Somerset, KY 
Pulaski County Park (Bottom) Share



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Troll's Review

2-4    6/10/2013   10/5/2013
Review By: Eric troll Biscuits
Played: 31  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 26.3 Years
Pros: lots of variety with the lay out
hills, elevation change woods, some open shots..
easy to follow too, never got lost....
Didn't seem crowded at all
shooting under 54 is possible
has another 18 hole course on the other side
Cons: Its a little rough around the edges, KY rough is ruff.
its rocky in a lot of spots, so stay in the fairway
Other Thoughts: it can use an update, on equipment, signage, and some clearing in rough

 Sweet

2-4    4/16/2011   10/11/2012
Review By: chainbang
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.9 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Awesome course. Lots of variation in hole layout. Plays back and forth across a gully so lots of elevation. Wooded sections tight but fun
Cons: Lots of trash. A little overgrown in places.
Other Thoughts: Had a blast playing here. Can't wait to play here again.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 clean it up

5+    11/4/2011   1/21/2012
Review By: DRUMROOSTER
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Course ahas been there since 81.spent many a good day there way back befor ethey started changing it up
Cons: hard to read some pole holes,,no trash cans..need flags on some holes to see from the tee,,some holes could be changed to make it more playable instead of all the walking..and still be a great course,,weres Ralph??
Other Thoughts: course needs alot of attention to bring it back up to par..

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    1/6/2012   1/12/2012
Review By: martinyoung
Played: 204  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 11.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun and Challenging - Par 3 golf layout

Technical shots that play up, down and across a ravine. Park Setting - but you are in the woods, would love to play here during the other seasons of the year.

Lots of shots that play from the open into the woods - from the woods to the open

Some favorite holes:
Hole 3 - downhill, slanted fairway road along the right side - tough shot
Hole 5 - great turnover from open to a protected basket in the woods
Hole 12 - beautiful giant downhill 450 ft shot around some big trees

This was a great course and a great warmup before taking on the upper course
Cons: Signage is old and fading

Course doesn't seem to be maintained on a regular basis - but course was in good condition

Hole 12's basket was rather jacked up
Other Thoughts: The Pulaski courses are a complex - 2 18 hole layouts in nearly the same spot - big plus

Past reviewers have mentioned that getting lost is easy - I have to disagree - I thought the course was fairly easy to follow using some good common disc golf sense.

I don't believe the current layout is the original 1981 design - as there is evidence of older pads in shorter positions.

I played the course in the winter - Gate was locked - but luckily hole basket 2 is right near the entrance - so starting on hole 1 isn't that far a walk.

Also playing in the winter the course looked great - lots of leaves on the ground - but finding our way wasn't that hard - I imagine come summer, might be a another story

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/16/2008   11/18/2010
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 18.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pulaski Bottom is one of two 18-hole courses in Pulaski Park. It provides a nice contrast to the Top course as this one has more of the city park style to it, but still utilizes some interesting natural features. It is quite a bit easier than the Top course, but this allows you to relax, have fun, and provides an opportunity to shoot a good score. You can tell this is one of the old-style original disc golf courses, but it is still a pretty good course.

I really enjoyed the variety of holes on the Bottom course. There are 1) open holes with protected baskets, 2) wooded holes that play to a basket in the open, and 3) moderately wooded holes that provide multiple driving options and offer a little forgiveness. However, the feature that stands out the most is the interesting use of available elevation. There are several really fun tee shots on this course. Throwing long downhill shots are always fun, but the across the ravine holes are pretty fun, too. The length of holes the course offers is fairly diverse, nothing super long, but good variation.

Story Time! - We played on a day that was so hot and we had ran out of what we brought half way through the round and the course does not come close to the parking lot until #18, but we luckily stumbled upon a water pump in the ground. I fully expected it to disappoint and not work, but to our amazement and relief out came some of the coldest water I have ever drank/poured on my head!
Cons: The basics are beginning to show signs of age and apathy- baskets and signs especially. The course could definitely use some basic improvements like non-skinny light-weight benches, normal trashcans (not buckets), and some stairs on the steep muddy slopes.

Navigation is kind of tricky about knowing which way to go next. Also, there are a couple of spots where there a whole bunch of tees and baskets in view and it is hard to tell which one to throw at. I had to walk up to a basket and then look at the tee # nearest to it in order to see if that was the correct basket.
Other Thoughts: This is tough course to rate because overall the layout is solid and it is fun to play, but the course is just not taken care of. Both courses here could be so much better if some standard improvements could be made. The holes themselves might be worthy of a solid 3.0 rating, but the condition of things and lack of other useful things brings it down to a strong, but deserved, 2.5 (decent/typical). All the previous reviews are excellent and paint an accurate picture of what to expect.

Overall, if you are looking for some better than average disc golf that does not get played a whole lot and you like having more than one course on site (36 holes) then Pulaski Park is worth a stop. Be sure to hit up Lake Cumberland S.P.'s course as well.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Tucked away, almost undiscovered

1    12/26/2008   12/30/2008
Review By: Hamilton
Played: 55  Reviewed: 49  Exp: 6.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: What I like about this course is what I like about most of my favorite courses, a challenge. That said I offer my impressions of this course:

Individually, I feel almost every hole on this course was well thought out (at least for 1981 or whenever it was created) and each is fun in its own little ways. Conversely, looking at the big picture (the course as a whole) I did see flaws, which I list below in the Cons section. Make no mistake though, I did truly enjoy this course, and will gladly play it again when I'm back in the area.

I love elevation change holes, and this course DEFINITELY delivers in this area.
-There are several holes that utilize a creek as a downhill then back uphill drive, 2 from the open into the woods, and 3 from the woods to the open, dropping anywhere from 20-30 feet from the tee then rising again.
-Hole 10 tees off at the bottom of a steep hill in the woods and curves right up the hill, very difficult shot, but visually stunning.
-I have also not seen quite a open-field type hole like 12 that has such a dramatic drop in the fairway (40 feet I'd guess), and is a good 425-450 feet long.
-As stated in one of the reviews below, 14 plays across another branch of the creek and you have to be part billy goat to stand on that hill and putt, very difficult.

I think they had a version of Mach baskets, dual chains, and overall pretty nice.

The facilities seem pretty decent, as the area is also used for other activities. I saw restrooms, but didn't use them while there, and parking seemed adequate, although I don't know how busy the park may get in the Summer.

My skill level is not the highest, so my score was not the best, but I still had a great time.
Cons: I will begin by mentioning the course navigation. Luckily a group of locals had just started playing, and we started a hole behind them so we could more easily find the next baskets. Without this aid finding the next tee on some would have been very difficult, as I think I only saw one "Next Tee" sign.

Next Con I noticed is lack of maintenance, and a couple of safety concerns in slick conditions. Granted it had been raining the day before, and lots of leaves on the ground, but some of the hills are quite treacherous to navigate. Some stairs, or even simple 2x4 rails on trees would be a HUGE help. I can't remember how many times I lost my footing and thought I was going to slide 30 feet down into the creek.

Third is the equipment. Yes the tees are nice and concrete, and from what I recall all (if not, most) of the holes had signs, although they could use a freshening. But by far the worst thing about the equipment is that several of the baskets have been through hell. They still function well, but hole 12's basket looks like it got into a fight with a VW and lost. Could really stand to replace a few of them.

My last Con is the fact that on the front of the course, there is a clearing that in the open or right on the perimeter of the trees, are 7 of the 18 baskets and 5 of the tee pads. Not that this is the worst thing ever, but if you were to go on a busy day, pray everyone there is watching their throw and ready to yell Fore!
Other Thoughts: I hate to list so much in the con section, but I really would just like to see a few of the simple things fixed, and this could be a much easier played course.

The only reasons I don't have it rated at 3.5 or 4 is the lack of ease of traversing the course, especially in adverse conditions, and lack of navigation aid to the next tees.

If you're in the area, definitely hit it up for a challenge and a workout, be sure to wear your hiking boots though!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course, under-appreciated

5+    7/9/2007   12/9/2008
Review By: SimonCarr
Played: 60  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 10.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Not many people know about this course. It feels like it has been there for ages, and has been long forgotten. But in fact, it is a very solid course with some fun and challenging shots.

This course makes excellent use of the terrain - with shots the go through the woods, up steep hills, across ravines, across fields of rolling hills. The front 9 plays a little shorter/easier than the back 9. Many of the shots on the front 9 are deucable, although they are tricky. There are probably only 2 shots over 325 on the front.

The back 9 is quite a bit more challenging, with some tight fairways and extreme elevation changes. One hole in particular plays up an extreme hill with the basket on a 45 degree slope. I would say there is one legitimate par 4 on the back 9 that plays about 500 feet in the long position with a wooded fairway and steep drop off on the right side. There is another 500 footer on the back 9 that plays in an open field, throwing downhill with the lake in the background.

Overall this course has a really nice mix of shots, giving players opportunities for birdies and several challenging shots.
Cons: Not very well kept. It may get mowed a couple times in the summer, and some of the baskets are ancient (but they work just the same).

The course layout can be confusing if it is your first time playing. If you are able to find the first basket/teepad you can probably figure it out from there.
Other Thoughts: Unfortunately, there are not many locals that play this course. It is a good 15/20 minutes from downtown Somerset. Most of the people that are at the park are there for the lake, or for camping. The disc golf course gets little attention.

I grew up just 25 minutes from this course, and had no idea about it until a few years ago. It is a really excellent course that could be so much better (4.0 or higher) with some new baskets, teepads and general maintenance.

I would highly recommend playing this course if you are in the area (there is another 18 hole course just 1 mile up the road at the top of the hill).

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/26/2008   11/15/2008
Review By: danhyzer
Played: 1205  Reviewed: 87  Exp: 26.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: good use with the various elevational changes. Yes, on a couple holes you shoot back and forth over a ravine, but at least it's more challenging doing this than doing it in an empty meadow. Yes, it's an older course, but it was very clean considering it was way out in the Ky. wilderness (about 7 miles west of Somerset). I thought the design on a few holes we're very original, # 1 was a great hole to start your round on as the fairway was narrow with a ravine to the left, trees appeared as they we're strategically planted and the basket was atop of a elevated ridge again with the ravine to the left. I liked hole # 10, just shoots straight up a real steep hillside. and # 15 and # 16 shooting along the top side of the ravine with rock outcroppings (just to add some spice), but with plenty of fairway (as they used an old tractor path for the fairway).

Good cement tees, tee signs that showed you the direction of the next hole, and benches at almost every hole.

Clean restrooms.

Cons: older baskets.

Can't walk to the top course (still it's a very short drive, maybe 5 minutes tops [no pun intended]

Other Thoughts: At the time I played this course the lake (near this part of Lake Cumberland) was almost bone dry due to construction of the dam. Thus the full tranquility wasn't all there. But nevertheless I wish this course was in my backyard. [3 really GOOD courses all within an hours drive of one another]

with my playing style, I preferred this course over the top course. I would recomend anyone who likes to play Disc Golf this area for a day of fun. And as I did I rented a room over at Lake Cumberland Lodge in nearby Jamestown and played they're course the next day.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 plain fun

1    10/30/2008   11/3/2008
Review By: Roger2
Played: 22  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good use of terrain provides challenging shots. Beautiful park well maintained except the Kentucky garbage cans which were five gallon buckets on the end of benches. Course was also easy to follow. Had some neat holes.
Cons: Equipment is pretty old. Some of the signs are hard to impossible to read. Some of the woods make a pretty tight shot. It was a little busy the one time we played and this slowed us up a little. The course design is a little repetitious.
Other Thoughts: A good design on an older course we did not play the upper course but enjoyed the use of elevation on the lower course. (I'm from Illinois not much elevation) I would definitely play this course again if I was in the area.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course

1    7/16/2008   7/21/2008
Review By: ZMan44
Played: 134  Reviewed: 110  Exp: 10.6 Years
This review was updated on 12/10/2008
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good tee pads. Required accuracy but had a few open shots where you could air it out. Good use of elevation. The long downhill hole was a decent "vista" shot, but the lake was pretty dry so it lacked the beauty that it may have on certain days.
Cons: There were very few holes that semed to have had a strong element of design. To me this was a very "typical" older course. The baskets were in bad condition. The signs were the typical old signs...although some were too faded to read and on other holes the signs had been stolen or removed. The front 9 was extremely redundant with at least 3 or 4 holes playing back and forth over the same ravine. The only difference in these holes was that one side of the ravine was wooded and the other was not. You either through out of the woods and into the open, or you threw from out in the open to a pin location in the woods. The long downhill hole on the back 9 was the only hole on the course that left you with a "this is kind of unique" feel. The rest of the holes were designs that I have played at other courses. There are certain types of holes that you expect the "typical" course to contain. 17 of these holes fit that description.
Other Thoughts: This is a re-review of this course since there are those that disagree with my assessment. I have done my best to explain exactly why this course deserves a rating of 2.5. Was it a bad course...no. Was it an above average to excellent course...no. It is a typical course which was the reason for the 2.5. I could not, in good faith, give this a course higher rating. This was an enjoyable round. There are a few different shots but overall it was your typical course. If you are in the area, I would suggest this course over the Top course for enjoyment purposes. In comparison, neither of these courses (top and bottom) can compare with the groundskeeping, immaculate signage, and thoughtful layout of Lake Cumberland. If you are in the area these courses are worth playing. However, if you are taking a trip and planning on driving out of your way for these two courses, in my own opinion, they have the potential to leave you very disappointed.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.