Disc Golf Store
Carson, CA 
Private Anderson Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #5
3 / 140ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
This Course Is Tired! But Entertaining!

1    6/25/2014   7/14/2014
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 682  Reviewed: 634  Exp: 36.3 Years
Pros: Private Anderson Park is a kind of a pretty little city park with plenty of trees and obstacles to make the short little 9 hole course entertaining. It's a fun little beginner course as the holes although short (average length is maybe 160') all offer something to make them slightly interesting whether it's some elevation change, interesting lines through the trees, over signs, around buildings and unfortunately too often, around other park users.
There are no tee pads. Sometimes you're teeing off the sidewalk, other times just next to the signs. The signs are mostly faded although some lettering has been replaced. The baskets are older DGA models (from the 80's I read). Two are sagging and two are leaning. Some are double chain, some are single chain, all are old!
Cons: Tee pads are non-existent or know only to the locals.
Baskets are a combination of old, bent and sagging.
Tee signs are mostly bleached out and hard to read. # 3 is AWOL.
Course would be much more difficult to play at peak hours.
# 4 plays along busy street (Wilmington).
Other Thoughts: In spite of it's shortcomings, Private Anderson is an enjoyable, little throw. It's a great beginner course. Combine it with Mills, less than 2 miles away, for a quick easy no brain, no strain 18.
The locals have designed and play their own longer "Pro' 18 hole course. I was lucky to find my way around the original nine.

 work on your short game

1    7/10/2010   4/20/2011
Review By: Mateo227
Played: 19  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 15.8 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: it has baskets, a parking lot
good place to bring beginners unless they have a tendency to throw discs towards people that are not in the way

Cons: park is small and crowded with people
no lights


Other Thoughts: Leave all your drivers at home because this course is so short and only good for putting practice.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Another short easy 9

1    8/16/2010   8/30/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 754  Exp: 12.5 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays through a nice little city park with well kept grass and scattered mature trees. A couple holes play through enough trees that there is a low ceiling to contend with, making them a little tougher. There are some minor elevation changes in the park, and they're used well to add some interest to the course. There are basic tee signs with hole layout and distance, along with direction to the next tee. The course is easy to follow for the most part.
Cons: This is a crowded little park, and most of the holes play right through other park uses. Almost every shot brings picnic areas and the walking path into play, and on a nice day this can be a real issue. A couple holes also play pretty close to a busy street, adding some safety issues. The tees are either on the sidewalks or grass next to the signs, and so offer inconsistent footing. A few of the grass tees are not level. The course is really not very challenging, with short straightforward holes.
Other Thoughts: This is a nice course to take a beginner to, it's got some different hole shapes and isn't very long or punishing. The only issue with it being a beginner friendly course is that less accurate players are even more likely to have conflicts with other park users. More experienced players won't find any real challenge here, and there's just not enough interest to keep better players coming back. There are some long tees marked that look like they're a little more interesting, but many have even more picnic areas to contend with.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  Anderson Park Carson,CA

5+    2/7/2010   2/8/2010
Review By: blok1027
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: All holes have signs, All holes have longer tees, some evaluation changes, trees and OB walkways make it a lil more fun.Bathrooms and Parking is good
Cons: Baskets are old Mach 3's from the 1980's, but they work...Crowded on the weekends with soccer players..but they'll move if asked nicely...Short course, even with the longer tees, i played 18 holes ( 9 twice ) and finished -15
Other Thoughts: I thought the locals did a good job with the longer tee pads...they are all marked with white paint. Hole 1Tee Long is on the sidewalk 50 feet behind original hole 1 tee.Hole 2 tee long is marked right in front of a handicap parking spot in the lot. Hole 3 long tee is 30 feet right of hole 2's basket.Long hole 4 tee is on sidewalk of Wilmington Ave behind original hole 3 tee.Hole 5 is also on Wilmington Ave just left of hole 4 basket. Hole 6 long tee is marked by a picnic area just north of hole 5 basket. Hole 7 long tee pad is between the tennis courts.Hole 8 long tee is behind (south) of hole 7's basket, and hole 9 is 30 feet north of hole 8's basket on the sidewalk directly behind the basketball hoop...i thought this course was somewhat fun, it's close by, and conveinant. Great for beginners. Cakewalk for the average player

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    12/28/2009   12/28/2009
Review By: Danger
Played: 87  Reviewed: 70  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/23/2010
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Clear signs at each tee, which indicate distance and, any OB's, and 'next tee' location.
-The park is filled with random 'things to do,' and course plays very nicely around them.
-Great use of available elevation and obstacles
-Typical small park layout that is easy to follow.
-Loops back to make multiple rounds painless.
-Plays great as a 'back 9' to Mills Park. I only say 'back' because this course proved to be more interesting than Mills.
-Lights!!! We all love lights!
Cons: -Tee pads were not obvious, we found ourselves sometimes teeing off from the grass near the sign.
-Short holes that look like they could have very easily been designed to be a little longer if they wanted to. May be for safety.
Other Thoughts: Course starts at NE corner of the park near the large 'community' building, or whatever goes on in there.
Had no navigation issues as the course follows a typical clockwise route around the park. As stated before, hole 6 is a little bit of a walk around the tennis courts. Had no problem finding it.
Official distances do not indicate any holes over 200 feet, however simply walking further back from most tees will allow you to make it as long as you want to.
Many people have been mentioning tee pads being indicated on sidewalks or pathways, but we saw none. Zero. I suspect that all of them have been removed, which required us to throw from the grass nearest to the tee. I like to know that I am playing the hole 'officially' just in case anything cool happens, so that was kind of a bummer.
Privacy is at a minimum here as it is surrounded on 3 sides by streets and has a ton of different park activities going on (exercise equipment, tennis, playgrounds, bbq's, benches, more exercise equipment). The bathroom at hole 6 required you to get a 'key from staff,' wherever they are, so in other words, it was locked.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Fun, technical nine-holer

2-4    12/16/2009   12/16/2009
Review By: Apothecary
Played: 66  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 17.3 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Quiet setting. The park was pretty deserted the few times I've played it
-Interesting course design. Elevation changes, small, peaky hills and many trees to navigate around make every hole at Anderson interesting and unique.
-Old school baskets all present, accounted for and in great shape.
-Clear signage for most holes. A few signs were bleached, but it was clear which pin to throw at.
-Many opportunities for aces, if that's your thing
-Most holes have room for an alternate, deeper tee
-Very clean and well-groomed
-Plenty of parking
Cons: -Some of the holes are right on Wilmington. A truck snuck up on me at one point and about blew me over.
-Minor course flow issues. Tees for 6 and 7 take a bit of looking around to find, but you shouldn't have much trouble. Every tee has a sign, so just look for those. ;)
Other Thoughts: One of the better 9-hole courses I have played. Moderate elevation changes and lots of trees make for a nice round of golf during your lunch break or just when passing through (its about a mile North of the 405, a major SoCal thoroughfare). In addition, it is almost within spitting distance from Mills Park, another fun 9 holes. We play the two back to back and it makes for a good, short 18 hole trek. Anderson is the superior of thee two, if you have to pick one.
While it is a little bit on the short side for my personal tastes, the technical nature of the course design makes it rewarding. If you like a course that can be played with just a putter or a mid, this is the place for you!

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Short and fun

2-4    11/12/2009   11/12/2009
Review By: ibgollie
Played: 59  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 9.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Old school DGA baskets, I think they might be the original design. Makes you glad they came out with the Mach III, but at the same time it feels kind of nostalgic on these baskets.

A surprising amount of elevation and fun technical shots. It's a birdie course, but you have to make a good shot to get the bird, some str8 ace runs too. Finding my way around was not that hard and was able to play 27 holes pretty fast.

Locals have painted some extra tee boxes that trick up the layout and I could see this course keeping you interest since I think there are 3 different layouts judging by the paint markings.

Really nice clean park, with lots of things to do for non-golfers like Bball, tennis, play ground and they have slightly banked paths that would be fun to long board or roller blade on.
Cons: The old baskets don't catch very well, and it's kind of got some back and forth layout, but it's not the worst I've seen by any means.
Other Thoughts: With the combination of this a Mills Park around the corner these are two fun 9 holers to go mess around at. It was perfect for me to go play because I had recently injured my back and couldn't throw hard, so playing at this and Mills was fun because you just have to throw on-line, not far. Like when I aced hole 9 on my last round!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Short, Lil Course

2-4    3/9/2009   7/9/2009
Review By: pokamitch
Played: 30  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 28.5 Years
This review was updated on 2/24/2010
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice chains. Beautiful park. Some mature trees. Longer tee placements to give it a lil more challenge. all the tees are on concrete paths

Never crowded during weekdays. Trash cans around to help try and keep it clean. Restrooms available

One thing I will always say about these lil neighborhood 9'rs they can make some awesome guerilla courses. So the potential for some good fun is always there
Cons: Just way too short. Can get crowded on the weekend
Other Thoughts: Just a short, lil course. Not a lot to say, except it will get the job done when you need a fix. Only played it twice because El Do is so close, you don't need to go here

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 I salute pfc James Anderson

1    1/18/2009   1/18/2009
Review By: bigrocc01
Played: 83  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 18.7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Easy to follow. Quiet, nice park.Interesting looking trees in the park.Only 2 miles from 405. Some tight windows with OB's, accuracy with a putter is key.
Cons: 2 too many hyser mid-range putts.
Other Thoughts: This is a nice little pitch and putt with room for locals to extend holes during monthly tourny play

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Pvt. Anderson Park Carson, CA

5+    12/15/2008   12/15/2008
Review By: stevoe70
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.1 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very clean park with plenty of cement walkways that run alongside every hole. Walkways are considered OB making it more challenging. Also you can easily convert this to a longer course simply by teeing off further away using the walkways as tee pads. This park has alot of trees, poles, benches, and other obstacles, making it easy to create new hole approaches. My buddy and I are planning to add 9 more approaches to be able to play 18 different shots. Lights make it easy for night play, which I have taken advantage of on a regular basis. Some uphill and downhill shots make it interesting. Plenty of parking, and hole 1 tees off next to the parking lot. The grass is very well kept and trimmed, making for great skip shots.
Cons: During the weekends it can get pretty crowded with picnickers who may get in the way.
The park is rather small, so it can only accomadate the 9 holes that it has. I don't know why, but once and a while on certain nights, the lights are not on. May have been because of a holiday, and the staff was not there.
Other Thoughts: Hole number one plays about 150 ft. downhill, and you have to either hyzer or anhyzer around a big tree. OB walkway to the left, walkway behind the basket, and basketball court to the right. Hole number two plays about 170 ft., tee off from the side of the basketball court next to the bleachers. The hole sits on top of a small hill with trees to the right and left, and OB walkway in front, and to the left. Hole number 3 plays near Wilmington Avenue about 210 ft., flat, with trees, poles, sign to the left, and trees, and picnic tables to the right. And then to make things more interesting, a cement walkway OB to the left of the hole running almost parallel to your throw line, and OB walkway right behind the hole. Hole number 4 plays right alongside Wilmington Avenue about 170 ft. with trees to the right and left, and an OB walkway that runs alongside the right of the hole parallel to your throw line. Hole number 5 plays from the South East corner of the park alongside Wilmington Avenue about 190 ft. The hole is at the end of a short tunneled arrangement of trees, but the approach is from the left, so you have hyzer towards the basket, or anhyzer to the left and risk OB alongside the street and sidewalk. The park just installed a separate basket for hole number 6, so 6 and 7 no longer share a basket. Hole 6 tees off from a cement walkway and is about 170 ft. Trees are scattered directly in front of the basket for a straight shot, OB walkway to the left which leads up to the basket and curves in front of the basket and to the right, and more trees to the left of the walkway. Hole plays on a slight gradual uphill. Hole number 7 tees off from the walkway in between the tennis courts. This hole plays about 190ft. and plays uphill. There is a patch of grass right in front of the tee area with a cement OB in front of the grass patch, a big tree to the left, bathrooms to the right, in bound grass area continues in front of the cement OB, and then more small trees directly in front of the hole. This hole is like throwing through a horizontal slot. If you throw too low, you hit the hill, if you throw too high you hit the overhanging trees. If you do hit the overhanging tree, your disc may land on top of the bathroom roof. If that happens, simply go to the soda machine, and it has some ladder like horizontal bars in front of it that make it a perfect ladder to get on the roof :) Hole number 8 plays about 170 ft. on a very slight uphill, has trees to the left and right, an OB walkway that sits right in front of the hole that curves in front and to the left of the hole. OB basketball court area also a small distance behind the hole. Hole number 9 is about 130 ft. and is flat. It has various small trees scattered to the right, and a tree right in front of the hole blocking it from a straight shot. OB walkway to the left, and OB basketball court to the right. Like I mentioned in the Pros section, you can easily extend each hole to play longer by simply using the walkways. We play each hole from 200-300ft.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.