Somerset, KY 
Pulaski County Park (Bottom) Share



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Troll's Review

2-4    6/10/2013   10/5/2013
Review By: Eric troll Biscuits
Played: 31  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 26.3 Years
Pros: lots of variety with the lay out
hills, elevation change woods, some open shots..
easy to follow too, never got lost....
Didn't seem crowded at all
shooting under 54 is possible
has another 18 hole course on the other side
Cons: Its a little rough around the edges, KY rough is ruff.
its rocky in a lot of spots, so stay in the fairway
Other Thoughts: it can use an update, on equipment, signage, and some clearing in rough

 

1    1/6/2012   1/12/2012
Review By: martinyoung
Played: 204  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 11.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun and Challenging - Par 3 golf layout

Technical shots that play up, down and across a ravine. Park Setting - but you are in the woods, would love to play here during the other seasons of the year.

Lots of shots that play from the open into the woods - from the woods to the open

Some favorite holes:
Hole 3 - downhill, slanted fairway road along the right side - tough shot
Hole 5 - great turnover from open to a protected basket in the woods
Hole 12 - beautiful giant downhill 450 ft shot around some big trees

This was a great course and a great warmup before taking on the upper course
Cons: Signage is old and fading

Course doesn't seem to be maintained on a regular basis - but course was in good condition

Hole 12's basket was rather jacked up
Other Thoughts: The Pulaski courses are a complex - 2 18 hole layouts in nearly the same spot - big plus

Past reviewers have mentioned that getting lost is easy - I have to disagree - I thought the course was fairly easy to follow using some good common disc golf sense.

I don't believe the current layout is the original 1981 design - as there is evidence of older pads in shorter positions.

I played the course in the winter - Gate was locked - but luckily hole basket 2 is right near the entrance - so starting on hole 1 isn't that far a walk.

Also playing in the winter the course looked great - lots of leaves on the ground - but finding our way wasn't that hard - I imagine come summer, might be a another story

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course, under-appreciated

5+    7/9/2007   12/9/2008
Review By: SimonCarr
Played: 60  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 10.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Not many people know about this course. It feels like it has been there for ages, and has been long forgotten. But in fact, it is a very solid course with some fun and challenging shots.

This course makes excellent use of the terrain - with shots the go through the woods, up steep hills, across ravines, across fields of rolling hills. The front 9 plays a little shorter/easier than the back 9. Many of the shots on the front 9 are deucable, although they are tricky. There are probably only 2 shots over 325 on the front.

The back 9 is quite a bit more challenging, with some tight fairways and extreme elevation changes. One hole in particular plays up an extreme hill with the basket on a 45 degree slope. I would say there is one legitimate par 4 on the back 9 that plays about 500 feet in the long position with a wooded fairway and steep drop off on the right side. There is another 500 footer on the back 9 that plays in an open field, throwing downhill with the lake in the background.

Overall this course has a really nice mix of shots, giving players opportunities for birdies and several challenging shots.
Cons: Not very well kept. It may get mowed a couple times in the summer, and some of the baskets are ancient (but they work just the same).

The course layout can be confusing if it is your first time playing. If you are able to find the first basket/teepad you can probably figure it out from there.
Other Thoughts: Unfortunately, there are not many locals that play this course. It is a good 15/20 minutes from downtown Somerset. Most of the people that are at the park are there for the lake, or for camping. The disc golf course gets little attention.

I grew up just 25 minutes from this course, and had no idea about it until a few years ago. It is a really excellent course that could be so much better (4.0 or higher) with some new baskets, teepads and general maintenance.

I would highly recommend playing this course if you are in the area (there is another 18 hole course just 1 mile up the road at the top of the hill).

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/26/2008   11/15/2008
Review By: danhyzer
Played: 1205  Reviewed: 87  Exp: 26.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: good use with the various elevational changes. Yes, on a couple holes you shoot back and forth over a ravine, but at least it's more challenging doing this than doing it in an empty meadow. Yes, it's an older course, but it was very clean considering it was way out in the Ky. wilderness (about 7 miles west of Somerset). I thought the design on a few holes we're very original, # 1 was a great hole to start your round on as the fairway was narrow with a ravine to the left, trees appeared as they we're strategically planted and the basket was atop of a elevated ridge again with the ravine to the left. I liked hole # 10, just shoots straight up a real steep hillside. and # 15 and # 16 shooting along the top side of the ravine with rock outcroppings (just to add some spice), but with plenty of fairway (as they used an old tractor path for the fairway).

Good cement tees, tee signs that showed you the direction of the next hole, and benches at almost every hole.

Clean restrooms.

Cons: older baskets.

Can't walk to the top course (still it's a very short drive, maybe 5 minutes tops [no pun intended]

Other Thoughts: At the time I played this course the lake (near this part of Lake Cumberland) was almost bone dry due to construction of the dam. Thus the full tranquility wasn't all there. But nevertheless I wish this course was in my backyard. [3 really GOOD courses all within an hours drive of one another]

with my playing style, I preferred this course over the top course. I would recomend anyone who likes to play Disc Golf this area for a day of fun. And as I did I rented a room over at Lake Cumberland Lodge in nearby Jamestown and played they're course the next day.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 plain fun

1    10/30/2008   11/3/2008
Review By: Roger2
Played: 22  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good use of terrain provides challenging shots. Beautiful park well maintained except the Kentucky garbage cans which were five gallon buckets on the end of benches. Course was also easy to follow. Had some neat holes.
Cons: Equipment is pretty old. Some of the signs are hard to impossible to read. Some of the woods make a pretty tight shot. It was a little busy the one time we played and this slowed us up a little. The course design is a little repetitious.
Other Thoughts: A good design on an older course we did not play the upper course but enjoyed the use of elevation on the lower course. (I'm from Illinois not much elevation) I would definitely play this course again if I was in the area.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.