Leicester, MA 
Pyramids Share
Uploaded By: HyzerBerryPie Hole #17 (Taken 7/2014)
3 / 202ft.   3 / 273ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Gold Basket to Tee



Reviews: 48
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Well worth the $

1    8/28/2012   8/28/2012
Review By: clipnfly
Played: 60  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: All around a great place to play and well worth the expense. Great use of available terrain. Course plays long and short, up and down, hyzer and annie. 2 baskets on 17 of 18 holes make for multiple options and ways to play. Course is spotlessly clean. Benches, tables, cigarette cups, garbage cans, tee pad brooms for god sakes! on nearly all holes. Some of the best tee signs I have ever seen. Pay to play keeps out the riff raff so I call it a PRO. Awesome, fully outfitted pro shop on premisis. The only better inventory I have seen is at Clearwater. Awesome tournament location, I am sure. I brought a map but only needed it on the transition from 4 to 5 as I has played the shallow basket.
Cons: You have to get pretty picky to find things to gripe about. I would like "next tee" markers at the baskets. I know the next tee is marked on the signs... But sometimes I forget to look. Posts with disc bag holders might be a nice addition for the future. A few holes in the 7, 8, 9, 10 play close to one another. If the place was crowded it might get a bit squirley. It rained early today so some areas were a bit wet, but not too wet to interfere. Also was a bit buggy... But that is to be expected.
Other Thoughts: My hole by hole comments are here. Overall an excellent course. I am happy to pay to play and would gladly pay again here or pay elswhere if it brough upgrades and a better course like this.

Hole #1 - Nice opening tree gate to begin the hole. Great metaphor for the start of the round of play. Assorted trees after that. Lush ground cover was unique for a forested course and I was intrigued to see that play out. Turns out that it is unique to the #1 hole.

#2 - Nice tree tunnel hole... and baskets are not at the end of the tunnel. Plays both annie and hyzer for great choices. Nice length for a drive to basket area even if your arm is not that big.

#3 - Classic woodsy hole. Good placement choices for baskets. Plays you into corner of property for next holes along and using water.

#4 - This hole is well done. You want to play a hard hyzer to get it down there, yet keep the disc out of the water. You can arc it forehand (assuming you play rightie) out over the water and bring it back into the woods. Great choices. Far suspended basket is fun, too.

#5 - This is my pick for the signature hole of the course. Plays long and short. Short basket has perfect set up/landing area. Deep basket offers more arm challenge. Water is used well playing across to both sides. Nice bridges as course improvments to make play easy. A beautiful sight form the tee pad.

#6 - And then there is 6... 6 is a masterpiece as well. I played 5 and was sure it was the sig hole. 6 is just magnificent... But I am sticking with 5 as the signature hole of the course. I could play 6 18 times and call it a course.

#7 - After the drop from 6, 7 plays as your first uphill hole.

#8 - Superb tree gallery, water at the back portion of the hole. many ways to play. Basket against natural will can make for punishing fall away missed putts. I put the disc above the basket and benefitted form gravity and slope.

#9 - Well placed mando sending you back up the hill.

#10 - Superb tree tunnel. Basket backed by water. easy on the arm and just float a mid range all the way down there. overpower the disc and you will hyzer off.

#11 - Nice assortment of younger, mid sized trees... harder to hit the skinnier ones with my drive. :)

#12 - Longer hole with great basket placement in cluster of young pines at the top. Fun hole.

#13 - Refreshing change. Along the ridgeline. Open and airy. A little bit of wind to clear the bugs. Close basket offers a HUGE fall-away penalty if you overshoot the putt. At that point might as well act as if you were playing to the far basket. Nice spot where deep basket is nestled there in the back corner.

#14 - Air out your arm on this wide open shot. Thank you for the flag on the basket.

#15 - A nice follow up to the big arm one. Nice missing BIG tree right where I would have hit it on my drive if it were there. Annie and hyzer choices.

#16 - A "shrub tunnel" as opposed to a tree tunnel. Leads to a wide open landing area. If you have good annie control you can hard hook a middie close to the landing area for the deep annie basket. The 13, 14, 15, 16 set makes for a nice change up after all that woodsiness and up and down the ridge.

#17 - Filler hole to get you back across the road for the finish at 18, but still has the challenge of you can not hyzer it or you will bang it off the shed. Too many trees to forehand it and not go tree banging, too. Nice challenges.

#18 - Classic woodsy finish to a great course. Brings you nearly back to hole #1 tee. Play close basket on 18. You are tired and your arm is spent. That will eliminate the concern of playing across the road.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 The Northern Mecca??

1    11/17/2011   11/17/2011
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 6.6 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Ok, where to start?? It Pyramids DG. It's Marshall Street. While Marshall St really has nothing to do with the quality of the golf, you really need to consider them both when grading this course. It is definitely a destination course. Worthy of a road trip for several reasons.

THE COURSE

One nice, clean rubber tee pad for each hole. There is a broom at every pad, many benches and tables. Signs are great. They have 2 signs at almost every hole. One sign is for short(silver) and one sign is for long(gold) basket positions.

Navigation is obvious and simple. No issues even without a map.

Heavily wooded, technical course. In long positions there is even enough distance here for people with big arms. But, even with distance you must be able to hit lines and control your shots. This course is mostly tight and technical.

Nice variety. There are some basic short holes that give you a decent chance at birdies and possibly aces. There are brutal holes. There are lefts and rights. Ups and downs. Nice mix of shots needed.

Did I mention Marshall St is here?? One the best DG retailers in the world?? Very cool.

Cons: Really none. There is probably not any super-memorable classic holes. Nothing I'd take a picture of and post on this site.

A couple repetitive holes on the front nine. Down the hill, up the hill. BUT, they are GOOD holes. So not much of a negative.

Gold basket on 18 crosses driveway. Not huge negative, but it's there.
Other Thoughts: This is a very good course. There is simply a lot of solid DG holes. I loved hole 4. Playing the gold it is 521' of wooded DG with a creek coming into play. Then you finish with a slightly elevated hanging basket. Very cool, good looking hole.

Hole 5 plays over and along the same creek. Lots of danger, but just a cool hole. 454' of technical, fun golf.

6-11 play up and down the hillside with the creek coming into play a lot. Some people might see it as overly repetitive, but they are all nice holes, and it would be a waste not to use the elevation.

The back 9 offers less elevation, but has a few more open holes that allow you to break out your distance driver.

This course is a must play not only for its golf, but for the entire Marshall St experience. It offers a great pro shop, and a nice versatile DG course. You can play the Silver Course and have a nice moderate, wooded challenge. Or you can play the Gold Course, and get beat up on by a very difficult, longer, wooded course. All in all, this is a great place to play.


11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Where are the mummies?

1    8/25/2011   10/10/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 13.4 Years
13 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays through hilly woods with a few smaller open areas. Most of the holes play in and around a small wooded valley with a stream in the bottom. The ob water comes into play on drives and around several of the greens adding some fun risk/reward decisions. Many of these holes also play up and down the side of the valley with some fun downhill shots and tricky uphills along with some tough roll away greens. A few holes play through some more open areas with longer distances and a different feel.

There is a nice mix of hole shapes, you'll need a wide variety of shots to score well. With two pins on each hole that offer some different looks there's even more variety. A few longer holes and some ace run chances mix up the lengths, and some of the silver and gold pins make some good sized distance changes. The signage here is excellent, with silver and gold signs on every hole showing hole layout and length. The tees are in nice shape, and the numerous bridges over the stream are a nice touch. It's always a bonus to have an onsite pro shop, and this is one of the best.
Cons: There are several holes in the middle of the course that play up and down the same hill, and have a bit of a repetitive feel. The last two holes play along and over the driveway and parking lot, and aren't very challenging or interesting, a very disappointing end to a fun round. There are a handful of holes where the silver and gold pins are pretty close, and don't offer much change.
Other Thoughts: The silver layout is relatively beginner friendly, though the technical lines and occasional rough might frustrate true beginners. More experienced players will find some nice challenges and enough variety to keep it interesting. This is a really fun round, and with Maple Hill just down the road it's worth going out of your way to play in this area.

13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Another Level

2-4    9/11/2011   9/13/2011
Review By: Evilhippy
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.1 Years
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Beautiful course, interesting holes, elevation, water hazards, choices...
Cons: Signage, Signage, and more Signage. There are wonderful signs at the Tee but by the time you get to the basket you will have no idea where the next tee is.
Other Thoughts: Home of Marshall St. Disc Golf shop which is fantastic.

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 First time $

1    4/14/2011   8/14/2011
Review By: glenncurtiss
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Nice people with generous pro shop. Bought what I needed to play. Great layout on varying terrain from woods, water and open meadow.
Seemed to have thought of everything with brooms on tee pads. Well marked layout.
Cons: Little sloppy this day as snow in the shades was melting.
Other Thoughts: First time paying to play. Was worth it.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 It was like a great movie with a chit ending :(

1    7/3/2011   7/5/2011
Review By: prerube
Played: 222  Reviewed: 203  Exp: 8.1 Years
8 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The first 16 holes were great. amazing use of elevation, creek, and woods.
Good variety of shots, distances, and fairway widths.
Some of the best signage I have ever seen.
2 baskets on every hole. Discatchers at one layout and chainstars on the other to make it clear.
Great course maintenance The hanging basket on 4 fell down and was fixed by the next morning.
Of course Marshall Street is by far the biggest pro for this course, it is amazing.

Less than a mile from Maple Hill make this a perfect travel destination.

Cons: I can not believe Marshall St. would approve a hole like 18. It is a total danger and 50% of my group refused to finish the round because of the danger of hitting cars, and one of the guys who decided to play it did hit a car in the parking lot.
Hole 17 was a safety hazard also with the basket just a few feet from the road leaving you putting right next to moving vehicles risking damage to vehicles and the chance your disc could get run over. These 2 holes ruined an otherwise spectacular course.
On many holes the 2 baskets locations were not different enough to notice.
Other Thoughts: The cost is well worth the play, but it would be better to play both baskets on 2 other holes than to play 17 and 18. If they were to change 17 and 18 I would rate this course at 4.5, but I can not overlook such a disappointing ending.

8 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 First Pay Course

1    4/7/2011   4/9/2011
Review By: LakeBodom397
Played: 74  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 6.8 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Incredible layout! The course has everything you could want! Short holes, long holes, tightly wooded, open, uphill, downhill, right, left and even unique amenities such as the hanging basket on hole #4 of the gold course!

Two baskets on every hole with very detailed signage for each. signs include hole number, distance, par, diagram of the optimal path, and pictures from the tee, approach, and basket.

Extremely clean, even for early spring. You can tell that they're in the process of spring cleaning, however brush and most of the leaves are in piles out of the way. this makes in much easier to walk through the course and also find your shots.

Virtually no litter! Every tee includes a broom for the teepad, a garbage can, and an ashtray.

Practice basket and small field for upshots next to the pro shop.
Cons: A couple holes (hole #10 and hole #14) have the silver course's basket directly in front of the gold courses. This isn't really a huge problem, but if you're playing the golds is another obstacle to throw around.

Hole # 18 plays right alongside the road coming into the course, has a few small pines directly in front of the teepad. Both baskets are on the other side of the road. Its a short hole, but still kinda dangerous in terms of hitting cars in the parking lot, coming down the road, or hitting other players walking to hole #1.
Other Thoughts: This course met and exceeded all expectations I had. It was such a pleasure playing such a well maintained, and well designed course. I would highly recommend playing this course, and checking out Marshall Street in person. Everyone there is extremely friendly and very knowledgeable. Great course! Can't wait to come back!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Oct. DG in Mass.

1    10/26/2010   10/26/2010
Review By: cplatt
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -superb hole maps on each tee box
-really solid pro shop
-well-marked entrance
-lot of hole variety
-good course map on scorecard
-easy to get to off of the highway - great way to break up a drive to NYC or Boston
Cons: -could have used a little more marking between holes
-baskets could use some pink day-glo flags or blazes to make them easier to find (some had orange, but that's a tough color in the fall)

Other Thoughts: -ran into the course designer/owner walking through with his dogs, the guy spent about 5 mins. with me on #10 helping me find an errant drive. we ended up finding it -- what a great guy!
-i'll have to get back here for sure, well worth $$ for the quality of a pay course

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Pyramids

1    10/2/2010   10/2/2010
Review By: adlacro
Played: 70  Reviewed: 70  Exp: 9.1 Years
This review was updated on 2/2/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 tees with two baskets to each hole. Baskets are in great shape. Mostly wooded course, yet it is fair in the fact that there are no pinball type holes. Unlike Maple Hill, Pyramids doesn't have as much water and no intimidating 200 plus foot water throws. Most of the water at Pyramids is casual and forgiving. A bit of elevation in the back and forth holes but nothing like Maple Hill. Plenty of parking. Marshall Street is the nicest disc golf shop I have ever seen. Locals are very friendly. Not far from eating establishments. The signage is top notch.
Cons: The biggest gripe I have with Pyramids is the entrance road, which borders holes 16, 17, and 18. Any throw on 17 and 18 can hit an unsuspecting car. The parking lot is not safe from a bad throw on 18 either. The entrance road is only wide enough for one car, so take care entering and exiting Pyramids.
Other Thoughts: This course nicely complements Maple Hill and again has the two layouts for players of different skill levels, but here the Silver layout is pretty tough. Play the Pinks for free when you pay for your round at Pyramids.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 great time

1    9/4/2010   9/12/2010
Review By: eastcoastf
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: great challenging course. beautiful background..plays pretty fast.

it was fun to play
Cons: a few holes were similar.. went up the hill, down the hill, up the hill, down the hill..so it was kind of lose the surprise of what the next hole looked like. but it was only a few holes.

afraid to shoot on the 18th hole cause a car was parked right next to the tee.
Other Thoughts: cost to play but is worth it.

awesome store too!

down the street from maple hill
newton hill 10 minutes away.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.