Leicester, MA 
Pyramids Share
Uploaded By: HyzerBerryPie Hole #16 (Taken 7/2014)
3 / 339ft.   3 / 337ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Fairway



Reviews: 46
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Kid in a candy store

1    7/5/2014   8/4/2014
Review By: Buchajs1
Played: 41  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 2.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a fun and enjoyable "home style course." With maple hill just down the road, you can plan a great vacation with these two courses. First off, the pro shop is fantastic! It adds to the experience and really helped this course earn an excellent rating. As my title describes, the pro shop gave me the feeling of being six years old and walking into a magnificent candy store.

Now on to the course. The course is well laid out, with some significant elevation changes and good variety in hole lengths. Variety in shot shapes as well. OB stream comes into play on several holes and makes for some extra challenge.

Where this course really earns its stars is the immense fun factor. With maple hill down the road, this course would provide a break from the many challenges of maple hill. Two permanent basket locations for each hole, add variety and challenge to each and every hole. The long pins will challenge even the mist seasoned of players.

The awesome elevation changes is what really drives this course home for me. There is a good mix of downhill touch shots and tougher uphill shots. The designer(s) did a good job by incorporating the hill on as many holes as possible with out it getting to cluttered.
Cons: Some of the holes in the middle of the course get somewhat repetitive. There are many holes that kind of blend in where you play down he hill and the back up, down the hill and back up.

#16s gold basket is relatively unreachable because of the angle you have to throw, over a 90 degree turn right.

#18s gold basket is right by the driving net. A well placed second shot can land next to the net a mere 15 feet away from the basket.

These are all pretty nit picky cons as there are not to many to puck out at this great course.
Other Thoughts: This is a very enjoyable and fun course to play. However it really lacks the memorable or picturesque holes needed to give it a higher rating. All in all if you can I would highly recommend planning a day road trip to play maple hill and pyramids, two great courses just down the road from eachother.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Nice setup with fantastic pro shop

1    6/19/2014   6/22/2014
Review By: Stardoggy
Played: 94  Reviewed: 65  Exp: 3.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent setup, especially in the smaller space available.

Nice, grippy concrete tee pad on each hole. One tee at each hole.

2 baskets in place for each hole. One plays for the Silver course, one for the Gold. Both sets catch extremely well. The Gold course offers mostly longer lines, as well as different looks. Very nice for a smaller space.

Very nice mixture of woods, clearings and combination holes. Basket placements are excellent and bad shots are usually punished with unhappy lies.

Excellent tee signs, with all the information you could possibly ask for.
Cons: $6/round or $10/day is somewhat steep, even for such a nice course, especially with Maple Hill close. I guess you can get away with that when you have a top notch pro shop on site. Yearly memberships ($100/year) are also available.

One set of tee pads...this is relatively offset by the dual baskets, but it's still a bummer in such a nice setting.
Other Thoughts: The price of playing here might turn off some players, but it's definitely worth playing a few times if possible. The Marshall Street pro shop on site is excellent, as well.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Hard to leave without spending Money

1    10/4/2013   10/5/2013
Review By: Adventureortiz
Played: 17  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 2.5 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great wooded course... one or two really open holes to huk on. some tight corridors for technical play. Fit a nice course into a small space.
The guys at Marshall Street are Extremely nice and helpful. Great group of guys.
Cons: Swatted by a tree in one fairway may put you in the previous holes fairway.
It is very hard to leave this course without spending a lot of money...though they let you play if you do spend.
Other Thoughts: I had a tough round getting beat up by the trees. Everything seemed to just mis my target and get swatted our bounce off a tree. I only played this course once so far... So I might get better at finding the fairways but I struggled this first time.
Second Hole was built for me.... Love that Anny corridor. My Lat64 River and I love it. There are actually a couple of these right bending fairways. I got to try out a few Hyzer Flip shots on the narrow low ceiling corridors. Fun course I need to play again. Might have to spend a long day and play both this and Maple Hill together. You would get a complete compliment of all types of courses that way... wooded, tight, open, water, right and left bending... that would be a challenging day.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Pyramids

1    8/28/2013   8/29/2013
Review By: Policygnat
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.2 Years
2 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Great course. Excellent signage all around, interesting elevation changes, unique basket placement (especially the Pro Tee on Hole 4), and a prudent mix of distance/tactical holes. I would love to come back and play this course again.

2 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Well worth the $

1    8/28/2012   8/28/2012
Review By: clipnfly
Played: 60  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 5.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: All around a great place to play and well worth the expense. Great use of available terrain. Course plays long and short, up and down, hyzer and annie. 2 baskets on 17 of 18 holes make for multiple options and ways to play. Course is spotlessly clean. Benches, tables, cigarette cups, garbage cans, tee pad brooms for god sakes! on nearly all holes. Some of the best tee signs I have ever seen. Pay to play keeps out the riff raff so I call it a PRO. Awesome, fully outfitted pro shop on premisis. The only better inventory I have seen is at Clearwater. Awesome tournament location, I am sure. I brought a map but only needed it on the transition from 4 to 5 as I has played the shallow basket.
Cons: You have to get pretty picky to find things to gripe about. I would like "next tee" markers at the baskets. I know the next tee is marked on the signs... But sometimes I forget to look. Posts with disc bag holders might be a nice addition for the future. A few holes in the 7, 8, 9, 10 play close to one another. If the place was crowded it might get a bit squirley. It rained early today so some areas were a bit wet, but not too wet to interfere. Also was a bit buggy... But that is to be expected.
Other Thoughts: My hole by hole comments are here. Overall an excellent course. I am happy to pay to play and would gladly pay again here or pay elswhere if it brough upgrades and a better course like this.

Hole #1 - Nice opening tree gate to begin the hole. Great metaphor for the start of the round of play. Assorted trees after that. Lush ground cover was unique for a forested course and I was intrigued to see that play out. Turns out that it is unique to the #1 hole.

#2 - Nice tree tunnel hole... and baskets are not at the end of the tunnel. Plays both annie and hyzer for great choices. Nice length for a drive to basket area even if your arm is not that big.

#3 - Classic woodsy hole. Good placement choices for baskets. Plays you into corner of property for next holes along and using water.

#4 - This hole is well done. You want to play a hard hyzer to get it down there, yet keep the disc out of the water. You can arc it forehand (assuming you play rightie) out over the water and bring it back into the woods. Great choices. Far suspended basket is fun, too.

#5 - This is my pick for the signature hole of the course. Plays long and short. Short basket has perfect set up/landing area. Deep basket offers more arm challenge. Water is used well playing across to both sides. Nice bridges as course improvments to make play easy. A beautiful sight form the tee pad.

#6 - And then there is 6... 6 is a masterpiece as well. I played 5 and was sure it was the sig hole. 6 is just magnificent... But I am sticking with 5 as the signature hole of the course. I could play 6 18 times and call it a course.

#7 - After the drop from 6, 7 plays as your first uphill hole.

#8 - Superb tree gallery, water at the back portion of the hole. many ways to play. Basket against natural will can make for punishing fall away missed putts. I put the disc above the basket and benefitted form gravity and slope.

#9 - Well placed mando sending you back up the hill.

#10 - Superb tree tunnel. Basket backed by water. easy on the arm and just float a mid range all the way down there. overpower the disc and you will hyzer off.

#11 - Nice assortment of younger, mid sized trees... harder to hit the skinnier ones with my drive. :)

#12 - Longer hole with great basket placement in cluster of young pines at the top. Fun hole.

#13 - Refreshing change. Along the ridgeline. Open and airy. A little bit of wind to clear the bugs. Close basket offers a HUGE fall-away penalty if you overshoot the putt. At that point might as well act as if you were playing to the far basket. Nice spot where deep basket is nestled there in the back corner.

#14 - Air out your arm on this wide open shot. Thank you for the flag on the basket.

#15 - A nice follow up to the big arm one. Nice missing BIG tree right where I would have hit it on my drive if it were there. Annie and hyzer choices.

#16 - A "shrub tunnel" as opposed to a tree tunnel. Leads to a wide open landing area. If you have good annie control you can hard hook a middie close to the landing area for the deep annie basket. The 13, 14, 15, 16 set makes for a nice change up after all that woodsiness and up and down the ridge.

#17 - Filler hole to get you back across the road for the finish at 18, but still has the challenge of you can not hyzer it or you will bang it off the shed. Too many trees to forehand it and not go tree banging, too. Nice challenges.

#18 - Classic woodsy finish to a great course. Brings you nearly back to hole #1 tee. Play close basket on 18. You are tired and your arm is spent. That will eliminate the concern of playing across the road.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 The Northern Mecca??

1    11/17/2011   11/17/2011
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 6 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Ok, where to start?? It Pyramids DG. It's Marshall Street. While Marshall St really has nothing to do with the quality of the golf, you really need to consider them both when grading this course. It is definitely a destination course. Worthy of a road trip for several reasons.

THE COURSE

One nice, clean rubber tee pad for each hole. There is a broom at every pad, many benches and tables. Signs are great. They have 2 signs at almost every hole. One sign is for short(silver) and one sign is for long(gold) basket positions.

Navigation is obvious and simple. No issues even without a map.

Heavily wooded, technical course. In long positions there is even enough distance here for people with big arms. But, even with distance you must be able to hit lines and control your shots. This course is mostly tight and technical.

Nice variety. There are some basic short holes that give you a decent chance at birdies and possibly aces. There are brutal holes. There are lefts and rights. Ups and downs. Nice mix of shots needed.

Did I mention Marshall St is here?? One the best DG retailers in the world?? Very cool.

Cons: Really none. There is probably not any super-memorable classic holes. Nothing I'd take a picture of and post on this site.

A couple repetitive holes on the front nine. Down the hill, up the hill. BUT, they are GOOD holes. So not much of a negative.

Gold basket on 18 crosses driveway. Not huge negative, but it's there.
Other Thoughts: This is a very good course. There is simply a lot of solid DG holes. I loved hole 4. Playing the gold it is 521' of wooded DG with a creek coming into play. Then you finish with a slightly elevated hanging basket. Very cool, good looking hole.

Hole 5 plays over and along the same creek. Lots of danger, but just a cool hole. 454' of technical, fun golf.

6-11 play up and down the hillside with the creek coming into play a lot. Some people might see it as overly repetitive, but they are all nice holes, and it would be a waste not to use the elevation.

The back 9 offers less elevation, but has a few more open holes that allow you to break out your distance driver.

This course is a must play not only for its golf, but for the entire Marshall St experience. It offers a great pro shop, and a nice versatile DG course. You can play the Silver Course and have a nice moderate, wooded challenge. Or you can play the Gold Course, and get beat up on by a very difficult, longer, wooded course. All in all, this is a great place to play.


11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Where are the mummies?

1    8/25/2011   10/10/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 816  Reviewed: 773  Exp: 12.7 Years
13 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays through hilly woods with a few smaller open areas. Most of the holes play in and around a small wooded valley with a stream in the bottom. The ob water comes into play on drives and around several of the greens adding some fun risk/reward decisions. Many of these holes also play up and down the side of the valley with some fun downhill shots and tricky uphills along with some tough roll away greens. A few holes play through some more open areas with longer distances and a different feel.

There is a nice mix of hole shapes, you'll need a wide variety of shots to score well. With two pins on each hole that offer some different looks there's even more variety. A few longer holes and some ace run chances mix up the lengths, and some of the silver and gold pins make some good sized distance changes. The signage here is excellent, with silver and gold signs on every hole showing hole layout and length. The tees are in nice shape, and the numerous bridges over the stream are a nice touch. It's always a bonus to have an onsite pro shop, and this is one of the best.
Cons: There are several holes in the middle of the course that play up and down the same hill, and have a bit of a repetitive feel. The last two holes play along and over the driveway and parking lot, and aren't very challenging or interesting, a very disappointing end to a fun round. There are a handful of holes where the silver and gold pins are pretty close, and don't offer much change.
Other Thoughts: The silver layout is relatively beginner friendly, though the technical lines and occasional rough might frustrate true beginners. More experienced players will find some nice challenges and enough variety to keep it interesting. This is a really fun round, and with Maple Hill just down the road it's worth going out of your way to play in this area.

13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Another Level

2-4    9/11/2011   9/13/2011
Review By: Evilhippy
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.5 Years
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Beautiful course, interesting holes, elevation, water hazards, choices...
Cons: Signage, Signage, and more Signage. There are wonderful signs at the Tee but by the time you get to the basket you will have no idea where the next tee is.
Other Thoughts: Home of Marshall St. Disc Golf shop which is fantastic.

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 First time $

1    4/14/2011   8/14/2011
Review By: glenncurtiss
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Nice people with generous pro shop. Bought what I needed to play. Great layout on varying terrain from woods, water and open meadow.
Seemed to have thought of everything with brooms on tee pads. Well marked layout.
Cons: Little sloppy this day as snow in the shades was melting.
Other Thoughts: First time paying to play. Was worth it.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 great time

1    9/4/2010   9/12/2010
Review By: eastcoastf
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: great challenging course. beautiful background..plays pretty fast.

it was fun to play
Cons: a few holes were similar.. went up the hill, down the hill, up the hill, down the hill..so it was kind of lose the surprise of what the next hole looked like. but it was only a few holes.

afraid to shoot on the 18th hole cause a car was parked right next to the tee.
Other Thoughts: cost to play but is worth it.

awesome store too!

down the street from maple hill
newton hill 10 minutes away.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.