Leicester, MA 
Pyramids Share
Uploaded By: HyzerBerryPie Hole #11 (Taken 7/2014)
3 / 253ft.   3 / 270ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 50
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Enjoyable and Challenging

1    9/26/2016   11/5/2016
Review By: Discette
Played: 356  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 20.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Pyramids is a very well maintained 18 hole course that winds through the woods, along creeks and through a meadow. Each hole has one tee and two different targets. I played this course as part of a trip playing 12 states in 12 days. Pyramids and Maple Hill were the only courses I played on this trip through Massachusetts. Be sure you stop in to the Marshall Hill pro shop to pay before you play.


I used bullet points for those that don't want to read the entire review.

Two Targets
This course has one tee and two targets installed on each hole. Two targets on every hole is not very common in other parts of the United States. However, in New England and the East Coast, this is not so unusual. This was one of the better two target courses I played on my trip.

Variety
I was pleasantly surprised at the amount of variety here. Even though this is a fairly small plot of land, there is a great mix of holes and a surprising amount of elevation changes. There are some tight wooded holes, a few open wooded holes, holes along and over the OB creek and couple of holes with more open meadow shots. The wooded holes do require a variety of shots to score well.


Signs and Navigation
Course is easy to navigate, even if you forget to bring your map (like I did). There are two fantastic full color tee signs for the Silver and Gold locations on every tee. The massive tee signs have tons of information. They list the distances and even include photos.The signs also provide direction to the next tee.

Amenities
The course has signs and well maintained and ample rubber tee pads on every hole. There are broom holders with brooms on all of the tee signs. Many of the tees have benches, tables or logs. There were really nice bridges and wooden walkways over creeks and wet areas. There is a full service pro shop on site and portable johns in the parking area.

Amazing Upkeep
This course has top notch maintenance. Grassy areas were kept mowed and there is no real rough off the fairways. There were wood chips located throughout the course. The wood chips were not just around the baskets and tees, but also on the fairways keeping the grass down and preventing erosion. It had rained for two days before I played and there was no need to worry about mud or standing water.

Silver or Gold
Even though I am not a gold level player, I played the gold course on my visit. The gold target locations are usually longer and they are much more straightforward than the silver targets. Some of the silver targets are in dog leg locations or are located deep left or right of the main fairway (like an afterthought). While the Gold course is not a Gold Level Championship course, I would consider it a top notch Advanced level course. There is plenty of challenge for players of all skill levels. While I don't really know which came first, I would venture Gold was here first as it seems to flow better.

All 18 in Row
Once you tee on Hole 1, you do not return to the massive parking area until after Hole 18. However, it is possible to take a quick run to the car after Hole 7 and maybe again while you are playing Hole 14. I appreciate the compact design here. There is very little extra walking from tee to tee to play the course.

Solo play
No problems playing solo here. While a couple of targets are "blind" from the tee, there is no risk of losing track of discs on these fairways. It was nearly impossible to play the neighboring Maple Hill as a solo player, so this easy compact and easy to navigate course was a welcome relief for me.

Restrooms
There are portable restrooms in the parking area. They were clean and well maintained.

Litter Free and no Graffiti
One of the benefits of a pay to play course. No litter, no butts, no beer cans and no graffiti. Continue to keep it classy people!

Kids and Strollers
I wouldn't bring kids in strollers because of the inherently rocky terrain. I suppose you could bring a disc cart, but the elevation change and rocky ground might make it tough. The Pyramids course is pretty compact so it would be easy enough for older kids to walk along. There are no restrooms on the course except the portable johns in parking area. If you come with kids that want to play disc golf, start out on the nine hole Pink course located by the Pro Shop. This is a perfect course for young ones.
Cons:
Not big, bold or flashy. Just good solid disc golf.
I am having trouble thinking of any cons here. A couple of the wooded holes could have used a wider fairway. Even though there was a good variety of shots, some holes started to look and feel the same.
Other Thoughts:
Overshadowed

This course is definitely overshadowed by the more famous Maple Hill down the street. However, I found this course so much more enjoyable and far less confusing. As a solo player, Pyramids was much more relaxing and fun to play solo than MH. Pyramids was easier to navigate and there is no risk of losing a disc in the middle of the fairway because you did not have a spotter.

Rating
The course is just shy of perfect, so I will rate it a 4.5

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Marshall Street is the Best

1    5/31/2015   6/7/2015
Review By: SpatialT
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 30.8 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: See Buchas post for similar description
Best pro shop in the NE, if the the US. That alone is worth a visit
Scenic course with stream flowing through several holes Very wooded but not much understory. Great use of elevation on most holes - a lot of back and forth up and down the side of a hill
Multiple tees and two baskets per hole provide a lot of variety
Cons: None, really, though I didn't enjoy the holes at the top of the hill (flat) as much as the first 9.
Other Thoughts: A memorable course. I played on a rainy day, unfortunately, but enjoyed it none the less. The greatest pro shop ever. Marshall Street makes me want to take a disc golf vacation. Or go back to college somewhere in Leicester..You really need 3-4 full days to experience Pyramids and Maple Hill. It is Disney for Disc Golfers. Keep it up, people!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Well varied course

5+    6/22/2014   7/19/2014
Review By: KLydon
Played: 17  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 3.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/20/2014
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: +Well maintained
+Great tees
+Good mix of woodsy and open shots
+Very fair
+Great intermediate course
+Great mapping
+Also, it has the BEST pro shop around
Cons: -It can be busy on weekends and therefore it will slow down the speed of play, but that is hardly a problem
Other Thoughts: One of my favorite courses, it's a bit of a drive for me but it is well worth it. Plus, the pro shop is amazing and has great prices. If you live within a couple hours away, get in your car and drive here if you have yet to play it.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 First Pay Course

1    4/7/2011   4/9/2011
Review By: LakeBodom397
Played: 91  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 8.3 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Incredible layout! The course has everything you could want! Short holes, long holes, tightly wooded, open, uphill, downhill, right, left and even unique amenities such as the hanging basket on hole #4 of the gold course!

Two baskets on every hole with very detailed signage for each. signs include hole number, distance, par, diagram of the optimal path, and pictures from the tee, approach, and basket.

Extremely clean, even for early spring. You can tell that they're in the process of spring cleaning, however brush and most of the leaves are in piles out of the way. this makes in much easier to walk through the course and also find your shots.

Virtually no litter! Every tee includes a broom for the teepad, a garbage can, and an ashtray.

Practice basket and small field for upshots next to the pro shop.
Cons: A couple holes (hole #10 and hole #14) have the silver course's basket directly in front of the gold courses. This isn't really a huge problem, but if you're playing the golds is another obstacle to throw around.

Hole # 18 plays right alongside the road coming into the course, has a few small pines directly in front of the teepad. Both baskets are on the other side of the road. Its a short hole, but still kinda dangerous in terms of hitting cars in the parking lot, coming down the road, or hitting other players walking to hole #1.
Other Thoughts: This course met and exceeded all expectations I had. It was such a pleasure playing such a well maintained, and well designed course. I would highly recommend playing this course, and checking out Marshall Street in person. Everyone there is extremely friendly and very knowledgeable. Great course! Can't wait to come back!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Oct. DG in Mass.

1    10/26/2010   10/26/2010
Review By: cplatt
Played: 24  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -superb hole maps on each tee box
-really solid pro shop
-well-marked entrance
-lot of hole variety
-good course map on scorecard
-easy to get to off of the highway - great way to break up a drive to NYC or Boston
Cons: -could have used a little more marking between holes
-baskets could use some pink day-glo flags or blazes to make them easier to find (some had orange, but that's a tough color in the fall)

Other Thoughts: -ran into the course designer/owner walking through with his dogs, the guy spent about 5 mins. with me on #10 helping me find an errant drive. we ended up finding it -- what a great guy!
-i'll have to get back here for sure, well worth $$ for the quality of a pay course

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Pyramids

2-4    8/6/2015   10/2/2010
Review By: adlacro
Played: 94  Reviewed: 87  Exp: 10.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/6/2015
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 tees with two baskets to each hole. Baskets are in great shape. Mostly wooded course, yet it is fair in the fact that there are no pinball type holes. Unlike Maple Hill, Pyramids doesn't have as much water and no intimidating 200 plus foot water throws. Most of the water at Pyramids is casual and forgiving. A bit of elevation in the back and forth holes but nothing like Maple Hill. Plenty of parking. Marshall Street is the nicest disc golf shop I have ever seen. Locals are very friendly. Not far from eating establishments. The signage is top notch.
Cons: The biggest gripe I have with Pyramids is the entrance road, which borders holes 16, 17, and 18. Any throw on 17 and 18 can hit an unsuspecting car. The parking lot is not safe from a bad throw on 18 either. The entrance road is only wide enough for one car, so take care entering and exiting Pyramids.
Other Thoughts: This course nicely complements Maple Hill and again has the two layouts for players of different skill levels, but here the Silver layout is pretty tough. Play the Pinks for free when you pay for your round at Pyramids.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 First Private course Played

1    9/4/2010   9/6/2010
Review By: movieguy84
Played: 28  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 8.6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Just a wonderful layout on the course hole 5 is one of the most beautiful that i have ever seen. casual streams run through the course so there is a little bit of water lots of elevation changes makes for a challenging course and multiple baskets is a very nice touch. The signs were well done to make each hole easy to find.
Cons: Pay to pay $6 but very much worth it to play I would like to say the only reason this is a con all of the courses around me are free and I understand that more money means for a lot nicer courses.
Other Thoughts: The pro shop for this course is the Marshall street disc golf store and it is so cool to finally go into it the owner is extremely nice and has a great selection of stuff and if you have never been to an actual pro shop you should go and see this one!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Wish it were closer

2-4    7/18/2010   7/18/2010
Review By: MrAstro
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Very clean (not a ton of brush so you can spend more time playing --- water is not really a factor), well laid out with two baskets per tee... no poison ivy.
Cons: Not free... and hilly -- not always a con, just something to point out.
Other Thoughts: It's great fun to poke around the pro shop.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great time as always

5+    6/27/2010   6/29/2010
Review By: erbguy
Played: 51  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Awesome course with a variety of different types of throws form heavily wooded to open fields. The on-site store is fully stocked and always ready with advice and disc reviews. The difference between the pro and reg. courses is enough that you can play twice in a row and stay entirely entertained.
Cons: If you hate hiking up and down the same steep slope 8 times, being a walking buffet for bugs, or paying $6 a round, then this course might be an issue for ya. Also, watch out in the winter, the snow makes it treacherous.
Other Thoughts: The revised 3, 4, and 5 holes are awesome! It opened up a whole lot of room so I'm expecting some more changes or maybe a couple more holes. Nice job guys!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/22/2009   11/26/2009
Review By: WolfRoc
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very nicely groomed course, some holes have narrow tunnely shots makes it great and fun. well designed IMO very friendly people running the show. greatest proshop in the basement nice staff, im down there quite a bit. On hole 13 you got a beautiful view of a swamp at the bottom of the hill and worcester airport, its nice to take a brake and chill there for a few mins. Each tee pad is made of rubber and has tee signs for the silver and gold course, and a broom to sweep away debree that could affect your shot. another plus would be thats about 10 mins from my house.
Cons: The parking lot is right in the middle of hole 18, it feels a little crappy with the thought of nailing a car. Or getting your car nailed.
Other Thoughts: this is where it all started for me, its great to play, i play here as much as i can. super awesome course if you want to take a youngin

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.