Disc Golf Store
Leicester, MA 
Pyramids Share
Uploaded By: HyzerBerryPie Hole #1 (Taken 7/2014)
3 / 354ft.   4 / 535ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 46
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Well varied course

5+    6/22/2014   7/19/2014
Review By: KLydon
Played: 13  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 1.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/20/2014
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: +Well maintained
+Great tees
+Good mix of woodsy and open shots
+Very fair
+Great intermediate course
+Great mapping
+Also, it has the BEST pro shop around
Cons: -It can be busy on weekends and therefore it will slow down the speed of play, but that is hardly a problem
Other Thoughts: One of my favorite courses, it's a bit of a drive for me but it is well worth it. Plus, the pro shop is amazing and has great prices. If you live within a couple hours away, get in your car and drive here if you have yet to play it.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 First Pay Course

1    4/7/2011   4/9/2011
Review By: LakeBodom397
Played: 70  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 6.2 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Incredible layout! The course has everything you could want! Short holes, long holes, tightly wooded, open, uphill, downhill, right, left and even unique amenities such as the hanging basket on hole #4 of the gold course!

Two baskets on every hole with very detailed signage for each. signs include hole number, distance, par, diagram of the optimal path, and pictures from the tee, approach, and basket.

Extremely clean, even for early spring. You can tell that they're in the process of spring cleaning, however brush and most of the leaves are in piles out of the way. this makes in much easier to walk through the course and also find your shots.

Virtually no litter! Every tee includes a broom for the teepad, a garbage can, and an ashtray.

Practice basket and small field for upshots next to the pro shop.
Cons: A couple holes (hole #10 and hole #14) have the silver course's basket directly in front of the gold courses. This isn't really a huge problem, but if you're playing the golds is another obstacle to throw around.

Hole # 18 plays right alongside the road coming into the course, has a few small pines directly in front of the teepad. Both baskets are on the other side of the road. Its a short hole, but still kinda dangerous in terms of hitting cars in the parking lot, coming down the road, or hitting other players walking to hole #1.
Other Thoughts: This course met and exceeded all expectations I had. It was such a pleasure playing such a well maintained, and well designed course. I would highly recommend playing this course, and checking out Marshall Street in person. Everyone there is extremely friendly and very knowledgeable. Great course! Can't wait to come back!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Oct. DG in Mass.

1    10/26/2010   10/26/2010
Review By: cplatt
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -superb hole maps on each tee box
-really solid pro shop
-well-marked entrance
-lot of hole variety
-good course map on scorecard
-easy to get to off of the highway - great way to break up a drive to NYC or Boston
Cons: -could have used a little more marking between holes
-baskets could use some pink day-glo flags or blazes to make them easier to find (some had orange, but that's a tough color in the fall)

Other Thoughts: -ran into the course designer/owner walking through with his dogs, the guy spent about 5 mins. with me on #10 helping me find an errant drive. we ended up finding it -- what a great guy!
-i'll have to get back here for sure, well worth $$ for the quality of a pay course

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Pyramids

1    10/2/2010   10/2/2010
Review By: adlacro
Played: 65  Reviewed: 65  Exp: 8.5 Years
This review was updated on 2/2/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 tees with two baskets to each hole. Baskets are in great shape. Mostly wooded course, yet it is fair in the fact that there are no pinball type holes. Unlike Maple Hill, Pyramids doesn't have as much water and no intimidating 200 plus foot water throws. Most of the water at Pyramids is casual and forgiving. A bit of elevation in the back and forth holes but nothing like Maple Hill. Plenty of parking. Marshall Street is the nicest disc golf shop I have ever seen. Locals are very friendly. Not far from eating establishments. The signage is top notch.
Cons: The biggest gripe I have with Pyramids is the entrance road, which borders holes 16, 17, and 18. Any throw on 17 and 18 can hit an unsuspecting car. The parking lot is not safe from a bad throw on 18 either. The entrance road is only wide enough for one car, so take care entering and exiting Pyramids.
Other Thoughts: This course nicely complements Maple Hill and again has the two layouts for players of different skill levels, but here the Silver layout is pretty tough. Play the Pinks for free when you pay for your round at Pyramids.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 First Private course Played

1    9/4/2010   9/6/2010
Review By: movieguy84
Played: 28  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 6.6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Just a wonderful layout on the course hole 5 is one of the most beautiful that i have ever seen. casual streams run through the course so there is a little bit of water lots of elevation changes makes for a challenging course and multiple baskets is a very nice touch. The signs were well done to make each hole easy to find.
Cons: Pay to pay $6 but very much worth it to play I would like to say the only reason this is a con all of the courses around me are free and I understand that more money means for a lot nicer courses.
Other Thoughts: The pro shop for this course is the Marshall street disc golf store and it is so cool to finally go into it the owner is extremely nice and has a great selection of stuff and if you have never been to an actual pro shop you should go and see this one!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Wish it were closer

2-4    7/18/2010   7/18/2010
Review By: MrAstro
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Very clean (not a ton of brush so you can spend more time playing --- water is not really a factor), well laid out with two baskets per tee... no poison ivy.
Cons: Not free... and hilly -- not always a con, just something to point out.
Other Thoughts: It's great fun to poke around the pro shop.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great time as always

5+    6/27/2010   6/29/2010
Review By: erbguy
Played: 43  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Awesome course with a variety of different types of throws form heavily wooded to open fields. The on-site store is fully stocked and always ready with advice and disc reviews. The difference between the pro and reg. courses is enough that you can play twice in a row and stay entirely entertained.
Cons: If you hate hiking up and down the same steep slope 8 times, being a walking buffet for bugs, or paying $6 a round, then this course might be an issue for ya. Also, watch out in the winter, the snow makes it treacherous.
Other Thoughts: The revised 3, 4, and 5 holes are awesome! It opened up a whole lot of room so I'm expecting some more changes or maybe a couple more holes. Nice job guys!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/22/2009   11/26/2009
Review By: WolfRoc
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very nicely groomed course, some holes have narrow tunnely shots makes it great and fun. well designed IMO very friendly people running the show. greatest proshop in the basement nice staff, im down there quite a bit. On hole 13 you got a beautiful view of a swamp at the bottom of the hill and worcester airport, its nice to take a brake and chill there for a few mins. Each tee pad is made of rubber and has tee signs for the silver and gold course, and a broom to sweep away debree that could affect your shot. another plus would be thats about 10 mins from my house.
Cons: The parking lot is right in the middle of hole 18, it feels a little crappy with the thought of nailing a car. Or getting your car nailed.
Other Thoughts: this is where it all started for me, its great to play, i play here as much as i can. super awesome course if you want to take a youngin

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 great course

2-4    6/9/2009   8/9/2009
Review By: dukdukgolf
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: great course,,,very wooded with amazing use of elevation. Well kept with good tee pads. Amazing pro shop. Id go here everyday if i lived close.
Cons: last couple holes are less than great. they follow the driveway in and the 18th you pretty much throw over the parking lot.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Loads of fun

2-4    8/8/2009   8/8/2009
Review By: rootcanalsarebad
Played: 21  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 4/12/2010
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of wooded holes, but the woods are "clean" so it would be hard to lose discs. Also several open holes in the back 9. Plenty of "ace" opportunities if you can weave through some trees! Several baskets are near mini-ledges with a river running beneath, which makes for great risk/reward putting. Two sets of baskets--"Silver" for amateurs, and "Gold" for more advanced players. Clean rubber tee pads--with brooms at each tee--to clean debris (if needed) and prevent slippage.
Cons: Hole 18 is a terrible design, unless you want to risk hitting your own car, or someone else's. Have to be careful of oncoming vehicles on hole 17, as you tee off down the driveway. Not many wide open holes. Very short course--almost entirely par 3 for the Silver baskets. Very hilly, so it's tiring to manuever.
Other Thoughts: Since I am a huge fan of wooded holes, I highly enjoyed Pyramids. I've seen several reviews stating this this is not a course for beginners, and I vehemently disagree. My wife had a blast and it was her first "true" time out. Since the course is short, I think it's great for beginners. The woods are very, very well kept, so there aren't fallen tree branches everywhere.

There is also one of the best pro shops around in the basement of the house. Every disc imaginable is in stock.

All in all, this is a phenomenal course that's well worth the $5. And, since you sign in when you play, you could come in the morning, go home for lunch, and come back at night without having to pay again.

I would highly, highly recommend playing this course, no matter your skill level. You won't be let down!

EDIT: They have since "fixed" hole 17 (silver) so that it no longer crosses the driveway. Upping this course to 4.5 discs.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.