Blue Earth, MN
Putnam Park Share
Uploaded By: erickmj Hole #1
3 / 131ft.   3 / 131ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
The potential is there

1    9/27/2013   10/2/2013
Review By: hevyevie
Played: 39  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5 Years
Pros: Good baskets. Clean park. The trash that was there could've came from anywhere with the prevailing winds. What signs are there were helpful. There was more wildlife excrememt than trash. The existing tees are concrete.
Cons: Unfortunately I found way more cons with this course than others. It was missing signs and tees. A few of the holes played on top of each other. The baskets are permanent therefore no alternate pin placements. It was a rather short course with the only challenges being the wind and a little elevation.
Other Thoughts: The first three holes were wonderful! It would get a solid 3-3.5 rating if the whole course was that nice. But after hole three the troubles begin. There is no tee, or sign for hole 4. The tee for 5 is up the hill by the pool, was facing the wrong direction and covered up by a bench seat. Holes 5 & 7 play over top of each other. Hole 8 had no signage. Hole 9 didn't have a tee pad and the sign was shabby and broken. I could see where the low land could be flooded in spring and early summer also. All in all a great beginner course. With a little help it could be much better.

Putnam Park

1    9/25/2013   9/25/2013
Review By: Badgerman
Played: 186  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 10.6 Years
Pros: 1) Concrete Tees
2) Nice tee signs, with hole #, distance, par and map
3) Very clean park
4) Decent baskets
5) Good use of elevation
Cons: 1) I could not find the tee for #4
2) This course is not challenging at all and I found it to be boring. There are so few trees as to not even bother putting them in. The only real obstacle is the hill that comes into play on most of the holes.
3) From #3 you can see 2 baskets in your line of fire, it's the closer one.
Other Thoughts: This would be a great course to learn the game on seeing as you can see the entire course from anywhere in the park.
I would raise this rating to a 3 or maybe a 3.5 if there were more trees and you had to play the creek.
All in all, not a bad course.

 Fun course for beginners

1    6/25/2010   6/27/2010
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 296  Reviewed: 295  Exp: 5.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Ace runs abundant
-Very nice signage; distance, par and map included on every hole (7 was broken off)
-Decent elevation and a few well placed trees as challenge
-The river is used a little bit
-Near a swimming pool with waterslide so all the daddy disc golfers out there can drop the kids and wife off before enjoying a few rounds
-Good parking, trash cans, clean park
-Nice layout and easy to follow
-First couple holes are short and easy but the distances grow and other factors such as elevation come into play
-No waiting and course erosion from overuse; an undiscovered gem
-great for a quick round and practicing mid-range driving
-Large concrete tees
Cons: -Short and not too challenging
-Can be flooded in spring and early summer
No other major
Other Thoughts: When I played a small lake had formed that made water a formidable challenge on a few holes, mainly 5-9. Usually the water only comes into play on 8. The 8 basket was actually half under water so I didn't play that hole. This course has no real flaws but it is short and simple and that is why it doesn't have a higher rating. It was a pleasure to play and I recommend it if traveling along I-90 or are in the area.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    4/3/2010   4/28/2010
Review By: pitbull_luvr
Played: 17  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.8 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great use of a small town park. Concrete pads, baskets, and well made signs. Very well maintained park. Playground, tennis court and swimming pool all located in park. Some slight elevation changes.
Cons: Very small course, good for beginners! No major difficult shots. Course can be very muddy if the river is or has been flooded. Lots of rain can cause the lower half of the course to be swampy too! That is all I can think of for this course.
Other Thoughts: Good design for the size of the area for this course. Great place to take the family for a afternoon. A couple of the signs were damaged, I think it was from the river flooding.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.