Leicester, MA 
Pyramids Share
Uploaded By: HyzerBerryPie Hole #9 (Taken 7/2014)
3 / 205ft.   4 / 334ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee Sign

Reviews: 48
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
At least 4 stars, but not quite perfect...

2-4    6/11/2015   6/11/2015
Review By: Areometer
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Beautiful brooks and scenery, it can rival Borderland's
- 2 colored baskets
- attached disc shop is largest in N.E. I think
- parking is spacious
- paid course means fewer players but it also means players who like to hang out and play slow...
Cons: - Some more trees need to be cut down please.
- Packed gravel road is a lil' rough on tires
- Next tee box isn't really clearly marked although there's a very useful map/pamphlet that you can get from shop. But please reference Muldoon Park's taped arrowed method.
- $6/play or $10/day
Other Thoughts: This course is quite amazing, but more trees need to go unless you enjoy playing pinball bouncing / russian roulette type of play. Just too narrow spaces between all these trees! But otherwise, I really like this course.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Marshall Street is the Best

1    5/31/2015   6/7/2015
Review By: SpatialT
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 29.8 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: See Buchas post for similar description
Best pro shop in the NE, if the the US. That alone is worth a visit
Scenic course with stream flowing through several holes Very wooded but not much understory. Great use of elevation on most holes - a lot of back and forth up and down the side of a hill
Multiple tees and two baskets per hole provide a lot of variety
Cons: None, really, though I didn't enjoy the holes at the top of the hill (flat) as much as the first 9.
Other Thoughts: A memorable course. I played on a rainy day, unfortunately, but enjoyed it none the less. The greatest pro shop ever. Marshall Street makes me want to take a disc golf vacation. Or go back to college somewhere in Leicester..You really need 3-4 full days to experience Pyramids and Maple Hill. It is Disney for Disc Golfers. Keep it up, people!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Kid in a candy store

1    7/5/2014   8/4/2014
Review By: Buchajs1
Played: 57  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 3.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/11/2015
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a fun and enjoyable "home style course." With maple hill just down the road, you can plan a great vacation with these two courses. First off, the pro shop is fantastic! It adds to the experience and really helped this course earn an excellent rating. As my title describes, the pro shop gave me the feeling of being six years old and walking into a magnificent candy store.

Now on to the course. The course is well laid out, with some significant elevation changes and good variety in hole lengths. Variety in shot shapes as well. OB stream comes into play on several holes and makes for some extra challenge.

Where this course really earns its stars is the immense fun factor. With maple hill down the road, this course would provide a break from the many challenges of maple hill. Two permanent basket locations for each hole, add variety and challenge to each and every hole. The long pins will challenge even the mist seasoned of players.

The awesome elevation changes is what really drives this course home for me. There is a good mix of downhill touch shots and tougher uphill shots. The designer(s) did a good job by incorporating the hill on as many holes as possible with out it getting to cluttered.
Cons: Some of the holes in the middle of the course get somewhat repetitive. There are many holes that kind of blend in where you play down he hill and the back up, down the hill and back up.

#16s gold basket is relatively unreachable because of the angle you have to throw, over a 90 degree turn right.

#18s gold basket is right by the driving net. A well placed second shot can land next to the net a mere 15 feet away from the basket.

These are all pretty nit picky cons as there are not to many to puck out at this great course.
Other Thoughts: This is a very enjoyable and fun course to play. However it really lacks the memorable or picturesque holes needed to give it a higher rating. All in all if you can I would highly recommend planning a day road trip to play maple hill and pyramids, two great courses just down the road from eachother.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Well varied course

5+    6/22/2014   7/19/2014
Review By: KLydon
Played: 17  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 2.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/20/2014
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: +Well maintained
+Great tees
+Good mix of woodsy and open shots
+Very fair
+Great intermediate course
+Great mapping
+Also, it has the BEST pro shop around
Cons: -It can be busy on weekends and therefore it will slow down the speed of play, but that is hardly a problem
Other Thoughts: One of my favorite courses, it's a bit of a drive for me but it is well worth it. Plus, the pro shop is amazing and has great prices. If you live within a couple hours away, get in your car and drive here if you have yet to play it.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

1    6/25/2014   7/1/2014
Review By: reposado
Played: 268  Reviewed: 266  Exp: 4.4 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Whereas neighboring Maple Hill feels like a vacation, Pyramids feels like home. Seems like a perfect league course, with plenty to challenge you and potentially ruin your score, but the course itself isn't going to wear you down. The terrain is what I would consider light woods with multiple paths to the basket on most holes. There is plenty of elevation and a stream runs along a few holes and comes into play on about a third of them. There isn't much here that will slow down play since the water will affect your shot but won't require difficult recovery and underbrush is non-existent.
There are two layouts. Each hole has one tee and two baskets. I played a mix of the two, depending on my interest level in the layout as shown on the tee sign. Sometime, the gold basket provides a good deal more length than the silver. Often, this was unnecessary as the silvers provided solid hole designs. But on many occasions, the gold basket has a much more interesting pin position. Especially on 13. It's a solid hole to the silver pin, but gold requires crossing another ravine to a precarious location with plenty of roll-away danger. You will regret not throwing at it. That experience, with the gold basket making the silver basket look boring is recreated on about a third of the holes.
With two basket options, it really is one of those solid courses that you can play again and again without getting tired of it. It has that kind of terrain that is well suited to a fun game. No towering peaks or massive drops but the kind of elevation change that improves every hole both aesthetically and challenge-wise.
Cons: Still, there really isn't much that will you remember here. If you play it once, you won't be recalling fond memories in your elder years. There are no epic holes. Nothing stands out. There are some moments of repetition. There's not much done wrong here. It just lacks that extra umph to boost it into the realm of the elite courses.
There are also some holes in which the two baskets are close together and not much is gained by having the second pin location. If there is one area of improvement, it would be to take those gold baskets and move them somewhere more intense.
Other Thoughts: With Maple Hill, just down the street, it is the perfect course to be in the area. Really nice contrast in styles and lots of possible playing options.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Nice setup with fantastic pro shop

1    6/19/2014   6/22/2014
Review By: Stardoggy
Played: 171  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 4.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent setup, especially in the smaller space available.

Nice, grippy concrete tee pad on each hole. One tee at each hole.

2 baskets in place for each hole. One plays for the Silver course, one for the Gold. Both sets catch extremely well. The Gold course offers mostly longer lines, as well as different looks. Very nice for a smaller space.

Very nice mixture of woods, clearings and combination holes. Basket placements are excellent and bad shots are usually punished with unhappy lies.

Excellent tee signs, with all the information you could possibly ask for.
Cons: $6/round or $10/day is somewhat steep, even for such a nice course, especially with Maple Hill close. I guess you can get away with that when you have a top notch pro shop on site. Yearly memberships ($100/year) are also available.

One set of tee pads...this is relatively offset by the dual baskets, but it's still a bummer in such a nice setting.
Other Thoughts: The price of playing here might turn off some players, but it's definitely worth playing a few times if possible. The Marshall Street pro shop on site is excellent, as well.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Hard to leave without spending Money

1    10/4/2013   10/5/2013
Review By: Adventureortiz
Played: 17  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 3.5 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great wooded course... one or two really open holes to huk on. some tight corridors for technical play. Fit a nice course into a small space.
The guys at Marshall Street are Extremely nice and helpful. Great group of guys.
Cons: Swatted by a tree in one fairway may put you in the previous holes fairway.
It is very hard to leave this course without spending a lot of money...though they let you play if you do spend.
Other Thoughts: I had a tough round getting beat up by the trees. Everything seemed to just mis my target and get swatted our bounce off a tree. I only played this course once so far... So I might get better at finding the fairways but I struggled this first time.
Second Hole was built for me.... Love that Anny corridor. My Lat64 River and I love it. There are actually a couple of these right bending fairways. I got to try out a few Hyzer Flip shots on the narrow low ceiling corridors. Fun course I need to play again. Might have to spend a long day and play both this and Maple Hill together. You would get a complete compliment of all types of courses that way... wooded, tight, open, water, right and left bending... that would be a challenging day.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    8/28/2013   8/29/2013
Review By: Policygnat
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.2 Years
2 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Great course. Excellent signage all around, interesting elevation changes, unique basket placement (especially the Pro Tee on Hole 4), and a prudent mix of distance/tactical holes. I would love to come back and play this course again.

2 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Pyramids- nice pro shop on site

1    6/26/2013   6/26/2013
Review By: chillin
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.6 Years
0 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: Decent course, with a pro shop on site w/help full employees. The course has a option to play silver or gold tee s, the silver tend to be less distance and easier wheres gold is more yards and is tuffer challange
Cons: hilly & wet. when i played it was very muddy along the lower holes near the stream that runs through the course, need to put some gravel down. shooting at hole 18 is right next to the parking lot which makes it easy for you to hit your or other cars
Other Thoughts: for $6 bucks it worth playing and id play there again

0 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course with Amazing pro shop

2-4    6/9/2013   6/10/2013
Review By: lcra0825
Played: 102  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 9.2 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Tee pads with detailed signs at every hole
- Two different tees with two different baskets at each hole to provide a challenging round for beginners and more advanced players
- Lots of elevation which provides for some fun shots
- Great use of the lone creek flowing through the course to add the water element to your round
- Mostly wooded with some open holes for some variety
- The two tees provide for a great mix of long and short holes
- This course requires anhyzer and hyzer shots as well as perfectly straight shots through the woods. Uphill and down hill shots are required as well. Control is a must on this course
- After your round ( or before), you get to visit Marshall street which is a disc golfers dream to see whatever disc you want in ever color and weight at excellent prices. Don't stop at this course without visiting the pro shop
- A fun very short six hole disc golf course with challenging baskets which is free to play with purchase at Marshall StreeTt is on site
Cons: - While the course is very solid course and fun to play, I didn't feel there were any standout amazing holes.
- There were a couple holes I felt were too close to the road where I would overthrow the basket and hit a car or someone else would overthrow the basket and hit my car.
Other Thoughts: This course was very packed when we played and I could see there being a lot of waiting around for the next group to be done. If you are playing on a weekend afternoon be sure leave yourself ample time.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.