California, MO 
Proctor Lake Park Share
Uploaded By: sschroeter2014 Hole #3 (Taken 1/2011)
3 / 288ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee Sign



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Close to playing in botanical garden

1    9/27/2011   9/27/2011
Review By: KCVinnie
Played: 51  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4 Years
Pros: - Very well maintained.
- Nice area.
- Couldn't believe the work put into large flower gardens in the middle of the course. Beautiful tree rows on certain holes.
- Perfect for beginners.
Cons: - Not the most challenging.
- Only 9 holes.
- Didn't notice any alternate pads or pins.
Other Thoughts: If I lived nearby, I could see taking my family to this park often.

  The little gem that could

5+    8/16/2010   8/16/2010
Review By: napstrpsx
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Beautiful and well maintained
2) Great use of the park's space, good variety for the size
3) Helpful graphic signs for each tee
4) Concrete tees
5) Ideal place for beginners and intermediate players
Cons: 1) Few spots where you need to make sure pedestrians are not approaching on trail (not particularly common)
2) Sometimes field is unmowed to the right of Holes 2 & 4, making it difficult to find stray discs
3) Only 9 holes
4) Course may not be stimulating enough for expert players
Other Thoughts: I have now played at 5 courses total in Missouri (California, Jefferson City, Oak Grove in Springfield, Lion's Club and Ber Juan in Rolla) and Proctor Lake in California, MO remains my favorite.

Whether or not you will enjoy California is largely subjective. If you prefer a more open, less hardcore DGC then you will love California. If you prefer heavily wooded courses with tight fairways you will get little of that here. That's not to say that there's no challenge, there are great mild and moderate obstacles around and a few of the holes allow long-bomb drivers to shine. If you want to up the challenge, a common practice here is to play all holes as par 3. (If you play by the signs, all are par 4's with the exception of holes 3 and 8) I do miss the trees that got cut down a couple of years ago, they added some nice challenge to holes 2, 3, and 5. Some were removed due to fragility and replanted, the ones on 5 were removed because wasps were starting to nest there.

One big plus about Proctor is that it is beautiful and well-maintained. The grass is always mowed, there are lots of flowers and beautiful trees, as well as a lake in the middle of the park and a stream running through holes 4 and 7.

If you want to just get some fresh air and relax, or are looking for a solid place for a newer player, look no further.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Very pretty park

1    6/21/2010   6/21/2010
Review By: FriedOkra
Played: 144  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.9 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful park setting. Concrete Tees, well marked course. Good use of existing trees as obstacles and it appears that some new trees have also been planted on a couple of holes.
Cons: A couple of holes are wide open with few obstacles. Wish there were 18 holes in this very nice park.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice little course

1    12/4/2008   10/20/2008
Review By: discinvan
Played: 26  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 12/4/2008
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well maintained, Easy to Navigate with good tee signs. This is a short Technical course using the elevation changes in the land to add a challenge.
Cons: Some parts of the course play fairly close to pedestrians. But not a major problem.
Other Thoughts: I was surprised by the design and layout of this course. I did not expect this nice of a course in such a small town.
Update: I played this course again and found on a few holes (2, 5. and 7) they cut down most of the trees that gave this course its technical challenge. The chalenge is still there on some of the holes but on a 9 hole course this changes the whole feel of the course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.