Leicester, MA 
Pyramids Share
Uploaded By: HyzerBerryPie Hole #6 (Taken 7/2014)
3 / 247ft.   3 / 246ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 46
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
Kid in a candy store

1    7/5/2014   8/4/2014
Review By: Buchajs1
Played: 41  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 2.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a fun and enjoyable "home style course." With maple hill just down the road, you can plan a great vacation with these two courses. First off, the pro shop is fantastic! It adds to the experience and really helped this course earn an excellent rating. As my title describes, the pro shop gave me the feeling of being six years old and walking into a magnificent candy store.

Now on to the course. The course is well laid out, with some significant elevation changes and good variety in hole lengths. Variety in shot shapes as well. OB stream comes into play on several holes and makes for some extra challenge.

Where this course really earns its stars is the immense fun factor. With maple hill down the road, this course would provide a break from the many challenges of maple hill. Two permanent basket locations for each hole, add variety and challenge to each and every hole. The long pins will challenge even the mist seasoned of players.

The awesome elevation changes is what really drives this course home for me. There is a good mix of downhill touch shots and tougher uphill shots. The designer(s) did a good job by incorporating the hill on as many holes as possible with out it getting to cluttered.
Cons: Some of the holes in the middle of the course get somewhat repetitive. There are many holes that kind of blend in where you play down he hill and the back up, down the hill and back up.

#16s gold basket is relatively unreachable because of the angle you have to throw, over a 90 degree turn right.

#18s gold basket is right by the driving net. A well placed second shot can land next to the net a mere 15 feet away from the basket.

These are all pretty nit picky cons as there are not to many to puck out at this great course.
Other Thoughts: This is a very enjoyable and fun course to play. However it really lacks the memorable or picturesque holes needed to give it a higher rating. All in all if you can I would highly recommend planning a day road trip to play maple hill and pyramids, two great courses just down the road from eachother.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Well varied course

5+    6/22/2014   7/19/2014
Review By: KLydon
Played: 14  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 1.7 Years
This review was updated on 8/20/2014
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: +Well maintained
+Great tees
+Good mix of woodsy and open shots
+Very fair
+Great intermediate course
+Great mapping
+Also, it has the BEST pro shop around
Cons: -It can be busy on weekends and therefore it will slow down the speed of play, but that is hardly a problem
Other Thoughts: One of my favorite courses, it's a bit of a drive for me but it is well worth it. Plus, the pro shop is amazing and has great prices. If you live within a couple hours away, get in your car and drive here if you have yet to play it.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    6/25/2014   7/1/2014
Review By: reposado
Played: 206  Reviewed: 204  Exp: 3.5 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Whereas neighboring Maple Hill feels like a vacation, Pyramids feels like home. Seems like a perfect league course, with plenty to challenge you and potentially ruin your score, but the course itself isn't going to wear you down. The terrain is what I would consider light woods with multiple paths to the basket on most holes. There is plenty of elevation and a stream runs along a few holes and comes into play on about a third of them. There isn't much here that will slow down play since the water will affect your shot but won't require difficult recovery and underbrush is non-existent.
There are two layouts. Each hole has one tee and two baskets. I played a mix of the two, depending on my interest level in the layout as shown on the tee sign. Sometime, the gold basket provides a good deal more length than the silver. Often, this was unnecessary as the silvers provided solid hole designs. But on many occasions, the gold basket has a much more interesting pin position. Especially on 13. It's a solid hole to the silver pin, but gold requires crossing another ravine to a precarious location with plenty of roll-away danger. You will regret not throwing at it. That experience, with the gold basket making the silver basket look boring is recreated on about a third of the holes.
With two basket options, it really is one of those solid courses that you can play again and again without getting tired of it. It has that kind of terrain that is well suited to a fun game. No towering peaks or massive drops but the kind of elevation change that improves every hole both aesthetically and challenge-wise.
Cons: Still, there really isn't much that will you remember here. If you play it once, you won't be recalling fond memories in your elder years. There are no epic holes. Nothing stands out. There are some moments of repetition. There's not much done wrong here. It just lacks that extra umph to boost it into the realm of the elite courses.
There are also some holes in which the two baskets are close together and not much is gained by having the second pin location. If there is one area of improvement, it would be to take those gold baskets and move them somewhere more intense.
Other Thoughts: With Maple Hill, just down the street, it is the perfect course to be in the area. Really nice contrast in styles and lots of possible playing options.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Nice setup with fantastic pro shop

1    6/19/2014   6/22/2014
Review By: Stardoggy
Played: 94  Reviewed: 65  Exp: 3.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent setup, especially in the smaller space available.

Nice, grippy concrete tee pad on each hole. One tee at each hole.

2 baskets in place for each hole. One plays for the Silver course, one for the Gold. Both sets catch extremely well. The Gold course offers mostly longer lines, as well as different looks. Very nice for a smaller space.

Very nice mixture of woods, clearings and combination holes. Basket placements are excellent and bad shots are usually punished with unhappy lies.

Excellent tee signs, with all the information you could possibly ask for.
Cons: $6/round or $10/day is somewhat steep, even for such a nice course, especially with Maple Hill close. I guess you can get away with that when you have a top notch pro shop on site. Yearly memberships ($100/year) are also available.

One set of tee pads...this is relatively offset by the dual baskets, but it's still a bummer in such a nice setting.
Other Thoughts: The price of playing here might turn off some players, but it's definitely worth playing a few times if possible. The Marshall Street pro shop on site is excellent, as well.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Hard to leave without spending Money

1    10/4/2013   10/5/2013
Review By: Adventureortiz
Played: 17  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 2.6 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great wooded course... one or two really open holes to huk on. some tight corridors for technical play. Fit a nice course into a small space.
The guys at Marshall Street are Extremely nice and helpful. Great group of guys.
Cons: Swatted by a tree in one fairway may put you in the previous holes fairway.
It is very hard to leave this course without spending a lot of money...though they let you play if you do spend.
Other Thoughts: I had a tough round getting beat up by the trees. Everything seemed to just mis my target and get swatted our bounce off a tree. I only played this course once so far... So I might get better at finding the fairways but I struggled this first time.
Second Hole was built for me.... Love that Anny corridor. My Lat64 River and I love it. There are actually a couple of these right bending fairways. I got to try out a few Hyzer Flip shots on the narrow low ceiling corridors. Fun course I need to play again. Might have to spend a long day and play both this and Maple Hill together. You would get a complete compliment of all types of courses that way... wooded, tight, open, water, right and left bending... that would be a challenging day.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Pyramids

1    8/28/2013   8/29/2013
Review By: Policygnat
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.3 Years
2 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Great course. Excellent signage all around, interesting elevation changes, unique basket placement (especially the Pro Tee on Hole 4), and a prudent mix of distance/tactical holes. I would love to come back and play this course again.

2 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Pyramids- nice pro shop on site

1    6/26/2013   6/26/2013
Review By: chillin
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.7 Years
0 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: Decent course, with a pro shop on site w/help full employees. The course has a option to play silver or gold tee s, the silver tend to be less distance and easier wheres gold is more yards and is tuffer challange
Cons: hilly & wet. when i played it was very muddy along the lower holes near the stream that runs through the course, need to put some gravel down. shooting at hole 18 is right next to the parking lot which makes it easy for you to hit your or other cars
Other Thoughts: for $6 bucks it worth playing and id play there again

0 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Nice course with Amazing pro shop

2-4    6/9/2013   6/10/2013
Review By: lcra0825
Played: 90  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 8.3 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Tee pads with detailed signs at every hole
- Two different tees with two different baskets at each hole to provide a challenging round for beginners and more advanced players
- Lots of elevation which provides for some fun shots
- Great use of the lone creek flowing through the course to add the water element to your round
- Mostly wooded with some open holes for some variety
- The two tees provide for a great mix of long and short holes
- This course requires anhyzer and hyzer shots as well as perfectly straight shots through the woods. Uphill and down hill shots are required as well. Control is a must on this course
- After your round ( or before), you get to visit Marshall street which is a disc golfers dream to see whatever disc you want in ever color and weight at excellent prices. Don't stop at this course without visiting the pro shop
- A fun very short six hole disc golf course with challenging baskets which is free to play with purchase at Marshall StreeTt is on site
Cons: - While the course is very solid course and fun to play, I didn't feel there were any standout amazing holes.
- There were a couple holes I felt were too close to the road where I would overthrow the basket and hit a car or someone else would overthrow the basket and hit my car.
Other Thoughts: This course was very packed when we played and I could see there being a lot of waiting around for the next group to be done. If you are playing on a weekend afternoon be sure leave yourself ample time.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Well worth the $

1    8/28/2012   8/28/2012
Review By: clipnfly
Played: 60  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 5.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: All around a great place to play and well worth the expense. Great use of available terrain. Course plays long and short, up and down, hyzer and annie. 2 baskets on 17 of 18 holes make for multiple options and ways to play. Course is spotlessly clean. Benches, tables, cigarette cups, garbage cans, tee pad brooms for god sakes! on nearly all holes. Some of the best tee signs I have ever seen. Pay to play keeps out the riff raff so I call it a PRO. Awesome, fully outfitted pro shop on premisis. The only better inventory I have seen is at Clearwater. Awesome tournament location, I am sure. I brought a map but only needed it on the transition from 4 to 5 as I has played the shallow basket.
Cons: You have to get pretty picky to find things to gripe about. I would like "next tee" markers at the baskets. I know the next tee is marked on the signs... But sometimes I forget to look. Posts with disc bag holders might be a nice addition for the future. A few holes in the 7, 8, 9, 10 play close to one another. If the place was crowded it might get a bit squirley. It rained early today so some areas were a bit wet, but not too wet to interfere. Also was a bit buggy... But that is to be expected.
Other Thoughts: My hole by hole comments are here. Overall an excellent course. I am happy to pay to play and would gladly pay again here or pay elswhere if it brough upgrades and a better course like this.

Hole #1 - Nice opening tree gate to begin the hole. Great metaphor for the start of the round of play. Assorted trees after that. Lush ground cover was unique for a forested course and I was intrigued to see that play out. Turns out that it is unique to the #1 hole.

#2 - Nice tree tunnel hole... and baskets are not at the end of the tunnel. Plays both annie and hyzer for great choices. Nice length for a drive to basket area even if your arm is not that big.

#3 - Classic woodsy hole. Good placement choices for baskets. Plays you into corner of property for next holes along and using water.

#4 - This hole is well done. You want to play a hard hyzer to get it down there, yet keep the disc out of the water. You can arc it forehand (assuming you play rightie) out over the water and bring it back into the woods. Great choices. Far suspended basket is fun, too.

#5 - This is my pick for the signature hole of the course. Plays long and short. Short basket has perfect set up/landing area. Deep basket offers more arm challenge. Water is used well playing across to both sides. Nice bridges as course improvments to make play easy. A beautiful sight form the tee pad.

#6 - And then there is 6... 6 is a masterpiece as well. I played 5 and was sure it was the sig hole. 6 is just magnificent... But I am sticking with 5 as the signature hole of the course. I could play 6 18 times and call it a course.

#7 - After the drop from 6, 7 plays as your first uphill hole.

#8 - Superb tree gallery, water at the back portion of the hole. many ways to play. Basket against natural will can make for punishing fall away missed putts. I put the disc above the basket and benefitted form gravity and slope.

#9 - Well placed mando sending you back up the hill.

#10 - Superb tree tunnel. Basket backed by water. easy on the arm and just float a mid range all the way down there. overpower the disc and you will hyzer off.

#11 - Nice assortment of younger, mid sized trees... harder to hit the skinnier ones with my drive. :)

#12 - Longer hole with great basket placement in cluster of young pines at the top. Fun hole.

#13 - Refreshing change. Along the ridgeline. Open and airy. A little bit of wind to clear the bugs. Close basket offers a HUGE fall-away penalty if you overshoot the putt. At that point might as well act as if you were playing to the far basket. Nice spot where deep basket is nestled there in the back corner.

#14 - Air out your arm on this wide open shot. Thank you for the flag on the basket.

#15 - A nice follow up to the big arm one. Nice missing BIG tree right where I would have hit it on my drive if it were there. Annie and hyzer choices.

#16 - A "shrub tunnel" as opposed to a tree tunnel. Leads to a wide open landing area. If you have good annie control you can hard hook a middie close to the landing area for the deep annie basket. The 13, 14, 15, 16 set makes for a nice change up after all that woodsiness and up and down the ridge.

#17 - Filler hole to get you back across the road for the finish at 18, but still has the challenge of you can not hyzer it or you will bang it off the shed. Too many trees to forehand it and not go tree banging, too. Nice challenges.

#18 - Classic woodsy finish to a great course. Brings you nearly back to hole #1 tee. Play close basket on 18. You are tired and your arm is spent. That will eliminate the concern of playing across the road.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 The Northern Mecca??

1    11/17/2011   11/17/2011
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 6.1 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Ok, where to start?? It Pyramids DG. It's Marshall Street. While Marshall St really has nothing to do with the quality of the golf, you really need to consider them both when grading this course. It is definitely a destination course. Worthy of a road trip for several reasons.

THE COURSE

One nice, clean rubber tee pad for each hole. There is a broom at every pad, many benches and tables. Signs are great. They have 2 signs at almost every hole. One sign is for short(silver) and one sign is for long(gold) basket positions.

Navigation is obvious and simple. No issues even without a map.

Heavily wooded, technical course. In long positions there is even enough distance here for people with big arms. But, even with distance you must be able to hit lines and control your shots. This course is mostly tight and technical.

Nice variety. There are some basic short holes that give you a decent chance at birdies and possibly aces. There are brutal holes. There are lefts and rights. Ups and downs. Nice mix of shots needed.

Did I mention Marshall St is here?? One the best DG retailers in the world?? Very cool.

Cons: Really none. There is probably not any super-memorable classic holes. Nothing I'd take a picture of and post on this site.

A couple repetitive holes on the front nine. Down the hill, up the hill. BUT, they are GOOD holes. So not much of a negative.

Gold basket on 18 crosses driveway. Not huge negative, but it's there.
Other Thoughts: This is a very good course. There is simply a lot of solid DG holes. I loved hole 4. Playing the gold it is 521' of wooded DG with a creek coming into play. Then you finish with a slightly elevated hanging basket. Very cool, good looking hole.

Hole 5 plays over and along the same creek. Lots of danger, but just a cool hole. 454' of technical, fun golf.

6-11 play up and down the hillside with the creek coming into play a lot. Some people might see it as overly repetitive, but they are all nice holes, and it would be a waste not to use the elevation.

The back 9 offers less elevation, but has a few more open holes that allow you to break out your distance driver.

This course is a must play not only for its golf, but for the entire Marshall St experience. It offers a great pro shop, and a nice versatile DG course. You can play the Silver Course and have a nice moderate, wooded challenge. Or you can play the Gold Course, and get beat up on by a very difficult, longer, wooded course. All in all, this is a great place to play.


11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center