Moline, IL 
Prospect Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #16
5 / 436ft.   5 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
One of my fav spots

5+    9/28/2014   10/2/2014
Review By: Tomahawk Cook
Played: 18  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Very good mix of shots needed to score well, backhand, flicks, tomahawks are all called for on certain holes if you're going to deuce

-There are a solid mix of lengths as well, some holes are smack in front of you with no obstacles while others are 500ft away with woods lining one side of the hole

-Great deuce opportunities, especially on the front 9, mixed with some holes on the back 9 where you're happy to have scored a 3

-Scenic park, nice pond, pavilion, gazebos, walking paths

-There are walkers, but typically not overcrowded or leaving disc players waiting to shoot for the pedestrians to get out of the way

-Nice teepads, all cement, fairly sized so no issues with length or width when driving

-I'd say two really feasible ace opportunities (Holes 4, 7). Holes 2, 3, 4, 6, 7, 10, 17, 18 are all ace-runs without needing an insanely good shot.

-Challenging elevation changes on some holes make for unique shots. A few times you're shooting downhill (holes 4, 11, 13, 17) and a few of times you're shooting uphill (holes 1, 6, 8, 14). Makes for some interesting elevation putts as well

-Good sign out front of hole 1 for visitors to take a picture of before they play so they don't get too lost

-course holds up fairly well to bad weather. You'll only have problems traveling on holes 3, 4, and 5 after significant precipitation
Cons: -This is not a beginner friendly course. It's not insanely hard but there are too many hills / valleys / trees for a new player to not hold up the group while playing. If you bring a beginner, only play holes 1-13

-Can be congested with a lot of groups playing at peak times, it's a popular course and area

-Holes 9 through 13 have some overlap on them, sharing some hill and trees, just be careful of the groups around you during this portion of the course

-There are a few danger spots to lose your disc (even when you had a good/decent shot), these are specifically at:

Hole 6 in the woods - it will roll down the hill into the creek

Hole 8 - the blind shot over the hill can roll all the way down to the parking lot, or get lost in the woods to the left

Hole15 - you're throwing parallel to the building, most common shot is a forehand flick, if it hits the hill short and hard it will fly straight down the hill and into the pond

16 - dense growth before the hole, obvious when you see it

17 - same dense growth as hole 16, but you also have a forest to your left if you throw too much hyzer
Other Thoughts: This is a great place to play at. Whether it be for a practice round or a full-blown tournament, Prospect won't let you down. Don't be entirely surprised when you lose a disc if you've never played here before. This course works well for a multiple course, multiple round disc day as well, as there are about 8 other disc golf courses within 30mins of Prospect. Camden I and Camden II are only about 10-15mins away from Prospect Park. Playing all three of these make for a great combination.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Wacky, Awesome Course

1    3/12/2012   3/14/2012
Review By: Jashwa
Played: 101  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 10.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I have never played a disc golf course quite like this one... as the title indicates, it was unique and had a lot of really fun traits that made for a great round!

*Though I've played courses with significant elevation changes, this course made extremely interesting use of the hilly terrain it was given. I found myself being forced to throw shots that i didn't even realize i was capable of!

*Lots of disctance variety! Deuce opportunities are out there, mixed with some HUGE BOMBS.

*Though there are lots of trees on the course, this one isn't really "wooded," so you'll be presented with challenging lines, and an errant shot will likely cost you, but you won't be digging your way through thornes and branches.

*

*Great park! Well maintained and very scenic with lots to do (this is also listed as a con for a few reasons)
Cons: *Hole 7 was weird... the sign said that the hole was 282 feet into the woods, but the actual pin was located about 100 directly in front of the teepad. I'm assuming that the sign was/is at one point correct, but at its current location, this hole is one of the only things holding this course back. It doesn't have a place on any disc golf course anywhere... i hope they fix it.

*Though it is a nice park, this course makes no real effort to isolate itself from the other things going on here... comes off as very congested.
Other Thoughts: I highly recommend this course for its uniqueness. Though it's not as epic as some of the Quad City courses, it will be unlike any course you've played before.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/10/2011   7/22/2011
Review By: Rentadot
Played: 51  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 5.4 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Excellently maintained, well marked tees & baskets, difficult shots on all types of terrain - I especially enjoyed (was frustrated by) the lateral sloping holes
Cons: Path from basket 5 to tee 6 could be better marked - I lost track of the fact that 6 was behind 3 and therefore skipped 6 & 7.
Other Thoughts: One of the best courses I played in a 2-week marathon while on a business trip

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Often Played But Never Disappointed

5+    9/15/2010   9/16/2010
Review By: Kung Fu Jon
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Great variety of terrain without any real water hazards
-Most holes allow for a good, if not full out, drives and many end with a challenging pin locations
-Intelligent layout that spreads the pins out across the park
Cons: Hole # 6 is in pretty deep woods without a lot of undergrowth. Requires a close eye on your disc.
-Hole #14 has a blind through over some rough, which wouldn't be bad, except for a large tree that's difficult to play around.
-Hole # 16 has some dense rough that needs to be played over
Other Thoughts: During the summer time, I probably play this course once or twice a week for two years and I still get excited to play there every time.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  One of the best in the area

1    7/26/2009   8/3/2009
Review By: swahhyo
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.5 Years
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Hills are good if you are looking for weight loss. Lots of trash cans. Just plain pretty. One of the best courses within 20 mi.
Cons: Hills
Other Thoughts: Bring lots of discs for hole 4. It's fun to try and get a hole in one.

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing Course

5+    10/22/2006   4/22/2009
Review By: djmcgaffey
Played: 11  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 10 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Very Challenging with a wide varity of holes from playing through woods to having to play over water. Not a starter course at all.
Cons: Very Hilly but that adds to the challenge of the course.
Other Thoughts: I would highly recomend this course to anyone who has played for at least one summer. Could be a bit frustrating to a beginner.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center