: Not much shade, lots of bugs plays long. Not much wind block so on a windy day very hard course.
Other Thoughts: Very hard to shoot a 54 even if your a pro. Great place to work on your game. Lots of long approach and long shots that have to have enough control to negotiate the trees. If you have a cannon for an arm this course is for you!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Looooooooooong course

2-4    3/20/2009   5/21/2009
Review By: ChrisMacG
Played: 84  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 7 Years
This review was updated on 5/29/2009
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A super long course that has a variety of challenging holes. For the most part the bordering creek doesn't threaten too many discs. Playing off the amphitheater hill is good fun too. It's the biggest hill in the area.
Cons: The biggest issue with this course is spotting the baskets. Every hole could be made better if someone were just to paint the poles a visible color.

In the fall and winter this course can be very wet, it just doesn't drain well so prepare for wet feet. The course will take you a long way from your car so pack enough to drink.
Other Thoughts: The park is heavily monitored by the police and they'll bust you for bringing beer on the course, or speeding on the roads or having expired tags.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Willy

5+    4/5/2009   3/25/2008
Review By: gcrussell4
Played: 123  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 9.8 Years
This review was updated on 4/8/2009
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Really challenging course. If you shoot around par you earned it. With better upkeep could be one of the top courses in Houston. A variety of shots are needed to be successful, not just the long throw. When the course is kept up, as it is for tournaments, the cons don't really show up quite as much.
Cons: Can be swampy, rarely mowed, with your discs disappearing in the tall grass. This is not the course you want to play if you are just looking to have a relaxing casual round. You have to really want to challenge yourself with a tough, pro difficulty level course or you want have a great time. The wind is usually howling.
Other Thoughts: I really want to just emphasize a few things here. Tom Bass park catches a lot of flak from people because they say it is not worthy of being the home of the Texas State Disc Golf Championships. Most of this negative commentary is due to the fact that others (especially in different regions in Texas) want the TSDGC to move to other places. The negative reviewers on here saying things about how tough to navigate and horrible the course is while giving it the lowest rating possible are (for lack of a better word) haters. Tom Bass is a very good place to play DG and it is an excellent place for a tournament. The tournament experience is added to by the addition of another 18 holes on site which are also very challenging and interesting.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.