Leicester, MA 
Pyramids Share
Uploaded By: HyzerBerryPie Hole #10 (Taken 7/2014)
3 / 240ft.   3 / 277ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Approach



Reviews: 46
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    6/25/2014   7/1/2014
Review By: reposado
Played: 206  Reviewed: 204  Exp: 3.5 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Whereas neighboring Maple Hill feels like a vacation, Pyramids feels like home. Seems like a perfect league course, with plenty to challenge you and potentially ruin your score, but the course itself isn't going to wear you down. The terrain is what I would consider light woods with multiple paths to the basket on most holes. There is plenty of elevation and a stream runs along a few holes and comes into play on about a third of them. There isn't much here that will slow down play since the water will affect your shot but won't require difficult recovery and underbrush is non-existent.
There are two layouts. Each hole has one tee and two baskets. I played a mix of the two, depending on my interest level in the layout as shown on the tee sign. Sometime, the gold basket provides a good deal more length than the silver. Often, this was unnecessary as the silvers provided solid hole designs. But on many occasions, the gold basket has a much more interesting pin position. Especially on 13. It's a solid hole to the silver pin, but gold requires crossing another ravine to a precarious location with plenty of roll-away danger. You will regret not throwing at it. That experience, with the gold basket making the silver basket look boring is recreated on about a third of the holes.
With two basket options, it really is one of those solid courses that you can play again and again without getting tired of it. It has that kind of terrain that is well suited to a fun game. No towering peaks or massive drops but the kind of elevation change that improves every hole both aesthetically and challenge-wise.
Cons: Still, there really isn't much that will you remember here. If you play it once, you won't be recalling fond memories in your elder years. There are no epic holes. Nothing stands out. There are some moments of repetition. There's not much done wrong here. It just lacks that extra umph to boost it into the realm of the elite courses.
There are also some holes in which the two baskets are close together and not much is gained by having the second pin location. If there is one area of improvement, it would be to take those gold baskets and move them somewhere more intense.
Other Thoughts: With Maple Hill, just down the street, it is the perfect course to be in the area. Really nice contrast in styles and lots of possible playing options.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Nice course with Amazing pro shop

2-4    6/9/2013   6/10/2013
Review By: lcra0825
Played: 90  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 8.3 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Tee pads with detailed signs at every hole
- Two different tees with two different baskets at each hole to provide a challenging round for beginners and more advanced players
- Lots of elevation which provides for some fun shots
- Great use of the lone creek flowing through the course to add the water element to your round
- Mostly wooded with some open holes for some variety
- The two tees provide for a great mix of long and short holes
- This course requires anhyzer and hyzer shots as well as perfectly straight shots through the woods. Uphill and down hill shots are required as well. Control is a must on this course
- After your round ( or before), you get to visit Marshall street which is a disc golfers dream to see whatever disc you want in ever color and weight at excellent prices. Don't stop at this course without visiting the pro shop
- A fun very short six hole disc golf course with challenging baskets which is free to play with purchase at Marshall StreeTt is on site
Cons: - While the course is very solid course and fun to play, I didn't feel there were any standout amazing holes.
- There were a couple holes I felt were too close to the road where I would overthrow the basket and hit a car or someone else would overthrow the basket and hit my car.
Other Thoughts: This course was very packed when we played and I could see there being a lot of waiting around for the next group to be done. If you are playing on a weekend afternoon be sure leave yourself ample time.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 It was like a great movie with a chit ending :(

1    7/3/2011   7/5/2011
Review By: prerube
Played: 213  Reviewed: 195  Exp: 7.6 Years
8 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The first 16 holes were great. amazing use of elevation, creek, and woods.
Good variety of shots, distances, and fairway widths.
Some of the best signage I have ever seen.
2 baskets on every hole. Discatchers at one layout and chainstars on the other to make it clear.
Great course maintenance The hanging basket on 4 fell down and was fixed by the next morning.
Of course Marshall Street is by far the biggest pro for this course, it is amazing.

Less than a mile from Maple Hill make this a perfect travel destination.

Cons: I can not believe Marshall St. would approve a hole like 18. It is a total danger and 50% of my group refused to finish the round because of the danger of hitting cars, and one of the guys who decided to play it did hit a car in the parking lot.
Hole 17 was a safety hazard also with the basket just a few feet from the road leaving you putting right next to moving vehicles risking damage to vehicles and the chance your disc could get run over. These 2 holes ruined an otherwise spectacular course.
On many holes the 2 baskets locations were not different enough to notice.
Other Thoughts: The cost is well worth the play, but it would be better to play both baskets on 2 other holes than to play 17 and 18. If they were to change 17 and 18 I would rate this course at 4.5, but I can not overlook such a disappointing ending.

8 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Scenic but not safe

2-4    4/3/2010   4/3/2010
Review By: MrHighlandPark
Played: 54  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 5.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great scenery and some creative holes crossing back and forth over a river. Nice elevation changes, and a good mix of short and medium length holes. Having two baskets for each hole is a clever alternative to having two tee pads.

The course houses an unbelievably well-stocked pro shop, and offers a great opportunity to fill up on new plastic before your round.

I felt that the $6 price was very reasonable considering the amount of private land required to construct a course like this.
Cons: The course layout poses genuine safety hazards. The flight paths cross each other in more than just a couple locations, and hole 18 in particular is basically unplayable on a busy day.

Also, while the course is challenging and requires a lot of accuracy, it doesn't feel like a variety of shots are required - specifically anhyzers and overhead shots.

Lastly, the silver baskets are hard to see - I'm sure this gets better with experience.
Other Thoughts: If you can make it here during off-peak hours (like a weekday afternoon), you'll have a lot more fun.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Gotta love it Grange North

5+    8/15/2008   2/3/2009
Review By: craigg
Played: 183  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 33.3 Years
17 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Private property courses are just inherently cool. Home to "Marshall Street" and Pyramids DGC, owner Jason Southwick is an invaluable asset to DG in Massachusetts.
The course occupies a mostly wooded plot of (I'm guessing) 20 something acres, and it's broken up into two main areas. One area is mostly flat and has one large stand of mature trees, and a large field peppered with christmas trees (that are pretty much too big to fit in anyones house). The other area is a steep/wide gully with a creek running down one edge - headed by a small pond. The flat area holds about 1/3 of the course, the woods holds about 2/3.
I like the variety and change in difficulty offered by the different tee/pin layouts. The long course plays significantly harder than the short course ( I think they are referred to as the Gold and Silver layouts). The woods are fun, as you get to play up down and across the gully (it's not a little gully - from hiltop to hilltop is probably 700') that's heavily wooded, but not really tight.
Cons: The nature of the topography makes the back and forth layout a tad redundant (holes 6-11?), which takes away from the overall quality of the course.
Other Thoughts: Camping is allowed on site (at least for big events in the past). The property owners are just fantastic.
As was mentioned elsewhere, there is a lighted DDC court which just plain rocks!
Small gravel parking lot seems adequate.
Pro shop on site is VERY well stocked with a wide variety of plastic and other DG goodies.
Lots of local events makes this course a local favorite.
I understand that Pyramids has suffered from ice storm damage this winter, so I'm sure the nature of the course has been altered a bit, but the overall quality/character I'm sure will remain unchanged.

The first time I played this course was in 30" of snow - and I went back the first chance I got. (If that says anything)

17 of 17 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.