Disc Golf Store
Moline, IL 
Prospect Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #17
4 / 271ft.   4 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
  first time today and def on my play again list

1    7/8/2011   7/8/2011
Review By: bennyboo212
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: signs and a map, nice tee pads and a good mix of wood and non wood areas
Cons: a couple of longer holes would be nice and #18 should def not be a par 5, a 4 maybe 3 perfect
Other Thoughts: awesome course would be perfect for a group to have a nice relaxing round with just enough to make a little challange

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Average course for Q.C., above average anywhere else

1    8/30/2010   10/30/2010
Review By: harr0140
Played: 715  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.6 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) This is a really fun course to play. There is so much variety, there are short tight wooded holes, there are longer open holes, there are plenty of large mature trees to knock your disc down.

2) These are some of the biggest concrete tees I have played on and they are grooved which really helps with slipperiness. Theu have just enough bite to plant your foot, but you can still spin out without breaking an ankle.

3) There is a nice entrance sign to the park showing the layout of the park and course.

4) The tee signs ont his course are absolutely golf course quality. They show the fairway, the basket locations and also the surrounding obstacles. It shows the Hole #, the distance and the wonderful diagram. It also has a seperate sponsor sign underneat the tee sign.

5) Benches and garbage are available in multiple places on this course and that is appreciated because it is a tough walk with some large hills to go up and down.

6) No profanity sign is visible . . . gotta love Iowa (oh wait this is Illinois). Must have been complaints from the homeowners right next to the course as it was also apparent those homeowners did not want disc golfers ont heir property whatsoever. Maybe Wareagle lived here and he runs out grabs your disc and sells it on ebay.

7) Elevation on this course is used very well. There are some big up hillers, some big downhillers, and plenty of sidehill shots. I love the variety on this course period.

8) Disc golf seems to be removed from most other activities except the walking trails.
Cons: 1) Safety seems to be an issue on this course as you throw perilously close to a couple areas where people park (like #13 and #18). There are walkpaths all throughout this course and seem to be a popular place for people to do their midday walks. The paths wind throught he course and are all over!

2) Erosion and compaction seem to be a big problem here especially around the teepads. Perhaps they didn't ever repair the turf around the concrete pads and the erosion simply continues, because the pads are big enough that the erosion and compaction shouldn't be as big of an issue as it seems to be here. Although I suppose the ground here probably isn't the healthiest, since it is virtually the Mississippi bluffs.

3) This course is a tough walk. Not really a negative for me because it is awesome disc golf but many people would not enjoy the ups and downs here. Not only are a couple severe but they also seem to be safety issues with thin turf and slippery slopes.

4) Not really a beginner friendly course because it presents a challenge on every shot basically. There isn't really a single simple hole where a bad shot cannot turn really bad.

5) Variety of hole distances is a little lacking. Although there are a couple longer holes, 14 holes are all virtually the same distance. The hills help to make a few holes longer or shorter than they are listed.
Other Thoughts: This is a pretty solid course. Maintenance seems to be a little lackluster because the erosion and compaction seem to be the biggest issue and not much seems to be done about this. The turf was mowed and some of it would be tough to mow.

There was some sort of old time band wamring up in the main pavilion when I was here so it seemed to me that this is one active park.

This is a well designed course in an awesome disc golf area. The Quad Cities certainly surprised me with how great their courses were. It underwhelmed when compared to West lake and Camdens, but still was an above average course. It is is a great course with great variety, and was fun to play. I will be back if I am in the area.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Intermediate

1    10/23/2010   10/28/2010
Review By: notapro
Played: 414  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 11.1 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a public park with tons of other activities for other park users. For the most part, the disc golf is far enough away from the lake and pavilions and such where it is not a big deal.
- This park is nothing but hills. Almost every single hole, start to finish, uses the rolling hills to make things tough. This includes shots straight up and down hills, up the sides of hills, and the horrendously sloping greens at the end. There are some very, very fast greens, seemingly more vertical than flat at some parts. A few holes have major slopes directly behind the basket, in addition to left or right.
- Good use of mature trees in a lot of spots to take away easy routes. This, in combination with controlling the landing spot (and disc angle at contact with the ground), makes for some very tough line shaping. What I mean is, it can be easy to avoid the trees, it can be easy to choose a landing zone, but doing both can be very tricky.
- A small forest in one section of the park definitely helps to mix things up. Much tighter lines to hit, still with some good elevation changes. Having a straight shot is key above anything else, however you can do it.
- Excellent teepads, baskets, and tee signs. Some really nice stonework around a couple of the teepads in particular. Overall, park is maintained very nicely. Navigation is pretty easy without any help.
Cons: - While the course has fantastic elevation changes, the overall length of the holes are on the shorter side. There are a few where a strong putter shot will zoom right past the basket. This is a great challenge of touch, but it is sad that are only a few spots to really bomb with the elevation. Just personal preference, really, some might enjoy the shorter hole lengths with the hazardous slopes.
- A few holes are very close to the road or walking path; especially at the base of many hills. Could be possible conflict between discs and park users/pedestrians/passing vehicles.
Other Thoughts: - This course is a clinic in accuracy, especially in terms of distance and even the flight path of the disc. Controlling where, and how, the disc lands is absolutely crucial to stay put on the steep slopes. This carries over to the putting game as well; many times laying up is the only smart option. Combine those two things together, and scoring well can be a major challenge. Some easier holes, and some longer holes, are sprinkled in to keep things interesting; a good overall variety of woods, trees, and some more open holes.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Sidways

1    9/12/2010   9/17/2010
Review By: lazy42
Played: 40  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 5.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Absolutely beautiful park. You can tell the city spends some $$ here. Small "lake" (pond), couple of other structures, ball field, basketball courts, small playground, and a walking path. Nice helpful tee signs. Benches here and there to sit down and rest. Trash cans located around park. Clean, really clean and well maintained. Really looks like somebody takes good care of this park.

Big tee pads. Lots of elevation, which in some way is present on every hole. If you're not throwing up, down, or over elevation changes, your pin is located on the side of a hill, making your short game very challenging. Epic view of the river valley walking towards the pin on 15.
Cons: Location of park? As great as this park is, the park does seem to be surrounded by houses, and from the No Trespassing signs, it looks like they don't appreciate discs in their yards. I don't fault them, if a disc hit my house (have to be a bad throw or very windy day) or landed in my yard and somebody was rummaging around my yard looking for something, I'd be irked too.

Walking path runs through park and in and along fairways. Doesn't bother me, but a few are blind and you can't see if somebody is coming. Just be careful. Park bench located on the fairway of 8 if you throw left to right, a right to left throw shouldn't be an issue unless you hit a tree or release early.

A few of the fairways are close in proximity to the others, so a few times you should be aware that discs could be coming at you, or your discs towards somebody else.
Other Thoughts: Love hole 4, elevated tee box throwing over a low area in park then back up to the basket, nice view too. The side hill holes make shot selection critical. If your disc fades with the slope of the hill, you're going to be much further away from the pin than you want to be. I found myself using a lot of RHFH shots vs just sticking to my RHBH shots, to make the disc bite into the hills, which worked OK, but I am not nearly as confident with FH shots as I am with BH. This course will definitely make you want to practice you putting from above and below the pin, as that's where most of my strokes went. Overall fun level was good, but I could see where the side hills could be frustrating to some.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 YES...

1    7/28/2010   8/1/2010
Review By: bygwyllay
Played: 85  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 7.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: One of the last courses I had yet to play in the QC area, and it did not disappoint. Great hills, nice pin placement. A very concise layout in a smaller park. Loved the bomb off of #4 and #10. Signage up and concrete tees for every hole. Most holes are under a canopy of aged trees. I enjoyed the front nine better than the back. #3 had you firing out of the woods into the park and #5 sent you shooting back in. Nice effect.
Cons: This course is very challenging and can become frustrating by the end. It can be fairly muddy after rain (or floods, as when I played). #6 has the roughest terrain as you are pretty much throwing through the woods. There are one or two narrow paths to go through, but no real "fairway." A few of the baskets are literally stuck on the side of a hill so it's difficult to land an approach shot near to the pin, which is annoying. On a lot of holes I had par ops turn into double bogeys because of this. You must be on your best short game to maximize your round.
Other Thoughts: Another great course in the Quad Cities. Better than Devil's Glen, Worse than Middle Park. I rated it the same as Eastern Ave. Although these two are completely different-looking courses I would play them both an equal # of times. Why can't MI have courses like these?? Salud.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Prospect Respect

5+    5/26/2010   5/27/2010
Review By: Ukeubuuke
Played: 25  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great variety of holes traveling in and out of mature wooded areas.
-A fun and challenging course for beginner and advanced.
-Greens on #1, #3, #5, #7, #8, #9, #11, #13, #14, #15, and #18 (get the picture?) play along hills and are challenging.
-Good mix of distances. Not all of the holes require big arms and not all the holes driving with a putter.
-Signs are clearly understood.
-Park is well kept.
-Local shop (Iron Lion DGS) just down the road. www.ironliondgs.com
-Beautiful ravine and pond landscaping with lodge and gazebo.
Cons: -After rain this park can be difficult to navigate due to some very marshy and muddy areas.
-Hole #9 is way to marshy to ever be a fun hole. It has a great distance (500'+), but if you plant it on the fairways you will be standing in mush.
-Can be busy with walkers, dogs, fishers, which is a problem due to many of the holes fairways intersecting with paths and benches. (I did hit a gentlemen on a bench on hole #8)
-Parking for by hole #1 is hard to get to if you've never been to Prospect Park. And the parking lot is small and easily fills on a nice day.
-Brush around the green on hole #16 is out of control. If you throw a disc in that brush you very well may loose it.
Other Thoughts: A wonderful local course for me, living in Moline. I have had a lot of fun learning the game on this course. The two things keeping me from giving Prospect a 4 is hole #9's swampy-ness and the cross traffic of pedestrians (not annoying, just dangerous). I completely recommend making a stop here if you're coming in from out of town. Remember stop by Iron Lion (www.ironliondgs.com ) to pick up some discs and talk to Chase.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice, challenging course

5+    3/14/2010   5/10/2010
Review By: chelseahawk3
Played: 28  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 12.2 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course offers a wide variety of holes. There are uphill, downhill, tight, open, long, short, and everything in between. Has decent tees and pins. Also has decent, simple signs, Has some very challenging holes, but is still easy enough to enjoy.
Cons: Can be rather muddy on some holes. Some of the signs were very crude and not helpful. Previous experience is helpful when playing this course.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is a very nice course. It is marked well and is surrounded by park walkways and a nice pond. This course could be played by any level and should be enjoyed by most of them. Probably one of the best courses in the Quad Cities area.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Prospect Park

1    9/17/2008   1/16/2010
Review By: #19325
Played: 315  Reviewed: 168  Exp: 13.2 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This a nice park with some big hills. There are a lot of trees with several wooded areas. With only 23 acres to work with this is a very good 18 hole course.

Just like the other Quad Cities courses this one has nice cement tee pads, baskets, and excellent tee signs.

Almost every hole plays up, down, along, or across a hill. It makes putting difficult as many grees are sloped.

There is an excellent variety of shots on this course. Large mature trees are utilized along with elevation add to the challenge. There are a few holes with tighter thicker woods.

This is a nice par 54 course that is good for beginners but also fun for more skilled players.

There are some very memorable holes on this course and there is quite a bit of "fun" factor.
Cons: If the park was bigger this would be a championship level course. It just lacks the room to add distance.
Other Thoughts: Go to Iron Lion Disc Golf Store. It's not very far from this course.
http://www.ironliondgs.com

The Quad Cities has some very good disc golf. Plan a vacation here and play as many course as you can. You will not be disappointed.

Check out my Illinois Top 10.
http://discontinuum.org/index...1486.msg68704#msg68704

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Sporty Shorty Fun

1    6/21/2009   6/24/2009
Review By: Donovan
Played: 212  Reviewed: 185  Exp: 27.4 Years
6 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course has many really cool holes. This was very challenging and asks for many different kinds of shots. The designer used the land to make some really memorable holes. It has open holes, wooded holes, and elevation galore. There were lots of trashcans and great tee signs. The cement tees were a good size.
Cons: The par settings are set for kids and new players for sure. The 5's should be 4's and 4's should be 3's. Take a map to for your first time. Parking was crazy on a Sunday. This course has many holes that have the fairways built along the sides of the hills. This is not something that is friendly to your feet or shoes.
Other Thoughts: The cool holes boosted the fun factor for me as the side slopes killed it. This is a course I would play again as I did enjoy enough parts of it. There are lots of people at this park so, play safe.

6 of 10 people found this review helpful.

  hills

2-4    5/1/2009   5/3/2009
Review By: Dan Schimpf
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Hills, Hills, Hills! very pleasant and clean, challenging and it was in a safe area
Cons: Hills, Hill,Hills ! There are hills on all most every hole Not for beginners watch out for some poison Ivy
Other Thoughts: It was a fun course and very challenging I recommend going if you are experienced, Just remember to keep your cool. and hole NINE is a killer after a few rainy days! But go and have fun!

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.