Disc Golf Center
Houston, TX 
Tom Bass Regional Park - Wilmont Share
Uploaded By: cad614 Hole #14 (Taken 4/2009)
4 / 800ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Basket



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 Long and Overgrown

8/11/2002   6/5/2008
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 192  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 14.6 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Wilmont DGC is very long and wide open for the most part, with plenty of distance and few obstacles between each hole. The first few holes however, are shorter and more technical through a series of trees, and are easily birdieable. It is here you want to score under, for the rest of the course is much more difficult to par or even birdie. This course is great for practicing drives as well as getting to know how your discs operate in the air. It would be perfect for "big arm" throwers and pros alike.
Cons: This course was difficult to navigate due to the grass being overgrown (higher than my waist). Due to this alone, it was hard to find baskets, tee pads/ tee signs, and especially my discs. I had to have a spotter the entire time once I was out of the first few holes, and felt like for being a champion caliber DGC there should have been a lot more to it.
Other Thoughts: If this course was manicured properly, with tight fairways, clear routes to each tee pad, and perhaps flags on the baskets to show where they were located, the course would be much nicer to look at and play. The distance was somewhat of an issue considering I drive over 350 feet and yet still felt like I was getting nowhere. The course took a lot out me (although that is not necessarily a bad thing), and during the month of August requires a lot of drinking water considering there was little shade, plenty of bugs, and even some snakes. Be sure to wear sunscreen and maybe even bug repellent when playing this course and expect this course to take a few hours.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 A once proud course

5+    3/15/2008   3/26/2008
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 188  Reviewed: 150  Exp: 7.1 Years
This review was updated on 2/16/2009
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Highly visible tee signs. Long course allows you to really air out those discs. Some holes require two full drives to get close to the basket. Zero chance of pedestrian interference. A great course to take your dog; secluded and lots of room to run (per park policy dogs must be leashed).

Has some really nice skill holes like #3 and #18 where a great tee shot will get you a birdie/2... and #8 where you need two great shots to put you in position for your putt at a 3. Hole #16 is a great tee location up on a hill which is a rarity on Houston courses.
Cons:
The biggest knock on Bass is that the fairways and tee boxes and get wet and stay that way for long periods of time. Also, mowing is infrequent and thus the grass can get very tall.

Some people will complain that the course is too long. They're weenies who don't appreciate holes where upshots matter.

The course map at the parking lot is no longer accurate.
Other Thoughts:
Decent parking capacity by hole #1. If that lot is full park by the ampitheater and start on hole #14-#16.

The Wilmont is a great course to test your driving ability. On some holes you stand at the tee box and stare into the "wilderness" trying to see the basket off in the distance. Lots of length on this course, and I really like that for my game at this point in my career.

Was the site for Texas State DG Championships for many years.

In early 2009 the tee signs are being redone with accurate distances. Holes #7 and #12 have been changed because of Hurricane Ike.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Willy

5+    4/5/2009   3/25/2008
Review By: gcrussell4
Played: 123  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 9.8 Years
This review was updated on 4/8/2009
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Really challenging course. If you shoot around par you earned it. With better upkeep could be one of the top courses in Houston. A variety of shots are needed to be successful, not just the long throw. When the course is kept up, as it is for tournaments, the cons don't really show up quite as much.
Cons: Can be swampy, rarely mowed, with your discs disappearing in the tall grass. This is not the course you want to play if you are just looking to have a relaxing casual round. You have to really want to challenge yourself with a tough, pro difficulty level course or you want have a great time. The wind is usually howling.
Other Thoughts: I really want to just emphasize a few things here. Tom Bass park catches a lot of flak from people because they say it is not worthy of being the home of the Texas State Disc Golf Championships. Most of this negative commentary is due to the fact that others (especially in different regions in Texas) want the TSDGC to move to other places. The negative reviewers on here saying things about how tough to navigate and horrible the course is while giving it the lowest rating possible are (for lack of a better word) haters. Tom Bass is a very good place to play DG and it is an excellent place for a tournament. The tournament experience is added to by the addition of another 18 holes on site which are also very challenging and interesting.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Wilmont

7/18/2007   1/25/2008
Review By: ferretdance03
Played: 74  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 9.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a good place to work on your long drives. Fairly decent tees, with ample room for driving. Very pretty surroundings, with no real danger of pedestrian interference.
Other Thoughts: We had a hard time finding the course(s) because of the shear size of Tom Bass Park. The disc golf courses seem to be long just for the sake of being long, with no real challenge except for length. Many holes were on the verge of unplayable due to overgrowth, and most of the fairways were grown up to waist height.
I have heard rumor of bass swimming down the middle of the fairway due to poor drainage, and after walking in knee deep rain water, I believe it!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.