Hammond, IN 
Pulaski Park Share
Uploaded By: KWK82 Hole #18 (Taken 7/2014)
3 / 282ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Basket to Tee

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Another redesign and greatly improved.

5+    7/12/2016   7/12/2016
Review By: Front Row
Played: 38  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 26.6 Years
Pros: Pulaski park is a recreational disc golf course in the midst of a multi-purpose park. The course features 18 baskets with concrete tee pads. Most posts and signs are in but a few are missing. Any experienced player can find the next drive with a bit of looking. First time players might find it a bit frustrating but, the numbers on the baskets were fixed and the tee can be found via logic and reason.

The redesign has eliminated many of the extremely short shots. 190' (11) is the shortest shot while most are between 220' and 280'. The course was moved a bit north to lengthen the drives such a 13 and 14. The course has about five drives that are 300' plus or minus a yard. Many of the old trees have been removed and new ones planted. Thus in few years, the drives that are docile today will become more intricate with time.

The park is well manicured and washroom facilities are available. A large parking lot next to the pool is a short walk from the course. Benches are located throughout the course for the weary player.
Cons: The multi-purpose park is the biggest con. Drive 1 flanks a pool and a sidewalk. An errant shot could wind up in the pool, on the roof or out on the street. Players must be aware of pedestrians at all times. A pavilion in the middle of the course invites onlookers and picnickers to the course. Also a soccer field, though seldom used, takes up part of 18.

Experienced players might find this course too easy. The flat landscape and some field shots will not test skills at a high level. The designers tried to create complicated drives, but the shortness and lack of landscape obstacles undermines their creativity.
Other Thoughts: The relaxing nature of the course is its ideal attraction. There are some days a quick round or two is just right to keep skills sharp. Accessing the park is relatively easy and being in Hammond there are plenty of lunch places around.

The football field to the north of the course can be used for practice shots.

Just Another Average City Park Course!

1    6/25/2016   6/25/2016
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1005  Reviewed: 955  Exp: 38.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pulaski Park is a medium sized city park which houses a soccer field, community center, a swimming pool, playground and picnic shelters. The park is flat with some scattered trees.

The course starts at one corner of the pool and plays around and through the park in kind of a clockwise direction, with some detours here and there. The tee signs (when present) give the basic info. The tee pads are concrete and some are a little on the small side. The baskets are powder coated a pretty color and have triple chains and extra deep catching baskets.

The course plays as a recreational level. It's relatively short, pretty wide open and very forgiving. There is a nice combination of short ACE runs and 250-300 lengths.

Two holes give you the "Psych" treatment. # 1 plays next to the pool fence. It's 230' and straight but throwing that close to the pool gets in your head. You don't want to look like clown and throw your drive in the pool in front of all those swimmers. And # 12 is another hole that gets in your head. It's just 220' and straight but you have to throw your drive between a gap approx 3-4' wide. This gap is just about 6 feet in front the tee pad.

I would always throw holes 13 and 14 together. It makes no sense to tee off for 13 and play the hole, then backtrack back to the 14 pad. Makes sense to tee off for both and then hole out on both.

I liked hole 18. It's about 290' or 300' with a fun window to aim at.

Cons: # 1 is just not a good place for the hole, so close to the pool fence.

Signs are missing at # 2, 8, 17 and 18.

Baskets 11 and 13 are set a little low.

# 14 basket is leaning.

Other Thoughts: Pulaski is a solid recreational level course. Beginners will enjoy playing here, too. It's a little short for intermediate and above players. Other park users might give you fits, too. It's just another Chicago 9'er only 18 holes of bliss.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 You Know I'm Bad, I'm Bad, You Know It (Bad Bad-Really, Really Bad)

2-4    6/14/2014   6/17/2014
Review By: Three Putt
Played: 131  Reviewed: 84  Exp: 21.8 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pulaski Park has been redesigned; gone are the weird homemade baskets, in their place are real baskets, concrete tees and (in some places) tee signs. It looks more like a real disc golf course now. The course is a basic park-style beginner course. The park is flat and lightly wooded, and the shots are mostly under 300'. The design does utilize the trees on site to create some challenge, but the design doesn't force you to take certain shots. It's a nice course for a quick, easy round.
Cons: It's a real (terrible) disc golf course now. The park is too small for 18 holes, but they are all crammed in there. Hole one shoots way too close to the swimming pool, hole two plays down the side of a soccer field. Holes #3-#4 are also close to the soccer field. You can get all the way to hole #5 before you don't have a conflict with other park users. The rest of the holes shoot back and forth at each other. Hole #8's tee is very hard to find because it is behind #7's basket; you basically shoot back over #7's fairway to a basket that is farther up. Hole #13 plays toward a football field. The basket for #18 is set up close to the door for the swimming pool, so you are throwing a 280' shot at people walking in and out of the pool 20' behind the pin. Add those conflicts in with the fact that the fairways are too close and some tees are too close to baskets and you have an all-around unsafe design.

The basket marked #12 is in the placement for #11 and vice versa.

The tee signs are foam markers mounted to posts; some of the tee sign were missing and on a few holes the entire post was missing. The course is all crammed together, so it was hard to figure out which basket you were supposed to throw at from the unmarked tees.

Something worth mentioning is that an enormous amount of the trees in this park are dead. Once the dead trees either fall down or are cut down, there will not be a whole lot left of this course. Every tree in the design of holes #13/14/15 is dead; if they are removed the only obstacle left in that area is a telephone pole.

The park itself is not well kept up; the grass was high and the course was littered with downed limbs falling from the dead trees.
Other Thoughts: It was nice that someone took the time to fix up Pulaski Park. Unfortunately, it looks like the work may go to waste. The course right now is bad. Once the dead trees in the park are gone, it will be pointless.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great rebuild! Play away

1    8/23/2013   8/24/2013
Review By: brewstermusic
Played: 40  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Nice & new
- Distance variety
- Not crowded
Cons: - Tee pads are not installed yet
- Tee marker posts are not helpful
Other Thoughts: Great new baskets and nice park. Not sure why the neighborhood keeps getting flagged. The whole time I was there, families were running and walking by, enjoying the nice day in their community. My only problems with this course were the pool fence along hole 1 that I almost went over, the tee markers being ripped off or near impossible to locate, and the trees (not the park's fault, I just went high every shot and if there was a tree around, I found it!)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Not too shabby

2-4    11/6/2012   11/6/2012
Review By: KWK82
Played: 30  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
-Good variety of shots.
-It is always free.
-If football field is not in use it is a great place to test your distance shots out.
-All the baskets have been replaced.
-I went during the day on weekdays and it was not busy.
-The tee pads are missing.
-The organization of the course is not as fluent as others.
-Bathrooms are randomly locked.
-First timers will have some difficulty following markers.
Other Thoughts: I like this course because it is the closest course to me with the most variety. I would recommend bringing binoculars so you shoot for the right basket. If they would just install new tee pads and fix some of the markers for flow I would give this course a much higher rating.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Industrial Workers Suprise

5+    9/26/2013   9/11/2010
Review By: bigronbowski
Played: 39  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/27/2013
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: New baskets. No burrs or thorns. The great thing about this course is the fact that if you work in the Northwest Indiana industrial sector, for instance, the BP refinery or Mittal (Inland) Steel, this is a great course to stop and practice on the way home from work.
Cons: Natural tees. Missing tee markers. Unattractive neighborhood. Holes too close to roads, paths, practice fields, and playground.
Other Thoughts: This park was given a complete makeover last year. Since the update the course has been changed. The media connected with this course needs updated. The course used to play around the majority of the park with some long, open holes on the north end. The course now plays entirely on the south side. Hole 1 starts on the east side of the pool south of the skate ramps. Be very careful not to go over the fence! Hole 2 is similar to the old hole 1 but tees about 30' west. Hole 3 is the old hole 2. If the soccer field is in use holes 2 and 3 can be dangerous to play. If you turn a disc over you will likely land on the soccer field. Hole 4 is the old hole 3 and this trend continues until hole 8. After hole 7 backtrack and the tee for 8 is west and a little south of the tee for 7. In the late summer and fall the football field is in use making 13 and 15 dangerous to play. Also during this season there is cheerleading practice in the way of holes 17 and 18. After a heavy rain holes 2 and 18 will have water hazards. If you can't play a hole due to people hazards, it's very easy to make up holes to complete the round. If the football field is not in use it's a great place to practice driving. This a great course to practice your technical game.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Dont Waste Ur Time

1    8/27/2010   8/27/2010
Review By: Bouwman4
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There are 18 holes (Good Luck finding / Navigating them.)
Cons: Where do i start...

Very hard to navigate. 14 Basket is approx. 1 - 1.5 ft off the ground.

Hard to Read numbers on all Baskets.
Other Thoughts: Dont waste your time on this course. If ur from the area, all you have to do is think its in hammond it cant be good. and sure enough its NOT.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 homemade buckets

1    7/31/2010   8/4/2010
Review By: tallpaul
Played: 830  Reviewed: 133  Exp: 28.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/3/2010
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 holes of disc golf. I actually thought the home made buckets caught pretty well. From that stand point, I was happy to get away from the chastity belted targets we had played all day the day before.
Tees using the walk way give you hard surface to throw from.
Playing paved walking path as o.b. can add to challenge of course. Couple of holes have path near to basket and will force precise landings.
Decent tee signs on most holes. Some attached to trees.
That's probably about it for pure pros. This is not a bad course, but....
Cons: Tees are tough to find in a number of places. We made up our own for at least four holes (some may have simply been under water). We did find the tee for #1; unlike two previous reviews; but it was simply a 2' X 3' slab of rubber on the ground. Other tees were, in some cases, very worn and dilapidated rubber, the walking path, or natural.
Repetitive length of holes. Largely short holes; though we played some longer shots on holes we made up due to not finding tees. Decent shot selection; but, the course plays around a walking path, a softball diamond, near roads, etc. We had to skip one hole due to folks in picnic table areas and had to walk up fairway and ask if we could play right next to a couple of other persons. Two of us were in the road at different times on the course; not the walking path, but the road. Potential for trouble on both of these accounts.
Back tracking to some tee areas.
I realize this is a very wet year; and not the course's fault; but most of the course is under water as of end of July, 2010. Ankle deep water disc retrieval on a number of holes.
Other Thoughts: This course was interesting from the stand point of being a very multi cultural setting. Lots of other park's users the day we were there; and of all ages and ethnic groups.
I believe this is a Brian Cummings course and these baskets may have been elsewhere prior to this (I will update if I find any further info).
In my book, it's always nice to play a course with interesting targets and some history; but, I won't be coming back to this one anytime soon.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Run Down

1    10/18/2009   2/17/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 14.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is in a small park that is half open football fields, and half shady mature trees. The course mostly sticks to the trees other than the last few holes, so it's a nice park style course with obstacles to avoid but no brush or undergrowth. There is a good mix of hole shapes, requiring lots of different lines to shoot for birdies.

Tees are a mix of rubber, concrete, and grass, but most were level and free of ruts, and all were sufficient for the length of the holes. Most holes had tee signs with distance and hole layout that make the course easier to follow. There are a couple of the more open holes that are longer and let you open up and throw a little more, and the street and sidewalks add challenge if played as ob.
Cons: The course is very short other than a couple wide open holes. You could play the entire course with a putter and a mid with no problems. Though the hole shapes are varied, the repetitive lengths make the course feel a bit stale after a while.

The baskets are old and rusty, and don't always catch very well. Some tee signs were broken, missing or vandalized, which made it hard to follow the course. Many tees weren't well defined, and the signs were often tacked to a tree, so there were places where we had to look for a while to find the next tee. The flow of the course was odd in places with backtracking and long walks where they didn't seem necessary. We never actually found the first tee.

In many places the course played right on top of roads, sidewalks, playgrounds, parking lots and picnic tables. The open holes throw over a football field. If there were any other people using the park, you'd probably end up throwing at them at some point.
Other Thoughts: The land this course is on would make a really nice 9 or 12 hole course, but instead there are 18 mediocre holes with no real length or challenge. It's not a bad place to work on your midrange game or teach new players the game, otherwise it's not worth a trip.

New players will find this course approachable without being totally straightforward. There's no chance of losing discs, and the distances are reasonable. More experienced players won't find much challenge here or any really interesting holes.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 C+ = As average as the come

1    8/1/2009   9/3/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 381  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 22.4 Years
8 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: - Trees are nice - shady course (except 13-17)
- Grassy course. Mowed. Probably does not get too muddy during wet spells
- Short length and low challenge caters to beginners
- Variety of hole shapes keeps things interesting
- No potential for lost discs
- Most tees have signs. The ones that don't are tricky to find.
Cons: - Sketchy (unsafe?) neighborhood
- Parts of course hard to navigate. I could not find tee one, so I decided to play from the sidewalk by the course kiosk. Tee 13 is painted on the sidewalk after you backtrack from playing 12
- You play over sidewalks and picnic tables and close to a ballfield. I am doubtful there is a ton of traffic in the park, so this might not be a huge issue. But be aware.
- Baskets as old and run-down
- Not sure if they open the bathrooms - they seem like they have been locked for a long time.
- Natural tees are a con, but not a huge con as the holes are short enough where a huge run-up is not required. And they are not rutted out.
Other Thoughts: What I personally like and how this course stacks up in my list of 18 hole courses:

1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == C-
(This course is very open. Impossible for a bad drive to cause you to take a 4....unless it is really bad and goes OB on a road.)

2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I throw 300' accurately, 360' max. == C+
(Most of the holes are too short and/or too open to feel rewarding.)

3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == C+
(The design of some holes incorporate trees to force you to throw a certain line. Several tunnel shots.)

4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == C-
(In a run down, old park and neighborhood. Not pretty and not secluded. There are lots of nice trees and it is grassy.)

5) Bonus points for multi-throw holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == N/A

8 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.